WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Spider-Man" Reboot in Talks with "Cabin in the Woods" Director
Mar 3rd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Open to "Deadpool" Cameo
Mar 3rd, 2015
Restricted Trailer for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Mar 3rd, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Hawkeye Poster
Mar 3rd, 2015
Mark Cuban is US President in "Sharknado 3," Ann Coulter is Vice President
Mar 3rd, 2015
Ethan Hawke Re-Teams with Denzel Washington for "The Magnificent Seven" Remake
Mar 3rd, 2015
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses Died

Posted: March 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
HBO Cancels "Luck" After Three Horses DiedSubmit Comment
We just reported that PETA called for a cancellation of HBO's "Luck" TV series, starring Dustin Hoffman and Nick Nolte, because three horses got hurt and had to be euthanized during production.

And now comes word that executive producers David Milch and Michael Mann have decided to cancel the show. "Safety is always of paramount concern," said HBO. "While we maintained the highest safety standards possible, accidents unfortunately happen and it is impossible to guarantee they won't in the future. Accordingly, we have reached this difficult decision. We are immensely proud of this series, the writing, the acting, the filmmaking, the celebration of the culture of horses, and everyone involved in its creation."

Production was shooting the second episode of the second season when the announcement came.

PETA responded, stating: "Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series, PETA is glad that HBO has finally decided to cancel the show. Should Milch, Mann, and HBO decide to start the series up again, PETA will be calling on them, as we have done from the start, to use stock racing footage instead of endangering horses for entertainment purposes."

Source: EW, THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:18:58 AM

It's unlike Hollywood not to flog a dead horse isn't
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:25:28 AM

Never even heard of this show until the dead horses. Was it any good?
pornfly writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:27:01 AM

Prince Charles buys corpses to stuff with cake frosting
Džeko writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:36:05 AM

So...those horses were...out of luck.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 5:47:15 AM

What PETA isn't telling you is that they got to Milch and Mann by planting the severed heads of thoroughbreds in their beds.

No, wait, that's ridiculous. We're talking about PETA. The heads were most likely human.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:19:24 AM

@ Taco: Personally, I couldn't make heads or tails of any of the dialogue. I don't gamble on horse racing (I'm more of a roulette man), so the conversations all sound pretty esoteric to me. It's well-written, I suppose, consistent with the high quality that Milch's work always delivers (ŕ la "Deadwood"). (Of course, that show, for all it's flowery expressions, was far more accessible.)

What I will add, though, is that the acting is superb. It's Nolte's meatiest part in years. Coupled with the Oscar nod he got for "Warrior", it looks like his comeback's momentum is strong. As for Dustin Hoffman, provided animal rights groups don't protest come awards season, he's secured the Emmy for this fall. It's pretty much imminent. It seems like a trend that most high-profile movie actors that land these HBO/Showtime original series gigs end up nabbing the Emmy or Golden Globe for their first seasons, anyway (e.g., Anna Paquin, Laura Linney, Toni Collette, Laura Dern, Mary-Louise Parker, etc.). (It's a bummer to me because I was hoping to see Brian Cranston sweep each consecutive year, but AMC kind of killed that dream with their bullsh*t scheduling, didn't they?) I anticipate Hoffman won't be an exception. Can't say I'm too disappointed, I guess. Compared to some of the stinkers he's been in as of late (excluding "Barney's Version"), this role is a godsend.

(In reviewing my post, I realize all those first-season awards winners are women. Hmmm. Very peculiar. Can't think of any men I could use as examples. Gandolfini, maybe, but he was hardly "high-profile" when that show debuted. So, maybe it's just high-profile female actresses that win for first seasons. In which case, Dustin's fine. He's been a woman before.)
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:31:46 AM

@ C-prime
Micheal Chickles, The Shield season 1. Does that count?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:41:38 AM

@ Taco: Um, he seems kind of iffy. Not really a "high-profile" star before "The Shield". Then again, can it really be said that Mary-Louise Parker prior to "Weeds"?

I think the "high-profile" qualifier is a tad limiting. Let's just throw it out. It'll make the search easier.

I would've included Claire Danes in the list, too, if she didn't register as more of a TV actress that does films (not vice versa). Her success was built off "My So-Called Life", so I've excluded her. Not mocking "Homeland", though. That show is ineffably badass.
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:42:51 AM

"... that Mary-Louise Parker WAS prior to 'Weeds'?"
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:48:44 AM

I like these TV discussions. Retracing memory lane is fun. And in terms of creativity, new narrative series certainly seem to be thriving more than Hollywood's stagnant output. Especially on premium cable outlets.

Oh, and f*ck "Mad Men".
Taco writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:06:35 AM

^ dude no sh*t. I tried to watch Mad Men, finished the whole first season and was done. There was nothing to like. No focused story no likeAbke characters. The show story wise, ( if there was a story) is all over the place. Overrated show of the decade!
Motorious writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 10:59:41 AM

I don't see what PETA is upset about the show euthanizing animals, they euthanize over 90% of the animals that they take in. . . . The sad part is that isn't a joke . . .
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 11:44:00 AM

Are you kidding me? I was finally starting to like this series too.
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:44:43 PM

@Motor - no, it isn't... but PETA is.
Bullit writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 1:43:03 PM

I wonder what Sarah Jessica Parker think about this decision?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:16:23 PM

f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:15 PM

sarah jessica parker is dead?
c-prime writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:57:29 PM

"f*ck you PETA!! Thanks for adding more to the unemployment line."

It's crappy, truly, but I'm positive the key players involved in this project, at the very least, will all bounce back.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 6:40:57 PM

A few horses die and a sh*t load of Jews loose their jobs....... Sounds like a win win to me.
DeVries writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 9:40:28 PM

"Knowing that old, unfit, and drugged horses were forced to race for this series''

Are we talking about The Expandables 2 cast ?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 3:18:11 AM

Cancel LUCK? F*ck that!! Fire the guy that was suppose to take care of the horses...cheaper.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 5:08:15 AM

I haven't have the chance to check out for the rest of the episodes. The only episode I watch was the pilot from December, after that I have to take care with other TV series like American Horror Story, Person of Interest, The Office, Supernatural and now the soon to be the season 2 finale of the Walking Dead..... It is really shame that couldn't live long even I don't understand much about the business of horse racing. But once again, it always comes first the safety for this poor bastard animals......
themarinebiologist writes:
on March 16th, 2012 at 7:06:17 PM

i respet peta's cause and all but phuk this, Luck was just getting good

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved