WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "The Turning" Anthology Film, with Cate Blanche and Rose Byrne
Jan 20th, 2015
"American Sniper" Shattering Box Office Records, "Blackhat" First Flop of 2015
Jan 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV Series

Posted: March 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Last month we learned that NBC ordered thirteen episodes of "Hannibal," a new drama from producer Bryan Fuller ("Pushing Daisies") that will feature the classic characters from Thomas Harris' novel "Red Dragon."

The new series is described as an hour-long contemporary thriller that revolves around FBI agent Will Graham and his mentor, Dr. Hannibal Lecter. It is considered a prequel to the film franchise and will take place before the events in Brett Ratner's "Red Dragon" and Michael Mann's "Manhunter."

And today we have the first piece of casting news. According to TVLine, Hugh Dancy (Martha Marcy May Marlene) has been hired to play Graham, who was previously played on the big screen by William Petersen in "Manhunter" and Edward Norton in "Red Dragon."

No word on who will end up playing Hannibal. Stay tuned.

Source: TVLine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:42:48 AM

If it was ordered by HBO, it would be similar to the movies I'm sure.

But NBC is like PG13 audience. I can already see Chuck Norris as Hannibal.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:13:39 AM

Maybe if it was HBO or AMC..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:24:11 AM

TV shows are getting better and better now days I just finished season 2 of Walking Dead which was amazing, Game Of Thrones was one of the best things I've ever seen and Breaking Bad was edge of the seat tension that an hour and a half film couldn't dream of creating. This idea doesn't really sound like it could be that exciting as it's all been done with the films but I might give the first episode a go..
Eavusteria writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 7:00:51 AM

Dr. Lecter deserves better. Excuse me while I go make my own series featuring Buffalo Bill, with plenty of weenie tucking action.
Spankfish writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:13:42 AM

@ Eavusteria - They should should make an entire series around just that scene. And at the end of every show he has to say "It rubs the lotion on its skin, or it gets the hose again". But in some comedy way, like at the end of a Charlies Angels.

In fact, I think I might walk around for the rest of the day with my c*ck tucked away, in homage to that very shot.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:11:42 AM

1 season flop!
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 10:54:52 AM

This will SUCK so bad it's not even funny. The casting isn't going to work, NOTHING will be dark or "edgy" as those movies were. If you want to do a series right, you buy a late night slot on FX (like Nip/Tuck and The Shield did) or you go to HBO or Showtime. This is just a huge FAIL waiting to happen. It's NBC for christsakes! No violence, no mature subject matter, no Hannibal eating brains.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:20:06 PM

1986: Michael Mann directs Manhunter. Even with Tangerone Dream's fantastic soundtrack, no one gives a sh*t.

1991: Demme directs Silence of the Lambs. People notice, mostly because Fosters and Anthony serve up a tense battle of wits between a young woman and an old man. Anthony wins an Academy Award. Foster still hates men.

2001: Ridley Scott directs Hannibal, a sequel to the previous film. Anthony returns, Foster does not. Huge anticipation on this one, because of the fame of Silence, the decade-long wait, and the attachment of Ridley Scott, director of numerous popular films. Hannibal makes money, fails with critics. Whatever pop-cultural fascination bloomed with Silence gets strangled with Hannibal. Disappointment is a bitch named Jodie.

2002: Bret Ratner of X-Men 3 infamy directs Red Dragon, starring Hopkins once again, and Edward Norton. Film makes money, and is a critical success, although no one can understand, to this day, how Ratner managed to not f*ck it up.

2006: Someone made some bullsh*t called Hannibal Rising. No one knows who directed it, starred in it, wrote it, but it was made and forgotten. No Anthony Hopkins this time. Notice a pattern?

2012: NBC, one of America's oldest networks, and one that consistently makes sh*t, decides to produce a Hannibal television show. A PG to PG-13 rating is guaranteed, and Hopkins won't appear. Both Nostradamus and Edgar Cayce predict this show will fail. So does my f*cking dog.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:29:32 PM

Bravo Mink. Nice one.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:35:36 PM

Thanks Bullit. Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:36:23 PM

I say because it's the only way to get hi to show up these days. Lazy f*cking Canuckian.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:57:55 PM

not gonna lie, im gonna watch this lol or at least ill give it try, i love the series, and i think it will be interesting to see how Lector and Graham got along before Graham caught him..
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:01 PM

@Mink - mostly agree with your POV chronology. However, Scott's 2001 Hannibal worked for me especially seeing the creative ways that Dr. Lecter killed 1) hanging and disembowelling Giannini at Palazzo Vecchio which historically referenced his Pazzi family heritage of hangings 2) brain pan frying Ray Liotta and serving him up. The first 3 Thomas Harris novels were excellent reads. Interesting to see that Harris is writing a book for this TV series. However it's a television show, so the adult content, gore, sex, tortures, captivity will be PG-rated. And forget about any scenes of Migs throwing his spluge. Rather I see them going for a Criminal Minds and CSI approach. Rapid one hour solve the crime using latest forensics and quid pro quo riddles between Hannibal and Graham.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:20:07 PM

"Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question." LOL!

I see you're in form today Mink.

I had a bad day at work yesterday as it is very exhausting to deal with genuine idiots explaining the very obvious and it tends to go on my nerves which resulted by going over the top gratuitously. So, to whom it may concern, I didn't mean that at all.
billofill writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:42:47 PM

Mink, the reason Red Dragon was successful is it was a faithful adapted script from the screen writer of Silence of the Lambs. As for Ratner, he almost f*cked it up by his lame attempt scares.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:34:51 PM

I enjoyed Red DRagon more instead than Manhunter.

probably the best film Rattner ever directed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:54:37 PM

Now Bando's post will wake Trig up thats for sure ..
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 4:21:03 PM

sorry dude Manhunter bore the living sh*t outta me.I liked brian Cox as Hannibal though thats it.
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:57:08 PM

Im seeing this getting canceled quickly. Unless hopkins joins the cast. Even as a narrator would be enough

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved