WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"John Carter" - What Did You Think?

Posted: March 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"John Carter" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
After decades of trying to get the film developed, Disney has finally released "John Carter" in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

The film cost a whopping $250 million and despite and despite early negative reviews, the critics now seem to be split. "John Carter" has a 51% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes with some saying that it's a spectacle worth seeing, but don't expect anything interesting once the action stops.

"John Carter" already grossed $500,000 from midnight showings on Friday. That's roughly in line with Disney's "Prince of Persia," which went on to take $30 million during its opening weekend. Overseas "Carter" has brought in $13 million, but will still struggle to make back its massive budget, which doesn't include all the millions spent on marketing.

Click here to read our "John Carter" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 7:56:47 PM

Haven't see it, but we may have been too premature to trash it.

Still, 250 million could have been better spent by Disney, who I feel was trying to out-Avatar Avatar, and the argument could be easily made they over-reached.
OneTime writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 8:06:28 PM

they could of put that movie to something like tron 3. THEN i woulda went.
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 8:33:25 PM

I hope someone says this movie is good I need a movie to go see
NewYorkCine writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 8:33:33 PM

Seeing it this weekend. I'm not excepting anything groundbreaking just some sci-fi fun.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 12:06:25 AM

haven't seen it yet but i might tomorrow
Rambo writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 1:38:08 AM

will wait for dvd...i hate 3D and too many bad reviews
pornfly writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 2:26:10 AM

Should change headline to
"John Carter" tell us you havnt seen it yet
trailertrash writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 2:26:17 AM

haha no one seen it yet .....
SeWerin writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 3:22:23 AM

I'm gonna see it in 5 daya. I can't remember when was the last time i saw a good SF movie. Seriously, good is okey now regarding SF genre. I don't need it to be mid blowing spectacular, just watchable and entertaining.

While trailers didn't give me that impression, maybe i'm gonna be surprised, buy it's quality.

And since Putman rated it 2/10, it can't be that bad right?
Ruuk writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 3:35:53 AM

Saw it two days back, expecting flop and I was really VERY pleasantly surprised. I should say its 7/10 movie, adventurous yet not utterly stupid. I have red some of the books, but I think only thing that you need to know is, that this is the original scifi, 100 years old, so only moron can say that its excavating every possible movie made. Its other way around. DP trashed this movie absolutely for nothing.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 4:26:02 AM

@Ruuk:

I watched a video from John Campea where he says that John Carter is heavily based on "Princess from Mars" and that a lot of movies were inspired by that, so no wonder people recognize scenes from other movies.

I went to see it yesterday, I'd give it 8/10, they could have shortened it at some scenes it stretched a lot. But the story was great, nothing boring about it, great mythology, you have character development, not much humor just the right amount. Cant say anything about the dialogues though since I saw it in german :( But the vfx were great nothing odd looking and the Tharks looked impressive to me. They dont have to hide behind Avatar's Navi. Well I'm keen to see what Minkowsky has to say about them, their skin simulation, texture and compositing. VFX Artist's eyes see 100 more things than other peoples' :D So Mink go see it ;-)
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 5:29:13 AM

SEEMS LIKE sh*tE I f*ckIN TOLD YOU PEOPLE WAY BACK IN DECEMBER DONT f*ckING RELEASE IT IN MARCH BUT DID YOU LISTEN TO ME.... NO ..... f*ck YOU DISNEY!!!
richardfojtik writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 7:17:20 AM

It was really an awesome movie. Saw it on Let me watch this. If you like battle scenes, cool creatures and action you will like this movie. It reminded me alittle in the alley of star gate but with cool creatures.
richardfojtik writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 7:20:35 AM

http://www.1channel.ch/watch-2732229-John-Carter
JakeVermont writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 9:03:57 AM

@richard:
Dude I'd get eye cancer watching those sh*tty stream videos.
Come on I'm happy to pay 10 bucks to see it on the big screen instead of a blurry sh*tty sounding stream video.... are you so cheap?

@Mink:
hope you dont stop posting cuz of these mofos trying to get some attention, I guess ingorance is the best solution.
NewYorkCine writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 9:37:33 AM

Deep down I wanted to see this movie succeed but looks like its going to be a failure financially. It's not often thay Disney makes mistakes but damn when they do they do it big. Prince of Persia, Mars Needs Moms, and now this. Seeing it in a couple of hours so I hope at least cinematically it's a solid fil.
WorstPreviewssucks writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 10:41:37 AM

Alex from Worstpreviews has come out of the closet.
He has happily announced that he'll be marrying his long time partner Enrique this summer in Hawaii.
All Worstpreviews members are invited for the wedding.
Dildos as gifts are optional.
WorstPreviewssucks writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 10:41:56 AM

Alex from Worstpreviews has come out of the closet.
He has happily announced that he'll be marrying his long time partner Enrique this summer in Hawaii.
All Worstpreviews members are invited for the wedding.
Dildos as gifts are optional.
codwmill writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 11:05:31 AM

Its a typical plot, with a few twists and turns.

Visually John Carter is amazing.

Overall very enjoyable and worth seeing in 3D.
Ranger writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 12:23:46 PM

Being a sci-fi fan, I'll watch this (on the movie channel). But I won't pay to see it. These theaters have to start (but I doubt they will) spending this kind of cash for what sounds like a good even ok, yet not spectacular movies.

Quarter of a billion budget?! They should give their head a shake.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 12:56:12 PM

"hope you dont stop posting cuz of these mofos trying to get some attention, I guess ingorance is the best solution."

Nah, Jake. I'd hope though after four years, you'd have more faith in my hard-headed, stubborn personality, at least by now.

If anything, it'll just make me post more to drive them insane.
minkowski writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 1:10:10 PM

@Jake: Haven't seen much of John Carter aside form the trailers so I can't comment on how the aliens look, but I'd hope that 250 million went to more than just make-up, prosthetic appendages and awesome backdrops. I'm sure it's as good, if not better, than Avatar in that respect.
mcm317 writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 3:07:55 PM

not gonna spend money to see this. the preview looks like sh*t. i had a free ticket to see a free movie on friday and i walked into john carter and after 30 minutes i walked out with a smile on my face because i was right once again. a boring flop. so i walked into a thousand words and saw that instead. john carter see what u forced me to do. you forced me to see an eddie murphy movie that didnt come out in the 80s
NewYorkCine writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 3:23:51 PM

Just seen it. It's entertaining but not 250 million dollars entertaining. Pretty much if you wanted to see it, if you didn't then don't, and if you aren't sure...then wait for Netflix, hbo, or other service. I can't, in good faith, recommended this to someone that is on the fence about it.
Atemisk writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 3:46:59 PM

While I haven't seen it, I've walked into the theater enough to know it doesn't look great... The aliens look like plastic dolls, the armor and weapons look like they came from a cheap toy store, and the story seems pretty lack luster. Not to mention the trailers they have out for the movie seem to be little more than a fantastic example on how not to make a trailer. It is amazing how poorly made that trailer is...

Overall what I can say is this: I can watch this movie for free at almost anytime I want day or night and I still may never watch this movie. And I've watched some pretty sh*tty movies for no other reason than it was free.
Flav writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 4:48:51 PM

Everyone HATES Disney! I did quite like the ending in this. Though Stanton could have done a better job.
Dr_ChocolatePudding writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 7:29:44 PM

Not sure how many people in here have IMAX's in their town, but it's movies like this that are incredible on screen. I enjoyed the movie. I thought it was more original and def more entertaining than Avatar. For as long as it was it still seemed they had trouble fitting everything into the alotted time. Its not the greatest film, but like I think Wrath of Titans will be, if it's seen on IMAX I think it's a good time.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 3:30:33 AM

Saw it... Pretty decent flick... A lot better than sh*t like clash, transformers and immortals... I was actually ok with spending my money for this movie...
Gunslinger writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 9:19:29 AM

If "the argument could be easily made they over-reached..." then why don't you just f*cking make it? I know you live to enlighten...
KindredMac writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 10:11:00 AM

Saw it yesterday. I liked it quite a bit. Plus the princess is HOT and very easy on the eyes! Nice ending too!
JakeVermont writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 11:02:27 AM

5 Reasons you must see JOHN CARTER:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oTAecZRmMw&feature=g-user-u
JakeVermont writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 11:04:02 AM

@Ranger:
reason 5 is the most important for you!!

richardfojtik writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 12:30:47 PM

To the bitch JakeVermont
f*ck YOU WHORE
Angelica wanna be HOE
Ranger writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 12:36:05 PM

@Jake... do you even have to ask?

lol.

Lynn Collins... Mmmmm...
richardfojtik writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 12:37:01 PM

JakeVermont YOU MUST BE A f*ckING n*gger BY THE WAY YOU TALKE. I've been coming to these f*cking websites before your f*cking gay ass was ever f*cking born and I'm be coming to them after your dead, which if you keep talking that way I'll find your ass and do the job myself. Dream on, your not worth my time FAGGOT.
richardfojtik writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 12:45:03 PM

And jake d*ck just so you know I'M ON TOP OF MOVIES, ON TOP OF MY GAME, I KNOW MOVIES AND I KNOW THE NEWS BEFORE YOU EVER SEE IT d*ck.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/john-carter-taylor-kitsch-sequel-297768
PLASTIC MAN writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 2:53:19 PM

Hey, yeah, Minkowski is a fag. Can someone please shut this f*cker up?

minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 3:45:18 PM

"then why don't you just f*cking make it?"

Why? You'd just cry about the overly long post. But bitches are gonna cry, right bitch?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 3:58:28 PM

I saw this last thursday (8th March) in Hong Kong at an IMAX theater.

I was expecting a movie that would be so bad I could rip it a new one but....

I was pleasently surprised that it wasn't.

It started off a bit strangely though but when it kicked in it did it well.

Only negative thing I would say is that the talking parts of the movie could have been cut down in editing they do go on a little bit too long.
swoooop writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 5:08:12 PM

Plastic and richard; Is the term gay and fag the worst thing you can trow a people? Why dont you use negatives as "Jesuslover" or "youidiotwhothinkstheworldisolderthatn5000years"?

I know some gay people, and they are kind of nice. They smell lovely, and have nit hair.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 7:40:12 PM

@richard:
nope, I'm white, german and an engineer. And I cannot possibly fathom how I might have offended you by just saying stream watching is the last a movie loving person would do.

Appearently you are slow minded and not well educated to think about the importance of spending at least some of your money on movies. Oh an I don give a rats ass bout cha gettin da f*ckin news couple o' femtosecs earlia dan me, biaaatch!!

was that black enough?^^

your mother must be very proud of you...


@PlasticMan:
saw your daughter in the red light district yesterday. She got into Rangers car, I thought you should know that....
minkowski writes:
on March 11th, 2012 at 9:44:40 PM

"was that black enough?^^ "

Don't be silly, Jake. Most black folks don't know a femtosecond from a frog march.
JakeVermont writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 6:34:54 AM

Oh you're right their world mostly ends at the millimeter/second level.
minkowski writes:
on March 12th, 2012 at 7:26:56 PM

lol
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 3:27:55 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 29th, 2017 at 11:51:36 PM

sevelace writes:
on December 2nd, 2017 at 9:39:10 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved