WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Segel Won't Return for "The Muppets" Sequel

Posted: March 5th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Segel WonSubmit Comment
A few days ago, we learned that Disney is moving forward with a sequel to "The Muppets." At the time, however, it was clear if Jason Segel, the co-writer and star of the movie, was planning to return.

Now, in an interview with Collider, the actor confirmed that he not be involved with "The Muppets 2," not as a writer or actor. "My goal was to bring the Muppets back and I did that, leaving them in very good hands, my writing partner and James Bobin the director," he explained. "All I wanted to do was to set the stage for them to do whatever they wanted. I did what I set out to do, and now I wanna pursue more human-related projects. I'm sure Iíll return in some capacity here and there, but that was half a decade of my life. Five years of hard work. I'm ready for a little puppet break."

"The Muppets" grossed $153 million on a $45 million budget. The film is set to be released on DVD and Blu-ray on March 20th.

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:12:49 AM

Still haven't seen The Muppets. Everyone I know who has seen it loves it though so I'll probably wait until I can watch a good copy online. Jason Segel seems like a cool guy, not bothered about the Hollywood lifestyle or being a d*ck. He deserves to be in more films.
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 8:29:54 AM

Cinema

It's not bad mate.

The movie had the feel of the the early Muppet movies like Muppet Movie, Caper and Muppets take Manhattan.

Yeah i like Jason as well, Thought he good in I love you Man and Forgetting Sarah Marshall and How I Met Your Mother is a funny show also.
billofill writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 10:54:00 AM

there goes my interest in the sequel.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 10:59:48 AM

Wow i'm gonna have a hard time sreeping at night now that one trick pony Segel is not gonna stick his finger in Peggys c*nt.would like to see him in an action movie one day.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 11:29:12 AM

I wonder if he was makin' bacon with Ms. Piggy?
trailertrash writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 12:22:45 PM

Or at least fiddling in & around her bacon bits
bandolero999 writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 12:40:12 PM

"Jason Segel seems like a cool guy, not bothered about the Hollywood lifestyle or being a d*ck. He deserves to be in more films."

Whats the point of being a nice guy?they always get sh*tted on.It's always good to be the d*ckhead.and he's like 32 years old and looks 42 anyway,kinda reminds me of lurch a little bit.I guess he's a role model for dweebs.like Ed Helms and Steve Carrell.WAY TO GO

TonyWalnuts writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 12:43:35 PM

oh no how will the muppets carry on now. I suppose just as they did in the 40 odd years without Segal.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 3:21:02 PM

You can tell Segel acted/wrote the Muppet movie as a passion project. After reviving the characters & reintroducing them to the young and young at heart, he reached his goal & now its off to his other projects in his plate.

The good thing about Segel, is that if he would've stayed in acting, he would be stuck in his sitcom roles. But because Judd Apatow encouraged him to write, the guy has been able to "write himself into more jobs" which caused his breakout role in FORGETTING SARAH MARSHALL.

I gotta say the "Geek Clique"'s strength not necessarily in the curse laden funny jokes, but in conjunction with a good human relationship that connects with rhe audience.

THE 40 YEAR OLD VIRGIN-the chemistry & funny, well acted relationship between Carrell & Catherine Keener is the real secret to the movie success.
SUPERBAD & I LOVE YOU MAN-Honest interactions of real, close friends; good bromance flicks- one young, other a mid life.
KNOCKED UP-the real doubts, concerns, and fears of being a parent for the first time & relationships hit raw nerves of how accurate they are.
FORGETTING SARAH MARSHALL-the pain of getting over your break up & getting over. Segel made it more complex then he had to. Breakout for R. Brand- Cue groans.
FUNNY PEOPLE-It starts with true, but funny hard hitting with Sandler's cancer, but bites it on Sandler's egotism towards Mann's character, Apatow misses the mark, but a surprisingly glimpse to his potential. Sandler's as well.

The writers of the Clique have a pretty refreshing takes on comedy and now they're branching successfully eith Segel's Muppet script..let's see what else they bring to the table.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 4:48:01 PM

bacon bits... lol.

So, clearly I'm one of the few here that likes Russell Brand? He had a lot of subtle lines in Sarah Marshall (yes, Kunis and Bell should have gone full lesbo in a scene) that stole some scenes. The man is over-the-top in a subtle way (is that possible?).
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 4:49:37 PM

bacon bits... lol.

So, clearly I'm one of the few here that likes Russell Brand? He had a lot of subtle lines in Sarah Marshall (yes, Kunis and Bell should have gone full lesbo in a scene) that stole some scenes. The man is over-the-top in a subtle way (is that possible?).
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 6:28:13 PM

I like Russell but he totally crapped on Arthur
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 6:41:31 PM

I've heard that from all sources too. Thus, I haven't had the balls to watch it even for free on the movie channel.
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 6:50:24 PM

Trust me
Dont bother
Even Hellen Mirren couldnt save that movie
Stick to Get Him to the Greek
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 6:57:42 PM

Yep... (Sarah Marshall and) Get Him To The Greek... I enjoyed as well.

Jonah Hill... when that hawtie shoves the dildo up his ass: 'What does this keep happening to me?!?!'

Priceless.

Movie kind of makes me want to smoke a Jeffrey (see the movie folks, it's a dubie... no sword swallowing involved).
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:04:17 PM

'i'm talkin about my *sshole' (sticks out tongue between 2fingers)
I was surprised to see her in such a raunchy role
Lil aussie slut
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:14:59 PM

lol...

When he's back hittin' on his ex...

'Will you massage me balls? Put yer finger in my bottom?'

Rambo writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:28:01 PM

"I'm ready for a little puppet break"

so how are you going to have sex?
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:31:44 PM

Why no Muppet Show reruns??
johnny_boy writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 9:49:22 PM

I wish Segel would do more roles like when he was in Knocked Up. Just hella funny and with dirty jokes.
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 10:05:26 PM

I guess when Segal showed his penis in 'Forgetting Sarah Marshall' PlasticMan chipped a tooth trying to do down on his TV set.
pornfly writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 11:16:49 PM

Same thing happens when his wife puts the hotdogs in the freezer
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 11:50:01 PM

lol.
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 12:10:40 AM

'...when his wife puts the hotdogs in the freezer.' ... still chuckling over that one.
pornfly writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:59:05 AM

Now we're even^
Ranger writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 2:42:09 AM

lol... yep.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved