WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" Films are Back in Development

Posted: March 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen KingSubmit Comment
At one point Universal Pictures was on board to develop three films and two limited-run TV series based on Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" books. Ron Howard was on board to direct from a script by Akiva Goldsman. Javier Bardem was in talks to play gunslinger Roland Deschain.

Everything was going smooth until the studio got a look at the budget. The project was immediately cancelled, but Universal gave Howard and Goldsman a chance to take it elsewhere. And now, Warner Bros is very close to signing a deal that would once again put "The Dark Tower" into development.

Warners bought Goldsman's script and are paying him to do a polish. Howard is still on board to direct and Bardem is still interested in starring, but the actor's participation will depend on his schedule. The plan is to begin shooting in the first quarter of 2013.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 4:28:50 AM

The studios have all their money tied up in remakes of movies from 2years ago
All this draggin their feet sh*t doesnt bode well for this long over due series
Johnnyb writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 4:50:25 AM

Warner sounds the perfect home for this kind of projects.....
Džeko writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 4:53:19 AM

Yay?
pornfly writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 5:05:43 AM

This will probably get made into a movie first

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxrY7MWEkwE&feature=youtube_gdata_player

I had that
SergioFX writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 6:13:02 AM

f*ck WARNER BROS. THEY ARE sh*t! f*ck STEPHEN KING! HE IS ALSO sh*t!

I HATE MOVIES! I HATE HOLLYWOOD!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 7:17:52 AM

I hate your mother SERGIOFX.She gave me cold sores on my d*ck.f*ckING PUTA
Bullit writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 7:44:50 AM

^ ^ Lol.
trailertrash writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 9:45:21 AM

SergioFX The man that hates movies, But keeps coming back to a film site again and again to tell us so

Really it should be SergioFOFF
SACdaddy writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 10:07:26 AM

HBO is the only company that can handle this huge project. They've got the creativity and the platform to do this the right way. They don't have to worry about dumbing it down with a lameass PG-13 rating or for a uneducated general audience. Hope there's still a slim chance of this happenning.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 10:16:02 AM

Viggo for Roland or f*ck off!!!
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 2:01:26 PM

Only the first and second books in the series are any good, so they can make this or they can not, but I'm fairly indifferent to the idea, because unless Frank Darabont is involved, it won't turn out well.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 2:47:28 PM

^^ agreed! and I Hate Ron Howard.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 3:06:29 PM

I also think Stephen McHattie would make a better Roland than Viggo. I'd even prefer Christian Bale but I think Bardem is fine and an interesting choice
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 3:07:33 PM

Its still gonna suck cuz of Howard doh
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 3:54:52 PM

Don't like Howard either, Killerc*ck. Not my first choice. He makes films in a technically correct way, but they lack...vitality? Color? Interest? They just have this blandness that I can't enjoy. Cinderella Man, Beautiful Mind, The Da Vinci Code, they're all painted in the same lackluster palette.

I did enjoy Ransom, but you and I know that film was saved by Mel.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 4:22:11 PM

i've seen almost all his films, I enjoy 7 of them for different reason but they're not completely good films. of the 7 there are 5 that I do watch over again. Splash, Backdraft, The Missing, Cinderella man and the Grinch. I like them all for different reasons but I know they arn't great.
Frost/Nixon is his Swan Song. Its a perfect film but I also think it was probably his most simplest to shoot, anyone could've done that movie so I give its credit to its script and actors for making it great.
I think a Beautiful Mind was a peice of sh*t with a nice soundtrack and good performances, thats it.
Ron has talent but he's no great or master director and he's very inconsistent. I think he's a bigger hack than Michael Bay personally and You can say what you want about Bay. I just think with Bay you know exactly what you're gonna get and what he does, he does very well.
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 4:56:14 PM

All I will say about Bay is that he's become less creative as the years have gone by, as his shots are pretty much stock now, but his action is still unbeatable, and he does what he does better than pretty much anyone else at this point.
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 7:18:50 PM

I hear you. The thing with Bay movies too are his soundtracks. I think they're always pretty damn great
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 7:20:17 PM

Agreed. The always complement his action direction with the right tempo, pacing and tension. Jablonsky has done some good work no doubt.
Man in Black writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 12:52:03 AM

Don't fack this up .... and stop facking with my chi on this , if done well and not like sh*t thrown at a wall to see what sticks this could be damn good . My vote would be for Viggo , watched Eastern Promises ( since a majority of the better WP posters enjoyed it ) he owned that film .
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 15th, 2012 at 2:11:00 PM

THANK YOU!

Best news ive had all day, i f*cking love Stephen king and anything associated with him.

And Sergio, suck a d*ck..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved