WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening
Jul 20th, 2015
Ava DuVernay Explains Why She Isn't Directing Marvel's "Black Panther"
Jul 20th, 2015
Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?
Jul 19th, 2015
Sam Raimi Comments on Marvel Rebooting "Spider-Man" Franchise
Jul 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Disney Says "John Carter" Will Lose $200 Million

Posted: March 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Disney Says "John Carter" Will Lose $200 MillionSubmit Comment
"John Carter" grossed $180 million in just ten days. That's an amazing performance for a film, unless the budget is a whopping $250 million, which is what "John Carter" cost, not counting the amount spent on marketing.

Now, Disney has released an official statement, revealing that the studio will end up losing $200 million on the film. Read the full statement below:

"In light of the theatrical performance of John Carter ($184 million global box office), we expect the film to generate an operating loss of approximately $200 million during our second fiscal quarter ending March 31. As a result, our current expectation is that the Studio segment will have an operating loss of between $80 and $120 million for the second quarter. As we look forward to the second half of the year, we are excited about the upcoming releases of The Avengers and Brave, which we believe have tremendous potential to drive value for the Studio and the rest of the company."

Source: Disney, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:40:37 AM

If Disney is going to lose $200 million dollars in the first place, why the f*ck do they have to do it? Did they not even study the script first? What the f*ck is going in their heads? I bet that they all had a coffee, and thought, "Guys, lets do a movie for movie's sake". Lesson learned Disney.
Detrimental writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:44:56 AM

"Lesson learned Disney."
Lol. Such optimism, this one.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:49:00 AM

@Detrimental

At least optimistic, not negative. We all learn from such crappy moves in the first place.
nawtnt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:21:49 AM

Big mistake, Dinsey.

That will teach Dinsey not to cast a unknown actor as the main lead.

I mean I watched the TV spots for John Carter in the UK and the TV spots were boring.

I think the only movie that will help Dinsey from losing millions is The Avengers.

As much as I hate Dinsey, I hope The Avengers turns out to be a great movie and make lots of money.
NotAmerican writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:26:19 AM

The fact is not that the John Carter is crap or not (studios would never make money if audiences watched films based on quality), the fact is that Disney can't market their films for sh*t.

They can thank their lucky stars The Avengers is a well known property and that kids won't mind that Brave looks like Scottish Mulan with bears.
NotAmerican writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:28:45 AM

^ Meant "John Carter" not "the John Carter".
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:56:27 AM

Disney says "John Carter" will lose $200 million
N O, We said that last year
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:39:55 AM

I saw this movie the other day.I thought it was o.k.,but it was hardly worth the 250 mil it cost to make it.But the're gonna end up making there money back easily with the Avengers and lets not forget,the unavoidable Pirates sequels.It's a sad world we live in when someone can much money and it won't really matter.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:41:09 AM

This film was never going to do well. This serves you right for Cars 2 you self righteous c*nts. Walt would be turning in his grave. "What have you done!"
Avirex writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:42:47 AM

Studios are always claiming to be "losing money" but the truth is far from it. They report bloated exaggerated numbers. The way that business works is they will report losses most of the time to prevent certain taxes and prevent paying certain people. Even if a film is highly profitable they won't admit it. One of the Potter films made something like $800 million and they still claimed a loss.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:53:27 AM

@Avirex

That is what they will do to avoid paying taxes. But there is a saying what goes around, comes around. Speaking of Karma.
OneTime writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 9:00:42 AM

this is cause no one has ever heard of it.
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 9:08:23 AM

So just up the price of the Space Mountain ride by $5.
trailertrash writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:05:45 AM

^ Great more money we will have to spend on taking Plastic's daughter out !!!

I know we get (more than) paid in kind, Still like her money is tight ....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:26:55 AM

^ PlasticMans daughter isn't tall enough to get on most rides... but she's just the right height for one thing ;)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:31:01 AM

She will be the right height when she rides on my d*ck.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:45:15 AM

Dang shame, I saw "John Carter" in HK at the IMAX and I thought it was pretty good.

But this is Disney and well Disney hasn't really done anything good for a while.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:23:42 PM

"...we expect the film to generate an operating loss of approximately $200 million during our second fiscal quarter ending March 31. As a result, our current expectation is that the Studio segment will have an operating loss of between $80 and $120 million for the second quarter."


Ok. So tell me these Diney exec idiots didn't bet quarter profts on one movie? Tell me they didn't essentially gamble, roll the dice, on one film on which they placed the entire second quarter profitability, because of so, that's insane, reckless and...and....well, nuts! Spend 250 million on a handful of lower budget films, yeah, smart, but the whole enchilada on one mammoth clusterf*ck of a film that had they properly screen tested some demo footage they would have discovered virtually no interest in John Carter? LOL!

And where's Rabid? Where's he at, because he said this movie would be the biggest film of 2012, right? LMAO. Dumb ass. And Disney too. Any fool could have seen John Carter was destined for failure.


"As we look forward to the second half of the year, we are excited about the upcoming releases of The Avengers and Brave, which we believe have tremendous potential to drive value for the Studio and the rest of the company."

..or in OTHER words, Disney's in-house live-action production team can't make films worth d*ck, in part because their executives are reckless imbeciles, so Disney has to depend on leeching PIXAR and Marvel to turn a studio profit, like the way a cell depends on mitochondria for the majority of its ATP.

f*ckers.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:22:26 PM

f*cking yeahhh, worst concept movie ever being developed!!!!!
PLASTlC MAN writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:47:25 PM

I lost 200 dollars one time. lost it paying for sex from a male exotic dancer. Cash went down his pants and my tongue followed. Never got the money but two days later I was pregnant. my c*nt hasn't stopped bleeding since then.
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:11:37 PM

L O L^
blumpkin writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:28:14 PM

isnt that how much mink spends on male prostitutes and reconstructive surgery?
trailertrash writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:41:37 PM

Really blumpkin you wanna go down that road again and again
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:57:08 PM

@trailer: Blumpkin's used to going down again and again.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:07 PM

I really think the sad little queer enjoys my spankings. Reminds him of time with daddy.
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 10:16:28 PM

goddamn, Mink, do you live on this f*cking site? You're a pedophile. A registered sex offender. And you're face is a f*cking disaster. Please, call your fat whore of a mother, and beat her for f*cking your runt of a father in teh first place and having such a worthless piece of sh*t come into existence. that's you my friend. get a life.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:19:15 PM

didn't have high hopes for this movie, i havent seen it yet, so i cant judge to much.. but at least the avengers is a sure thing for a good billion bucks :P
vincere01 writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 1:05:12 PM

Quick somebody get this executive his superhero suit! We all saw the failure coming for months. But it is all offical now with the arrival of CAPTAIN OBVIOUS to tell us all what we already knew.

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved