WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

How Stan Lee Destroyed James Cameron's "X-Men" Movie

Posted: March 26th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
How Stan Lee Destroyed James CameronSubmit Comment
During a panel at Columbia University, "Uncanny X-Men" writer Chris Claremont spoke about an "X-Men" movie that had James Cameron producing, Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker) directing, Bob Hoskins starring as Wolverine, and Angela Bassett as Storm. This was ten years before Bryan Singer's version hit theaters.

Claremont said that everything was going great until Stan Lee stepped in and destroyed the project by recommending another character to Cameron. "So we're chatting. And at one point Stan looks at Cameron and says, 'I hear you like Spider-Man.' Cameron's eyes lit up," he explained. "And they start talking. And talking. And talking. About 20 minutes later all the Lightstorm guys and I are looking at each other, and we all know the 'X-Men' deal has just evaporated."

According to the writer, Bigelow went on to pen a treatment for "X-Men" that the studio rejected. Cameron, meanwhile, got to work on his "Spider-Man" movie. He wrote a detailed treatment and created a bunch of storyboards. But after failing to acquire the movie rights, he gave up and moved on to write and direct "True Lies."

Source: ChicagoTribune


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:37:52 PM

Bob Hoskins starring as Wolverine

That i would have paid to see ....
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:41:29 PM

Singer destroyed Superman
bspence writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 7:57:13 PM

Haha the guy that played mario playing wolverine?
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 8:07:14 PM

He did play Harold Shand too bspence, He was one tough mofo, But yeah it's pretty funny
trailertrash writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 8:08:08 PM

With Hoskins you could have lines like

Magneto? I've sh*t 'em.

or

No one's heard nothing? That just ain't natural. It's like one of them silent, deadly farts. No clue, and then pow, you go cross-eyed
AYT BALL writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 8:16:14 PM

Bob f*cking Hoskins?!?! i mean, i love the dude but come on! maybe beasts little hairier brother!?
bspence writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 8:20:16 PM

yeah good actor. more recently i remember him from doomsday and unleashed. but i just dont think i couldve ever taken him seriously as wolverine. especially around the same time he was in Hook as captain hooks right hand man. smee? or something like that. that sounds right but im not sure.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:06:33 PM

It would of been an interesting movie.

Hoskins owns in the jet Li movie,Danny the dog
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:08:44 PM

Interesting, who woulda been Prof X and Magneto?
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:12:42 PM

If Stan lee hadn't ruined it u would have. Besides true lies was f*ckin awesome.
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:53:20 PM

Who writes these news titles? The Ministry of Truth?

Jesus.

Stan Lee didn't destroy anything save his face with the blunt cruelty of time. Cameron simply CHOSE a different path. No more.
OneTime writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:57:02 PM

interesting
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:03:54 PM

Heres a topic that will never end why are women so goddamn f*cking stupid
minkowski writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:08:06 PM

^They're not as stupid as you think. They haven't f*cked you yet.
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:14:12 PM

Ohh im sorry about that I forgot you are the only woman on this site
johnny_boy writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:25:24 PM

Not getting laid much, Darksider?
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:39:44 PM

Yea his hand keeps turning him down and he popped his blow up doll.

Dark- I understand you come here looking for attention because you have no friends. It's cool, but have you considered suing your brains for non-support?
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:42:15 PM

Nahh that aint the prob they jus have a really big turd for a brain
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:45:33 PM

Just like mink and badfag
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Dark- You say such sweet things.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 10:55:28 PM

But I'm sure its safe to say if you were actually getting some you that wouldn't bother you. I've noticed guys who bash all women are the ones never getting laid. Get out of the dark side and join the Gettingp*ssy Side. Its great!
KillerCOck writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 11:02:16 PM

Now I'm not saying I like the Idea of Hopkins as Wolverine but he would've done a much better job in the role than Jackman for sure!

I would've rather seen that than Jackmans Wolverine any day
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 12:47:20 AM

Wonder what his SPIDERMAN plot would be about? I know Mary Jane would probably have a bigger part, since Cameron makes strong female leads.

But who would the villain be? Who was he envisioning seeing as Peter Parker?

Your talking about the guy that brought TRUE LIES and T2...I gotta admit, I'm pretty curious about it..

As for X-MEN, who gives a rat's ass, it would be a complicated ensemble piece that Cameron has never really attempted in any of his movies. Singer was a qualified, inspired choice that really came through, you know, like Raimi.
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 4:00:59 AM

"Gettingp*ssy Side"

He has no idea what you're talking about Johnny, I fear for his neighbourhood cats now ...
Damon242 writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 4:34:27 AM

Ah, True Lies; true entertainment, and never takes itself too seriously.
Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 4:54:47 AM

Bob Hoskins as Wolverine? Haha, a half bald Wolverine?? Good one.

Knowing how Hugh Jackman incarnates perfectly the character, that idea makes it more ludicrous. Lol.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 6:50:11 AM

Bob Hoskins? Was Jason Alexander too busy? Even though this never happened, someone still deserves to be punched in the face for it.
trailertrash writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 7:07:49 AM

^ Darksider you're up ...
citysims writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 8:11:23 AM

That's just great a FAT,SHORT, PORTLY Wolverine...Great Idea morons!
That80sKidOfYor writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 9:01:17 AM

bob hoskins as wolverne ha.
the reading rainbow guy could of played cyclops
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 9:20:56 AM

Just because James Cameron directed Titanic doesn't mean every movie that he directs/produces will be mind blowing... The first three X-Men movies are great (especially the second) and I am glad it is this way. I don't know if anyone heard of it, but before 2005's Fantastic Four there was a 1994 movie that was beyond horrible and was unreleased because of that, so some movies are better off unreleased.
Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 10:05:07 AM

@Trailer: LOL!

I can hear it form here with his c*ckney accent! Lol
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 1:20:06 PM

"before 2005's Fantastic Four there was a 1994 movie that was beyond horrible and was unreleased because of that"

That's not true, actually. It went unreleased because it was never meant to be released.

It was a low budget film created solely for promotional purposes and, more importantly, to secure rights to the Fantastic Four property.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Fantastic_Four_%28film%29

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashcan_copy
DrugDealingMonkey writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 1:40:16 PM

Alright but why would you make a movie and want it to remain unreleased? I mean, don't film at all then.
minkowski writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 1:55:56 PM

I already explained the why. Constantin had to go into production on a FF movie, *any* Fantastic Four movie, or they would lose the rights, so they threw some cash at a low-production film to do so. They later successfully marketed the 2005 FF film and it's sequel.

They never had any intention of releasing the film in question, and that's why I linked to the Wiki article on 'ashcan'.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 3:24:48 PM

@Celluloid man
I remember reading in a tribute magazine years back that Cameron Wanted Leo Dicaprio as Parker but Jude Law is who the studio wanted and almost got the part.

I also think the villain would've been electro or Dr. ock played by Schwartzenegger.

@Bullit
If YOu like Hugh Jackmans performance as Wolverine, thats one thing But to say he plays the character PERFECTLY is a complete delusion. After 4 or 5 times he still doesn't know HOW to play the character or how it should be played.
You could argue that it works for those movies but Jackman doesn't embody Wolverines character at all.
Hoskins would've known how to do that despite his look
Bullit writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 3:34:49 PM

@Killer:

In my defence, I'm not a big fan of the comics but I was convinced enough when I saw him on screen. Now, I don't know how the original Wolverine looked like but B. Hoskins is short, stocky, bald and his c*ckney accent wouldn't be a perfect match to me. It's my humble opinion and perhaps I'm wrong but Jackman made me watch all the series. He's a good actor after all.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 6:18:55 PM

its not a matter of how they look, I myself have even said that I don't like the idea of Hoskins as Wolverine, But Hoskins is the better actor, He would've captured the Essence of Wolverine and played it better.

example: Liev Schrieber's Sabertooth in Wolverine. He didn't play the character like he is in the comics but he captured the essence for sure and even made it better because great actors know HOW to that. Even he would play a much better Wolverine than JAckman.

I personally don't think Jackman is a good actor on film unless he's under Good direction. The Fountain and the Prestige are the only movies where I think he's proved that he can act. I mean in Australia all he did was play himself really just not as nice. Anything else has been nothing special or the exact same.
He is a wonderful stage actor doh from what i'm told. I imagine that he's better at it.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 6:25:07 PM

I don't hate on Jackman like he's got range and I give him credit when its due, But it does bother me when people say he's the perfect Wolverine and that they can't picture no one else in the role because its either all they know or they lack the imagination to picture other people playing the part
Wallace writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 3:02:43 PM

@ Killerc*ck: Playing himself isnt always bad. Look at Robert Downey. He's been palying himself for the good part of the last decade and did a more than solid job.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:05:18 PM

How Stan Lee Destroyed James Cameron's "X-Men" Movie .....

the True Story: He insisted on doing a cameo.


KillerCOck writes:
on March 28th, 2012 at 10:34:22 PM

Wallace:

RDJ is full of charisma and a brilliant actor when he chooses to act with tons of range. He can make anything work even if the movie is sh*t. its hard not to enjoy him

You can't say that about pacino, de niro, or denzel Washington all great actors who stopped trying. You defintely cant say that about Jackman who is simply likeable.

So what's your point?
R3tr0burn3r writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 8:23:36 AM

We'll I kind of see where Cameron was going with this.In the comics Wolverine is supposed to be short ( around 5.3 or something )and hairy. Hugh Jackman is around 6'2''- that's too tall.I can see Bob pulling of the personality as well, but he is way too portly, he just doesn't have the physicality.Hugh is an o.k. Wolverine, but sometimes I get the feeling he is trying too hard.
Jarmiez writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 1:59:51 PM

bob hoskins... like fat little mario bob hoskins???

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved