WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Creator Responds to Michael Bay's Alien Idea

Posted: March 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Creator Responds to Michael BaySubmit Comment
Michael Bay recently stated that the turtles in the upcoming live-action "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" will be aliens instead of mutants. Since then, some of the cast from the original trilogy have expressed their disgust with the idea, while others are embracing it.

Bay recently told the fans to "chill," because he's working with one of the original creators of the franchise. Now, one of those creators, Peter Alan Laird, has commented on this turtle controversy.

"I would actually encourage 'TMNT' fans to swallow the 'chill pill' Mr. Bay recently suggested they take, and wait and see what might come out of this seemingly ill-conceived plan," he said. "It's possible that with enough truly creative brainpower applied to this idea, it might actually work. I'm not saying it's probable, or even somewhat likely... but it IS possible."

He went on to explain that over the years there have been attempts at adding a fifth turtle, something that even he considered. Unfortunately, he was never happy with the results, but now Bay may actually make it happen. "If the TMNT are actually members of an alien race, there could be a whole PLANET of them! Joy."

Laird later summarized his comments with the following thought: "It makes me wonder what the reaction would have been had the producer of the upcoming 'Superman' movie announced that instead of Kal-El being an alien from the planet Krypton, they would be making him a mutant created on Earth by KryptoBioGenetics, Inc. That's almost as wacky."

Source: PeterLairdsTMNTBlog, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kBob writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:48:25 AM

I don't f*cking care. Come out with some concept art, a plot synopsis, and some footage and maybe, just maybe, I'll give a flippin sh*t. What do you TMNT fans think about Tebow on the Jets?
GreenLensman writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:52:56 AM

Really don't care too much now that I'm out of 1st grade...and i don't exactly remember how "the ooze" was made (that one scientist dude) but if they at least made the new movie have in it that they formed the ooze from some other dimensional planet or space rock and the oozes origins trace back to this so called alien turtle planet...well then its cool...but iono, 4 turtles is all they really need
johnny_boy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:57:07 AM

Sure he doesn't care about Bays dumb ass idea. He's getting paid bank either way.
Motorious writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:08:41 AM

TGRI Ooze for life . . .
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:23:15 AM

Adding a 5th turtle?

How about Ringo Starr?
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:24:25 AM

'That's almost as wacky.'

What's really 'wacky' is how much play this useless story is getting on here daily at WP.

f*ck me.
Bullit writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:57:51 AM

^ ^ I 2nd that! Enough with those turtles.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:59:03 AM

"truly creative brainpower"?

He knows he is talking about Bay right?
lppinto writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:19:27 AM

I don't f*cking care, i'll pirate the f*cker and maybe i will fastforward through it.. Not that i'm condoning piracy..
pornfly writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:27:24 AM

What JOHNNY BOY said
i dont give a sh*t anyway
I just dont like Bay thinkin he can go all willynilly on whatever he likes just because hes got the dough

Have fun with Tito the turtle
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:35:00 AM

Ahh just looking at that picture made me remember how much I loved those 3 Turtle films as a kid. They all had dangerous weapons but only ever used them for hitting other things or knocking people out. If they do make a new film it needs to be dark, it needs to be gritty and April needs to be hot.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 6:14:35 AM

I will not swallow any "chill pill" Bay is offering, just as I don't talk to strangers or have unprotected sex with tranny Thai-hookers. Selfpreservation.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 6:30:16 AM

I know right! Whenever a c*nt like Michael Bay who hasn't earned my respect on any level except maybe a few films in the 90s tells me to "chill" I'm just gonna get even more angry.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 6:33:49 AM

I personally like to give Bay the benefit of the doubt, but in this case I think I'm still going to watch the original live-action trilogy instead.
Taco writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 6:52:30 AM

Remember when they made the highlanders aliens? Yeah look how that turned out!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 7:19:24 AM

IS ruined theres no hope Bay is gonna do what he wants cause he's a millionare.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyZ7i1VBKQM&feature=plcp&context=C40b8cdaVDvjVQa1PpcFOBR8bgfU7OFi6xknWvLz3CnN1Urg5CyyM=
Bunny X writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 8:25:52 AM

I can take adding a 5th turtle a helluva lot more than changing them to aliens. I mean the fact that they were just them and unique added to their charm. You have them come from an entire race of alien turtles and you take all that uniqueness away.
but the point that drives me batsh*t crazy is this guy giving props to Bay for his "potential brainpower" being applied to this idea. Are you effing kidding me?!?!?! Bay single-handedly destroyed one of the greatest toy franchises with his Transformer movies. The tv series and animated movie were so great, Bay's films were so epically horrid that it completely overshadowed any light the TV series and the animated movie had given this franchise. It's to the point where we will talk about how bad the films were before talking about how good the TV/Animovie were. And yet they're content in putting TMNT in his hands?? Shoot me in the face now.
crimsonshaft writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 8:50:10 AM

the creator just summed up why everyone is pissed. Yes, in the right hands, with the right creativity this probably would work. But the combination of Michael Bay and saying they are aliens means it's going to be a sh*t movie and story. When Bay said to chill, his team is working on it = let me writers/producers take turns raping this thing while we laugh on piles of money.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 9:30:04 AM

As long as they cast Emma Stone as April I will watch. 5 turtles, aliens I don't give a f*ck! They can all watch as I give April a Titian Giotto with a Brunelleschi facial
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 9:36:16 AM

This just feels like a marketing scheme now. So much bullsh*t talk about a franchise that's been dead for over 20 yrs. f*ck off bay f*ck off Bay....
That80sKidOfYor writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 9:46:22 AM

hello people.
micheal bay is a f*cking hack with no movie skills.
he makes sh*t blow up in his movies. so this is another excuse hell probably make leonardo make a bomb and blow up shredder at the end of the movie. they'll have pizza because there ancient alien civilization created pizza and master splinter will probably spread the black plauge and everyone will have a good laugh
MMJoe writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 10:51:01 AM

"Enough is enough, I had it with mother f*cking turtle, in this mother f*cker forum!" See what I did just there. ;-)
blinkbomber writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 11:21:03 AM

TMNT news is still more interesting then *looks to the left* Twilight, Madagascar 3, and John Carter news.

I hate this alien idea, but can't help wondering how they could make it work. Maybe the ooze that transformed the turtles is really alien DNA?? That could explain Splinter's coming too, and maybe even Krang... but an alien race of turtle martial artists?? Blasphemy to me!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 11:45:54 AM

Whatever story he goes with is going to be equaly ridiculous so instead of trying to reinvent the whole thing just stick to the original story so then no one will moan at you. They're aliens? Civilised enough to make their way to earth meaning they've travelled the entire distance of our solar system from an inhabitable planet... meaning that they've advanced way beyond anything humans can even dream of at this point. So we can only assume the four baby turtles were left by the rest of their turtle race otherwise they wouldn't live in a sewer and eat pizza. They're also ninja's meaning they trained in our martial arts unless their home planet also trains ninjas and what about Splinter who trained them? A huge f*cking rat? Don't tell me he comes from the same planet of overgrown talking/fighting animals.
beepboop writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:02:16 PM

teenage MUTANT ninja turtles
I would expect them to be mutants, because their name says so.

but it doesn't matter really. what if, and that is a horrifying what if, what if: THE TMNT ARE FULL CGI?!
we should be afraid of that!
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:06:48 PM

They're Turtles. They speak English. They're named after Renaissance artists. They use primitive Japanese earth weapons. They use colloquialisms like 'chill out dude' and their master is a giant kimono-wearing rat. Their enemy is a Japanese man who wears a mask made of Optimus Prime's mouth. They eat stale pizza and they live in a closet located at the intersection of Subway and Sewer.

But they come from a race of aliens intelligent enough to very quickly traverse the vast distances between stars.

Uh.


Huh.


minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:07:40 PM

"but it doesn't matter really. what if, and that is a horrifying what if, what if: THE TMNT ARE FULL CGI?!
we should be afraid of that!"



Ummm, last I heard they're going to be FULLY CGI. That was the plan from the beginning, IIRC.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:10:16 PM

"As long as they cast Emma Stone as April I will watch. 5 turtles, aliens I don't give a f*ck! They can all watch as I give April a Titian Giotto with a Brunelleschi facial"



Clever Renaissance humor, big_daddy. lol.



Titian was the man, though, wasn't he?
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:46:00 PM

^Personally I always thought his work was flat. Alas I have never witness them in person nor the work of any other Renaissance artist. Shame really as I believe I would enjoy the history of my ancestry. Personally I prefer the work of Ghirlandaio but I haven't studied ART in over 15 years
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:10:38 PM

I never figured you for a man of artistry, Big_daddy, I guess because you've never mentioned it.

I like Caravaggio. He studied under some guy that studied under Titian, and I think Caravaggio really improved upon his master's master's work.

I the artist who impresses me the most is a man named Paolo Uccello.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paolo_Uccello

Sure, his artwork is a bit bland, and flat and thus he can't hold a Roman candle to someone like Caravaggio, but damned if he didn't invent the 3D wireframe more than five centuries before CGI came into existence:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thane/5526880898/

Of course, he was a mathematician too.
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:20:33 PM

i see minks still running his big ugly mouth and ranger's still talking like hes ever had sex in his life. trailers still yapping like lapdog and cinemas still humping legs, bando and pornfly still talking sh*t like there good for anything and all the other trolls in this dump still going at it. losers. and mink you have a really gay icture. change that f*cker. and ranger, whats with the rabbit you f*cking homo. bunch of losers and fags.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:33:43 PM

@ Mink

I never mentioned cause I'm like an Onion, And when I say Onion its because I smell really ,really Bad.

I was into all that stuff in High school then I met my Wife and she drained all the life out of me until I became a mindless zombie of work, kids, soccer, work, sleep , kids , clean, soccer , football, movie, game, sleep, clean..... you get the point.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:36:33 PM

And I like Caravaggio also. Really Dark and natural textures in almost all his work.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:38:12 PM

I do, big_daddy, I do, and yet nowhere in there did you mention sex...

Which reminds me

http://funnyjokesandquotes.com/lovelustmarriage.html/
trailertrash writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:40:02 PM

If we ignore you Plastic will you just go away and die somewhere, please, pretty please with you're daughters cherry on top
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:41:21 PM

"And I like Caravaggio also. Really Dark and natural textures in almost all his work."

Yep. And one day some genius will make a CGI film that looks just like the man's style. Imagine that, an entire animated film in Caravaggio.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:43:01 PM

@ Mink

Funny stuff

and SEX? why is it my birthday? Christmas?
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:03:29 PM

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Hero's on the half shell, go f*ck Plastic's daughter!!
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:06:58 PM

"go f*ck Plastic's daughter!!"

That was going to be my solution to big_daddy's no-sex problem, trailer. You beat me to it.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:13:53 PM

That was going to be my solution to big_daddy's no-sex problem,


Whoa WHoa Whoa..............I said no sex..............with the Wife
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:18:50 PM

Oh, ok, I see. Plastic Man's daughter is good enough (barely) for every other man on the planet, but not you, huh?

(joking, dude, just joking)
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:26:31 PM

Plastic mans daughter has had sex with every other man on the planet?



What a WHORE,

*sniff* *sniff* she said I was special
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:29:45 PM

It's ok Big, I know how you feel my friend. I was told I was special too. I put my pants on walked out the door and there was another customer waiting in the hallway. Just glad I just first dibbs of the day.
Big_Daddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:48:07 PM

^ HaHA.

speaking of a line

An old man made it shakily through the door to Billy Bob's Cowgirl Ranch, outside of Reno, Nevada.The receptionist stared at him. "You gotta be in the wrong place,"she exclaimed. "What are you looking for?" "Ain't this the famous Mustang? Ain't this where you got
forty-five girls ready 'n' able?"
The receptionist looked perplexed. "Ready for what?""I want a girl," the old man rasped. "I wanna get laid." "How old are you, Pop?" she asked.
"Ninety-two," he replied.
"Ninety-two? Gramps, you've had it!"
"Oh," said the old man, a little disconcerted as his trembling
fingers reached for his wallet.

"How much do I owe you?"

Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:10:05 PM

Just don't make another one in the first place-- no one wants to see yet another sh*tty turtle movie or another sh*tty Micahel bay movie
Zaftig writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 8:45:37 PM

Superman comparison = delusions of grandeur. The stupid thing is that 'teenage', 'ninja' and 'turtle' are all earth-based concepts. And the mutant part of the name is how we understand that they are not aliens. Just saying.
Hero320 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 10:18:37 PM

There was a 5th turtle added... In the live action TV series, Next Mutation, the 5th was a girl turtle name Venus.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved