WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

It's Happening, "Jurassic Park" About to Become Reality

Posted: March 14th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
ItSubmit Comment
A team of South Korean and Russian scientists have teamed up to try to clone a wooly mammoth, which has been extinct for 4,000 - 10,000 years, by using cells discovered from mammoths found in Siberia.

Controversial South Korean stem cell scientist Hwang Woo-Suk, who managed to produce the world's first cloned dog (Snuppy), as well as a cat, a cow, a pig and a wolf, is involved in the project.

The biggest challenge will be to find usable mammoth cells from undamaged nuclei to transplant into an Indian elephant. "This will be a really tough job, but we believe it is possible because our institute is good at cloning animals," said researcher Hwang In-Sung.

Source: Physorg, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kratos writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:57:50 AM

They were chosen for extinction. Like all prehistoric creatures were. Leave them the f*ck alone, you freaks. Try spending money on something useful like wontons and noodles. FFS
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 6:16:20 AM

You bred raptors >:(
trailertrash writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 6:44:34 AM

- Overman was killed inside the park, the baby was caught inside the park, the mother is inside the park.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 8:17:26 AM

^Priceless from Jaw's 3

Why don't they just use the Wooly Mammoths who still live in Siberia?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 8:18:30 AM

What a great idea to waste time and money on.....bringing back animals that have been dead for millions of years. Much more important than curing diseases or feeding the hungry.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 9:12:00 AM

"Mommy, Mommy look a fat furry mammoth!"

-"No kid it's just Zach Galifianakis."
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 9:35:06 AM

This must be a joke, right? This looks like playing God by screwing with the food chain and for what real purpose at the end? Starting a new breed to have an improved hamburger?

More money than sense.
rocketman writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 9:49:45 AM

They should spend the money on weapon research,we need more killing things that go boom or laser beams that kill terrorisers.
Or flying monkeys.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 10:37:08 AM

they had to be f*cking NIPS and crazy ass Russians.
Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 10:47:23 AM

@BadChad - FYI: those are actually unshaven, human woman.

So this guy will put all his creatures onto an island and call it: The Island of Dr. Woo-Suk.

Doesn't have the same ring, does it?
Detrimental writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 11:24:13 AM

...Woo-Ra-Suk Park..
It even reads more Asian.
All the pun awards. ^
nawtnt writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 11:28:17 AM

Are these scientists are on crack or have stupid minds.

Planning to clone a wooly mammoth, what's next? Discours, T-Rex or something big and deady.

These scientists will be the mankind's verison of Skynet.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 12:08:38 PM

*Off Topic*

Is it just me or does that incredibly annoying Fran-Drescher-Happily-Divorced-Ad piss you off as well?
pornfly writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 12:31:01 PM

So his name in the phone book would be Yoo-Suck Wang
They still make phone books dont they?
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 12:49:06 PM

"This looks like playing God"

Well, someone has to do the job.

"They were chosen for extinction."

Actually, they were driven to extinction by man.

"bringing back animals that have been dead for millions of years."

Wooly mammoths are thought to have existed right up until 1700 B.C. on Wrangel Island...

"Planning to clone a wooly mammoth, what's next? Discours, T-Rex or something big and deady."

Perhaps, but scientists and researchers actually possess mammoth DNA fragments, not so much for dinosaurs, which died out 65 million years ago...
LEONCIO writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 12:55:55 PM

They should clone Bar Rafaeli or Kate Upton instead and send me a copy asap.
pornfly writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 1:06:59 PM

Somewhere, The Re-Animator is raising his Pamela Anderson/Salma Hayek hybrid clone to the ripe old age of 27, sans gold digging gene
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 1:34:32 PM

Ars Technica follow-up story:

Two teams of researchers have apparently gone on record as saying they plan on cloning the mammoth. In 2008, when the mammoth genome was announced in the journal Nature, we took at look at that possibility, and concluded it wouldn't work. Given the recent press attention, we thought we'd rerun an updated version of the relevant section from our original report.

Given that the genome is often called the blueprint for an organism, Nature took the liberty of commissioning an evaluation of what it would take to rebuild the mammoth using that blueprint. The challenge is enormous: each one of the mammoth's chromosomes are likely to be over 100 million base pairs long; the average surviving fragment of DNA we've obtained from mammoth remains is under 200 bases long.

That means the sort of cloning technique that we use on currently living mammals wouldn't work, since it relies on a genome that's largely intact. The cloned cells can undoubtedly repair some DNA damage, but nothing like the scrambled fragments we have from mammoths. There's always the chance that some mammoth remains contain larger fragments of DNA, but basic chemistry indicates that we're unlikely to ever find anything close to an intact chromosome.

So the piece suggests starting from scratch, using a process similar to the one that constructed the first artificial genome. Unfortunately, that bacterial genome is about three orders of magnitude smaller than a single mammoth chromosome, and the techniques used are simply unlikely to scale. Mammoths also had dozens of chromosomes, and we'd need to get two copies of each into a single cell, safely encapsulated in a nucleus. We've only got techniques that work for some of this, and we've never tried any of the ones that work on a task approaching this scale.

Assuming we have two full sets of mammoth chromosomes together in a single nucleus, advances in stem cell research suggest we could reset them to an embryonic stem cell state using molecular tools. Unfortunately, we still don't know how to get these stem cells to develop into adult organisms without implanting them into a viable egg or embryo. That would mean we'd need the embryo of a closely related species to work with.

It would obviously be best to do this with elephants (as the teams of researchers have realized), both as egg donors and surrogates. But, apparently thanks to an aquatic lifestyle in the elephant's evolutionary past, they have a baroque reproductive tract and an internal organ arrangement that makes laparoscopy to harvest eggs a non-starter. So, the elephant represents yet another technical hurdle.

There are a host of other issues that are relatively minor in scale—we'd need a Y chromosome and sequence from enough individuals to create a diverse breeding population—but resurrecting the mammoth faces some technological obstacles that we haven't yet even started to try to overcome. A more likely solution, Nature concludes, would be to identify the regions of the genome that have diverged most significantly between elephants and mammoths, and engineer the mammoth equivalent back into an elephant's DNA. Depending how well we can identify these, the mammophant that we produce may be at least physically indistinguishable from artists' renderings we're all familiar with.

Overall, Nature's analysis is pretty persuasive. Given the technology we have now, it's tough to imagine putting a mammoth together, even given the complete genome sequence.

But it's difficult to predict how technology advances will proceed. The article quotes one of the researchers who lead the efforts to sequence the Neanderthal and Denisovan genomes, Svante Paabo, as saying he doesn't expect to see anything more than a mammophant in his lifetime. Of course, Paabo's in his 50s, and I'd imagine that, in his 20s, he wouldn't have expected to see a Neanderthal genome completed in his lifetime. He has done just that.
vaodsi writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 2:15:28 PM

damn that would be awesome if it worked.
Džeko writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 3:14:08 PM

Make it happen!
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 3:23:05 PM

Ranger- Unshaven Human Women? O gawd, where do I find them at on the Siberian Tundra? I'd like to start a fire between their legs.
holtlt writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 4:44:49 PM

Mammoths were not in the jurassic period
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 4:57:04 PM

"Make it happen"

Hey Dzeko: It's too f*cking late, I alreday did! Keep it up son!

minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:02:18 PM

"Mammoths were not in the jurassic period"

Shhhh, it'll be our little secret...
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:30:09 PM

Hey Mink:

I wasn't that good in Biology class but this seems completely idiotic and it must be a publicity stunt for brainless investors. I mean, even if they succeed to clone that mammoth, they'll need an opposite sex to reproduce it. And Even they do, WTF do they expect? It doesn't belong in our food chain. The hypothetical 1st mammoth will die inexorably under our climate full of viruses and bacterias which will kill them before it even breathes. Plus the pollution and all the other problems that mammals are dealing every day. No way it's going to work. to even in a million years. (Pun intended)

Here's antoher example that God doesn't need to interfere with science. -:)
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:31:25 PM

*to even* = not even.

sorry.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:36:12 PM

Yeah, ok, but I'll see how you change your tune, Bullit, when McDonald's starts serving BrontoBurgers. I don't wanna hear you whine about wanting one, ok?
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 5:55:08 PM

I don't even go to McDoanlds. It must have been 12 years since I didn't enter that fastfood sh*t. Honestly, I live in a country where eating in restaurants is natural instinct and pleasure. I can tell you a lot about gastronomy.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 6:04:03 PM

Hmm, gastronomy, is that the study of fart nebulae?
Bullit writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 6:26:53 PM

Nebulae? The infinite subject of philosophy class when I was in high scool. That was my favourite course along with foreign languages & Maths.

Cheers my good friend.
minkowski writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 7:44:43 PM

Yep, math, love it. More today than now though.

Cheers to you too.
OneTime writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 8:08:23 PM

clone hitler next
Damon242 writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 10:10:12 PM

Interesting. It's a shame it won't be a pure Mammoth, but nevertheless..............this is cool.
Damon242 writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 10:19:14 PM

For all those who don't understand the significance of this, consider the ability to remedy the extinction of species

and why not?

Honestly, for all those telling them to concentrate on curing diseases - this is the equivalent of telling a social worker to build a bridge. These men and women are not working on curing diseases and such because it is not their focus.

And why don't you then do that yourself? Go cure disease and feed the hungry?



And don't bring religion into this - religion is supposed to be an personal thing, don't try and force your beliefs onto others.


Beyond everything Minowski has already covered, just keep in mind that they aren't talking about releasing this creature into the wild - and the food chain? How will that be affected negatively? Unless of course you're expecting them to breed an army of Mammoths and then release them into the safari.



Ranger writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 11:27:19 PM

@OneTime - they already did in:

'The Boys from Brazil'
telur writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:07:03 AM

they should learning bad happen on JURASSIC PARK
Ranger writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:31:21 AM

What bad thing? A Lawyer was eaten by a T-Rex. It doesn't get any better than that.
Captain_Rogaine writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 4:10:52 PM

I would LOVE this! Here I thought it would be Zombacolypse now there is a chance for Dinosaurs too? How awesome would it be to throw a few dozen rounds into some Raptors that have moved into the neighborhood, only after they eat the husband of the hot neighbor MILF.

It's to bad that this is only going to prove that the old TV show will be the most accurate portrayal of what dinosaurs were like, and that daddy Dino will still be, "Not the mama!"

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved