WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kenneth Branagh in Talks to Direct Fifth Jack Ryan Film

Posted: March 28th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kenneth Branagh in Talks to Direct Fifth Jack Ryan FilmSubmit Comment
About a week ago, we learned that Jack Bender ("Alcatraz") dropped out of directing the new Jack Ryan film, called "Moscow," due to a scheduling conflict with his television projects.

Paramount Pictures was hoping to begin shooting as soon as Chris Pine, who will be playing Jack Ryan, completed shooting the "Star Trek" sequel. The goal has been to meet that start date, which is why the studio immediately started looking for Bender's replacement. Variety is now reporting that Kenneth Branagh (Thor) is in negotiations to direct.

The new movie is based on the character created by Tom Clancy. That character has previously been played by Alec Baldwin in "The Hunt for Red October," Harrison Ford in "Patriot Games" and "Clear and Present Danger," and Ben Affleck in "The Sum of All Fears."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nawtnt writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 7:08:41 AM

Kenneth Branagh directing a Jack Ryan movie?

That's awesome news.

I mean I was amazed how Thor turned out to be, it was better than I expected.

I didn't know who Thor was until Marvel announced that there is going to be Avengers movie.

I read the comic books, I discovered how popular the character was and Branagh made the best casting ever in Thor- Chris Hemsworth as Thor and Tom Hiddleston as Loki.

Hemsworth and Hiddleston, both actors amazed me with their performaces in the movie.

Thor was the best comic book movie of 2011 along with X-Men: First Class and Captain America: TFA.

I am happy that Branagh is returning
to produce Thor 2.

Still I think Chris Pine isn't the best choice for Jack Ryan.

It could be worse like having Shia LeBeouf, Taylor Lauther or Robert Patterison as Jack Ryan.
boogiel writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 7:59:46 AM

Why the hell we need another jack Ryan Movie? Branagh should direct Thor 2 instead.
nawtnt writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 8:27:07 AM

Boogiel, Lots of fans would question why a another Jack Ryan movie is being made but Branagh can't direct Thor 2 since with Alan Taylor (Game Of Thrones) was chosen by Marvel to direct Thor 2.

Branagh will only produce Thor 2, I just hope Thor 2 will better than the first movie.
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:39:45 AM

Who gives a sh*t about this guy
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:39:45 AM

Who gives a sh*t about this guy
pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 12:31:02 PM

I didnt know who Thor was.

http://www-movieline-com.vimg.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/saywhaaalogo2.jpg2.jpg
nawtnt writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:02:16 PM

Funny joke, pornfly then I guess you didn't watched the Thor movie.
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:12:47 PM

Thor was easy to direct for Branagh. It was basically Shakespearean. Don't think he can pull the same trick with what should be a spy-thriller action film, but I suppose we may see.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:26:53 PM

@Boogiel - why another Jack Ryan movie? Because Hollywood needs to rape the franchise even further with this generation using a younger marketable actor like Pine in the lead role as Ryan. Baldwin, Ford are too old and Affleck was forgettable. Clancy wrote some great novels and some sh*tty ones too. The Bourne series is probably the best example of what today's Clancy movie might aspire to become with great action chase scenes, high tech espionage, exotic countries, successfully blending Hollywood filmaking with European feel. Also Soderbergh's Contagion was an excellent film carrying the threat of a virus outbreak across many subplots and international settings - which was a similar threat faced in Clancy's Executive Orders. I would like to see another Clancy movie done well and have faith in Branagh after he delivered with Thor.
nawtnt writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:31:23 PM

Good one, Mr. Blonde.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:49:13 PM

@Nawtnt - thanks.

Allan Taylor already has an impressive resume of directing a wide range of TV shows. And high quality dramas like HBO Game of Thrones, AMC Mad Men, the Sopranos even Sex and the City. With Branagh on board to Produce, Thor 2 should in theory be just as good. Unless Marvel Execs beancounters hamstring the creative team. Taylor is definitely a Director to watch out for.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 1:54:03 PM

Sorry, delete my last post. Problem with mixing messages going back and forth between WP and IMDB and other movie sites.
pornfly writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:14:53 PM

I can count the #of comics ive read on one hand(just couldnt get into it) but not knowing who Thor is? Thor(played by the white guy from The Hughleys)was even in an Incredible Hulk tv movie with Dardevil(played by Streethawk). I snuck in to see Thor in the theatre,the story was rushed and Thor gets knocked out 3times in like 10min(hit by car,tased cant remember the last)

Branagh should be back for part2,nice to hear he is at least producing,lets see how that affects the story which he is good at displaying on screen

Same goes for this movie
Despite the casting of Pine
nawtnt writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 3:52:23 PM

Great, Mr. Blonder.

Alan Taylor defintley is the director to watch out for since he is directing Thor 2.

Let's hope Thor 2 is better than the first movie.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 3:42:44 AM

Good director...might be a good film.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved