WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"John Carter" Loses to "The Lorax" at Box Office

Posted: March 12th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"John Carter" Loses to "The Lorax" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
The numbers are in, and Disney's $250 million "John Carter" film wasn't able to top the domestic box office. The movie grossed a respectable $30 million, which was only good enough for second place. Internationally, however, "John Carter" was able to gring in an additional $70 million for a worldwide total of $100 million.

Experts believe that the film's total price tag, when you add marketing costs, is likely around $350 million, which means that "John Carter" has to gross around $600 million just to break even. The consensus is that it will end up bringing in $300 million worldwide.

Taking first place again was "The Lorax," which grossed another $39.1 million for a domestic total of $122 million. It cost only $70 million to make.

"Silent House," a horror film starring Elizabeth Olson, took fourth place with $7 million. It has only a 47% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and has likely made back its budget already.

Meanwhile, Eddie Murphy's long-delayed "A Thousand Words" comedy, ended up in sixth place with $6.4 million. The $40 million film will likely fail at earning back its budget. And having a 0% fresh rating won't help with word-of-mouth marketing.

Click here to read our "John Carter" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 75 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BlueMobius writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 11:43:41 PM

Someone explain to me how a film that costs #350 million after marketing costs needs twice that to "break even." Seriously, was that a typo or just bad business math?
Dirt writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 11:45:09 PM

f*ck Eddie.. Just retire and bang some more Spice Girls or something.
birnam writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 11:48:44 PM

Bluemobius, they don't it's all apart of what film studios do in order to pocket more money. They pay another company (usually owned by the same company) an obscene amount of money to distribute the movie for them. That way when a movie like this only makes say 500 million world wide they don't have to pay certain people or taxes because they "haven't turned a profit"
telur writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 12:10:10 AM

did anyone here hear John Carter save Taylor Kitch in Philippine?
Rambo writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 12:21:18 AM

I'm glad it's flopping,Disney sucks at making live action movies.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 12:22:03 AM

Obviuosly it was going to bomb, who want to see it any way. Everybody is expecting the big deal on May and July. f*ck it!!!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 12:29:33 AM

Eddie Murphy bombs movie #100

Your brother Charlie Murphy is more affordable.

Watch Safe House great movie.
mcm317 writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:00:04 AM

why is this film making money. either way it will still be a huge flop and when someone goes "hey you remember that movie john carter that came out about 10 years ago" most people will say no
mcm317 writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:01:48 AM

eddie hasnt made a successful film in a while and it is sad cus "coming to america" is prob one of my favorite comedys ever
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:23:21 AM

Actually, my favorite E Murphy movie is 48 HRS (his film debut) and its sequel, ANOTHER 48 HRS. He co-stars with Nick Nolte, when he played badasses.

Gritty action & Murphy's comedy is pretty good. Good buddy flick from Walter Hill. You remember him, don't you? Him of THE WARRIORS fame. Saw it last week & think the gangs looks are dated, but still holds up as a solid action piece.
Kurskij writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:29:23 AM

@mobius

It's mostly because of so called "50% rule" - a movie has to make twice its budget to break even.

In case of John Carter everything is done inside one company - production, marketing, so it's entirely Mouse House investment. They'll take around 55% (closer to 60% in some territories) of its worldwide gross with the rest going to theatres.
So to break even during theatre run alone they'll have to make around $650 mil. - then they'll be able to turn a profit with dvd and blu-ray sales; tv-hotels-airlines-VOD rights; merchandise that is virtually nonexsistent at this point etc.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:34:20 AM

Come to think of it I would enjoy if maybe a new section would be put on this movie site.

With all the solid movie knowledge I see everyone has, it would be great if there was a section on this site for movie recommendations.
I sometimes want to see comedies, dramas, or action movies but don't want to risk wasting my time getting ones that a stuffy, know-it-all critic recommends & it sucks.
I would want a recommendation from a movie fan TO ANOTHER moviefan with a quick note of why it would be good to see it. 2 sentences max or something.

I'm actually curious of what movies I've missed that others have watched & recommend.

Just a thought...
secondbest writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:46:18 AM

Eddie Murphy flops another movie. This is news that's new and old at the same time.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 1:48:49 AM

They didnt market this movie the right way for this type of movie
Too little too late
The only chance it has now is by word of mouth
Ranger writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 2:46:24 AM

"John Carter" Loses to "The Lorax" at Box Office

I started to laugh only after reading the headline.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 4:32:08 AM

ALSO NEWS:

Water is wet
Sex feels AMAZING
Whales are big
Bears sh*t in woods
Its now daylight savings time
Milk is white
We won WWII
Theres a black president
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 5:59:57 AM

Eddie Murphy has f*cked up big time.
SeWerin writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:48:31 AM

As always it's due to Disney's awesome marketing skills of live action movies.
nawtnt writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 8:28:23 AM

I am confused, is John Carter a success or a flop?
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 9:37:10 AM

VERMONT good lesson/advise

Murphy is box office poison,how much longer before whitey keeps financing these abominations. 'Meet Dave' was the worst, i actually liked Norbit except for the church scene towards the end
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 10:00:35 AM

@JakeVermont
Thanks for the advice. Will do.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 10:24:02 AM

Wow Disney how does it feel to lose to the Lorax?
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 2:44:11 PM

Congratulations to Disney for finally, after so many decades, crafting a proper cinematic vision of John Carter.

Unfortunately for them, they're going to have to chalk up their attempts to altruism in order to walk off the sting of losing so much money on a rather unnecessary film.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 4:25:48 PM

Why did John Carter lose at the Box Office? This WP photo says it all. He looks like he is ready to get showered in a bucket of c*m from some giant standing over head. Baffles the imagination that Disney would spend $250 mil on this movie. Hey, I just read the IMDB description, there are 12 foot barbarians in this film. I guess I was right.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 5:53:16 PM

"Someone explain to me how a film that costs #350 million after marketing costs needs twice that to "break even." Seriously, was that a typo or just bad business math?"

Sure. Here's a discussion:

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/archive/index.php/t-428906.html

Theaters keep a sizable chunk of BO profit, and with marketing, studios stand to lose even more.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2004/jun/11/3
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:01:45 PM

Why are theaters bitchn that they dont see a BO profit?explaining thats why snack bar prices are so high.
Popcorn alone is like around over 300%profit
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:10:06 PM

Hey, Alex, clean up the Chronicle thread, like I *VERY POLITELY* asked you to do DAYS ago. Mmmmkay? Thanks.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:16:41 PM

"Popcorn alone is like around over 300%profit"

They claim they make only 85% profit from concessions, but the cost of equipment, property leasing, payroll, electricity and whatnot is pretty f*cking high in most cases.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:21:07 PM

"That way when a movie like this only makes say 500 million world wide they don't have to pay certain people or taxes because they "haven't turned a profit""

Yep. They call it 'hollywood accounting'.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:23:25 PM

You are a little girl mink just forget about it... I know what you posted was embarrassing but let it go
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:26:47 PM

mink


you forgot to add lawsuits by consumers suing because they were over charged for a coke. That lawyer expense adds up for these theatres
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:29:51 PM

"You are a little girl mink just forget about it... I know what you posted was embarrassing but let it go"

And you had no hand in devaluing the thread, either? You and your other sock puppet miscreant?

See, I actually care about this place, always have, you only want to start sh*t, hence your latest post.

And that's why you're a troll.

f*ck off.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:32:52 PM

"you forgot to add lawsuits by consumers suing because they were over charged for a coke. That lawyer expense adds up for these theatres"

That's true. I was talking to someone about that the other night, about tort law in this country, and I said that if the law changed and started penalizing people for starting frivolous lawsuits, penalizing both the plaintiff and his or her attorney(s), this tort lawsuit sh*t would stop, thus saving billions every year on nonsense, and the lowered cost(s) would then get passed on to the consumer, i.e, you and I.
DeVries writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:34:19 PM

I hope Disney lose a f*cking sh*tload of money with that shamefull crap.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:35:49 PM

You are such a baby haha you look like a tool on the other thread so your telling your daddy alex to take it down... grow a pair
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:41:57 PM

Which particular tool do I resemble, Lord Hawhaw? A hammer? An axe? A cordless power drill? haha.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:42:25 PM

Im wondering how much $$ from lawsuits see its way to benefit the city after court staff payrolls etc.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:44:40 PM

"grow a pair"

A pair of what? Hands? Ears? Eyes? Lungs?

If you're going to use cliched retorts, if you're going to be lazy and use canned replies, at least spruce them up a bit, wipe off the cobwebs from your c*nt and at least try to look fresh enough to be f*cked in the ass by me, ok, little sister?
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:45:56 PM

"Im wondering how much $$ from lawsuits see its way to benefit the city after court staff payrolls etc."

No need to wonder. Here's your answer:

http://tinyurl.com/3yh56b
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:46:19 PM

good one... that's the difference between you and me mink you are trying way too hard
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:49:42 PM

No, my inferior friend, the main difference between you and me is that you're a lazy dumb-ass sc*mbag parasite, and I'm not.

Cheers!
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:50:45 PM

Well you are balding and entering your twilight years... and why do you even bother arguing with me if your going to politely ask daddy to remove it tomorrow?
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:54:04 PM

mink

Good post at 6:32

The cost of Healthcare would dramactly decrease if you were to apply that principle as well
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:54:57 PM

You should use your excellent CGI skills to lower your hairline a few inches on your glamor shot
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:55:49 PM

Balding? LMAO! My little road toad, I have enough hair on my head for two men, and when I have the sh*t cut the female hair-cutters bitch about it being too thick, so really, you might go back to calling me 'fat', because your wane attempt at insults is even worse than your non-existent attempts at intelligent argumentation.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:56:31 PM

Sorry... Receding
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:57:41 PM

"You should use your excellent CGI skills to lower your hairline a few inches on your glamor shot"


Awww, is you upsetty wetty you is an ugly little bastard child? Awww, is you gonna cry little baby momma no like your elephant man face? Awww, don't cry little baby, it'll get better when you die.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:58:46 PM

your hair is probably the only time a female has used the word thick to describe anything on your body eh... pencil dink mink
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:59:47 PM

"Sorry... Receding"

Yep, like your gums from wave after wave of c*m.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:59:56 PM

That's enough trolling for today get back on topic here mink come on!
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:00:53 PM

are you telling me c*m shots to the face caused your hairline to recede?
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:01:15 PM

Now get back on topic mr! Alex will be pissed
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:01:27 PM

"your hair is probably the only time a female has used the word thick to describe anything on your body eh... pencil dink mink"

And now begins your obsession with my d*ck. Only took you how many posts this time, dangerlips?

Look, I'm not going to let you suck it, ok? So stop asking. Take you and that Jeffrey Dahmer avatar and crawl back under your bunk bed.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:02:16 PM

"are you telling me c*m shots to the face caused your hairline to recede?"

Nah, looking at your mugshot made it run away from my eyes.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:02:20 PM

For the last time it's tim the tool man taylor!
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:02:43 PM

"Now get back on topic mr! Alex will be pissed"

But not pissed on you, and that makes dangerlips mad.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:03:31 PM

"For the last time it's tim the tool man taylor!"

And for the last time, no one gives a f*ck.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:04:27 PM

"That's enough trolling for today get back on topic. Here, mink, come on me!"

^^What you really meant to say.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:05:00 PM

you certainly do have a rapist's wit mink! you are bringing the zingers tonight! unfortunately i gotta leave though nice chattin ya
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:06:59 PM

Adios again loser. Again.

"you certainly do have a rapist's wit mink!"

I'm sure you know all your father's jokes, dangerlips.
dangerlips writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:07:15 PM

And next time before you write something just take a minute and think before hitting submit... you're starting to sound ridiculous!
Bullit writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:09:18 PM

I really wonder what kind of study DangerlipsBlumpkin has chosen in College? I mean, you've got way much time to waste on a site. Ever thought about SNL or something? I mean, just to improve the damn thing in your life!
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:13:16 PM

"And next time before you write something just take a minute and think before hitting submit... you're starting to sound ridiculous!"

Because you can hear me through your computer display, right? Is it me you think you hear, dangerlips, or just the horny voices of your other personalities?
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:15:15 PM

"I really wonder what kind of study DangerlipsBlumpkin has chosen in College?"

If I had to guess, Bullit, I'd say 'Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Studies'.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:17:15 PM

"The cost of Healthcare would dramactly decrease if you were to apply that principle as well"

Yep, exactly, which is why a number of US representatives have tried over the years to reform tort law in the medical fields, to no avail. Seem they were outvoted by politicos bought by legal lobbyists.
pornfly writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:21:03 PM

Dont come back
unless you have something useful and/or informative to contribute
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:22:03 PM

Oh, well, he won't be back then.
vaodsi writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 12:48:23 AM

looks like disney got a new narnia
KillerCOck writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 1:21:48 AM

Disney need 2 make Mighty Ducks 4!!! it was their best live action Franchise!!!
JakeVermont writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 6:48:14 AM

@Mink:

epic fight against the Wp trolls man, you're a true hero^^ Nobody else here has the nerves to argue so much with these guys^^
minkowski writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 1:18:19 PM

Thanks, Jake, but nerve...or just old-fashioned hardheadedness?
Džeko writes:
on March 14th, 2012 at 3:26:47 PM

My God,how exactly is it that they didn't saw it coming,releasing a movie that costs 350 million $ in MARCH and expecting it to "at least break even"is just plain retarded,but it's Disney so...
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 3:21:26 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 29th, 2017 at 11:47:26 PM

sevelace writes:
on December 2nd, 2017 at 9:28:42 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved