WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Hunger Games" - What Did You Think?

Posted: March 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Hunger Games" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After promoting "The Hunger Games" as the next big thing, the film has finally hit theaters and is already breaking box office records. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

The movie, which is the first of four installments, has an impressive 86% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, with most critics agreeing that the film is exciting, has a great message and moves well despite being almost 2.5 hours. The big complaint is that the violence has been watered down to get a PG-13 rating.

"The Hunger Games" cost $78 million to make and has already grossed $20 million from just domestic midnight screenings. Insiders believe it will end up taking around $110 million this weekend. Come back on Sunday to see the final results.

Click here to read our "The Hunger Games" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 55 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nuttie30xx writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 5:39:11 AM

i've been looking forward to this movie but is it going to be a 4 part movie or is that just the books i realy dont want to wait until 4 year to see the end of this film
JakeVermont writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:22:31 AM

I went to see it yesterday, seriously best movie I've seen in theatre so far this year. Great story with a lot of details, very interesting characters and a solid cast.
Yeah a little too much drama in some scenes and a predictable antagonist, you'll se what I mean in the finale of the movie.

But all in all it was very entertaining, money well spent, I dont regret a cent.

from me 8.5 / 10
Damon242 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:47:49 AM

I was enyoying it until, funnily enough, the games themselves. The problem was that it became over-sensationalized, melodramatic, and ultimately pulled me out the affair (I felt like I was watching supermodels battle to the death that lasted twenty seconds, then folded into a series of confrontations that echoed high-school politics and bizarre, unnecessary speeches by perceived-baddies who really have no reason to be talking instead of killing).

The film had a fantastic premise, but for me, was very pedestrian in its execution - despite a few good moments and some fantastic performances.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 8:46:32 AM

What do I think?

One of the worst trailers for a movi I ever saw, so I will be going nowhere near this hunk of sh*t.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 9:42:37 AM

I will never watch this piece of teenager sh*t ever in my life.
rick1641 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 10:06:58 AM

I really enjoyed it ,I thought it was one of the best book to movie films in a long time it really caught the spirit of the books
mongoose writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 10:44:56 AM

Loved it! It was everything I wanted it to be. My only issues (and they're nit-picky) were: the hand-to-hand fighting scenes could have been a little grittier and some of the handheld shots made me feel a little dizzy...other than that, it was right on the money! Can't wait for Catching Fire!
Verde writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 11:03:00 AM

f*ck this twilight sh*t. Watch Battle Royale which will not disappoint you one bit... but avoid the "sequel".
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 11:07:52 AM

As my wife stated "oh my god, we have to see that!" I knew I would be seeing this movie as soon as possible.

And well, it was pretty f*cking good. Totally enjoyable. There are some clunker scenes sprinkled in for sure but overall it totally worked. Jennifer Lawrence was great. Her character is actually pretty similar to her character in Winters Bone.

8/10 Kids killing each other yay!
blumpkin writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 11:34:28 AM

im hungry for more!!!!!! just kidding, ill see this after twilight!!!!!
dangerlips writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 11:58:29 AM

Minkowski what were your thoughts on the CGI in this movie?
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 12:28:12 PM

"...echoed high school politics"
DAMON, thats how they get girls to forkover the $$every time and drag in their BFsGFs
ex.Twilight and that gaylien invasion movie coming soon
thx for the info
mongoose writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 1:10:37 PM

Wow - are people seriously still comparing this to Battle Royal? Aside from a few superficial plot devices they are nothing alike! Why not just call it a rip-off of the Running Man while you're at it and we'll call it a day...Oh well, haters gonna hate, I guess...
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 1:26:46 PM

probably gonna check it out this weekend, but even im not stupid enough to compare this to battle royale which by the way was not THAT good..mediocre at best
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 1:32:13 PM

Some of the special effects were great and some were just f*cking terrible. When they made her "the girl on fire" it was laughable.

That said, it was still a good popcorn flick.
Bullit writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 1:35:41 PM

What a coincidence: Blumpkin & Danger posting together.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 2:05:29 PM

@Bullit: no offense to you my friend, but I think it's pretty clear these apes are two different ends of the same turd.
Bullit writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 2:27:52 PM

^ ^ No offense whatsoever Mink. I think you're right.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:06:51 PM

When I heard about this film, I thought it was a pie-eating contest between Roseanne Barr and Rosie O'Donnell.
Bullit writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:08:48 PM

How bizzare. No news about some turtles today?

I'd thought there would be more to come. Wait, we're going one hour ahead tonight, there's still hope...
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:09:21 PM

waste of time movie
NewYorkCine writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:15:07 PM

Battle Royale is awesome. Still going to check this out.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:15:28 PM

^^waste of time poster.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:21:45 PM

The future of cinema: Tweet Seats, coming to a theater near you:

http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/news/2012/03/tweet-seats-deserved-to-be-booed-out-of-the-theater.ars
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:28:20 PM

The books only got worse as will the films. Studios in general are trying way too hard, everything has to be atleast 3 films now if not more. I remember when people actually did make good films. I mean hell now they will probably remake The Running Man into a f*cking trilogy. The Hunger games f*ck off
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:31:34 PM

@mink. The pie eating contest comment, f*cking brilliant sir...
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:37:21 PM

^Thank you, kind sir! And yes, my mom DOES give good head!
Bullit writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:44:51 PM

^ ^ LOL!

What I like about you is your humbleness.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:07:43 PM

You're far too kind, Bullit. But no, seriously, my mom does give good head.

Speaking of which, did you ever see In Time, with Justin Timberlake? It starts off with him and this VERY hot woman (Olivia Wilde), who's his mother, in their kitchen, and I told someone that if she were my mother, I would have to do her. No apologies, no shame, not a single motherf*cking regret.

And they say you can never go home again. Ha!
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:23:49 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FWgQnGFBSrk
vaodsi writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:26:14 PM

Stephen King hates Stephanie Meyer and Twilight. He Like the Hunger games. A good word from him made me check out the book and it was good. Not amazing or mind blowing, but a fun (if a bit forgettable) read for a day at the beach. I'm actually going to check this out... someday. Not in theaters most likely, due to the sort of squealy crowd this movie seems to be attracting. I was impressed with Lawrence in Winter's bone. The film is getting solid reviews. It has a solid cast and good directer. I'll see it eventually.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:50:05 PM

f*ck 86% on rotten tomatoes. Its more tween bullsh*t.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 5:23:12 PM

I hate it when whores, excuse me, 'women', review movies

http://video.msnbc.msn.com/msnbc-tv/46843894/#46843894

She loves The Hunger Games, but hates The Raid.

The world went to sh*t the day men stopped calling the shots.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 5:48:54 PM

Going to see it in an hour lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 5:50:31 PM

and jeez, nice to see all you Wp'ers giving the movie a chance instead of basing your opinions on it being a "Teenager" movie. Good for you guys! (Sarcasm)
TonyWalnuts writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:09:27 PM

@Tanman32123 Actually Ive based that on the fact ive seen it.
TonyWalnuts writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:10:45 PM

And jeez. Dont believe we are all as stupid as you and cant understand sarcasm without a witty person like yourself pointing it out.
triggax writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:24:48 PM

In Time was a decent flick. I'm a big fan of Andrew Niccol. Walks circles around Nolan with a very similar style. Would love to see the guy start having a larger creative control with grander budgets. Should have been the next big thing 15 years ago.
minkowski writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:37:26 PM

Two thumbs up for Niccol on Gattaca, In Time and Lord of War, ten thumbs down for doing Meyer's The Host.
pornfly writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 7:05:04 PM

Downloading saves the dignity of people willing to watch a Timberlake movie
You dont have to show your face buying a ticket or walking to the counter of a video store
f*ckdat wigger,im not doin any of those
steamluv writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 8:43:49 PM

Wasn't that great in my opinion. It follows the book extremely well but the set design and cinematography looked like something out of a 'direct to redbox' film. Also, the camera work was extremely shaky, like the cameraman did a hit of blow and screamed "lets shoot this thing!"
hunter207 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 12:54:52 AM

I actually liked it. Not a bad movie all in all
Darksider4477 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:05:14 AM

The world when went to sh*t when men stopped calling the shots well mink you finally said something of worth you worthless piece of sh*t
Stuntmanbob writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 3:43:01 AM

Not sure about this one... Seems like a good premise but I have no idea how the books are. I dont know, looks like hollywood made it to be like twilight but threw in some manlier things so they could get the male audience to take notice. But then again I havent seen the movie(which I will eventually) or read the book so im no one to judge
Barminator89BE writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 5:10:29 AM

It's a great movie story wise, i think it's a bit slow in the beginning and i expected there would be much more action scenes one point that i found very annoying is the slo mo blurry scenes you can have one or two in a movie but come on there where like five...
but all that aside it's still a great movie

8/10
Jensama writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 8:52:25 AM

@JakeVermot and Damon42:
I agree completely with what you guys are saying, I couldn't have said it better myself.
Otherwise a great movie, one of the best ones of year so far. 8 /10 for me. I went with some of my friends (guys), and they were all ofc fearing that this would be another Twifest. But it WASNT. I think this movie and books has great potential (read them). Anyway - best movie for a long while at cinema, I enjoyed it.

I really wished some people here could just stop all the bitching and whining about Twilight and whatnot. Stop comparing every single movie to it!
The twifest will soon be over, so stfu and stop repeating yourselves. You're bloody annoying. It's like hearing whiny teenage girls over and over again. I swear, todays men are like yesterdays' women... Whining and dramatic. Let.it.the.f*ck-go.

This was a.good.movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 10:13:42 AM

I've been one of those Battle Royal/Running Man critics of this film for a while, but after reading these and other reviews I'm pretty interested to see this. The only problem now is do I read the book first or see the film. The whole idea of watering down the violence of a story based on teen one on one violence is very unappealing to me (especially after Battle Royale) but is expected from a marketing perspective. What I want to know is does it take away from the emotional value of the film?

I've also heard that major plot points are glossed over or assumed in the film that become extremely important in the books' future installments. Some reviewer said they were somewhat lost because of these ommissions because they had not read the book. What do yall think? Should I read the book first to avoid these shortcoming of the film and understand the plot better?
witwicky-potter writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 11:38:22 AM

Saw it today.its an amazing movie.What i dont understand is why people compare twilight with THG when their totally different.cant wait for the next one
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 11:46:42 AM

@Vaodsi

Damn wish i had heard about Stephen liking the movie before i went and saw it lol would have been more excited :P

Mans a legend


Review:

The thing that is making this movie huge is indeed the hype, no doubt. But it deserves some hype. The movie is based on (what i like to think) a pretty damn good plotline, mixed with actors who portray their characters very nicely. The only down fall (in my opinion) is how long they take to get to the damn fighting and action. (1 hour+) now i do know that there's nothing necessarily wrong with a lot of detail but i found this too have a little to much lol

and @Tonywallnuts...

you most not have been here very long, these people don't do sarcasm LOL
Duke4Ever writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 3:11:23 PM

The movie had great potential, but honestly... I'd give it a 4/10. There was just too little character development and the major scenes where you should feel emotionally invested in the characters, I felt nothing. If I hadn't bothered to read the books though, I'd probably give it an 8/10.
Duke4Ever writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 3:15:39 PM

@ SACdaddy

Watch the movie first and then see it. It'll be far more enjoyable that way.
citysims writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 9:24:41 AM

SUCKED! Lead character has a Nice big Ass and Hips though.
darthraige writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 3:41:28 PM

sh*tty ending to a sh*tty movie.
paulieXpocket writes:
on March 27th, 2012 at 5:35:04 AM

i didnt like it.
willythekid writes:
on March 29th, 2012 at 4:14:41 PM

for all those idiots here. Get a life!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved