WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Says "John Carter" Will Lose $200 Million

Posted: March 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Says "John Carter" Will Lose $200 MillionSubmit Comment
"John Carter" grossed $180 million in just ten days. That's an amazing performance for a film, unless the budget is a whopping $250 million, which is what "John Carter" cost, not counting the amount spent on marketing.

Now, Disney has released an official statement, revealing that the studio will end up losing $200 million on the film. Read the full statement below:

"In light of the theatrical performance of John Carter ($184 million global box office), we expect the film to generate an operating loss of approximately $200 million during our second fiscal quarter ending March 31. As a result, our current expectation is that the Studio segment will have an operating loss of between $80 and $120 million for the second quarter. As we look forward to the second half of the year, we are excited about the upcoming releases of The Avengers and Brave, which we believe have tremendous potential to drive value for the Studio and the rest of the company."

Source: Disney, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:40:37 AM

If Disney is going to lose $200 million dollars in the first place, why the f*ck do they have to do it? Did they not even study the script first? What the f*ck is going in their heads? I bet that they all had a coffee, and thought, "Guys, lets do a movie for movie's sake". Lesson learned Disney.
Detrimental writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:44:56 AM

"Lesson learned Disney."
Lol. Such optimism, this one.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:49:00 AM

@Detrimental

At least optimistic, not negative. We all learn from such crappy moves in the first place.
nawtnt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:21:49 AM

Big mistake, Dinsey.

That will teach Dinsey not to cast a unknown actor as the main lead.

I mean I watched the TV spots for John Carter in the UK and the TV spots were boring.

I think the only movie that will help Dinsey from losing millions is The Avengers.

As much as I hate Dinsey, I hope The Avengers turns out to be a great movie and make lots of money.
NotAmerican writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:26:19 AM

The fact is not that the John Carter is crap or not (studios would never make money if audiences watched films based on quality), the fact is that Disney can't market their films for sh*t.

They can thank their lucky stars The Avengers is a well known property and that kids won't mind that Brave looks like Scottish Mulan with bears.
NotAmerican writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:28:45 AM

^ Meant "John Carter" not "the John Carter".
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:56:27 AM

Disney says "John Carter" will lose $200 million
N O, We said that last year
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:39:55 AM

I saw this movie the other day.I thought it was o.k.,but it was hardly worth the 250 mil it cost to make it.But the're gonna end up making there money back easily with the Avengers and lets not forget,the unavoidable Pirates sequels.It's a sad world we live in when someone can much money and it won't really matter.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:41:09 AM

This film was never going to do well. This serves you right for Cars 2 you self righteous c*nts. Walt would be turning in his grave. "What have you done!"
Avirex writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:42:47 AM

Studios are always claiming to be "losing money" but the truth is far from it. They report bloated exaggerated numbers. The way that business works is they will report losses most of the time to prevent certain taxes and prevent paying certain people. Even if a film is highly profitable they won't admit it. One of the Potter films made something like $800 million and they still claimed a loss.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:53:27 AM

@Avirex

That is what they will do to avoid paying taxes. But there is a saying what goes around, comes around. Speaking of Karma.
OneTime writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 9:00:42 AM

this is cause no one has ever heard of it.
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 9:08:23 AM

So just up the price of the Space Mountain ride by $5.
trailertrash writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:05:45 AM

^ Great more money we will have to spend on taking Plastic's daughter out !!!

I know we get (more than) paid in kind, Still like her money is tight ....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:26:55 AM

^ PlasticMans daughter isn't tall enough to get on most rides... but she's just the right height for one thing ;)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:31:01 AM

She will be the right height when she rides on my d*ck.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:45:15 AM

Dang shame, I saw "John Carter" in HK at the IMAX and I thought it was pretty good.

But this is Disney and well Disney hasn't really done anything good for a while.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:23:42 PM

"...we expect the film to generate an operating loss of approximately $200 million during our second fiscal quarter ending March 31. As a result, our current expectation is that the Studio segment will have an operating loss of between $80 and $120 million for the second quarter."


Ok. So tell me these Diney exec idiots didn't bet quarter profts on one movie? Tell me they didn't essentially gamble, roll the dice, on one film on which they placed the entire second quarter profitability, because of so, that's insane, reckless and...and....well, nuts! Spend 250 million on a handful of lower budget films, yeah, smart, but the whole enchilada on one mammoth clusterf*ck of a film that had they properly screen tested some demo footage they would have discovered virtually no interest in John Carter? LOL!

And where's Rabid? Where's he at, because he said this movie would be the biggest film of 2012, right? LMAO. Dumb ass. And Disney too. Any fool could have seen John Carter was destined for failure.


"As we look forward to the second half of the year, we are excited about the upcoming releases of The Avengers and Brave, which we believe have tremendous potential to drive value for the Studio and the rest of the company."

..or in OTHER words, Disney's in-house live-action production team can't make films worth d*ck, in part because their executives are reckless imbeciles, so Disney has to depend on leeching PIXAR and Marvel to turn a studio profit, like the way a cell depends on mitochondria for the majority of its ATP.

f*ckers.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:22:26 PM

f*cking yeahhh, worst concept movie ever being developed!!!!!
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:47:25 PM

I lost 200 dollars one time. lost it paying for sex from a male exotic dancer. Cash went down his pants and my tongue followed. Never got the money but two days later I was pregnant. my c*nt hasn't stopped bleeding since then.
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:11:37 PM

L O L^
blumpkin writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:28:14 PM

isnt that how much mink spends on male prostitutes and reconstructive surgery?
trailertrash writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:41:37 PM

Really blumpkin you wanna go down that road again and again
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:57:08 PM

@trailer: Blumpkin's used to going down again and again.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:07 PM

I really think the sad little queer enjoys my spankings. Reminds him of time with daddy.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:16:28 PM

goddamn, Mink, do you live on this f*cking site? You're a pedophile. A registered sex offender. And you're face is a f*cking disaster. Please, call your fat whore of a mother, and beat her for f*cking your runt of a father in teh first place and having such a worthless piece of sh*t come into existence. that's you my friend. get a life.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:19:15 PM

didn't have high hopes for this movie, i havent seen it yet, so i cant judge to much.. but at least the avengers is a sure thing for a good billion bucks :P
vincere01 writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 1:05:12 PM

Quick somebody get this executive his superhero suit! We all saw the failure coming for months. But it is all offical now with the arrival of CAPTAIN OBVIOUS to tell us all what we already knew.

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved