WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Oct 9th, 2015
"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced
Oct 9th, 2015
Pixar's "Toy Story 4," "Cars 3" and "The Incredibles 2" Get New Release Dates
Oct 9th, 2015
First Look at Disney's New Princess "Moana"
Oct 9th, 2015
Steve McQueen's "Papillon" is Getting a Remake
Oct 9th, 2015
Four Directors Considered for "Fast and Furious 8"
Oct 7th, 2015
"The Flash" Movie Hires Director
Oct 7th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Triple Nine," with Casey Affleck and Woody Harrelson
Oct 7th, 2015
Nicolas Cage Turned Down Lead Role in "Lord of the Rings"
Oct 5th, 2015
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "Gold"
Oct 5th, 2015
"Thor 3" Found Its Director
Oct 5th, 2015
"Power Rangers" Reboot is Testing These Eight Actors
Oct 5th, 2015
James McAvoy in Talks for M. Night Shyamalan's New Supernatural Thriller
Oct 5th, 2015
Final Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Oct 3rd, 2015
Trailer for Kurt Russell's "Bone Tomahawk" Western
Oct 3rd, 2015
Reboot of "MacGyver" TV Series in the Works with James Wan
Oct 3rd, 2015
Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Oct 2nd, 2015
Final Poster for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2"
Oct 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "The Forest" Supernatural Thriller
Oct 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Leonardo DiCaprio's "The Revenant" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
First Look: Andrew Garfield in Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge"
Oct 1st, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "I Am Pilgrim" Thriller
Oct 1st, 2015
Vin Diesel Says "Furious 8" is Part of Last Trilogy
Sep 29th, 2015
Danny Boyle to Shoot "Trainspotting" Sequel Next Summer
Sep 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Would Play Daredevil if Christopher Nolan Directed
Sep 27th, 2015
Ridley Scott Says "Prometheus 2" Will Have Connections to Ripley
Sep 27th, 2015
Sigourney Weaver Joins "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Sep 27th, 2015
Matt Damon Discusses "Bourne" Plot Details
Sep 27th, 2015
First Look at Woody Harrelson as President Johnson in "LBJ" Biopic
Sep 27th, 2015
Title of "Prometheus" Sequel Revealed
Sep 26th, 2015
New "Men in Black" Film Moving Forward Without Will Smith
Sep 26th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants Tom Hardy to Replace Him as Wolverine
Sep 26th, 2015
Trailer for "Truth," with Robert Redford and Cate Blanchett
Sep 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses Died

Posted: March 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses DiedSubmit Comment
We just reported that PETA called for a cancellation of HBO's "Luck" TV series, starring Dustin Hoffman and Nick Nolte, because three horses got hurt and had to be euthanized during production.

And now comes word that executive producers David Milch and Michael Mann have decided to cancel the show. "Safety is always of paramount concern," said HBO. "While we maintained the highest safety standards possible, accidents unfortunately happen and it is impossible to guarantee they won't in the future. Accordingly, we have reached this difficult decision. We are immensely proud of this series, the writing, the acting, the filmmaking, the celebration of the culture of horses, and everyone involved in its creation."

Production was shooting the second episode of the second season when the announcement came.

PETA responded, stating: "Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series, PETA is glad that HBO has finally decided to cancel the show. Should Milch, Mann, and HBO decide to start the series up again, PETA will be calling on them, as we have done from the start, to use stock racing footage instead of endangering horses for entertainment purposes."

Source: EW, THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:18:58 AM

It's unlike Hollywood not to flog a dead horse isn't
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:25:28 AM

Never even heard of this show until the dead horses. Was it any good?
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:27:01 AM

Prince Charles buys corpses to stuff with cake frosting
Džeko writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:36:05 AM

So...those horses were...out of luck.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:47:15 AM

What PETA isn't telling you is that they got to Milch and Mann by planting the severed heads of thoroughbreds in their beds.

No, wait, that's ridiculous. We're talking about PETA. The heads were most likely human.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:19:24 AM

@ Taco: Personally, I couldn't make heads or tails of any of the dialogue. I don't gamble on horse racing (I'm more of a roulette man), so the conversations all sound pretty esoteric to me. It's well-written, I suppose, consistent with the high quality that Milch's work always delivers (ŕ la "Deadwood"). (Of course, that show, for all it's flowery expressions, was far more accessible.)

What I will add, though, is that the acting is superb. It's Nolte's meatiest part in years. Coupled with the Oscar nod he got for "Warrior", it looks like his comeback's momentum is strong. As for Dustin Hoffman, provided animal rights groups don't protest come awards season, he's secured the Emmy for this fall. It's pretty much imminent. It seems like a trend that most high-profile movie actors that land these HBO/Showtime original series gigs end up nabbing the Emmy or Golden Globe for their first seasons, anyway (e.g., Anna Paquin, Laura Linney, Toni Collette, Laura Dern, Mary-Louise Parker, etc.). (It's a bummer to me because I was hoping to see Brian Cranston sweep each consecutive year, but AMC kind of killed that dream with their bullsh*t scheduling, didn't they?) I anticipate Hoffman won't be an exception. Can't say I'm too disappointed, I guess. Compared to some of the stinkers he's been in as of late (excluding "Barney's Version"), this role is a godsend.

(In reviewing my post, I realize all those first-season awards winners are women. Hmmm. Very peculiar. Can't think of any men I could use as examples. Gandolfini, maybe, but he was hardly "high-profile" when that show debuted. So, maybe it's just high-profile female actresses that win for first seasons. In which case, Dustin's fine. He's been a woman before.)
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:31:46 AM

@ C-prime
Micheal Chickles, The Shield season 1. Does that count?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:41:38 AM

@ Taco: Um, he seems kind of iffy. Not really a "high-profile" star before "The Shield". Then again, can it really be said that Mary-Louise Parker prior to "Weeds"?

I think the "high-profile" qualifier is a tad limiting. Let's just throw it out. It'll make the search easier.

I would've included Claire Danes in the list, too, if she didn't register as more of a TV actress that does films (not vice versa). Her success was built off "My So-Called Life", so I've excluded her. Not mocking "Homeland", though. That show is ineffably badass.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

"... that Mary-Louise Parker WAS prior to 'Weeds'?"
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:48:44 AM

I like these TV discussions. Retracing memory lane is fun. And in terms of creativity, new narrative series certainly seem to be thriving more than Hollywood's stagnant output. Especially on premium cable outlets.

Oh, and f*ck "Mad Men".
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:06:35 AM

^ dude no sh*t. I tried to watch Mad Men, finished the whole first season and was done. There was nothing to like. No focused story no likeAbke characters. The show story wise, ( if there was a story) is all over the place. Overrated show of the decade!
Motorious writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 10:59:41 AM

I don't see what PETA is upset about the show euthanizing animals, they euthanize over 90% of the animals that they take in. . . . The sad part is that isn't a joke . . .
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 11:44:00 AM

Are you kidding me? I was finally starting to like this series too.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:44:43 PM

@Motor - no, it isn't... but PETA is.
Bullit writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 1:43:03 PM

I wonder what Sarah Jessica Parker think about this decision?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:16:23 PM

f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:15 PM

sarah jessica parker is dead?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:29 PM

"f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line."

It's crappy, truly, but I'm positive the key players involved in this project, at the very least, will all bounce back.
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:40:57 PM

A few horses die and a sh*t load of Jews loose their jobs....... Sounds like a win win to me.
DeVries writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:40:28 PM

"Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series''

Are we talking about The Expandables 2 cast ?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 3:18:11 AM

Cancel LUCK? F*ck that!! Fire the guy that was suppose to take care of the horses...cheaper.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 5:08:15 AM

I haven't have the chance to check out for the rest of the episodes. The only episode I watch was the pilot from December, after that I have to take care with other TV series like American Horror Story, Person of Interest, The Office, Supernatural and now the soon to be the season 2 finale of the Walking Dead..... It is really shame that couldn't live long even I don't understand much about the business of horse racing. But once again, it always comes first the safety for this poor bastard animals......
themarinebiologist writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 7:06:17 PM

i respet peta's cause and all but phuk this, Luck was just getting good

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

Universal Pictures Already Broke the Record for Highest-Grossing Year

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved