WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

George Orwell's "1984" Being Remade

Posted: March 22nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
George OrwellSubmit Comment
Imagine Entertainment, a production company ran by director Ron Howard and producer Brian Grazer, is planning a remake of George Orwell's "1984." While acquiring the rights to the property, Imagine teamed with street artist Shepard Fairey, who is best known for the Barack Obama "Hope" campaign poster. Fairey will serve as a producer on the new movie.

The book is set in a dystopian society in a perpetual state of war, which in turn leads to a state of paranoia. Propaganda, surveillance, and mind control - all concepts seen in totalitarian and fascist states such as Nazi Germany and Stalin's Soviet Union - were taken to new levels.

The story centers on a man named Winston Smith who works for a government branch named the Ministry of Truth, where he alters facts and histories but secretly harbors desires of rebellion, as well as desires of a forbidden love affair.

"1984" was previously adapted for the big screen in 1984. It was directed by Michael Radford and starred John Hurt.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
vaodsi writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:43:20 AM

Good. I'm totally cool with re-adaptions of great literature.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:36:38 AM

If done correctly..then will be very good.
pornfly writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:36:37 AM

Winston Smith sounds like all these hacks and their sh*tty reboots
but i knew this remake was coming
Should be a perfect fit with all the BS goin on today if done correctly
Frank_Castle writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 5:59:27 AM

This was my favorite book back in High School
Avirex writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 10:17:17 AM

As long as it is more "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" and less Michael Bay's "The Island" it should be decent.
Bullit writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 11:13:49 AM

We don't have somebody a Richard Burton these days. So , good luck with that one.

I had this book in high school too. We were very passionate about it. Great novel.
Bullit writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 11:14:14 AM

a=like
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 12:23:10 PM

Why do we even have to remake this film it's happening all around us just look at the f*cking news!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 12:23:40 PM

1984 was supposed to be a deterrent not an instruction manual.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 12:40:41 PM

Ah, Cinema, you're right again, and no place more on the planet celebrates the spirit of Orwell's 1984 than your home across the pond, Great Britain, where the average Londoner can expect to be imaged an average of 300 times per day.

Fear not, though, the 'City on the Hill', the fair and majestic United States of America, is quickly catching up. We've begun selling televisions that watch you watching them, and we've also begun selling autonomous drones to local law enforcement. SOPA/PIPA/ACTA, C-11, it's all just the very beginning of a 'new world order' that will make 1984 look like the Wizard of Oz.

As for the film, no, just no. The first one was fine. Read the damned book, or make it mandatory reading in school if you must, though they won't because the powers that be would rather people forget Orwell's admonishments against tyrannical oversight and the surveillance state, right?

But a movie, no, they'll just fill it to the hilt with explosions, car chases, obligatory semi-nude shots of the hunky hero, ala I, Robot and other contrivances meant to engage the vapid minds of 15 to 28 lobotomized Facebook'ed Twittering imbeciles that knuckle-walk into theaters these days.

On a similar note, I think one the best scripts I've ever read was Frank Darabont's adaptation of Fahrenheit 451. A great modern read, a nice update even, but the way he ends it, with Pakistan nuking the US, well, not what Americans would care to see, and a little on the fantastical side.

Besides, unless a book has lots of sex, or violence, or vampires, or children killing each other, or warlocks and witches, Americans simply won't read it, so why think they'd pay to see a film that extols the survival of great literature over base materialism? Wrong audience indeed.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:47:41 PM

"who is best known for the Barack Obama "Hope" campaign poster. Fairey will serve as a producer on the new movie."

Who better to bring us a vision of fascism than an Obama lackey, right?

(...you got what you wanted, WP, right?)
Man in Black writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:43:35 PM

Just No .... and if you ( hollywood ) plan on an updated Fahrenheit 451, leave that one alone also cause you sure did a bang up job on The Sound of Thunder and The Time Machine .
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:02:12 PM

@Mink

“But a movie, no, they'll just fill it to the hilt with explosions, car chases, obligatory semi-nude shots of the hunky hero, ala I, Robot and other contrivances meant to engage the vapid minds of 15 to 28 lobotomized Facebook'ed Twittering imbeciles that knuckle-walk into theaters these days”.

I recall Children of Men which featured explosions (the opening scene well established the dark tone of this post-apocalyptic movie, in a nutshell, the first baby born in years amidst the battle between the British Government transformed into a military police state versus the Outcast "Fishes" of illegal immigrants), car chases (perhaps one of the most ingenious uses of a 360 degree camera mounted within a speeding car), nude shots (well the pregnant girl not of Clive Owen – who was more the reluctant hero – even more exaggerated as he raced through the war torn streets of Bexhill wearing a pair of flip flops). My point being, once in a while a fantastic sci-fi movie comes out based on a piece of literature (CofM from P.D. James’ novel). I would like to see 1984 develop into something dark, nihilistic, gritty in the same light as CofM. I realize your comment was a generalization on the decline of popular cinema based on the average movie-goer who have shorter attention spans, huge dependence on their social media accounts, and unfortunately don’t have the same extensive movie experience as you and I and others share. But in the right hands, 1984 remake could be a great movie. If anything, it would allow the Orwell's novel to resurface back into popular bestsellers list and educate young depraved minds.
minkowski writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:09:09 PM

"The Sound of Thunder and The Time Machine"

Oh. God.
DeVries writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:16:57 PM

We all know it's being remade, it's call reality.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:30:33 PM

"SOPA/PIPA/ACTA it's all just the very beginning of a 'new world order' that will make 1984 look like the Wizard of Oz."

I don't think SOPA or any of those bullsh*t legislations are gonna get passed any time soon. But they keep coming up with no sh*t and eventually will get there own way and f*ck up the internet.

and imagine how history lessons will be taught in a hundred years as well. No more books or imagination, you'll be watching clips on YouTube 5.0 of Sadam Husein getting hanged or Miley Cyrus giving birth to a baby with horns and a sweaty ass hole.!
Man in Black writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 2:05:05 AM

@ Mink , So you wouldn't classify them as " cinema " either ?
creepshowfan writes:
on March 23rd, 2012 at 3:46:49 AM

I love 1984, both the book and the John Hurt movie...and since they keep remaking movies, I dont see what it can hurt..it's a great story, and as long as they dont screw it up, I'm down!
The First Rule writes:
on March 24th, 2012 at 6:17:36 AM

1984 is not going to translate (faithfully) to any kind of crowd pleasing film. It will remain in the niche of people who read the book or saw the first adaptation, because at its heart 1984 is a romance novel...set in a totalitarian police state.

The best they can do is bring some of the creepy atmosphere of the book and present it on film, meanwhile hopefully succeeding in drawing some subtle parallels with modern day. I'll give it a chance, particularly to watch how the whole neighbor-turned-in-by-his-own-kids insanity translates. And of course the explanation of newspeak.

Jarmiez writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 4:35:08 AM

shepard faiery is a biter a sell out and a douche bag he doesnt deserve to be near this just bc he wwas famous for his obey stencil before he made that stupidd poster for a politician no less this movie will just b a 100 million dollar pile of sh*t
Jarmiez writes:
on March 26th, 2012 at 4:37:29 AM

@cinemaisdead i couldnt agree more we would rather watch a movie and pretend like when it comes well all just think freely so they cant get us yet were paying money to watch a movie about the lives we live in

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved