WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 50 Most-Hated Films of All-Time

Posted: March 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 50 Most-Hated Films of All-TimeSubmit Comment
TotalFilm magazine put together a list of the top 50 movies that fans love to hate the most. These aren't necessarily bad films, but with a movie like "Avatar," there's going to be a lot of hate, especially since its the highest-grossing and James Cameron is the director.

Of course, the list does have a few stinkers, like Nicolas Cage's unintentionally funny "The Wicker Man" and M. Night Shymalan's "Lady in the Water." Both couldn't make their budgets back and both couldn't get a RottenTomatoes fresh rating over 25%.

It's not surprising that "Twilight," "Titanic," "X-Men 3," "Transformers 2" and "Batman and Robin" are on the list, mostly because fans fill comments sections with hate every time one of these is mentioned. But the top two spots were saved for the work of George Lucas. Check out the full list below.

50. Daredevil (2003)
49. Superman Returns (2006)
48. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003)
47. Terminator: Salvation (2010)
46. Exorcist II: The Heretic (1977)
45. Halloween (2007)
44. Fantastic Four (2005)
43. Resident Evil (2002)
42. Jersey Girl (2004)
41. Constantine (2005)
40. Swept Away (2002)
39. Epic Movie (2007)
38. Clash Of The Titans (2010)
37. A Nightmare On Elm Street (2010)
36. The Matrix Reloaded / The Matrix Revolutions (2003)
35. Godzilla (1998)
34. Van Helsing (2004)
33. The Spirit (2008)
32. Crash (2005)
31. Sucker Punch (2011)
30. Alien Resurrection (1997)
29. Spider-man 3 (2007)
28. Sex And The City 2 (2010)
27. Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World's End (2007)
26. Planet Of The Apes (2001)
25. The Avengers (1998)
24. Pearl Harbour (2000)
23. The League Of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003)
22. Battlefield Earth (2000)
21. The Wicker Man (2006)
20. X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)
19. Aliens vs Predator (2004)
18. Highlander 2: The Quickening (1991)
17. Love Actually (2003)
16. Hulk (2003)
15. Catwoman (2004)
14. Avatar (2009)
13. Lady In The Water (2006)
12. The Happening (2008)
11. The Last Airbender (2010)
10. Die Another Day (2002)
9. House Of The Dead (2003)
8. Titanic (1997)
7. Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen (2009)
6. Batman And Robin (1997)
5. Psycho (1998)
4. Twilight (2008)
3. Forrest Gump (1994)
2. Star Wars Episode 1 - The Phantom Menace (1999)
1. Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull (2008)

Source: TotalFilm


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 96 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:51:28 AM

Yup, just about right. Especially #1 & 2, don't get me started with that bullsh*t....

But,...what? No love for CONSTANTINE? Really? Wasn't THAT bad was it? Guess 'cuz they flew off the tracks from the source material of the "Hellblazer" comic.

Also, BTW, did anybody notice half of these train wrecks are remakes?

Get the f*cking hint Hollywood?
telur writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:52:03 AM

I hate Buried's Ryan Reyynold

its suck
telur writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:55:05 AM

Also, BTW, did anybody notice half of these train wrecks are got good box office number?


The First Rule writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:57:32 AM

I hate pretty much every single one of those films, especially transformers, but I have to say i liked Terminator salvation and aspects of the Phantom menace (Obi Wan and Qui Gonn were cast well and the Maul villain was great, the final lightsaber battle was best in the whole series). The gungans sucked however.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:01:18 AM

Forrest Gump in this list? C'mon!!!!! As for Star Wars and Indy, they are in the right position. After all, Lucas u motherf*ck, has ruin a comeback for both franchises, f*ck it!!!!!
mrstretch writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:07:25 AM

I bet Putman is pissed about number 28
shayhiri writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:11:48 AM

GO SEE JOHN CARTER, BITCHIZ!!
Rambo writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:14:15 AM

@mrstretch

Lol...and his horse is also pissed
johnny_boy writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:29:34 AM

Was Crystal Skulls really that bad? Never seen it cuz I can't stand Shia ledouche but seriously that bad that it made #1?!
kBob writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:31:35 AM

The only thing this list is missing is Son of the Mask. Dear God that was a piece of sh*t. They may have been the worse thing conceived by man next to Hitler and religion.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:31:57 AM

haha yer all the films deserve their spots but Forrest Gump number 3 cmon it was cheesey and lame but it shouldnt even be in the 50 worst films.
kBob writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:32:19 AM

That*
pornfly writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:32:31 AM

Itll be 54when The Crow/Robocop/Evil Dead/Total Recall
come out
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:37:05 AM

@Telur

Box office money doesn't f*cking matter. It's by how angry the public gets enough to trash said films on the internet. That is what counts...in this article, anyways.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:38:25 AM

Noticed a lot of M. Night films on there so yeah. Think it's time to quit making movies and go back to his sand village
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:40:16 AM

Did not know that Forest Gump was so hated.

There are some clunkers here, for sure, but some entries are quite surprising.
Dirt writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:02:38 AM

Looks about right.
The Real Joker writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:21:50 AM

Forrest Gump? really? do people hate that film? It's so good that i could eat my own arm. :O
pornfly writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:31:37 AM

'ice creaaaaam Lt. Dan ice creaaaam'
WV-Films writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:34:17 AM

Sigh..I own 20 of these.... Nice to see Crash is on there though. lol
pornfly writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:40:08 AM

Own 1,36, all as a set
Got laid with 24,3
Lulupendragon writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:42:54 AM

Some I can agree with only because I've seen them. Others I'm not sure, but I'm glad Twilight made it. lol
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:44:01 AM

Looking at the list i'm thinking people who read Total Film were confused between HATE and DISAPPOINTING !!

Yeah Indiana Jones And The Kingdom Of The Crystal Skull wasn't great but most hated film EVER !! I don't think so ....

trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:45:13 AM

Maybe they should switch to Empire instead...
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:48:24 AM

Just to add i own 41 of these movies LOL !!
witwicky-potter writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:16:03 AM

Forest gump.now thats rubbish
Damon242 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:16:50 AM

Where are the Twilight sequels!?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:27:10 AM

i really don't take exception with any of the films on this list, save for Forrest Gump, which I really like. i guess the backlash from its success hasn't faded over at TotalFilm. also, i don't think it's particularly fair to put Forrest Gump on this list but no 'The Curious Case of Benjamin Button'... which is basically a much, much more boring version of Forrest Gump.
Post_Man_87 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:30:48 AM

Wow. Isn't it just a surprise that about 97% of the movies are form the 2000's on ward. Weird. That couldn't have to do with the uber retard internet crew that hates everything, now could it??? Nope, I don't think so. Apparently 99.8% of flim made prior to 1999 are allllllll good. Yup, no need to watch other flicks & make REAL judgement......but Holy Christ, should Tom Hardy die prior to Dark Knight Rises being released - - - well f*ck, that'll probably sinch it for Best "Goddamn" Picture until further notice.

*** Take a hint. Watch Older movies. NetFlicks and other areans exist & there are great and equally brutal films out there. THINK, PEOPLE, THINK!!!!!
Džeko writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:40:38 AM

Forrest Gump?!Really?!No Skyline or any movie that has Ashton Kutcher in it?Maybe he'll get his own list...
SeWerin writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 5:36:57 AM

The only one i love on that list is Forrest Gump (yes it's manipulative, but it really works well).

Ones that are watchable for me on that list is Resident Evil (never been fan of the games) and Hulk (while it's a boring movie, i appreciate character development in a movie)

Also i would add (like others mentioned):
Skyline
Zohan
Grown ups
Alien vs predator Requiem
Predators
Meet the spartans
Son of mask
Ace Ventura 3: son of ventura
Dumb and dumber 2

and a few more adam sandler movies
shamusot00le writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 5:56:37 AM

I can tell you there's a fair bit of hate among my mates and I if one of our missus' brings up 'Chasing Liberty' Have you seen that turd? Bad script, bad plot, bad acting, terrible editing, bad singer/actor cast in lead role (and I mean she's a bad singer and bad actor) bad accents... It's worse than terrible. If you gave people on death row the option of the chair or watching that movie twice - most would pick the chair as the more merciful option.
j-man writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:16:26 AM

Trailers right!

They mustve got hated n dissappointed mixed up!
Evil_Disco writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:20:35 AM

Forrest Gump is on this list?
Well.. Then I call this list a piece of sh*t.
I mean - where are the other "Twatlight"-movies, huh? HUH?!
Rambo writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:35:09 AM

LXG doesn't belong in that list...great underrated super hero movie.
nawtnt writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:06:43 AM

Forrest Gump? WTF.

Batman and Robin deserve the Number 1 spot, at least the movie did something good at the end by having Joel Schumacer destorying the series and in return, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight being made as a some kind of redempition for Batman movie fans.

Still Indiana Jones 4 has to have the 1 spot because it showed studios why sequels to classic movies isn't a good idea.
Spankfish writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:25:47 AM

Why isn't Shawshank on here?

God I hate that film, It's so over rated.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:28:04 AM

Every Twilight film should be on this list. I bet most of the people who voted for number one haven't even seen it! I think Trailer's right, a lot of this hate seems to spawn from the disappointment of a sequel or remake. People have high expectations then are let down. The Matrix 2/3 were OK as action films, had a few cool scenes but were not on the same level as the first film. As much as the over rated Avatar bores me to death I'd still rather watch it for the visuals than Megashark vs Octopus or whatever sh*t that is, people hate Avatar because other people rave about it. You can tell this list was put voted by film geeks not the retard general public.
Movieguru2 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:44:47 AM

no "Jack and Jill?" what about 'from justin to kelly?" or the cat in the hat"

EarOne writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:49:14 AM

pretty agreeable list, except for X-Men: The Last Stand, The Last Airbender and Fantastic Four...now, FF: Rise of the Silver Surfer, on the other hand...SHOULD be on this list, instead.

with Forrest Gump and Crash..i hate em for beating the rightful Oscar winners, of their respective years, Pulp Fiction and Brokeback Mountain.

Ranking wise, though, i'd put AVATAR and Titanic, as the number 1 & 2, respectively.
happileperkon writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:16:34 AM

why is forest gump on and so high up on the list? i thought that movie was great!
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:22:34 AM

I'm with Celluloid, I don't think Constantine should be on here. Reeves with his dead-pay cynicism was perfect. I liked the movie and thought he made a clean break from any possible Matrix pigeon-hole Hollyweird or his fans may have wanted to put him in?

And Forrest Gump? Really? I mean I could see PlasticMan's gay sex tape 'Sorest Rump' making this list:

'Drill Sorest... DRILL!'
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 10:38:37 AM

Yup good list.
commanderclit69 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:04:17 AM

really?? Forest Gump?
TemporalFlux writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:09:11 AM

I think Forrest Gump was just thrown in there to see if we were all paying attention, get people talking about how it is actually very good, get a bit more money out of it. Hell I feel the need to watch it right now just to prove the list wrong. Others on the list are spot on though.
SACdaddy writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:09:49 AM

Nearly perfect list other than Forrest Gump.

I wish I could say Die Another Day didn't deserve its place on the list, but it definintely does. It cost Pierce the Bond job and gave us Daniel f*cking Craig (aka Jason Bourne).

Resident Evil (not a bad film imo)? Maybe because it spawned countless sh*tty sequels and one of the worst movie genres in recent history, the video game movie genre.

I'd like to add to the list:

Jodie Foster's Nell
the Madea movies
Pluto Nash
Cutthroat Island
Glee
Blade Trinity
and anything starring Channing Tatum
TRUEMAN writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:32:13 AM

38. Clash Of The Titans (2010)
14. Avatar (2009)

and i wonder why...
billofill writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:33:58 AM

HOw about the most hated films of the last 15 years more like it. Jesus Christ
Evil_Disco writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 11:39:54 AM

And what about that f*cking twat-face Justin Bieber's Never Say Never!?
Why isn't that one on the list??
And Antichrist.. And Melancholia.. And Rio..
sh*t.. Make it right, for f*cks sake!


I D I O T S ! !
White Noise writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:13:38 PM

Forrest Gump is right where it needs to be
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:24:50 PM

You win WP, I have to respond to this bullsh*t. Half and half, bullsh*t. Terminator Salvation was awesome, there was no wrong in that movie once you consider that it was a "part 4." Alien vs. Predator, look at the title, WTF do you expect from a movie called that?! I can't stand any of you people. You wait and wait and beg for the movie then it happens and youre mad because Aaron Sorkin didn't write it. He sucks more than any of this stuff btw.

I'm at a loss, a lot of these movies really are garbage. However there are plenty of movies that aren't on this list. That's because TotalFilm Magazine, which I can't help but notice didn't put HOW they came upon these "results" probably asked a bunch of jersey shore douches what movies they liked which is why NONE of the Fast and Furious movies are on here.

Anyways, for all the people out there who are mad everytime a character "goes back inside the haunted house with the killer inside" YOU PAID FOR THAT TICKET! TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS TO THE IDIOT WHO DOES GO INSIDE THE HOUSE! THATS THE POINT!

Constantine, Crash, both the Matrix movies. All from start to finish are watchable to awesome depending on which part of the movie you are at.

Finally, the reason I created an account and posted on here in the first place. Halloween, that movie was the sh*t. Rob Zombie expanded on the universe and really grounded the character in reality, Myers didn't speak for 15 years, what were those sessions like? How did Loomis try to get him to talk? Myers killed NO ONE while he was there in Carpenter's original, whereas Zombie's remake gives us the bloodbath we deserved to see but makes it reasonable, and tragic (Danny Trejo anyone?) The girls were realistic and anytime you see Myers on screen you could pause the movie and turn the image into a poster, black and white, or color and it would be awesome.

I know I'm just spinning my wheels. I read an earlier post where some idiot said the phantom menace had the best lightsaber fight...

It was episode 3 with the best fight btw.

I just hate people liking Casablanca, Citizen Kane, and The Artist, and not knowing why. I hate how people rag on movies that are awesome, but can't explain why they suck. Then follow up that statement with how cool star wars is or was.

Listen to me. Star Wars Blows!

If I could take out Hitler or Lucas, even though we'd loose the original Indiana Jones Trilogy... I would, and there are others who feel the same way. So Star Wars nerds, and you Lucas, better hope Time Machines are never really invented!
venomex writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:33:20 PM

good list
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:46:58 PM

Sorry, but again, the films are the ones that have been blasted on the internet....but c'mon, some are so bad, do we reall need to talk how bad they were?..it's redundant.

I know many are surprised about FOREST GUMP, but I've blasted that movie in the past. Although it's a pretty good flick with Robert Zemeckis on top form, I think it reached too hard to pull on the heart strings at the end & some were convenient unnecessary plot devices.

Thing that bothered me was how Jenny popped Forest's cherry to just walk out & wait IDK how many years as a waitress raising a son meanwhile, Forest ran his ass off ACROSS THE UNITED STATES FOR YEARS!! This felt fine with a movie like BIG FISH, but feels uneven in GUMP. So Forest runs with the result of getting media attention so the girl sees him again, reconnecting, showing now Forest has a son just for the lady to die from AIDS!? This leaves Forest to lose the love of his life, being with her for a short time & now he's a single parent!? Again feeling sorry for him?! Noone makes a big deal, 'cuz they build up Forest character to be so likeable that many say, "Oh, OK".

It just felt so uneven for me, but I gotta say, before that, it was really good...acting, drama, humor...everything was top notch.
plutohiller writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:01:41 PM

@Thrasher You're out of your mind about Halloween!

I can see a reason for all of these but the chainsaw massacre remake. Haven't heared any reason people complain about that? But Tyler Perry should be on the list. And how is Uwe Boll's House of the Dead on here but not In the Name of the King or Alone in the Dark? Incredibly worse cinema and everyone talks crap about those.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:18:56 PM

WP gets all their news from Totalfilms anyway.

If you go over and look at their news stack, it's nearly identical to WP. Now I just have to discover who Totalfilms is ripping off.

Oh, and the list is compiled from single, random nobodies.

I read the entire thing YESTERDAY before Alex posted it here today, and that was when (yesterday) I realized WP gets it news from there.

You may now continue your bickering, ladies.
mpiper821 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:19:40 PM

^How is none of the guys f@ckin movies not on here, and only the one twilight?WTF
mpiper821 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:20:42 PM

^Uwe Boll
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:37:45 PM

I don't think anyone considers Uwe Boll a filmmaker.

When you take a sh*t in a public bathroom sink, do you call that a film?

When you pick your nose and flick the green snot into someone's salad, do you call that a film?

When you piss on the hood of someone's new Porsche, is that a film?

When you f*ck your neighbor's wife just because he refuses to trim his hedges, is *that* film?

No, so why consider Uwe Boll's mental bowel movements 'film'?
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:41:42 PM

Am I the only one who liked Crash? I mean it wasn't the greatest movie ever but it wasn't one of the 59 worst IMO.

And where is every Pauly Shore movie?

And what about Gigli?
mpiper821 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:49:01 PM

I guess I should have checked the sh*t List
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:54:19 PM

*snicker*
cherry-12_3 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:05:56 PM

#36 should count as 2
and wheres The green lantern, that movie was hated by everybody who saw the dark knight and expected more from dc.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:07:43 PM

plutohiller, thats kinda my point, WHY is it so bad? Please don't tell me you didn't like the movie because Michael was over 6 feet tall. Jackey Earl Haley was soooooo scary at 5'5" in Nightmare (super sarcasm)... and don't tell me its because they don't explain why he doesn't "die."

The props, locations, acting, expanded story lines, gore, even the blood color.

People think that Carpenter was so brilliant with the original. He didn't have a budget. If he did it would've been a bloodbath. Overall its Michael standing around watching everyone until the end. Popping out from behind cars and trees with a music spike, these are called cheap scares. Carpenter even says that when he showed the movie without the music it wasn't scary and THAT scared the producers.

Go back and watch Halloween and shrink him a foot... you lose something there. The mask was awesome, I thought it was cool and creepy that he buried the knife and mask when he was little and got them later. His sister dying all slow crying for her life as she bleeds out... very sad.

Zombie didn't go for scary he went for taking away your security. Turning the victims into the defenseless animals Michael tortured to death as a kid. A play thing to carve until he gets bored, and there's nothing you can do about it. I could go on for days about how THAT particular remake is more of an upgrade. A type of director's cut that makes Carpenter say "damn I wish I wouldn't have skipped 15 years of potential with one line of dialogue..." Anyways, I'm always open to discussion about Halloween.
DexterMorgan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:26:13 PM

i actually liked the matrix reloaded but not revolutions,it felt like they were trying to do so many these all at once....it was a total sh*tfest of a movie
baxattax writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:38:09 PM

Forrest Gump is a great flick. Also kinda surprised Avatar and Titanic are on there. I thought chicks loved that sh*t.
Evil_Disco writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:44:20 PM

AND.. I don't see Skyline, Battle: Los Angeles or AVP-2 neither.

I give up. I rest my case.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:55:24 PM

"If he did it would've been a bloodbath."

Because Hollywood blood is just so expensive, right? Yawn.

"Popping out from behind cars and trees with a music spike, these are called cheap scares."

Actually, it was called 'ambient creepiness', something people appreciated back when they had taste. Yawn.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:28:30 PM

I forget that you have to like, spell everything out.

OK, people think that Carpenter was a genius and the budget yada yada. The fact is, if someone would've invested more money in the movie it would have been different with more blood and god knows what else, *spelling starts here* blood comes from wounds, or special effects 'gags' if you will, which result from close-ups, editing, reaction shots, build-up, props, wardrobe changes, and of course coverage from various shots and angles, etc.

not just, "oh! we bought a pint of fake blood from party city, problem solved."

Carpenter didn't have that so pretty much everyone was killed off camera blah blah.

Carpenter. Got. Lucky.

His lack of money resulted in a movie that became a hit, because of the character of Michael Myers, not Jamie Lee Curtis' ugly ass, or anything else.

If he would've had more money, it would've been a completely different movie. I'm all for building atmosphere and suspense, but seriously adult Michael really didn't do anything til the end of the flick in the original.

Again though I'm left not knowing how or why the remake sucked. And how its on this list instead of Halloween 3, Friday the 13th 5, Gigli, The Social Network, The Artist, Stuck on You, Tyler Perry's everything, Legion, Burn After Reading, Rocky 5, Jason X, Nicolas Cage's everything, Texas Chainsaw Massacre the next generation, and especially The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Among many many others.

I'm not saying that the Halloween remake is the best movie ever made, far from it, but it doesn't belong anywhere on this list, and a lot of other movies by comparison don't either.

P.S. all Star Wars, and Star Trek movies, except the Star Trek Remake/prequel?, Raising Arizona, and 8mm.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:34:09 PM

Ok, Thrasher, we get it, and from your name it's even more obvious.

You have long hair, lots of tattoos, you love death metal, head banging, meth and crack. You like Rob Zombie, but not any film that even hints at restraint in favor of plot development or story concept.

Just don't pretend that you have anything but a highly subjective defense of RZ's Halloween films, because their isn't an objective reason why they don't suck.
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:40:36 PM

Carpenter. Got. Lucky... !!!! LOL

DexterMorgan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:40:54 PM

thrasher shut the f*ck up and go watch your favorite movie twilight,mabye that will calm you down and make you a happier person
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:43:15 PM

Mink

This guy will only f*ck his girlfriend on her period, he loves blood so much .....
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:51:47 PM

Oh. Well that explains why he has no teeth.
Foxyllama5 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:54:25 PM

Where's Star Wars: Episode 2? That was at least just as bad as Episode 1!
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 4:55:18 PM

"Carpenter. Got. Lucky... !!!! LOL"

Repeatedly. Had nothing to do with talent. You know, because The Thing, Halloween I/II, Christine, Starman, BTILC, Escape from New York and They Live were just lucky shots. Yeah, no talent at all, but Zombie, now THERE'S a f*cking genius!
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 5:04:25 PM

LOL

f*ckin Rob Zombie shouldn't be spoken in the same breath as Carpenter, End of story ...
trailertrash writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 5:09:04 PM

Carpenter has influenced a generation, Rob Zombie has influenced Thrasher1985
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:09:26 PM

PERSONAL INFORMATION
Age: 101
Gender: Male
Location: In hell with the corpse of your dead mother, bitch. Job: Destroyer of worlds, slayer of trolls, motherf*cker to end all motherf*ckers.
Hobbies: f*cking p*ssy, smashing babies' skulls, raping smoldering corpses and robbing liquor stores.
Bio: I was born, I pissed off everyone, I died. End of story.


Well Mink, its clear I've met my better.

Who woulda thought it was a Polish moron who can't read.

Anyways Post# 4, still asking WHY it sucked so bad to merit this list.

All movies blow for one reason or another, some blow hard enough to merit the title of sh*t. Halloween (remake) did not. Halloween 2 (remake), House of 1000 Corpses, Haunted World of El Super Beasto, all suck d*ck, almost as much as a certain polish douche I just met today. But not quite!

Anyways, on another sidebar I'd like to mention that its always rewarding to read from idiots like DexterMorgan how much I suck, while they sport pics of some random chick in a bikini. I'm sure you'll get laid soon enough, and sweat that you defend your husband Minky. Thrasher is just my last name, I have 2 tattoos, and a buzz cut.

Along with not knowing anything about film, you also can't judge a person for sh*t.

I guess youre pounding so much pus*y, and reading early WP posts you just can't fit that in. I understand. Just like you understand that you will die a lonely, lonely virgin.

Carpenter's shots and screenplay I'm sure had thought and care put into them. They do make sense and the story follows a structure, but by today's standards the original Halloween is boring.

And again, you didn't answer me Minky, you didn't respond to anything I actually said. So, I suggest you leave the movie talk to the adults and you go back to your troll banging and W.O.W.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:21:42 PM

P.S. The Thing is on my top 5 favorite movies of all time. A movie where Carpenter got more money than Halloween, and *GASP!* put in more blood. Blood and effects that HELP, not to be confused with 'the-only-reason', but HELPED the movie to stay where it is in Cinema history.

Over the years Director's change their style, or some do... and its better. Example Tony Scott, tell me that Top Gun, and Man on Fire, are identical in look. But no, Carpenter has kept the same style, the same type of music, the same angles and cheesy simple stories. Ghosts of Mars anyone? He WAS good back in the day, but he never evolved and that's why we don't see him anymore, or when we do (John Carpenter's The Ward anyone?) we never even knew he was there.

Just because you did something cool, doesn't mean you're awesome forever.
plutohiller writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 6:46:43 PM

Carpenter doesn't shy away from blood, but I don't think it was the budget. The kills didn't require blood. Choked out with a telephone cord, dude stabbed to the door, dog choked out. Bottom line it was the beginning of slasher movies and all people needed to be scared was watching these kids being stalked by a maniac. There was no intention to have Michael Myers become un-killable. I think it was intended to have him escape capture but be left up in the air if he died or not. Obviously a sequal was called for because of how much money was made. That's when Michael changed into something more. The remake was just an extension of Devils Rejects. I think it's more impresive that original michael was just a child without a soul without being white trash and abused. Not to mention most serial killers in reality are not hulking giant wrestlers. Essentially, Halloween 2007 should have been it's own film. Or a sequal to the Wrestler would have made sense too. Just throw in Mickey Rourke.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:37:45 PM

Pluto its like the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, it should've been called The Texas Hammer Massacre, because he just hit people with mallets and hung one chick on a meat hook. ONE person gets it from the saw!
I don't think of Halloween as a slasher flick either. To me Myers, with his black SHAPE, and white mask was always a Death/Grim Reaper type figure. A figure who comes out on Halloween to f*ck your life if you're related to him.

Slasher flick, chokes dog, chokes girl(s), stabbed 2 people, cut one on the arm. That just doesn't quite qualify in my book as a slasher pic, anymore than the texas chainsaw massacre qualifies as a massacre by chainsaw.

Its not that I need that stuff I'm just saying again, it goes back to the character. People remember Jason for his kills, they remember Myers for his mask, intelligence (no offense Leatherface and Jason), his way of walking and standing, and his theme music. Then Zombie came along and said, I don't think a force of nature should be less than 6 feet tall. I mean was anyone afraid of the teeny booper with the kitchen knife at the end of Scream 4?


Myers was credited as "The Shape" because Carpenter never saw him as human, he was a SHAPE of a human. He wasn't so much 'un-killable' so much as he was, as Carpenter and Debra Hill (creators, duh) said, "a force of nature."

I am far more scared of Tyler Mane, than Nick Castle.

Finally, the white trash raising of Michael was very cliche, but would anything else have worked? I think that Michael was always evil, and then one day he was possessed by something that made him un-killable.

The soulless kid thing is way cooler, but for the record I don't think that having Sheri Moon Zombie as a mother who is also a stripper, and having an unclean house make you into Michael Myers. I think Michael was always meant to be exactly who he is. Later in the film it creates a great parallel between how his home life was, and how Laurie's home life is. So it did serve a purpose.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:48:27 PM

"Carpenter has influenced a generation, Rob Zombie has influenced Thrasher1985"

Thrasher's a dope. He says the same sh*t repeatedly. More blood, it has more blood, it has more blood and that makes it better. He hates Carpenter's Halloween films because there wasn't enough blood.

Jesus, throw the guy some gore and blood or he'll wither away.

He's written thirty paragraphs saying the same thing, which is essentially nothing, and then confuses his tunnel-vision monologue on a love of gore and blood for 'movie talk'.

Ugh.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:50:28 PM

"Just because you did something cool, doesn't mean you're awesome forever."

But if you make two sh*tty remakes of two superior films, and throw in your trashy wife, you're someone's hero for life, apparently.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:52:18 PM

"but HELPED the movie to stay where it is in Cinema history."

Actually, it's there because of the isolation, the anaimatronic genius work, and the claustrophobia, not to mention some great performances and the fact it's genuinely scary.

The 'gore' had little to do with it.
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:53:49 PM

PERSONAL INFORMATION
Age: 101
Gender: Male
Location: In hell with the corpse of your dead mother, bitch. Job: Destroyer of worlds, slayer of trolls, motherf*cker to end all motherf*ckers.
Hobbies: f*cking p*ssy, smashing babies' skulls, raping smoldering corpses and robbing liquor stores.
Bio: I was born, I pissed off everyone, I died. End of story.

That's the first thing Minky wrote for Worst Previews.

Baby and troll killing. I've seriously can't stop laughing that there are really losers like this NOT in film. This is real life, and Minky is real. I just... I mean wow. That's real life! he really typed that stuff about himself! Really!
Thrasher1985 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:54:37 PM

Polish people... *shrug*
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 7:55:51 PM

The dude also seems to fixate quite heavily on Zombie's depiction of Michael Meyers. Must be some relevance to thrasher's life in there.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:01:50 PM

Why is the pest or the hangover 2 not in this list.

KillerCOck writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 8:10:19 PM

I don't get how X-men 3 is on here but not Wolverine! all the star wars films should be here aswell.

I liked Zombie's Halloween but understand the hate for it. I just took it for what it was and I really think that if the original didn't exist more ppl would've liked it too.
eliteeagle writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:23:07 PM

any list like this that doesn't have at least 2 pauly shore movies and either from justin to kelly or gigli is incomplete
Dre-EL writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 9:37:04 PM

Lets not forget:

Electra
Wolverine
Hulk
Resident Evil 2-4
Eat pray love
Beverly Hils Cop 3

I should sit down and do my own list.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 7th, 2012 at 12:49:38 AM

Half of those movies aren't that bad at all lol I think titanic was an awesome film, most Deff gonna see it in 3D in April lol
dwight writes:
on March 10th, 2012 at 4:05:09 PM

DIE ANOTHERT DAY? hATERS. bITCHING ABOUT THE INVISIBLE CAR. GUESS wHAT, THEY MADE ONE THE OTHER DAY FOR REAL.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 5:03:19 PM

^^No they didn't.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 5:05:30 PM

If you mean this:

http://boingboing.net/2012/03/08/invisible-car.html

Big damned difference, even if the article idiotically mentions the very same film...damned concept barely works for a non-moving vehicle and requires a ton of equipment.
minkowski writes:
on March 21st, 2012 at 5:20:18 PM

I take back what I said about non-moving:

http://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motoramic/invisible-mercedes-brings-james-bond-technology-life-171557818.html

Still, over a thousand pounds of equipment inside the car and 250k of LEDs. Yeah. Regardless, Die Another Day is still a stupid Bond film. More like science fiction than spy action.

That's my opinion and I'm sticking to it.

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved