WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"21 Jump Street" Sets Box Office Record

Posted: March 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"21 Jump Street" Sets Box Office RecordSubmit Comment
"21 Jump Street," starring Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum, won the domestic box office this weekend by grossing $35 million, which is a record for a non-sequel, non-summer, R-rated comedy. The film also had one of the best openings for a action-buddy comedy and TV series adaptations. It costs only $42 million to make and has an impressive 86% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"John Carter" had to settle for third place with $13.5 million. The film's 10-day domestic total is now $53.2 million, which is incredibly short of the $250 million that the movie cost to make. Insiders believe "John Carter" will need to earn close to $600 million to break even, and while it will likely never accomplish that, foreign box office is helming to minimize the loses. Overseas, the movie has earned $126.1 million, bringing its total to $179.3 million.

On the specialty side, Will Ferrell's "Casa De Mi Padre" Spanish-language comedy ended up in ninth place despite opening in only 382 theaters. The new movie grossed $2.2 million, but has only a 45% fresh rating. In the end, it will easily make back its $6 million budget. Almost 70% of the audience was Hispanic.

Click here to read our "21 Jump Street" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
witwicky-potter writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 4:49:40 AM

Sad thing for John Carter.Guess a big budget isnt everything.
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:09:45 AM

A better tv adaptation opening than The Fugitive??
f*ckDAT !

The Fugitive opened strongly in the United States box office, grossing $23,758,855 in its first weekend and holding the top spot for six weeks. It eventually went on to gross an estimated $183,875,760 in the US, and $368,875,760 worldwide

trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:10:54 AM

Two films i watched this weekend, One was John Carter was ok nothing special but not as terrible as i feared it would be, Little tough for the kids to follow i thought.

The other (A British Thriller/Horror) was Ben Wheatley's Kill List, Holy sh*t has anyone else seen that movie !! That movie was really out there.

And the ending Jesus even more shocking than The Mist's ....
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:13:02 AM

AYT -

Bet you've seen Kill List thoughts pal ??
polardeficit writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:14:12 AM

@pornfly
inflation does dome crazy sh*t man...
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:21:49 AM

Pornfly

Agree on the Fugitive one of Fords last really good films

That 183 mil total for the Fugitive would be around 350 mil today and 21 bum street ain't gonna do that now is it ....
telur writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:23:35 AM

I just know 21 Jump Street is R-rated

what make it R?
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:25:47 AM

#1 for six friggn weeks!
Besides Titanic/Avatar i cant think of another movie to do that ESPECIALLY a tv show movie

Im tired of everything i grew up with getting sh*tted on
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:31:07 AM

That was back in the day when films would earn their grosses over the corse of a weeks nower days the movie will make nearly 50% of it's gross in it's first 3 days.

Hype Hype and More Hype ....
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:58:13 AM

Thats weird,im sure someone here can explain that to me. Bootlegs were harder to come by back then and there wasnt any downloading going on. Is it overpopulation?More movie goers now than before?Better pay now, so there's more disposable income?

I heard this movie is pretty funny but little action,i'm sure that will change for the (sigh) sequel
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 7:14:34 AM

Hey guys,I just got done watching John Carter.(I thought it was o.k.)and i'm looking for somthing else to watch.I was thing about Chronicle,but I don't know if it's worth it.Does anyone know if it's good?
Taco writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 7:24:34 AM

@ true avenger, yes watch chronicle but IMO, it's a better movie if they had dropped the found footage format. Good story, acting, writing. Bad directing. Again IMO.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:22:27 AM

Gonna have to give this film a watch this week I reckon.

Trailer- Did you watch Kill List in Basildon? I've heard a few things about it but haven't seen trailers or anything is it a full on horror film or a psychological drama type?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:25:38 AM

@trailertrash, "Kill List" was amazing. Brutal and disturbing. The last 20 minutes were pretty twisted. I'll definitley be checking out Wheatley's other film "Down Terrace" now.


On the subject of "John Carter", maybe I'm just not understanding this, but if the total budget was $250 million (which would include marketing, distribution, merchandising, I'm guessing), why would it need to make $600 million to "break even". Wouldn't hitting the $250 million mark do that?
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:29:48 AM

@Taco-Thanks man.I'll be sure to watch it tomorrow.(It's 8:21am here.....I really need to get some sleep.)
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:00:12 AM

Cinema -

I just brought Kill List and A Lonely Place To Die ( wasn't bad either) the other day.

I had heard good things about it as well.

It starts off like a thriller 2 guys who are hitmen (loads of emotional baggage and back story) have 3 hits to carry out and it ends up like something out of The Wicker Man.

Truly Bizarre, But i kind of liked it, As i did Myanna Buring too she was pretty hot.
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:06:50 AM

PhantomCloneInX

Agree there, Totally wasn't expecting the film to turn out like that at all !!!

***Spoiler***




(kept screaming at the tv to put down the knife)

Down Terrace, Had to check that one out it does look worth a watch.

Sightseers seems like it could be good also.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:31:46 AM

Oh great now a sequel is going to be made.

Tatum wins and Jonah Hill wins.f*ck you America and the Jews.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:41:11 AM

A double f*ck you to Tatum and Fat f*ck Hill!!!
Bullit writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:44:52 AM

I don't care how much money they can gross over that film, I'll never pay to watch for these 2 fatties.

And will Ferrell with 45% fresh ratings should tell him to take some comedy classes! Bollocks, we can't even have a decent funny film these days.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 9:56:13 AM

the last R rated comedies I have seen in three years were Horrible Bosses,Sex Drive,Hot Tub Time Machine.thats all I can remember for now.
Bunny X writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 10:04:59 AM

I love how they narrow down the criteria for a record setting weekend.
So just how many other non-sequel, non-summer, R-rated, action-buddy comedy, TV adaptions are in this category?
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 10:20:26 AM

I'm thinking that list contains Starsky & Hutch (if it's an R that is) and 21 Jump Street, Bunny

So like Channing Tatum charm and charisma it's non existent.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 11:52:34 AM

Trailer- Sweet didn't realise it was out already, I'll have to give it a watch some time this week.
trailertrash writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 12:02:11 PM

Let me know what you think mate ....
happileperkon writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 12:10:29 PM

this movie was f*cking hilarious!
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 1:06:36 PM

@telur - it's R-Rated for the bathroom scene at the Blue Oyster Men's Club when Tatum bends Jonah over the piss trough and violates him with dueling banjo music c*mming from 2 of the stalls.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 1:08:21 PM

@Bullit - they should re-release 'The Jerk' to independent theaters. Comedy classic!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 2:35:43 PM

The Jerk lol that is classic Steve Martin.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 2:51:00 PM

THis movie is so damn uninteresting.That you guys arent event talking about it,and are talking about other upcoming movies instead.NICE

I would Rather watch John Carter a million times over this sh*t.
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 3:10:53 PM

RANGER they probably will in L.A.,theyre always doin that. Theyre showing The Excorcist i believe next month
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 3:31:59 PM

@last 3 posts...

The Jerk... I don't think there's a comedian alive that doesn't worship that movie.

@Bando... I know eh? I'll watch this movie when it hits my movie channel. I won't pay theater price to go see it (unlike Ridley's latest outing... I'm so there!).

@porn - I have The Jerk on DVD. Will watch it again after my move at the end of this month. It's timeless.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 3:49:46 PM

i highly doubt john Carter will make anywhere near 600M My guess it 350-400m Tops.
Bullit writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 4:04:30 PM

@ranger: Agreed there. They should always have a look at the best comedies.

My favourite comedian of all time is definitely Robin Wiliams. I never succeed to buy one ticket just to see him live. But I always laugh when I watch over & over again his show on Broadway from 2002! This man is a true genius of comedy. Very fast, very witty and very funny even on a single interview.
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 4:08:46 PM

And he made Good Will Hunting, Awakenings and Hook (yes folks I liked Hook) the movies they were.
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 4:48:30 PM

Robin Williams/George Carlin best comedians from the 80s
Loved their yearly HBO specials in those days
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:12:58 PM

Hey... check out:

Sam Kinison's 'Breaking the Rules!' from '87. Even Hef was in the audience. THAT was a GREAT performance.
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 5:24:23 PM

Pryor paved the way
Kinison steamrolled it

You could never get away with the stuff he said now
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 6:45:53 PM

Nope... sad.

Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 6:52:36 PM

Check this out at the 5:00 mark.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hkhU5hRA01Y

Best sit-com ever.
pornfly writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:00:38 PM

Already knew without watching,its funny shows like that pave the way for what to say but now if you say them people like PLASTICMAN get p*ssy hurt and start writing letters and form support groups when a joke is just a joke
Contribute to causes that actually help people instead
Ranger writes:
on March 19th, 2012 at 8:30:04 PM

PlasticGoof needs a good swift kick in his whiny vag. with a nice, pointy Italian shoe.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 2:08:41 AM

just got out of the theater after watching this. Very funny movie lots of laughs, id recommend for anyone.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 5:13:33 PM

what a stupid stat and a stupid movie
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 20th, 2012 at 11:26:59 PM

powdered queer man

Shut up ugly. :)
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 2:47:44 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 29th, 2017 at 11:20:54 PM

sevelace writes:
on December 2nd, 2017 at 8:48:53 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved