WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV Series

Posted: March 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Last month we learned that NBC ordered thirteen episodes of "Hannibal," a new drama from producer Bryan Fuller ("Pushing Daisies") that will feature the classic characters from Thomas Harris' novel "Red Dragon."

The new series is described as an hour-long contemporary thriller that revolves around FBI agent Will Graham and his mentor, Dr. Hannibal Lecter. It is considered a prequel to the film franchise and will take place before the events in Brett Ratner's "Red Dragon" and Michael Mann's "Manhunter."

And today we have the first piece of casting news. According to TVLine, Hugh Dancy (Martha Marcy May Marlene) has been hired to play Graham, who was previously played on the big screen by William Petersen in "Manhunter" and Edward Norton in "Red Dragon."

No word on who will end up playing Hannibal. Stay tuned.

Source: TVLine


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:42:48 AM

If it was ordered by HBO, it would be similar to the movies I'm sure.

But NBC is like PG13 audience. I can already see Chuck Norris as Hannibal.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:13:39 AM

Maybe if it was HBO or AMC..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:24:11 AM

TV shows are getting better and better now days I just finished season 2 of Walking Dead which was amazing, Game Of Thrones was one of the best things I've ever seen and Breaking Bad was edge of the seat tension that an hour and a half film couldn't dream of creating. This idea doesn't really sound like it could be that exciting as it's all been done with the films but I might give the first episode a go..
Eavusteria writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 7:00:51 AM

Dr. Lecter deserves better. Excuse me while I go make my own series featuring Buffalo Bill, with plenty of weenie tucking action.
Spankfish writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:13:42 AM

@ Eavusteria - They should should make an entire series around just that scene. And at the end of every show he has to say "It rubs the lotion on its skin, or it gets the hose again". But in some comedy way, like at the end of a Charlies Angels.

In fact, I think I might walk around for the rest of the day with my c*ck tucked away, in homage to that very shot.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:11:42 AM

1 season flop!
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 10:54:52 AM

This will SUCK so bad it's not even funny. The casting isn't going to work, NOTHING will be dark or "edgy" as those movies were. If you want to do a series right, you buy a late night slot on FX (like Nip/Tuck and The Shield did) or you go to HBO or Showtime. This is just a huge FAIL waiting to happen. It's NBC for christsakes! No violence, no mature subject matter, no Hannibal eating brains.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:20:06 PM

1986: Michael Mann directs Manhunter. Even with Tangerone Dream's fantastic soundtrack, no one gives a sh*t.

1991: Demme directs Silence of the Lambs. People notice, mostly because Fosters and Anthony serve up a tense battle of wits between a young woman and an old man. Anthony wins an Academy Award. Foster still hates men.

2001: Ridley Scott directs Hannibal, a sequel to the previous film. Anthony returns, Foster does not. Huge anticipation on this one, because of the fame of Silence, the decade-long wait, and the attachment of Ridley Scott, director of numerous popular films. Hannibal makes money, fails with critics. Whatever pop-cultural fascination bloomed with Silence gets strangled with Hannibal. Disappointment is a bitch named Jodie.

2002: Bret Ratner of X-Men 3 infamy directs Red Dragon, starring Hopkins once again, and Edward Norton. Film makes money, and is a critical success, although no one can understand, to this day, how Ratner managed to not f*ck it up.

2006: Someone made some bullsh*t called Hannibal Rising. No one knows who directed it, starred in it, wrote it, but it was made and forgotten. No Anthony Hopkins this time. Notice a pattern?

2012: NBC, one of America's oldest networks, and one that consistently makes sh*t, decides to produce a Hannibal television show. A PG to PG-13 rating is guaranteed, and Hopkins won't appear. Both Nostradamus and Edgar Cayce predict this show will fail. So does my f*cking dog.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:29:32 PM

Bravo Mink. Nice one.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:35:36 PM

Thanks Bullit. Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:36:23 PM

I say because it's the only way to get hi to show up these days. Lazy f*cking Canuckian.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:57:55 PM

not gonna lie, im gonna watch this lol or at least ill give it try, i love the series, and i think it will be interesting to see how Lector and Graham got along before Graham caught him..
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:01 PM

@Mink - mostly agree with your POV chronology. However, Scott's 2001 Hannibal worked for me especially seeing the creative ways that Dr. Lecter killed 1) hanging and disembowelling Giannini at Palazzo Vecchio which historically referenced his Pazzi family heritage of hangings 2) brain pan frying Ray Liotta and serving him up. The first 3 Thomas Harris novels were excellent reads. Interesting to see that Harris is writing a book for this TV series. However it's a television show, so the adult content, gore, sex, tortures, captivity will be PG-rated. And forget about any scenes of Migs throwing his spluge. Rather I see them going for a Criminal Minds and CSI approach. Rapid one hour solve the crime using latest forensics and quid pro quo riddles between Hannibal and Graham.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:20:07 PM

"Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question." LOL!

I see you're in form today Mink.

I had a bad day at work yesterday as it is very exhausting to deal with genuine idiots explaining the very obvious and it tends to go on my nerves which resulted by going over the top gratuitously. So, to whom it may concern, I didn't mean that at all.
billofill writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:42:47 PM

Mink, the reason Red Dragon was successful is it was a faithful adapted script from the screen writer of Silence of the Lambs. As for Ratner, he almost f*cked it up by his lame attempt scares.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:34:51 PM

I enjoyed Red DRagon more instead than Manhunter.

probably the best film Rattner ever directed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:54:37 PM

Now Bando's post will wake Trig up thats for sure ..
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 4:21:03 PM

sorry dude Manhunter bore the living sh*t outta me.I liked brian Cox as Hannibal though thats it.
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:57:08 PM

Im seeing this getting canceled quickly. Unless hopkins joins the cast. Even as a narrator would be enough

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved