WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Restricted Trailer for "Deadpool" is Here!
Aug 5th, 2015
Frank Grillo to Return for "The Purge 3"
Aug 5th, 2015
Trailer for Roland Emmerich's "Stonewall," About Gay Rights Movement
Aug 5th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" to Begin Filming in January
Aug 4th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 6" Already Confirmed, Tom Cruise to Return
Aug 4th, 2015
Channing Tatum is Definitely Playing Gambit
Aug 4th, 2015
UFC Champion Ronda Rousey to Star in Her Own Biopic
Aug 4th, 2015
Pez Candy is Becoming a Movie
Aug 4th, 2015
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original Painting

Posted: March 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight" Studio Attacks Artist for Original PaintingSubmit Comment
Artist Kelly Howlett recently had her painting taken down from a website after Summit Entertainment sent a letter claiming that it infringed on their intellectual property.

Howlett was confused by this, since the painting is original and has nothing to do with any Summit property. After making a few inquiries, she was told that the claim had to do with the studio's "Twilight" franchise.

After spending even more time on this, she learned that the problem has to do with the date, "11-20-09," which is when Howlett created the painting. That's also when Summit released "Twilight Saga: New Moon" in theaters.

The studio made a claim that they own the date and Howlett was trying to profit by using it. "If someone like Summit wanted to claim my artwork was infringing their intellectual property simply because it was created the same day as the release date of a movie... I couldn't fight it if I wanted to," said Howlett. "I'm hating the idea of a company being able to call up my website host and have my content removed simply because they objected to it."

This kind of thing is very common. Click here to read our article about how Paramount reacted to an "Iron Man" photo.

Painting: (click to enlarge)


Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:27:32 PM

it looks EXACTLY like edward so i agree. they should behead the artist. absolutely disgusted
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:31:04 PM

Well that's just retarded. They should all just shut the f*ck up and stick that sh*tty franchise up their *ssholes
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:35:08 PM

No room. Lautner is already buried himself nut-sack deep into theirs.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:36:48 PM

The studio wants to spend (ie: waste) their win-fall trying to convince a Judge that they own a date on the calendar?!?!

LOLOLOLOL!
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:18 PM

Come on, Ranger. They are so f*cked up that there is enough room for Titanic to stick inside
markoz writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:38:59 PM

In artist's defense I have one question: do they own a date on Gregorian or Julian calendar?
beepboop writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:37:31 PM

you know what would have happened if the website said "nope, it doesn't infringe your intellectual property, we keep it up"?

noooothing. website owners(and hosts) should learn their rights and learn that studios can't just request anything they want. well, should is the wrong word. "have to" is better, because lawyers get more and more retarded and abuse lack of knowledge.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 10:36:07 PM

And I thought R Brand's bike theft news was outrageous...this news takes the cake, f*cks it, eats it, and sh*ts it out on the little guy (or girl in this case).

F****cking Summit!!

Hey Summit, I'm stroking your "intellectual property" right now! Yup, I got your "infringement" right here! BA-DA BING f*ckERS!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 11:51:22 PM

Jesus I come to this kinda news?
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 12:47:24 AM

I come to pictures of Kristen Stewart.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:26:42 AM

I come to videos of Alexis Texas.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:30:42 AM

I'm actually with the studio on this one. Here, they have worked so hard to get a movie released on a certain day. If then someone just did something and publish it on the same day, I would also be pissed. I mean, if the studio don't put their foot down now, we will have anarchy on our hands.
Dirt writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:36:30 AM

These are the lawyers I want when I find a bitch good enough to marry and then divorce.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:42:49 AM

More Twilight news, huh? Beginning to think Alex hates us
Ranger writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:39:08 AM

Or he likes Vampires.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFsgPBSePVQ

lol... James Woods is the best.
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:12:44 AM

Anne Rice was on Craig Ferguson and said, porn or f*ckoff !
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:33:27 AM

"The studio made a claim that they own the date"


I don't want to live on this planet anymore.
pH0u57 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:34:47 AM

THEY OWN THE DATE!! Hahahaha. America, please!
pornfly writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:44:59 AM

I'm gonna copyright April20
CHA-CHING!
Džeko writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 4:53:18 AM

Speaking of dates...come on guys it's not April 1st for another 11 days!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:29 AM

Come home to, damn druids.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:58:55 AM

Droids
Dekead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:04:33 AM

Summit, f*ck you
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:36 AM

The word "intelctual" should be used with the words "Twatlight" or "Summit"

Own a date? That is just frickin stupid.

Looks like "Summit" have gone full retard like all the "Twatlights"
Morbius writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 6:17:39 AM

They "OWN" the God damn date?! Do something constructive and die now. Thanks.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 7:24:49 AM

The painting is obviously gay, but a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that.
Self-Destructing writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:00:40 AM

Last Action Hero calmly states, “The painting is obviously gay.” I couldn’t stop laughing at that random comment. This lady should file a lawsuit. Did Summit do some kind of internet search on the date and everything that popped up they went through to see if it came close to any content in the Twilight movies? Absurd.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 8:28:10 AM

OK??
beepboop writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:45:06 AM

"a company should not have the power to have content removed from a website like that."

they don't. but they claim to have the power and people give in. people get afraid when they just read the word lawyer.
minkowski writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 3:18:54 PM

Oh, WP, thou doth get all that t'is under the heavens ever so more wrong with each passing morn.

In other words, it's a drawing, not a painting. Conte, chalk, those are drawing materials. Just saying.

Furthermore, WP fails to deliver the real news correctly, while serving up sensationalism, which is a lot like if Pravda was written by a crack-mad Forrest Gump.

Here's the link explaining what actually happened:

http://www.facebook.com/notes/kelly-howlett/need-a-reason-to-hate-twilight-or-summit-entertainment-all-your-creation-are-bel/10150618390806924

Apparently, Zazzle's content filtering system flagged her drawing based on some metadata. If you don't know what metadata is, I can't help you because I don't know either (jk).

Anyway, similar issues have occurred at Youtube. One person's video was kicked because the uploader used his own recording of birds singing, but because another company owns 'rights' to a recording of birds singing, his video was deleted and banned.

Ain't America great, folks?

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved