WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Oct 2nd, 2014
Final Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Posters For Ridiculous "22 Jump Street" Sequels
Sep 27th, 2014
How Much Netflix Do People Watch Per Day?
Sep 27th, 2014
Miles Teller Apologizes For Trashing "Divergent"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Sep 26th, 2014
Deleted Rogue Scenes Will Be Added Back Into "Rogue Cut" of "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Sep 26th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Wedding Ringer" Comedy, with Kevin Hart and Josh Gad
Sep 26th, 2014
"Bill and Ted 3" is Still Happening, Details Revealed
Sep 26th, 2014
"Dumb and Dumber To" Unveils First TV Spot
Sep 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses Died

Posted: March 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses DiedSubmit Comment
We just reported that PETA called for a cancellation of HBO's "Luck" TV series, starring Dustin Hoffman and Nick Nolte, because three horses got hurt and had to be euthanized during production.

And now comes word that executive producers David Milch and Michael Mann have decided to cancel the show. "Safety is always of paramount concern," said HBO. "While we maintained the highest safety standards possible, accidents unfortunately happen and it is impossible to guarantee they won't in the future. Accordingly, we have reached this difficult decision. We are immensely proud of this series, the writing, the acting, the filmmaking, the celebration of the culture of horses, and everyone involved in its creation."

Production was shooting the second episode of the second season when the announcement came.

PETA responded, stating: "Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series, PETA is glad that HBO has finally decided to cancel the show. Should Milch, Mann, and HBO decide to start the series up again, PETA will be calling on them, as we have done from the start, to use stock racing footage instead of endangering horses for entertainment purposes."

Source: EW, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:18:58 AM

It's unlike Hollywood not to flog a dead horse isn't
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:25:28 AM

Never even heard of this show until the dead horses. Was it any good?
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:27:01 AM

Prince Charles buys corpses to stuff with cake frosting
Džeko writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:36:05 AM

So...those horses were...out of luck.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:47:15 AM

What PETA isn't telling you is that they got to Milch and Mann by planting the severed heads of thoroughbreds in their beds.

No, wait, that's ridiculous. We're talking about PETA. The heads were most likely human.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:19:24 AM

@ Taco: Personally, I couldn't make heads or tails of any of the dialogue. I don't gamble on horse racing (I'm more of a roulette man), so the conversations all sound pretty esoteric to me. It's well-written, I suppose, consistent with the high quality that Milch's work always delivers (ŕ la "Deadwood"). (Of course, that show, for all it's flowery expressions, was far more accessible.)

What I will add, though, is that the acting is superb. It's Nolte's meatiest part in years. Coupled with the Oscar nod he got for "Warrior", it looks like his comeback's momentum is strong. As for Dustin Hoffman, provided animal rights groups don't protest come awards season, he's secured the Emmy for this fall. It's pretty much imminent. It seems like a trend that most high-profile movie actors that land these HBO/Showtime original series gigs end up nabbing the Emmy or Golden Globe for their first seasons, anyway (e.g., Anna Paquin, Laura Linney, Toni Collette, Laura Dern, Mary-Louise Parker, etc.). (It's a bummer to me because I was hoping to see Brian Cranston sweep each consecutive year, but AMC kind of killed that dream with their bullsh*t scheduling, didn't they?) I anticipate Hoffman won't be an exception. Can't say I'm too disappointed, I guess. Compared to some of the stinkers he's been in as of late (excluding "Barney's Version"), this role is a godsend.

(In reviewing my post, I realize all those first-season awards winners are women. Hmmm. Very peculiar. Can't think of any men I could use as examples. Gandolfini, maybe, but he was hardly "high-profile" when that show debuted. So, maybe it's just high-profile female actresses that win for first seasons. In which case, Dustin's fine. He's been a woman before.)
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:31:46 AM

@ C-prime
Micheal Chickles, The Shield season 1. Does that count?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:41:38 AM

@ Taco: Um, he seems kind of iffy. Not really a "high-profile" star before "The Shield". Then again, can it really be said that Mary-Louise Parker prior to "Weeds"?

I think the "high-profile" qualifier is a tad limiting. Let's just throw it out. It'll make the search easier.

I would've included Claire Danes in the list, too, if she didn't register as more of a TV actress that does films (not vice versa). Her success was built off "My So-Called Life", so I've excluded her. Not mocking "Homeland", though. That show is ineffably badass.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

"... that Mary-Louise Parker WAS prior to 'Weeds'?"
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:48:44 AM

I like these TV discussions. Retracing memory lane is fun. And in terms of creativity, new narrative series certainly seem to be thriving more than Hollywood's stagnant output. Especially on premium cable outlets.

Oh, and f*ck "Mad Men".
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:06:35 AM

^ dude no sh*t. I tried to watch Mad Men, finished the whole first season and was done. There was nothing to like. No focused story no likeAbke characters. The show story wise, ( if there was a story) is all over the place. Overrated show of the decade!
Motorious writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 10:59:41 AM

I don't see what PETA is upset about the show euthanizing animals, they euthanize over 90% of the animals that they take in. . . . The sad part is that isn't a joke . . .
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 11:44:00 AM

Are you kidding me? I was finally starting to like this series too.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:44:43 PM

@Motor - no, it isn't... but PETA is.
Bullit writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 1:43:03 PM

I wonder what Sarah Jessica Parker think about this decision?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:16:23 PM

f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:15 PM

sarah jessica parker is dead?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:29 PM

"f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line."

It's crappy, truly, but I'm positive the key players involved in this project, at the very least, will all bounce back.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:40:57 PM

A few horses die and a sh*t load of Jews loose their jobs....... Sounds like a win win to me.
DeVries writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:40:28 PM

"Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series''

Are we talking about The Expandables 2 cast ?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 3:18:11 AM

Cancel LUCK? F*ck that!! Fire the guy that was suppose to take care of the horses...cheaper.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 5:08:15 AM

I haven't have the chance to check out for the rest of the episodes. The only episode I watch was the pilot from December, after that I have to take care with other TV series like American Horror Story, Person of Interest, The Office, Supernatural and now the soon to be the season 2 finale of the Walking Dead..... It is really shame that couldn't live long even I don't understand much about the business of horse racing. But once again, it always comes first the safety for this poor bastard animals......
themarinebiologist writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 7:06:17 PM

i respet peta's cause and all but phuk this, Luck was just getting good

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved