WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chronicle" Director in Talks for "Venom" Spin-Off

Posted: March 7th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chronicle" Director in Talks for "Venom" Spin-OffSubmit Comment
We've been hearing about a "Venom" spin-off for years, but now that Sony's "The Amazing Spider-Man" will likely give new life to the franchise, the studio is once again considering giving Venom his own movie.

The studio is negotiating with Josh Trank (Chronicle) to direct the new movie, which would center on the villain who was a mainstay of the Marvel comics and was a nemesis, incarnated by Topher Grace, in the third "Spider-Man" picture in 2007. Grace is not expected to reprise the role.

Back in 2009, Gary Ross (The Hunger Games) was set to direct from a script by Jacob Estes, but producers are now seeking a new writer. Ross' version was to have Venom be less a villain than an antihero.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:23:31 PM

Thank god is not Topher Grace.what kind of gay ass white name is that.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:34:06 PM

Topher Grace was a horrible venom. Not really sure the whole antihero will work. And also dancing Peter parker was super gay!!!
pornfly writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:35:47 PM

Seek a new director too
Nobody wants a pussified Venom, stick to your girlygirl Hunger Games,sounds like somethin you play at a fatcamp
Dre-EL writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:41:53 PM

This idea is stupid, he's a good villan who is obsessed with feed on Peter Parkers spleen.

Why watch a movie to route for the bad guy.

Also giving him redemptive qualities deminishes his as a psychotic.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:43:49 PM

I'm not gonna watch this sh*t anyweays
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 10:09:36 PM

Interesting choice as a director considering he did something different with the hero genre. Maybe he could do it again with this character. So what is the big deal of being an antihero? It just means he could be more human, making him a more complex character, but could still go brutallt psychotic at any provocation. Schwarzenegger/ Cameron made T2 with T800 as a good guy & it turned out OK.


My personal take on this movie wouldn't probably happen, but could Venom just fight another villian to kick the sh*t out of each other the whole movie...no love interest, no twist ending...just straight up ripping each other the whole movie.

That would be pretty sweet.
markoz writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 10:27:26 PM

Well, Venom was known as an antihero for the most of publishing history, so it could work out. Give him Carnage to fight
SaulSilver writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:49:39 PM

never
SaulSilver writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:49:53 PM

gonna
SaulSilver writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:50:03 PM

happen
Zeroguy writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 1:40:23 AM

I liked Crhronicle. A good story with a alright execution. But it only got made because it was the cheap found footage style.
But I was hoping the director would try to make original stories instead of being a drone for some big studio.
As for this film, meh. I never liked Venom, so I could careless. Plus I think they'll try to add in all these sympathetic ideas which will ruin the character.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 1:47:59 AM

Would be better to make this after venom is established in the new spiderman series(assuming hes done right)
Donyae 420 writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 3:57:58 AM

Only if its rated R
trailertrash writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 5:59:45 AM

Zeroguy

Agree i thought Chronicle was a pretty decent movie.

Couldn't care a less about this though
nawtnt writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 10:08:04 AM

I haven't watched Chronicle but I was amazed by the trailer.

Josh Tank could make a great Venom movie but I hope Shia LeBeouf or some another good-looking actor who can't act be casted as Venom.

I have to agree Topher Grace was a awful and horrible venom in Spidermane 3.

Worst choice ever.

Also Peter Parker dancing like a idiot was the downfall of Spiderman 3.
Freshman writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 12:08:05 PM

The whole concept is f*cking stupid.
Venom is Spider-Man's most formidable and interesting villain.

Turning him into an anti-hero kills off the posibility of seeing him (done right, that is) on future Spider-Man flicks.

...nobody needs this movie. f*ck YOU Hollywood, you make me sick...
Doc Gonzo writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 1:31:12 PM

This could work if it's rated R and Venom kills Topher Grace and Toby Maguire, while he's banging Scarlett Johansson.
minkowski writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 1:47:06 PM

So basically Venom will be more like Spawn? I can see it, I guess, as great leads are often complex and neither all bad nor all good, so a mix in there will bring sophistication to the character, and a depth the story will demand, but I think my largest gripe is that Sony seems to be desperate, turning obvious and established villains into more heroic likable leads, and the only motivation that comes to mind for them to do this is that they (Sony) want to milk Spiderman, per contract, while they still retain the property.
Freshman writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 3:19:08 PM

@johnny_boy

"Would be better to make this after venom is established in the new spiderman series(assuming hes done right)"

My thoughts exactly.
horacepinker writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 7:58:47 PM

Would be awesome if they based it on the current Venom series with Flash Thompson. Super-Agent working for (controlled) by the government in the symbiote suit who sometimes loses control and completely "Venoms" out.
rabid writes:
on March 8th, 2012 at 9:32:59 PM

If it's based on Ultimate version just as the new Spider-Man is, then I could see it working out. Spider-Man doesn't come into the story right away, but is still connected because his and Eddie's fathers created Venom.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved