WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

MGM Says "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Lost Money

Posted: March 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
MGM Says "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Lost MoneySubmit Comment
There's no reason for "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" budget to be $90 million, but when you make a film based on a popular property and hire David Fincher to direct, nobody is concerned with wasting money since it will all be earned back during the film's release.

That didn't turn out to be the case since the movie grossed only $102 million domestically. It was saved somewhat by international box office, which brought in another $128 million, but in the end, the movie ended up losing money. "It is below our expectations and we booked a modest loss," MGM said about the film. "[We] were hoping we'd do 10% more than we did."

The studio has an option to co-finance the other two films in the trilogy and is now talking to Sony about how to "achieve better economics." In other words, even though the movie lost money, MGM and Sony still want a sequel. The only difference is that this time, everyone will be paying close attention to the budget.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 37 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Man in Black writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:52:37 PM

Not this sh*t again, well consider it an investment . Never a sure thing, risks are involved , and there is no such thing as options with out consequences .
birnam writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:57:42 PM

Bullsh*t MGM. Not to mention with dvd sales and it being a Fincher movie it will have legs it will do more than fine.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:05:37 PM

Awwww too bad.guess Daniel Craig couldnt save the movie.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:22:05 PM

I guess next time don't remake a film that was just f*cking made, though I know people will say Let the Right One In defies my logic, but then A) Vampire films are highly bankable right now, and B) that's what they get for trying to cash in on the nascent studio fad of remaking Scandinavian films (started in part by LTROI).
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:22:59 PM

"Awwww too bad.guess Daniel Craig couldnt save the movie."

Craig is poison. Can hardly think of one film he doesn't destroy. Even 50% of his Bond films suck, and that's his claim to fame.
Wallace writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:26:17 PM

@ birnam: It has been in theaters for 13 weeks, so the "legs" wont pay out any longer.

MGMs statement actually makes sense. The film cost 90 million (135 including marketing, according to boxoffice.com). The film earned about 230 million worldwide, but only 50 - 60 % (domestically about 60 %, internationally est. 50 %) goes to the studio, the rest is for the theaters. If we do the math, its just not gonna cover the 135 million (a cautious estimated figure anyway) budget.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:26:22 PM

Layer Cake Mink, That was a pretty good movie and one Craig didn't suck in IMO
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:29:58 PM

@trailer: maybe so, but it made nothing at the BO.

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=layercake.htm

People in general have no use for this guy.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:31:58 PM

^ ^ You're right. Should have won an Oscar for crying like a bitch for 10 min at the end of the film.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:32:33 PM

Layer cake is awesome
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:38:44 PM

I think people liked Layer Cake because Craig died. They tried to trick themselves into thinking he really got offed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:45:16 PM

You can't agure with the boxoffice figures Mink, The guy really doesn't cut it outside of the Bond franchise does he.

That said I like Craig though, But i like his wife more ...
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:49:07 PM

Don't have a personal issue with him either, trailer, but he just doesn't resonate with audiences, and his role in Cowboys and Aliens, for a more recent example, just didn't help.

Godawful film.
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 7:07:32 PM

Well then, cut Rooney Mara's salary on the grounds that she's a thankless, sanctimonious bitch.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:51:04 PM

Olvia Wilde coulda got tag teamed by Craig and ford and that still wouldn't have saved the movie.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:52:19 PM

10% more? Fine you greedy f*cks ill give you that quarrel to shove up your asses.
c-prime writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:01:35 PM

@ minkowski: "Munich"?
Verde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:36:25 PM

After Bond, Daniel will be doing straight to Netlfix or DVD/Blu-ray whatever is on the market.

Verde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:38:19 PM

"MGM Says "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Lost Money"

No sh*t... you got one of the biggest box office poisons of this era, so that's what you get.
James Blond writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:51:27 PM

no worrys dear MGM!

the hobbit 1+2 will bring u billions of dollars!!
James Blond writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:58:02 PM

i think actors should be payed after box office results....percentage!

no 20 million dollars for julia roberts when the movie flops!! basta!
billofill writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:58:19 PM

Gee the 3 hour R Rated movie didnt make the money you were hoping for?
Dr Fate writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 11:32:56 PM

i thought the movie was good and daniel craig tolerable.
rooney mara was pretty good in the film. Didnt expect this to be a blockbuster, since it had no cgi
DeVries writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 12:23:47 AM

"[We] were hoping we'd do 10% more than we did."

Oh really ? Do you know how the f*ck we do when we place our poor money at the bank, we, normal people ? 10% would be out of this world, so take the money you made and go f*ckyourselves in a place you better wish I'll never find you, c*nts.
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:57:59 AM

Mink -

"He doesn't resonate with audiences", That he doesn't

I didn't hate Cowboys & Aliens, Thought it was ok no more.

I've never read the comics or anything, Just seemed like they had a bunch of ideas to mix different genres together but forgot all about the story/script.

I was more interested in seeing Ford than Craig though, Which proves your point.
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:03:59 AM

C- Prime

I really liked Munich, I know a lot of people found it slow and boring, But i thought Spielberg handled the material very well and made an interesting (but not edge of you're seat) movie about revenge for Black September.

And Craig was pretty good also, But in a more supporting role.
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:04:50 AM

Verde - Nice avatar fella
SergioFX writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:30:55 AM

I HATE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS MOVIE, EVERYTHING ABOUT HOLLYWOOD, AND EVERYTHING ABOUT WP.
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:42:14 AM

WE ALL HATE YOU TOO SergioFX
trailertrash writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 4:49:16 AM

SO IT'S BACK TO YOU'RE MALE NUDES FOR YOU NOW !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 8:49:41 AM

Lots of good movies don't make money back.
fasciatus writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 1:23:28 PM

For me this is no surprise. Im Swedish, and I enjoyed the original, but I expected more from David Fincher.
Too me, this film was totally unnecessary. Why remake a film, that's just been released??????

Though, I will admit, that the American version was much more violent, and the soundtrack was way better than the original. Other than that, all the accents was just so bad. Some spoke with an American accent, some with a British accent, and others with an pretended Swedish accent, though it sound more like Russian too me.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 3:12:53 PM

Maybe the public was driven away because of the anal rape?

Of course it's the opposite for me, can't wait to see it...
c-prime writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 12:11:36 AM

"I really liked Munich, I know a lot of people found it slow and boring, But i thought Spielberg handled the material very well and made an interesting (but not edge of you're seat) movie about revenge for Black September."

I completely agree.
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:37:49 PM

Well craig is proly on his last legs here. Next bond movie better be a hit, critical and box office, with an original film hit as well to save him now. Fincher will be fine. And rooney mara got almost all the positive raving from this fipm. Not to mention she is the grandaughter of both the owner of the new york giants and the pitsburgh steelers. Familys intermarried. Also her name is noy rooney. Its her middle name, in part to acknowledge her lineage. So its like her name is reflecting both familys. Anyway, point is shes got more money than anyone can fathom. So even if her acting career takes a hit from the "non-success" at the box office i think she will be just fine
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:39:20 PM

Film* not*
minkowski writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 10:46:03 PM

Munich sucked. A big dollop of Spielberg's bullsh*t moral equivalence between Jew hating Muslim terrorists and Jews taking revenge on the Islamic mass murderers.

And Craig was barely there. That was Bana's movie, Craig was just filler. And people still couldn't stand the film either.

Like I said, poison.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved