WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Eric Roberts Says "The Dark Knight" Didn't Educate, Enlighten or Move Him

Posted: March 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Eric Roberts Says "The Dark Knight" DidnSubmit Comment
Eric Roberts appears in plenty of straight-to-DVD movies, which he does to travel all over the world. He rarely says anything negative about these low-budget projects, but for some reason, he recently took the time to insult Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight," in which he played a character named Maroni.

"What do you get out of a Batman movie? You get entertainment, that's true. But what do you get to take home with you in your heart or your mind? It's questionable for me," he explained. "When a movie costs that much, so many movies don't get made that can educate, enlighten, move, comfort. Batman didn't do any of those things that I named, for me, anyway, even though I enjoyed watching it."

He clearly thinks that "The Dark Knight" is overrated and doesn't deserve the attention it received. I wonder what his thoughts are on "Sharktopus," another movie he recently starred in.

Source: The Playlist


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 51 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:39:08 PM

Straight to DVD has been the majority of his movies

I guess we have been enlightened
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:42:11 PM

Has someone not made it back for part 3
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:42:22 PM

LOL
bspence writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:59:05 PM

I agree TDK is an over rated movie. but its still a good movie. not as good as BB was or what TDKR looks, but still good.
AYT BALL writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 8:19:55 PM

"Pop it tommy pop it!!!!" oh Eric.....dunno about you guys but when i watched sharktopuss (In x8 fast forward) i gained a lot, i thought to myself, always keep your dignity.....and what times dinner??
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:07:38 PM

Eric has stooped so low he made a movie with Michael Jackson.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:10:45 PM

TT-lol

What did you think of Best of the best 2, Eric?
retardicon 101 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:12:24 PM

skip to the part where i'm suppose to give a f*ck. you wanna be educated? watch JFK. you wanna be enlightened? watch blade runner. you wanna be moved? watch the shawshank redemption. since when was it mandatory for movies to attain the themes of education, englightenment, and er...movement? this guy should feel lucky to star in one of the best comic book movies to date. is the dark knight overrated? sure, but that doesn't stop it from being a great movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:13:29 PM

What did u think of dead or alive with Eric Roberts?
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:27:22 PM

Me either Roberts, but then I was never in a film with a giant Sharktopus.
Raider writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:52:21 PM

Eric Roberts is just mad because He is a sh*tty c-list actor.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:55:25 PM

I guess Moroni won't Rise with the rest of the TDKR crew...
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:57:42 PM

Bur I'd love to plug his daughter's bum up. Eric would you watch that video? It would definitely educate you on the whore Emma has become :)
OneTime writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:58:22 PM

wow.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:21:33 PM

You get to be in a big budget movie after being in so many sh*tty straight to DVD sh*t, now you wanna insult the film. How ungrateful he is.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:35:08 PM

First of all, let me say I'm a fan of Roberts. His sister Julia might be more famous, he's always working in low to huge budget movies & continues to hold his own with the big boys...but...

I kinda know what he'a trying to say, but I don't agree. This movie is what it is. Its entertainment It's a whole new ballgame, major league if you will. It's no nickle & dime of a direct-to-DVD-so-I'll-pay-my-dues-honing-how-to-write-a-screenplay-or-how-to-become-a-better-director. Maybe Roberts settled with those small movies, but this the goal of moviemaking-hitting it big in how you thrill the audience all the way to the bank.

But hey, it's all perspective...the movie does what your looking for. He wants education? This teaches the power of focus, determination of taking control of your life. He wants enlightenment? TDK shows the positive difference one man can make. He wants it to move him? B Wayne loses the love of his life as collateral in cleaning up the city & with it losing his last chance for a normal life. He wants comfort? TDK comforts you in entertaining for 2 hrs. People work hard for their money & go to the movies to forget their trouble of the economy is in the crapper or having a bad f*cking day at work.

And as much as I agree, with too much $$ on crappy movies that the little movies don't get a chance, I say maybe the up & comers should see how its done. Nolan started from the bottom up as well with FOLLOWING & MEMENTO as calling cards.

Also these blockbusters are what also drives the movie biz...what makes Roberts show up at the premiere you just co-starred in.

So in summary...
With all due respect, shut your pie hole....sir.
secondbest writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:51:41 PM

Because Eric Roberts is the foremost authority on cinema. Yep. His opinion is completely valid.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 11:14:36 PM

That's good the dark knight is the most overrated movie ever.Roberts was an A lister at the beginning of hia career along with Mickey Rourke.he can say watever the f*ck he wants.I even think he was nominated for an Oscar,not sure
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 11:24:22 PM

He was great in the expendables
holtlt writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 11:54:59 PM

C'mon man, even your own daughter, Emma Roberts, is better than you.
telur writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 12:22:41 AM

i forget he's in TDK
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 12:39:02 AM

who cares when i become a director i'll hire him he'll work for peanuts.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 1:06:06 AM

Eric, I don't want to say you are an ass, but indeed you are an ass. Work with or participate in a movie with the great Nolan is not an easy thing this days, so you better assume the position, brother, cause your straight to DVD movies suck big time pal!!!!!
bane writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 3:22:56 AM

now that he mentions DARK KNIGHT

here is the first 6 minutes
of dark knight rises


http://www.mediafire.com/​?v3zzhtkh6u1k454
bane writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 3:28:03 AM



here is the first 6 minutes



http://www.movieweb.com/movie/the-dark-knight-rises/6-minute-prologue


Damon242 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 4:32:25 AM

And that's his opinion, he doesn't even hide that fact.

My opinion? I don't care what Roberts has to say, I'll make up my own mind.
Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 5:07:49 AM

"You get to be in a big budget movie after being in so many sh*tty straight to DVD sh*t, now you wanna insult the film. How ungrateful he is."

Well said, you beat me to it.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 6:53:20 AM

If people want to be enlightened they can watch the Discovery channel. Movies are for entertainment, so TDK did it's job.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 7:42:37 AM

Bill the Butcher/Bane get a f*cking life.

and Eric Roberts said the truth about a f*cking Nolan movie.all of the Nolan Fanbase are offended.
bane writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 10:23:39 AM

bandolero999


you are a bully

my brother commited suicide

because of c*nts like you

you make me sick :(
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 10:35:16 AM

Good now u can join him in hell.f*ck tdkr,gayest movie ever
bane writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:19:01 AM



Good

now u can join him in hell ????

bane writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:21:58 AM

former US Marine


that makes me laugh

i suppose you quit after

your c*nt tree was ''attacked''

Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:31:03 AM

^ ^ Stop spamming this site and go somewhere else. Nobody cares about your lousy links.
Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:31:03 AM

^ ^ Stop spamming this site and go somewhere else. Nobody cares about your lousy links.
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 1:24:24 PM

"Bill the Butcher/Bane get a f*cking life."

Good spot, Bando. Definitely Bill the Butcher back at spamming. Same age, same posting style (stunted sentences).
bandolero999 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 6:23:58 PM

Nolan ruined Bane for me by turning him to a queer.
midknightcd writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 9:10:02 PM

Ungrateful what was he doing before The Dark Knight???? Oh yea another piece of crap straight 2 DVD movie way to get yourself back into mainstream you moron
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:01:45 PM

who the f*ck gives a sh*t with this D-list loser thinks? what a waste of time putting this on the site
elrei writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 11:18:20 PM

You did Dead or Alive bitch!! You don't get to say ANYTHING!
bane writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:11:19 AM

bandolero999

Nolan ruined Bane
for me
by turning him to a queer ???

after the schumacher version

you will agree that any other take on the character of Bane

would be a big step up
bane writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:13:47 AM

Bullit

are you the admin of this site ???

if you don't mind me asking
bane writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:33:39 AM

bandolero999

Security Guard (proud of my job)

former US Marine

how do you
find the time to make comments on this site

i imagine you would be too busy
pissing on dead bodies

that's what you do these days

yeah ???
bane writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:38:17 AM

bandolero999

''Nolan ruined Bane for me
by turning him to a queer''

did you mean

turning him INTO a queer ???

did you learn to spell
before you joined the marines

by the way

how many people
have you killed so far

it is OK

you can tell me :) :)
bane writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 2:58:38 AM

minkowski

are you sure bandolero999 is a woman ???

i suppose
you are jerking off
to the bando avatar

(if and only IF your daddy
gave you permission to jerk off)
minkowski writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 3:13:48 PM

^^Could you please, please stop f*cking posting like you're some 1983 IMB mainframe printing "Hello World" to a dot matrix printer?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 9:59:45 PM

When the hell did anyone ever listen to Eric Roberts ?

The f*cker was in Best of the Best II, for f*ck's sake.

Bet he wishes he had a time machine so he could go back to Pope of Greenwich Village and get his acting talent back, f*cking hack.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:00:40 PM

They say every family has a black sheep/disgrace ....

Ladies and gents,

Eric Roberts
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:01:34 PM

God, he looks more like the Joker from Arkham City than Nicholson did in the first Batman in the 80s .....

and he doesn't even need prosthetics.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:03:12 PM

There's a first time for everything.

I agree with Great Persuader on this (and this alone) ....

Ryan Dunn died and Eric Roberts lived ?????

Talk about unpoetic justice!

At least Ryan Dunn KNEW he had no talent.
movienerd writes:
on May 22nd, 2012 at 12:45:26 AM

"He clearly thinks that "The Dark Knight" is overrated and doesn't deserve the attention it received. I wonder what his thoughts are on "Sharktopus," another movie he recently starred in."

I don't think that's what Eric's saying at all. I think he means that even a fraction of the gross amount of money spent on something like TDK could be spread around to make so many other films. He's qualified to say this because he's done so many low-budget pictures (we've done 5 together, including "Sharktopus") & the waste is almost unbelievable. When we did "Sharktopus", he had just come off "The Expendables" & we joked that we could produce about 400 "Sharktopi" for the money they spent (& 900 for TDK's budget!) And he acknowledged, as he always has, that he found TDK entertaining. Gene Siskel made a similar comment back in 1981, when the $12mil budget for "An American Werewolf in London" was released & he implied that one could produce "three "Ordinary People"s" for that kind of money.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved