WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses Died

Posted: March 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses DiedSubmit Comment
We just reported that PETA called for a cancellation of HBO's "Luck" TV series, starring Dustin Hoffman and Nick Nolte, because three horses got hurt and had to be euthanized during production.

And now comes word that executive producers David Milch and Michael Mann have decided to cancel the show. "Safety is always of paramount concern," said HBO. "While we maintained the highest safety standards possible, accidents unfortunately happen and it is impossible to guarantee they won't in the future. Accordingly, we have reached this difficult decision. We are immensely proud of this series, the writing, the acting, the filmmaking, the celebration of the culture of horses, and everyone involved in its creation."

Production was shooting the second episode of the second season when the announcement came.

PETA responded, stating: "Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series, PETA is glad that HBO has finally decided to cancel the show. Should Milch, Mann, and HBO decide to start the series up again, PETA will be calling on them, as we have done from the start, to use stock racing footage instead of endangering horses for entertainment purposes."

Source: EW, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:18:58 AM

It's unlike Hollywood not to flog a dead horse isn't
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:25:28 AM

Never even heard of this show until the dead horses. Was it any good?
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:27:01 AM

Prince Charles buys corpses to stuff with cake frosting
Džeko writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:36:05 AM

So...those horses were...out of luck.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:47:15 AM

What PETA isn't telling you is that they got to Milch and Mann by planting the severed heads of thoroughbreds in their beds.

No, wait, that's ridiculous. We're talking about PETA. The heads were most likely human.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:19:24 AM

@ Taco: Personally, I couldn't make heads or tails of any of the dialogue. I don't gamble on horse racing (I'm more of a roulette man), so the conversations all sound pretty esoteric to me. It's well-written, I suppose, consistent with the high quality that Milch's work always delivers (ŕ la "Deadwood"). (Of course, that show, for all it's flowery expressions, was far more accessible.)

What I will add, though, is that the acting is superb. It's Nolte's meatiest part in years. Coupled with the Oscar nod he got for "Warrior", it looks like his comeback's momentum is strong. As for Dustin Hoffman, provided animal rights groups don't protest come awards season, he's secured the Emmy for this fall. It's pretty much imminent. It seems like a trend that most high-profile movie actors that land these HBO/Showtime original series gigs end up nabbing the Emmy or Golden Globe for their first seasons, anyway (e.g., Anna Paquin, Laura Linney, Toni Collette, Laura Dern, Mary-Louise Parker, etc.). (It's a bummer to me because I was hoping to see Brian Cranston sweep each consecutive year, but AMC kind of killed that dream with their bullsh*t scheduling, didn't they?) I anticipate Hoffman won't be an exception. Can't say I'm too disappointed, I guess. Compared to some of the stinkers he's been in as of late (excluding "Barney's Version"), this role is a godsend.

(In reviewing my post, I realize all those first-season awards winners are women. Hmmm. Very peculiar. Can't think of any men I could use as examples. Gandolfini, maybe, but he was hardly "high-profile" when that show debuted. So, maybe it's just high-profile female actresses that win for first seasons. In which case, Dustin's fine. He's been a woman before.)
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:31:46 AM

@ C-prime
Micheal Chickles, The Shield season 1. Does that count?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:41:38 AM

@ Taco: Um, he seems kind of iffy. Not really a "high-profile" star before "The Shield". Then again, can it really be said that Mary-Louise Parker prior to "Weeds"?

I think the "high-profile" qualifier is a tad limiting. Let's just throw it out. It'll make the search easier.

I would've included Claire Danes in the list, too, if she didn't register as more of a TV actress that does films (not vice versa). Her success was built off "My So-Called Life", so I've excluded her. Not mocking "Homeland", though. That show is ineffably badass.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

"... that Mary-Louise Parker WAS prior to 'Weeds'?"
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:48:44 AM

I like these TV discussions. Retracing memory lane is fun. And in terms of creativity, new narrative series certainly seem to be thriving more than Hollywood's stagnant output. Especially on premium cable outlets.

Oh, and f*ck "Mad Men".
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:06:35 AM

^ dude no sh*t. I tried to watch Mad Men, finished the whole first season and was done. There was nothing to like. No focused story no likeAbke characters. The show story wise, ( if there was a story) is all over the place. Overrated show of the decade!
Motorious writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 10:59:41 AM

I don't see what PETA is upset about the show euthanizing animals, they euthanize over 90% of the animals that they take in. . . . The sad part is that isn't a joke . . .
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 11:44:00 AM

Are you kidding me? I was finally starting to like this series too.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:44:43 PM

@Motor - no, it isn't... but PETA is.
Bullit writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 1:43:03 PM

I wonder what Sarah Jessica Parker think about this decision?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:16:23 PM

f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:15 PM

sarah jessica parker is dead?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:29 PM

"f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line."

It's crappy, truly, but I'm positive the key players involved in this project, at the very least, will all bounce back.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:40:57 PM

A few horses die and a sh*t load of Jews loose their jobs....... Sounds like a win win to me.
DeVries writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:40:28 PM

"Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series''

Are we talking about The Expandables 2 cast ?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 3:18:11 AM

Cancel LUCK? F*ck that!! Fire the guy that was suppose to take care of the horses...cheaper.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 5:08:15 AM

I haven't have the chance to check out for the rest of the episodes. The only episode I watch was the pilot from December, after that I have to take care with other TV series like American Horror Story, Person of Interest, The Office, Supernatural and now the soon to be the season 2 finale of the Walking Dead..... It is really shame that couldn't live long even I don't understand much about the business of horse racing. But once again, it always comes first the safety for this poor bastard animals......
themarinebiologist writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 7:06:17 PM

i respet peta's cause and all but phuk this, Luck was just getting good

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved