WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Hulk Hogan is the Villain in "The Expendables 4"?
May 26th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says "Gambit" is an Origin Story
May 26th, 2015
Ryan Reynolds Says Hugh Jackman May Make Cameo in "Deadpool"
May 26th, 2015
First Poster for "Point Break" Remake
May 26th, 2015
More Photos From Matt Damon's "The Martian," Directed by Ridley Scott
May 25th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" and "Now You See Me 3" Already in Development
May 25th, 2015
"Beautiful Mind" Mathematician John Nash Killed in Taxi Crash
May 25th, 2015
First Look at Matt Damon in Ridley Scott's "The Martian"
May 24th, 2015
New "Fantastic Four" Trailer, Director Responds to Rumors of Being Replaced
May 24th, 2015
New Photos From "Deadpool" and "Ant-Man"
May 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass" is Here!
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Jonah Hill and Miles Teller in "Arms and the Dudes"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Meryl Streel and Hugh Grant in "Florence Foster Jenkins"
May 23rd, 2015
First Look at Cuba Gooding Jr and John Travolta in "America Crime Story: The People V. OJ Simpson"
May 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Knock Knock" Thriller
May 22nd, 2015
Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title
May 22nd, 2015
Reese Witherspoon to Star in Disney's Live-Action Tinker Bell Movie "Tink"
May 22nd, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Promo Video Shows Team's Superpowers
May 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
May 22nd, 2015
New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr
May 21st, 2015
"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return
May 21st, 2015
"Transformers" Sequels and Spin-Offs Get Impressive Writing Team
May 21st, 2015
Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Cooties" Horror Comedy
May 21st, 2015
"The Divergent Series: Allegiant" is Now Filming
May 21st, 2015
Heath Ledger Was Set to Star in "Mad Max: Fury Road"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
May 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
May 20th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Jack Reacher 2" Hires "The Last Samurai" Director
May 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Action Comedy
May 20th, 2015
The Joker is Insane in New "Suicide Squad" Set Photos
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Orgrim From "Warcraft" Film
May 19th, 2015
George Miller Unveils Title of "Mad Max: Fury Road" Sequel
May 19th, 2015
First Look at Mark Wahlberg in "Deepwater Horizon" Oil Disaster Film
May 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original Painting

Posted: March 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original PaintingSubmit Comment
Artist Kelly Howlett recently had her painting taken down from a website after Summit Entertainment sent a letter claiming that it infringed on their intellectual property.

Howlett was confused by this, since the painting is original and has nothing to do with any Summit property. After making a few inquiries, she was told that the claim had to do with the studio's "Twilight" franchise.

After spending even more time on this, she learned that the problem has to do with the date, "11-20-09," which is when Howlett created the painting. That's also when Summit released "Twilight Saga: New Moon" in theaters.

The studio made a claim that they own the date and Howlett was trying to profit by using it. "If someone like Summit wanted to claim my artwork was infringing their intellectual property simply because it was created the same day as the release date of a movie... I couldn't fight it if I wanted to," said Howlett. "I'm hating the idea of a company being able to call up my website host and have my content removed simply because they objected to it."

This kind of thing is very common. Click here to read our article about how Paramount reacted to an "Iron Man" photo.

Painting: (click to enlarge)


Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:27:32 PM

it looks EXACTLY like edward so i agree. they should behead the artist. absolutely disgusted
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:31:04 PM

Well that's just retarded. They should all just shut the f*ck up and stick that sh*tty franchise up their *ssholes
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:35:08 PM

No room. Lautner is already buried himself nut-sack deep into theirs.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:36:48 PM

The studio wants to spend (ie: waste) their win-fall trying to convince a Judge that they own a date on the calendar?!?!

LOLOLOLOL!
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:18 PM

Come on, Ranger. They are so f*cked up that there is enough room for Titanic to stick inside
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:59 PM

In artist's defense I have one question: do they own a date on Gregorian or Julian calendar?
beepboop writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:37:31 PM

you know what would have happened if the website said "nope, it doesn't infringe your intellectual property, we keep it up"?

noooothing. website owners(and hosts) should learn their rights and learn that studios can't just request anything they want. well, should is the wrong word. "have to" is better, because lawyers get more and more retarded and abuse lack of knowledge.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 10:36:07 PM

And I thought R Brand's bike theft news was outrageous...this news takes the cake, f*cks it, eats it, and sh*ts it out on the little guy (or girl in this case).

F****cking Summit!!

Hey Summit, I'm stroking your "intellectual property" right now! Yup, I got your "infringement" right here! BA-DA BING f*ckERS!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 11:51:22 PM

Jesus I come to this kinda news?
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 12:47:24 AM

I come to pictures of Kristen Stewart.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:26:42 AM

I come to videos of Alexis Texas.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:30:42 AM

I'm actually with the studio on this one. Here, they have worked so hard to get a movie released on a certain day. If then someone just did something and publish it on the same day, I would also be pissed. I mean, if the studio don't put their foot down now, we will have anarchy on our hands.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:36:30 AM

These are the lawyers I want when I find a bitch good enough to marry and then divorce.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:42:49 AM

More Twilight news, huh? Beginning to think Alex hates us
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:39:08 AM

Or he likes Vampires.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFsgPBSePVQ

lol... James Woods is the best.
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:12:44 AM

Anne Rice was on Craig Ferguson and said, porn or f*ckoff !
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:33:27 AM

"The studio made a claim that they own the date"


I don't want to live on this planet anymore.
pH0u57 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:34:47 AM

THEY OWN THE DATE!! Hahahaha. America, please!
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:44:59 AM

I'm gonna copyright April20
CHA-CHING!
Džeko writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:53:18 AM

Speaking of dates...come on guys it's not April 1st for another 11 days!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:29 AM

Come home to, damn druids.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:55 AM

Droids
Dekead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:04:33 AM

Summit, f*ck you
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:36 AM

The word "intelctual" should be used with the words "Twatlight" or "Summit"

Own a date? That is just frickin stupid.

Looks like "Summit" have gone full retard like all the "Twatlights"
Morbius writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:39 AM

They "OWN" the God damn date?! Do something constructive and die now. Thanks.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:24:49 AM

The painting is obviously gay, but a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that.
Self-Destructing writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:00:40 AM

Last Action Hero calmly states, “The painting is obviously gay.” I couldn’t stop laughing at that random comment. This lady should file a lawsuit. Did Summit do some kind of internet search on the date and everything that popped up they went through to see if it came close to any content in the Twilight movies? Absurd.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:28:10 AM

OK??
beepboop writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:45:06 AM

"a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that."

they don't. but they claim to have the power and people give in. people get afraid when they just read the word lawyer.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:18:54 PM

Oh, WP, thou doth get all that t'is under the heavens ever so more wrong with each passing morn.

In other words, it's a drawing, not a painting. Conte, chalk, those are drawing materials. Just saying.

Furthermore, WP fails to deliver the real news correctly, while serving up sensationalism, which is a lot like if Pravda was written by a crack-mad Forrest Gump.

Here's the link explaining what actually happened:

http://www.facebook.com/notes/kelly-howlett/need-a-reason-to-hate-twilight-or-summit-entertainment-all-your-creation-are-bel/10150618390806924

Apparently, Zazzle's content filtering system flagged her drawing based on some metadata. If you don't know what metadata is, I can't help you because I don't know either (jk).

Anyway, similar issues have occurred at Youtube. One person's video was kicked because the uploader used his own recording of birds singing, but because another company owns 'rights' to a recording of birds singing, his video was deleted and banned.

Ain't America great, folks?

Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot

New "Captain America: Civil War" Set Photos, With Paul Rudd and Robert Downey Jr

"Jurassic World" to Ignore Last Two Films, to Bring Back T-Rex

Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot

Hugh Jackman and Channing Tatum to Appear in "X-Men: Apocalypse"?

"Fantastic Four" Director Fired From "Star Wars" Spin-Off

Brad Pitt's "World War Z" Sequel Gets a Title

Why Wasn't Loki in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?

"Independence Day 2" Takes Place 15 Years Later, Same Aliens Return

Hugh Jackman Confirms "Wolverine 3" is His Last Time as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved