WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Is Tom Hanks' Blackface Video Racist?

Posted: March 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Is Tom HanksSubmit Comment
About a week ago, we got a look at a 17-minute film, called "The Road We've Traveled," which is part of President Obama's re-election campaign. The film (watch here) is directed by Davis Guggenheim (Waiting for Superman, An Inconvenient Truth) and narrated by Tom Hanks.

And now Hanks finds himself involved in a racial controversy after a video from 2004 surfaced online. The video shows the actor and Eagles rocker Glenn Frey at a fundraiser for St. Matthew's Parish School in California, a school that their children attended. They are joined by James Montgomery, an investment banker, who is dressed in blackface and with a big Afro wig. "This is as close to diversity as we'll get at St. Matthew's," Frey joked.

Conservative groups are calling the video "racist" and calling for Obama to remove Hanks from his campaign video. "I don't care what your politics are, it's nauseatingly racist," said John Nolte at Breitbart.com.

Hanks recently apologized, stating: "I was blindsided when one of the parents got up on the stage in a costume that was hideously offensive then and is hideously offensive now," said the actor. "What is usually a night of food and drink for a good cause was, regrettably, marred by an appalling few moments."

Hanks is just one of several Hollywood liberals who has been criticized for insensitive comments while supporting the Obama campaign. During a Democratic fundraiser with Michelle Obama on Wednesday, Robert De Niro made a racial joke about the wives of Republican presidential contenders. "Callista Gingrich, Karen Santorum, Ann Romney. Now do you really think our country is ready for a white first lady?," he said.

Meanwhile, President Obama is being asked to return the $1 million that Bill Maher donated to his campaign. During the last few years, Maher has attacked conservatives like Sarah Palin, Michele Bachman and their kids. At one point, he called Palin a "c*nt."

Tom Hanks Video:


Source: Various


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 6:47:01 PM

I don't see anything racist in that video but I see more a lew attitude from the Republicans against Obama's campaign. All the wrong moves are allowed in a Presidential camapaign. Nothing new really.

More like a rat's fart in the middle of a hurricane if you ask me.
otis writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 6:49:36 PM

Someone enlighten me. Where the f*ck in the video is there any indication of Hanks making any comments about Montgomery besides acknowledging him?

That's like labeling me as an Occupy Wall Street protester if I crossed through their park to go to the deli to get some mothaf*ckin salsa for my chips. I LIKE MY SALSA, DAMMIT.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 6:56:36 PM

Who's holding the camera... Michael J. Fox?!
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 7:21:21 PM

No. Tony Scott.
Dre-EL writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 7:23:21 PM

Hanks was trying to drown him out. He shoulda slugged him.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 7:43:17 PM

Desperate move by Republicans who obviously know they don't have a snowball's chance in hell come November.

Also very sad to see Republicans stoop so low as to use the very card they've decried the last few decades, which seems to me they've given up actually fighting for any beliefs and are instead just using political correctness to achieve their goals.

And nothing racist about the actual video. Didn't see anything racist whatsoever.

"At one point, he called Palin a "c*nt.""

Very clever remark coming from one of America's preeminent broadcast 'intellectuals'...
Pig Newtons writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 8:36:14 PM

Wahhhhhhhh! We can't get over slavery and the past because it's the only "ace card" that we can use! Oh and our lilly white guilty apologists in the mainstream media - Black People in the United States.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 8:50:18 PM

Off-topic: if they ever make another *good* Terminator film, they should use a black Terminator for a change. That would be quite different imo.
trailertrash writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:05:54 PM

With the catch phrase "I'll Be Black"
pornfly writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:06:49 PM

The original Terminator,OJ

FAT JOKES ARE FUNNY
GAY JOKES ARE FUNNY
RASCIST JOKES ARE FUNNY

DO A PUSHUP AND HELP PEOPLE THAT REALLY NEED HELP ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
trailertrash writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:07:06 PM

Who's holding the camera... Michael J. Fox?!

I don't think he could see too well with his white hood on Ranger
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:23:34 PM

Funny how they try to make DeNiro look racist.

And isn't Palin a c*nt?
ItPutsTheLotionOnTheSkin writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:53:24 PM

DeNiro's joke was actually pretty funny...God forbid anybody be funny anymore.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 9:58:23 PM

@Freudian - maybe, but I'd sure like to bang the piss outta hers!

@tt - lol.

@mink - black Terminator wouldn't work. He'd come back in time and try to steal Sarah Connor's car.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 10:22:20 PM

Tom Hanks and Bill O'Reilly starring in: Twins.
boogiel writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 10:23:40 PM

Sarah Palin a c*nt? No argument from me.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 10:44:28 PM

http://0.tqn.com/d/politicalhumor/1/0/Y/I/2/palin-hot-picture.jpg

Don't know if its photo-shopped or not. Don't rightly care.

BA-BOING!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 10:48:22 PM

What's racist anymore anyways?
Looks more like Paul Greengrass shot this.
Ranger writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 10:49:52 PM

Just back from:

http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=24328&count=0

To get me fill o'tittays!
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 12:35:26 AM

Mink:"I'll Be Black"....how can u make me laugh after seeing that f*cked up video?LMFAO!!!Tom did nothing wrong,it was that Bitch holding the monkey that was the problem.
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 12:38:41 AM

U too TrailerTrash, u really kicked in my 420 session,thanks!!!
Ranger writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 1:21:32 AM

I like it when bitches hold my monkey.
rocketman writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 2:24:55 AM

About a racist as that White Chicks film
kBob writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:33:42 AM

Black Terminator would make T-1000 seem like a f*ckin' snail in comparison.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 3:44:16 AM

Wanna end people always crying racism? Only way that'll happen is when everyone admits that they too joke around about other races or have their reservation about them
Quidd writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 4:36:33 AM

Racism - A way of producing defamation or harm, either verbal or nonverbal, from a White man towards any other skin color.

Courage - A way of producing defamation or harm, either verbal or nonverbal, from any skin color to a White man.
SoftimusPrime writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 6:26:11 AM

Nowdays ANYTHING you do can be slammed racist. It makes me sick to think the kind of society we are heading into. It seems that nobody has the right NOT to be offended about anything anymore. You cross the street in black sneakers and someone calls it trampling black rights.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 9:41:56 AM

Lol, the Republican Party has become a complete joke since they've allowed the Breitbarts, Linbaughs, and Hannitys of the world to become their voice. But with the US economy on the rebound, fruitless wars ending, and Americans going back to work I can see why they've reverted back to bashing institutes of higher learning, attacks against women, closet racism, and other stupidity like this Tom Hanks/Deniro bullsh*t. It would be criminal to let them win in November.
Pariah writes:
on March 22nd, 2012 at 11:46:42 AM

Blackface isn't racist, its fun. People need to shut the f*ck up and get over sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved