WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Furious 7" Continues to Dominate at Box Office, "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Released Overseas
Apr 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Descendants," About Children of Disney Villains
Apr 27th, 2015
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original Painting

Posted: March 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original PaintingSubmit Comment
Artist Kelly Howlett recently had her painting taken down from a website after Summit Entertainment sent a letter claiming that it infringed on their intellectual property.

Howlett was confused by this, since the painting is original and has nothing to do with any Summit property. After making a few inquiries, she was told that the claim had to do with the studio's "Twilight" franchise.

After spending even more time on this, she learned that the problem has to do with the date, "11-20-09," which is when Howlett created the painting. That's also when Summit released "Twilight Saga: New Moon" in theaters.

The studio made a claim that they own the date and Howlett was trying to profit by using it. "If someone like Summit wanted to claim my artwork was infringing their intellectual property simply because it was created the same day as the release date of a movie... I couldn't fight it if I wanted to," said Howlett. "I'm hating the idea of a company being able to call up my website host and have my content removed simply because they objected to it."

This kind of thing is very common. Click here to read our article about how Paramount reacted to an "Iron Man" photo.

Painting: (click to enlarge)


Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:27:32 PM

it looks EXACTLY like edward so i agree. they should behead the artist. absolutely disgusted
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:31:04 PM

Well that's just retarded. They should all just shut the f*ck up and stick that sh*tty franchise up their *ssholes
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:35:08 PM

No room. Lautner is already buried himself nut-sack deep into theirs.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:36:48 PM

The studio wants to spend (ie: waste) their win-fall trying to convince a Judge that they own a date on the calendar?!?!

LOLOLOLOL!
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:18 PM

Come on, Ranger. They are so f*cked up that there is enough room for Titanic to stick inside
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:59 PM

In artist's defense I have one question: do they own a date on Gregorian or Julian calendar?
beepboop writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:37:31 PM

you know what would have happened if the website said "nope, it doesn't infringe your intellectual property, we keep it up"?

noooothing. website owners(and hosts) should learn their rights and learn that studios can't just request anything they want. well, should is the wrong word. "have to" is better, because lawyers get more and more retarded and abuse lack of knowledge.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 10:36:07 PM

And I thought R Brand's bike theft news was outrageous...this news takes the cake, f*cks it, eats it, and sh*ts it out on the little guy (or girl in this case).

F****cking Summit!!

Hey Summit, I'm stroking your "intellectual property" right now! Yup, I got your "infringement" right here! BA-DA BING f*ckERS!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 11:51:22 PM

Jesus I come to this kinda news?
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 12:47:24 AM

I come to pictures of Kristen Stewart.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:26:42 AM

I come to videos of Alexis Texas.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:30:42 AM

I'm actually with the studio on this one. Here, they have worked so hard to get a movie released on a certain day. If then someone just did something and publish it on the same day, I would also be pissed. I mean, if the studio don't put their foot down now, we will have anarchy on our hands.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:36:30 AM

These are the lawyers I want when I find a bitch good enough to marry and then divorce.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:42:49 AM

More Twilight news, huh? Beginning to think Alex hates us
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:39:08 AM

Or he likes Vampires.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFsgPBSePVQ

lol... James Woods is the best.
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:12:44 AM

Anne Rice was on Craig Ferguson and said, porn or f*ckoff !
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:33:27 AM

"The studio made a claim that they own the date"


I don't want to live on this planet anymore.
pH0u57 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:34:47 AM

THEY OWN THE DATE!! Hahahaha. America, please!
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:44:59 AM

I'm gonna copyright April20
CHA-CHING!
Džeko writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:53:18 AM

Speaking of dates...come on guys it's not April 1st for another 11 days!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:29 AM

Come home to, damn druids.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:55 AM

Droids
Dekead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:04:33 AM

Summit, f*ck you
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:36 AM

The word "intelctual" should be used with the words "Twatlight" or "Summit"

Own a date? That is just frickin stupid.

Looks like "Summit" have gone full retard like all the "Twatlights"
Morbius writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:39 AM

They "OWN" the God damn date?! Do something constructive and die now. Thanks.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:24:49 AM

The painting is obviously gay, but a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that.
Self-Destructing writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:00:40 AM

Last Action Hero calmly states, “The painting is obviously gay.” I couldn’t stop laughing at that random comment. This lady should file a lawsuit. Did Summit do some kind of internet search on the date and everything that popped up they went through to see if it came close to any content in the Twilight movies? Absurd.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:28:10 AM

OK??
beepboop writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:45:06 AM

"a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that."

they don't. but they claim to have the power and people give in. people get afraid when they just read the word lawyer.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:18:54 PM

Oh, WP, thou doth get all that t'is under the heavens ever so more wrong with each passing morn.

In other words, it's a drawing, not a painting. Conte, chalk, those are drawing materials. Just saying.

Furthermore, WP fails to deliver the real news correctly, while serving up sensationalism, which is a lot like if Pravda was written by a crack-mad Forrest Gump.

Here's the link explaining what actually happened:

http://www.facebook.com/notes/kelly-howlett/need-a-reason-to-hate-twilight-or-summit-entertainment-all-your-creation-are-bel/10150618390806924

Apparently, Zazzle's content filtering system flagged her drawing based on some metadata. If you don't know what metadata is, I can't help you because I don't know either (jk).

Anyway, similar issues have occurred at Youtube. One person's video was kicked because the uploader used his own recording of birds singing, but because another company owns 'rights' to a recording of birds singing, his video was deleted and banned.

Ain't America great, folks?

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved