WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joel Kinnaman Confirmed for "Robocop" Reboot

Posted: March 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joel Kinnaman Confirmed for "Robocop" RebootSubmit Comment
About a week ago, it was reported that MGM made an offer to Joel Kinnaman to play the title role in its "Robocop" reboot. Now comes word that the actor has officially accepted the offer.

Kinnaman recently appeared in "Safe House," opposite Denzel Washington and Ryan Reynolds, and starred in "The Darkest Hour" and "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo." His breakthrough role was on the AMC series "The Killing."

"Robocop" will be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) from a script by Josh Zetumer. The plan is to begin shooting next month for a 2013 release.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 38 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kratos writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 4:40:02 AM

f*ck off already. A Robocop remake is officially a bad idea anyways. Why can't they just leave sh*t alone. Peter Weller is the only Robocop.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:01:34 AM

Now, now...just stop that!
rocketman writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:31:08 AM

They going PG with this?
boogiel writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:32:38 AM

What Kratos said. This is going to be such a silly reboot.
pornfly writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:41:13 AM

Just say f*ckit and make Robocop vs Alien vs Predator vs Batman vs Terminator

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UneXTUhsjyY&feature=youtube_gdata_player
The Real Joker writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:41:46 AM

Joel Kinnaman will do great as Robocop. Go sweden =)
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 7:10:58 AM

It's just not gonna be ......right!
Bullit writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 7:28:32 AM

Well, he's tall enough, that should help.
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 8:01:24 AM

Watched Safe House the other night, Bloody good movie and suprise suprise Reynolds held his own (not c*ck) along side Denzel.

Solid action thriller 8/10
trailertrash writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 8:02:45 AM

And RIP Ralph McQuarrie

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-17249596
Starkiller9900 writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 10:30:06 AM

The first one was straight up badass, f*cking Kurtwood Smith, and a cop getting shot to pieces in the opening scenes....jackpot! That being said, I wouldn't mind seeing a Robocop who can actually......run? I mean the guys only move was "STOP" and then they run and he f*cking shoots them.
"You shot that guy Murph"
"He stole a snickers and ran....I don't know how to do that...."
This is definitely something that needs to be just as R rated but add some more realistic mechanics to Murphy and you can't f*ck this reboot up.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:07:00 AM

What Starkiller said.

I couldn't have like the first RC more.

But a GREAT update... R-Rated (it had better be!), The Matrix-esque effects. A protective mask (energy shield?) for his face in fire-fights. A robot with the dexterity we saw in iRobot, etc.

This could be a great homage to the original movie (sequels and TV series sucked more d*ck than Shannon Price convincing the Homicide Detectives that Gary fell on his own and she really was too scared to go downstairs and help him).

Or... this could be a horrific flop.

My vote is for the former.
Ranger writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:08:10 AM

@tt - nice find. RIP.
Džeko writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:26:29 AM

@Starkiller9900
Cool avatar.
iceskateuphill writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:29:18 AM

R rating is a must. Kinnaman was pretty solid in the Killing, he seems to be able to play a c*cky cop pretty well. So now he just needs to up the charisma and then get blown to pieces and then walk around in a robot suit. That'll do.
Jake_Awesomeness writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:44:43 AM

Ugh, I was only interested when Aronofsky was on board.
Bonzaitri writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 12:59:59 PM

This is going to be great as long as it doesn't turn into one of those projects that every piece of news that surfaces about it is how the studio is taking control away from the director.
I think this director is an inspired choice for the project and it has a lot of promise.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 3:16:35 PM

I thought he was gonna be American whitey,not Swedish Whitey.f*ck off foreigners.

bandolero999 writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 3:31:36 PM

I hope it's still gonna take place in Detroit and not change it up to San Francisco or Orlando Fla.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 5:16:52 PM

In hands of any other director, I'd say f*ck off, but you're talking about the guy thay directed ELITE SQUAD.

As I recall, it was about corrupt politics in the goverment and how society with crime suffers. I also noticed how Padilha can really do shoot'em-up action really well. For the original ROBOCOP, it was more about privatized law enforcements & it's rotten office politics.

I think Padilha could bring a fresh take on this franchise. I'm curious how it would look like & what his voice would be about the current state of affairs, politically wise. Like Voerhoven US culture satire, I think Padilha might have something interesting to convey, but to make RC just for the action? F*ck that!! It can be so much more...

I'm just sorry I don't feel the same way about this Kinnaman fellow. Hope he can handle the role.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 5:52:48 PM

"The plan is to begin shooting next month for a 2013 release."

Eh. Sounds like a rush job. The won't get it right anyway. The 80s version was about the Reagan-era excessive greed of private business (as seen from the left), the decline of Motor City and the nature of what makes a man: spirit (memories) or soma (body).

Padhilla doesn't have the finesse to wrangle the latter as Aronofsky would have done had he taken the project, so I don't see much balance happening to deliver a film superior to the original.

Lots of blood, violence, Padhilla will do that well, I think, and perhaps nail to the wall some gaudy caricature of Big Business corruption, but the nuance of Robocop's character as a creation torn between being a robotic tool and a man won't get the detail it needs.

Gotta remember that Robocop is something like Frankensteain, the remnants of a man and hunks of a non-man coming together for a war over the nature of the beast in question. Don't see Padilla having either experience or the intellect to capture that struggle well, even if he's given a good script.
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:19:00 PM

God, they just do NOT make movies like this anymore.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eajuMYNYtuY

Unsurpassed!
minkowski writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 6:19:22 PM

Oh yeah, f*ck this RoboCrap sh*t!
rabid writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 9:17:20 PM

I've seen the perfect Robobcop film already, so any more are just gravy. I'll watch.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 9:20:18 PM

"The plan is to begin shooting next month for a 2013 release."

Sounds about right, script is already in the can and they're casting now. Kinda average for a Hollywood movie.
Now when they're doing MIB III's writes/ rewrites...on a blockbuster...with big stars...on set...NOW that's a f*cking RUSH JOB!!

I don't know, Mink, I think your selling Padhilla short. With ELITE SQUAD, he did political movie that was character, drama and plot driven with pretty good action scenes. It really showcases his abilities to take over RC.

I liked your point of the man/ machine in finding himself a modern Frankenstein and finding his humanity in a world without it. But remember it was a plot device as well to feel for the tragic character, evolve it through the movie, and thus validating the villains' comeuppance.

I also agree, Arnofsky would be great take over RC. Padhilla has had more experience in the action department. Part 2 of Wolverine would have been Arnofsky's first hand to big Hollywood action sequences. You'd think it wouldn't be a big deal, but WOLVERINE ORIGINS director could've done better. I mean Logan's fights around some logs and him cutting down a metal fire escape ladders were definitely too cartoony for my tastes.

As for the satirical, the original set up the background with the commercials of wars, urban decay, greed, and the too scarily real "bad news with a smile". A foreign director was a great way to see what Americans dpn't see everyday. The Dutch Voerhoven was the perfect person to bring that up in ballsy way, putting a mirror to current US events. Padhilla, I think wouldn't disappoint with his opinion of politics and issues of today.

The whole production has it's work cut out for it, but personally I'm interested in this updated of the original in a changed world.
with current events, politics, culture trends and the ever present of "our technology surpassing our humanity", I think there is enough to make this a good update to the original. The ingredients are all here.

Cheers, Mink.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 9:21:51 PM

@ Rabid...

My sentiments exactly. I'm really curious how they would update it, considering if they're following the same concepts/ ideas.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 9:28:18 PM

@ Mink

As for the T2 video...yeah, man. They don't make those anymore...

I tell you, I'm talkin' about Algebra with RC and your talkin' about Calculus with T2. LOL
Zeroguy writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 11:11:34 PM

Seriously guys. Before you start giving the old mood a blowjob and trashing this remake, stop and check out Elite Squad and it's sequel. f*cking superb films. The guy who directed those has talent. I think he'll do this remake justice. Plus the actor chosen is not a bad choice.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 12:11:38 AM

Umm zeroguy is not up to the director,is all about the screenplay.remember Ateam and Wolverine?
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 12:57:41 AM

@Zeroguy

Yeah, Part 2 of Elite Squad is...Gritty. As. F*ck...very hardcore.

Padhilla is an interesting choice for the ROBOCOP reboot.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq6qBCmO1KQ&feature=related
Ranger writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 3:24:14 AM

'... remember that Robocop is something like Frankensteain, the remnants of a man and hunks of a non-man coming together for a war over the nature of the beast' --- did you take that from the back cover of Plasticd*ck's Autobiography mink?
bandolero999 writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 3:25:55 AM

never seen a Brazilian movie.only watched Brazilian porn,cause them hoes are thick as f*ck and their booties are like WHOA.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 7:20:04 AM

Nobody watched Robocop for Peter goddamn Weller. Kurtwood Smith is probably more remembered from that movie than he is. This is a movie that should actually be better than the original.
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 1:12:43 PM

Good comments, Celluloidman. Plan on taking a look at Elite Squad and it's sequel soon.

I do have a question, though: Do you think ES is appropriate for American audiences, because my understanding is that it's currently rated higher among Brazilians than Americans. More of a socially contextual film, then?
minkowski writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 1:13:29 PM

"and your talkin' about Calculus with T2. LOL"

Ah, but I love me some calculus...
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on March 5th, 2012 at 11:14:59 PM

You know what I wouldn't buy for a dollar, a ticket to see this sh*t. The first was epic. Anything after has fallen far in comparison. This wont be any different.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 3:03:26 AM

@Mink
I really think that seeing movies from other countries is really necessary...especially nowadays.

I think ELITE SQUAD could be taken both socially contextual but it still ultimately entertainment. It is noted by Brazilians of what they can identify with that is happening in their society (such as corruption/ violence) to connect with them; keeping it real if you will, but at the same time drives the plot or as an obstacle the protagonist has to deal/ go against.

American audience has already been exposed to these types of films before though. Another director of by the name of Fernando Meirelles has also made an equally strong film that has been well received in the past by the name of CITY OF GOD. That is similar as impoverished, violent, and gritty. It has received multiple awards and Oscar nommed 2002.

The movies are out there to be seen, but do not have wide theatre releases (even though because they usually broke BO records in their countries), usually found in DVDs...shame.

Cheers, mate.
minkowski writes:
on March 6th, 2012 at 1:43:19 PM

Thanks for the good comments Celluloid Man.

Something on which to dwell...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved