WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Kiefer Sutherland was Almost Robin in Tim Burton's "Batman"

Posted: March 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Kiefer Sutherland was Almost Robin in Tim BurtonSubmit Comment
During a recent interview, Kiefer Sutherland spoke about Tim Burton's "Batman" movie, stating that there were many incarnations of the story, including one that featured Robin. In fact, the Robin version was so heavily favored that producers actually started searching for actors to play the sidekick.

"I'd just finished 'Stand By Me' and 'Young Guns' about the time that Warner Bros were making the first 'Batman' film with Michael Keaton, and I got a call which asked me if I would be interested in playing Robin," Sutherland explained. "I was like: 'As in Robin with tights? No!'"

He went on to say: "I didn't realize they were going to make the coolest movie ever. They didn't have a Robin in the end, but I was only 19, so my agent could have helped me out a bit on that one."

Source: OnTheBox


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:08:37 PM

That makes no sense. Keaton was born in 1951, Kiefer in 1966. So the two would have been only 15 years apart. Batman's protege OTOH is almost always a child, not an adult, unless he's Nightwing, and in 1989 Kiefer would have been 23!

BAD idea.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:17:25 PM

I'm glad they didn't include him. Gotta love Burtons Batmans when I'm older and have spawn they'll be the films i show my kids, not Nolans bore fests!
Ranger writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:17:49 PM

Even the love scenes would have been awkward.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:20:22 PM

"not Nolans bore fests!"

Awww sh*t.
Freshman writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:20:35 PM

"That makes no sense. Keaton was born in 1951, Kiefer in 1966. So the two would have been only 15 years apart. Batman's protege OTOH is almost always a child, not an adult, unless he's Nightwing, and in 1989 Kiefer would have been 23!

BAD idea."

My guess is he was planning to go with the whole Nightwing concept, sort of what we (unfortunately) saw on Batman Forever.
Older Robin makes Bats look less of a pedophile...

but meh.

Still would've sucked.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:33:47 PM

If the French made it Robin would be 10 and there would be intimate gazes all over the script. Bat Caaveeeee
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:35:14 PM

Yeah, maybe, but they said ROBIN. Robin didn't become Nightwing until he was a teenager or later. So maybe they were going to do it right off the cuff with Batman later in life. But still, that would have been about ten years past Batman's Year One canonical story-line...

Regardless, I'm glad they did what they did.
Freshman writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:39:16 PM

I still think the coolest impersonation of Robin is from the Arkham City videogame.

He looks f*cking badass, and about the perfect age.
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:49:30 PM

Someone should just do a machinima with Arkham City and the other one. Better than what we've got over the last few years. Great game and models.
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:49:38 PM

Whats Sutherlands new show Touched like, Starts here next week in think, is it worth checking out ?????
trailertrash writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:50:12 PM

Touch ......
minkowski writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 7:58:58 PM

There's a few 24 Easter eggs in the premier, I hear, trailer, but the reviews have been a bit mixed. OTOH, really high IMDB reviews.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 8:32:19 PM

In the dictionary, under the word, "Gay", see :

Kiefer Sutherland was Almost Robin in Tim Burton's "Batman"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 8:33:32 PM

Besides, in the comic books, Bruce and d*ck shared beds.

Yes, in the DC Universe, Bruce Wayne is the Roman Polanski of superheroes.
Lloyd-Christmas writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 9:06:55 PM

who cares
dangerlips writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 9:12:58 PM

If Robin was expendable in the movies and had a role similar to that of the Dark Knight Returns I don't think it it would be a bad idea... I'm still curious as to how the Dark Knight series will conclude
venomex writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 9:42:13 PM

but marlon wayans got the job but was never used....right?
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 10:14:56 PM

Welp Robin time to suck the old batd*ck!
Mudders writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 1:01:15 AM

why actors all of a sudden talking about roles they turned down for batman movies??
Syman404 writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 4:15:09 AM

because batman is the pimp daddy they always wished they had. lohan will be next. i swear.
rabid writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 10:10:19 AM

@Mudders
because 20 years later an actor can pretty much make up any sh*t they want, and nobobdy will question it.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 1:53:46 PM

I like Kiefer's first gut reaction - No!

Even at 19 years old, Jack is still right.
trailertrash writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 3:10:50 PM

Thanks Mink, May give it a go ....
minkowski writes:
on March 9th, 2012 at 3:31:57 PM

YW, tt

"why actors all of a sudden talking about roles they turned down for batman movies??"

Ever notice all the actors doing the reminiscing are pretty much cinematic has-beens? Not saying Kiefer's no good, because he is, at least for some of his work like 24, The Vanishing, Phone Booth, even Taking Lives and certainly Flatliners, but he isn't in much these days, so I can see why he, and others, might want to talk about youthful exploits that didn't produce any results, and it's a good story, I guess, because I can't, and I doubt anyone else can, see the man, at any age, doing Robin.
mickb writes:
on March 13th, 2012 at 2:41:04 PM

thank god he wasnt,still burtons sare great nolans are classics

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved