WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Angry Birds" Movie is Here!
Sep 24th, 2015
Trailer for "The Big Short," with Christian Bale, Brad Pitt, Ryan Gosling and Steve Carell
Sep 24th, 2015
Ridley Scott Planning Three "Prometheus" Sequels
Sep 23rd, 2015
"John Wick 2" to Shoot this Fall, Keanu Reeves Will Return
Sep 23rd, 2015
New Trailer for "The Peanuts Movie"
Sep 23rd, 2015
Liam Neeson's "Taken" Franchise to Become a Prequel TV Series
Sep 21st, 2015
Brie Larson Joins Steve Carell in "Battle of the Sexes" Tennis Drama
Sep 21st, 2015
"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Sep 19th, 2015
Bryan Singer's Next Film is "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"
Sep 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Bus 657" Action Thriller, with Robert De Niro and Jeffrey Dean Morgan
Sep 19th, 2015
New Trailer for "Point Break" Remake
Sep 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Vin Diesel's "The Last Witch Hunter" Supernatural Film
Sep 19th, 2015
Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult
Sep 17th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV Series

Posted: March 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Dancy Cast in "Hannibal" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
Last month we learned that NBC ordered thirteen episodes of "Hannibal," a new drama from producer Bryan Fuller ("Pushing Daisies") that will feature the classic characters from Thomas Harris' novel "Red Dragon."

The new series is described as an hour-long contemporary thriller that revolves around FBI agent Will Graham and his mentor, Dr. Hannibal Lecter. It is considered a prequel to the film franchise and will take place before the events in Brett Ratner's "Red Dragon" and Michael Mann's "Manhunter."

And today we have the first piece of casting news. According to TVLine, Hugh Dancy (Martha Marcy May Marlene) has been hired to play Graham, who was previously played on the big screen by William Petersen in "Manhunter" and Edward Norton in "Red Dragon."

No word on who will end up playing Hannibal. Stay tuned.

Source: TVLine

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 5:42:48 AM

If it was ordered by HBO, it would be similar to the movies I'm sure.

But NBC is like PG13 audience. I can already see Chuck Norris as Hannibal.
Adsamalam123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:13:39 AM

Maybe if it was HBO or AMC..
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 6:24:11 AM

TV shows are getting better and better now days I just finished season 2 of Walking Dead which was amazing, Game Of Thrones was one of the best things I've ever seen and Breaking Bad was edge of the seat tension that an hour and a half film couldn't dream of creating. This idea doesn't really sound like it could be that exciting as it's all been done with the films but I might give the first episode a go..
Eavusteria writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 7:00:51 AM

Dr. Lecter deserves better. Excuse me while I go make my own series featuring Buffalo Bill, with plenty of weenie tucking action.
Spankfish writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 8:13:42 AM

@ Eavusteria - They should should make an entire series around just that scene. And at the end of every show he has to say "It rubs the lotion on its skin, or it gets the hose again". But in some comedy way, like at the end of a Charlies Angels.

In fact, I think I might walk around for the rest of the day with my c*ck tucked away, in homage to that very shot.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 9:11:42 AM

1 season flop!
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 10:54:52 AM

This will SUCK so bad it's not even funny. The casting isn't going to work, NOTHING will be dark or "edgy" as those movies were. If you want to do a series right, you buy a late night slot on FX (like Nip/Tuck and The Shield did) or you go to HBO or Showtime. This is just a huge FAIL waiting to happen. It's NBC for christsakes! No violence, no mature subject matter, no Hannibal eating brains.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:20:06 PM

1986: Michael Mann directs Manhunter. Even with Tangerone Dream's fantastic soundtrack, no one gives a sh*t.

1991: Demme directs Silence of the Lambs. People notice, mostly because Fosters and Anthony serve up a tense battle of wits between a young woman and an old man. Anthony wins an Academy Award. Foster still hates men.

2001: Ridley Scott directs Hannibal, a sequel to the previous film. Anthony returns, Foster does not. Huge anticipation on this one, because of the fame of Silence, the decade-long wait, and the attachment of Ridley Scott, director of numerous popular films. Hannibal makes money, fails with critics. Whatever pop-cultural fascination bloomed with Silence gets strangled with Hannibal. Disappointment is a bitch named Jodie.

2002: Bret Ratner of X-Men 3 infamy directs Red Dragon, starring Hopkins once again, and Edward Norton. Film makes money, and is a critical success, although no one can understand, to this day, how Ratner managed to not f*ck it up.

2006: Someone made some bullsh*t called Hannibal Rising. No one knows who directed it, starred in it, wrote it, but it was made and forgotten. No Anthony Hopkins this time. Notice a pattern?

2012: NBC, one of America's oldest networks, and one that consistently makes sh*t, decides to produce a Hannibal television show. A PG to PG-13 rating is guaranteed, and Hopkins won't appear. Both Nostradamus and Edgar Cayce predict this show will fail. So does my f*cking dog.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:29:32 PM

Bravo Mink. Nice one.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:35:36 PM

Thanks Bullit. Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question.
minkowski writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:36:23 PM

I say because it's the only way to get hi to show up these days. Lazy f*cking Canuckian.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 12:57:55 PM

not gonna lie, im gonna watch this lol or at least ill give it try, i love the series, and i think it will be interesting to see how Lector and Graham got along before Graham caught him..
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:01 PM

@Mink - mostly agree with your POV chronology. However, Scott's 2001 Hannibal worked for me especially seeing the creative ways that Dr. Lecter killed 1) hanging and disembowelling Giannini at Palazzo Vecchio which historically referenced his Pazzi family heritage of hangings 2) brain pan frying Ray Liotta and serving him up. The first 3 Thomas Harris novels were excellent reads. Interesting to see that Harris is writing a book for this TV series. However it's a television show, so the adult content, gore, sex, tortures, captivity will be PG-rated. And forget about any scenes of Migs throwing his spluge. Rather I see them going for a Criminal Minds and CSI approach. Rapid one hour solve the crime using latest forensics and quid pro quo riddles between Hannibal and Graham.
Bullit writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:20:07 PM

"Oh, can you say 'n*gger' again, please? I need to ask Trig a question." LOL!

I see you're in form today Mink.

I had a bad day at work yesterday as it is very exhausting to deal with genuine idiots explaining the very obvious and it tends to go on my nerves which resulted by going over the top gratuitously. So, to whom it may concern, I didn't mean that at all.
billofill writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:42:47 PM

Mink, the reason Red Dragon was successful is it was a faithful adapted script from the screen writer of Silence of the Lambs. As for Ratner, he almost f*cked it up by his lame attempt scares.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:34:51 PM

I enjoyed Red DRagon more instead than Manhunter.

probably the best film Rattner ever directed.
trailertrash writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:54:37 PM

Now Bando's post will wake Trig up thats for sure ..
bandolero999 writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 4:21:03 PM

sorry dude Manhunter bore the living sh*t outta me.I liked brian Cox as Hannibal though thats it.
vincere01 writes:
on March 25th, 2012 at 1:57:08 PM

Im seeing this getting canceled quickly. Unless hopkins joins the cast. Even as a narrator would be enough

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved