WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Steven Spielberg's Cinematographer Says "Indiana Jones 5" is His Next Film
Oct 2nd, 2014
Ethan Hawke Considered For Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Oct 2nd, 2014
Adam Sandler to Make Four Movies Exclusively for Netflix
Oct 2nd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Teases Return For "Iron Man 4"
Oct 2nd, 2014
First Look at Bradley Cooper in Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper"
Oct 2nd, 2014
Michael Caine Says Daniel Radcliffe is His Son in "Now You See Me" Sequel
Oct 2nd, 2014
First Look at Sony's "Angry Birds" Animated Movie
Oct 2nd, 2014
Trailer for Hugo Weaving's "The Mule" Arrives Online
Oct 2nd, 2014
New Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Oct 2nd, 2014
Final Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV Series

Posted: March 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Last month we learned that NBC ordered thirteen episodes of "Hannibal," a new drama from producer Bryan Fuller ("Pushing Daisies") that will feature the classic characters from Thomas Harris' novel "Red Dragon."

The new series is described as an hour-long contemporary thriller that revolves around FBI agent Will Graham and his mentor, Dr. Hannibal Lecter. It is considered a prequel to the film franchise and will take place before the events in Brett Ratner's "Red Dragon" and Michael Mann's "Manhunter."

And today we have the first piece of casting news. According to TVLine, Hugh Dancy (Martha Marcy May Marlene) has been hired to play Graham, who was previously played on the big screen by William Petersen in "Manhunter" and Edward Norton in "Red Dragon."

No word on who will end up playing Hannibal. Stay tuned.

Source: TVLine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:42:48 AM

If it was ordered by HBO, it would be similar to the movies I'm sure.

But NBC is like PG13 audience. I can already see Chuck Norris as Hannibal.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:13:39 AM

Maybe if it was HBO or AMC..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:24:11 AM

TV shows are getting better and better now days I just finished season 2 of Walking Dead which was amazing, Game Of Thrones was one of the best things I've ever seen and Breaking Bad was edge of the seat tension that an hour and a half film couldn't dream of creating. This idea doesn't really sound like it could be that exciting as it's all been done with the films but I might give the first episode a go..
Eavusteria writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 7:00:51 AM

Dr. Lecter deserves better. Excuse me while I go make my own series featuring Buffalo Bill, with plenty of weenie tucking action.
Spankfish writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:13:42 AM

@ Eavusteria - They should should make an entire series around just that scene. And at the end of every show he has to say "It rubs the lotion on its skin, or it gets the hose again". But in some comedy way, like at the end of a Charlies Angels.

In fact, I think I might walk around for the rest of the day with my c*ck tucked away, in homage to that very shot.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:11:42 AM

1 season flop!
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 10:54:52 AM

This will SUCK so bad it's not even funny. The casting isn't going to work, NOTHING will be dark or "edgy" as those movies were. If you want to do a series right, you buy a late night slot on FX (like Nip/Tuck and The Shield did) or you go to HBO or Showtime. This is just a huge FAIL waiting to happen. It's NBC for christsakes! No violence, no mature subject matter, no Hannibal eating brains.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:20:06 PM

1986: Michael Mann directs Manhunter. Even with Tangerone Dream's fantastic soundtrack, no one gives a sh*t.

1991: Demme directs Silence of the Lambs. People notice, mostly because Fosters and Anthony serve up a tense battle of wits between a young woman and an old man. Anthony wins an Academy Award. Foster still hates men.

2001: Ridley Scott directs Hannibal, a sequel to the previous film. Anthony returns, Foster does not. Huge anticipation on this one, because of the fame of Silence, the decade-long wait, and the attachment of Ridley Scott, director of numerous popular films. Hannibal makes money, fails with critics. Whatever pop-cultural fascination bloomed with Silence gets strangled with Hannibal. Disappointment is a bitch named Jodie.

2002: Bret Ratner of X-Men 3 infamy directs Red Dragon, starring Hopkins once again, and Edward Norton. Film makes money, and is a critical success, although no one can understand, to this day, how Ratner managed to not f*ck it up.

2006: Someone made some bullsh*t called Hannibal Rising. No one knows who directed it, starred in it, wrote it, but it was made and forgotten. No Anthony Hopkins this time. Notice a pattern?

2012: NBC, one of America's oldest networks, and one that consistently makes sh*t, decides to produce a Hannibal television show. A PG to PG-13 rating is guaranteed, and Hopkins won't appear. Both Nostradamus and Edgar Cayce predict this show will fail. So does my f*cking dog.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:29:32 PM

Bravo Mink. Nice one.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:35:36 PM

Thanks Bullit. Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:36:23 PM

I say because it's the only way to get hi to show up these days. Lazy f*cking Canuckian.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:57:55 PM

not gonna lie, im gonna watch this lol or at least ill give it try, i love the series, and i think it will be interesting to see how Lector and Graham got along before Graham caught him..
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:01 PM

@Mink - mostly agree with your POV chronology. However, Scott's 2001 Hannibal worked for me especially seeing the creative ways that Dr. Lecter killed 1) hanging and disembowelling Giannini at Palazzo Vecchio which historically referenced his Pazzi family heritage of hangings 2) brain pan frying Ray Liotta and serving him up. The first 3 Thomas Harris novels were excellent reads. Interesting to see that Harris is writing a book for this TV series. However it's a television show, so the adult content, gore, sex, tortures, captivity will be PG-rated. And forget about any scenes of Migs throwing his spluge. Rather I see them going for a Criminal Minds and CSI approach. Rapid one hour solve the crime using latest forensics and quid pro quo riddles between Hannibal and Graham.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:20:07 PM

"Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question." LOL!

I see you're in form today Mink.

I had a bad day at work yesterday as it is very exhausting to deal with genuine idiots explaining the very obvious and it tends to go on my nerves which resulted by going over the top gratuitously. So, to whom it may concern, I didn't mean that at all.
billofill writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:42:47 PM

Mink, the reason Red Dragon was successful is it was a faithful adapted script from the screen writer of Silence of the Lambs. As for Ratner, he almost f*cked it up by his lame attempt scares.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:34:51 PM

I enjoyed Red DRagon more instead than Manhunter.

probably the best film Rattner ever directed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:54:37 PM

Now Bando's post will wake Trig up thats for sure ..
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 4:21:03 PM

sorry dude Manhunter bore the living sh*t outta me.I liked brian Cox as Hannibal though thats it.
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:57:08 PM

Im seeing this getting canceled quickly. Unless hopkins joins the cast. Even as a narrator would be enough

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved