WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Da Vinci Code 3" Hires Writer

Posted: March 2nd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Da Vinci Code 3" Hires WriterSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures is moving forward with the third "Da Vinci Code" film, called "The Lost Symbol," by hiring Danny Strong (Recount, Game Change) to write the script. The story is based on a Dan Brown book focusing on symbologist Robert Langdon.

Ron Howard, who directed the first two installments, will return to only produce. Mark Romanek (Never Let Me Go, One Hour Photo) will replace him as the helmer. And while a deal has yet to be signed with Tom Hanks, the actor is expected to reprise his role.

Plot: "The Lost Symbol" finds famed symbologist Robert Langdon (Hanks) in a deadly race through a real-world labyrinth of codes, secrets, and unseen truths, all under the watchful eye of Brown's most terrifying villain to date.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
SergioFX writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:40:51 AM

Was there even a Da Vinci Code 2?
trailertrash writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:46:14 AM

It was Angels and Demons (if you're being serious)
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:24:11 AM

Saw the second in theaters.. Meh, it was alright, nothing to brag about lol
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:36:23 AM

the only good thing about the first two movies was the soundtrack by Hans Zimmer.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 6:03:09 AM

First one was OK, pretty much as stupid as the books themselves which might as well have been written by a 10 year old with a sugar rush. Dan Brown is a retard.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 6:41:28 AM

wow what a waste of film
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 6:46:04 AM

all under the watchful eye of Brown's most terrifying villain to date.


Ex-wife or ex-gf?
masht7 writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 8:00:20 AM

Dan Brown can't write for sh*t, but the atmosphere and music of both films really intrigued me, so I wouldn't mind seeing a third film.
Ranger writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 10:34:03 AM

@cinema - lol... you should be writing reviews on here.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 11:46:34 AM

"Dan Brown is a retard."

Lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:11:20 PM

Ranger- Haha, I know I'd be more honest than the attention seeker that is Dustin Putman.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:30:04 PM

I enjoyed the Da Vinci code book, but I despised the film adaptation.

As to Cinema, why do you think Dan Brown is a retard? Granted, his so-called 'theory' is preposterous, but if you take it as nothing but fiction, as you would with any other fantastical story, it is fairly interesting, a good puzzler somewhat in the vein of Indian Jones.

I'm surprised people hate the book that much. Poorly written? Well, I can't say. I read it six years ago, but I can't recall any aspect of not that was poorly crafted, not in the Stephanie Meyer way.

Hell, Chuck Palahniuk could be described as a poor writer, but the disaffected young men flock to his post-modern claptrap in droves. So could Jeff Lindsay, Iris Johanson and Dean Koontz. I'd throw Danielle Steel and Ross McDonald in there too.

But not John McDonald.

As for this film, leave it alone. The second one was exactly a smash hit. The first one road in on the books critical and popular acclaim, but now you're just unabashedly milking the teat. Stop it.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:30:44 PM

...was NOT...
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:47:31 PM

@mink

shouldn't it be tit instead of teat?
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:54:42 PM

Nope.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/teat
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:27:34 PM

@Cinema - sorry but Brown is far from a retard.

@Mink - Yeah I also enjoyed reading The Da Vinci Code. Actually read it before seeing the movie (not as good but still worthy). As one who has travelled and lived abroad, I appreciate Brown's narrative of historical architecture best describing the spaces as the scenes moved through the Louvre, Westminster Abbey - Brown's background research is sound. As far as the plot, there is something sinister about exploring the Vatican implications on suppressing the truth of canonical information. And using interesting artifacts like the cryptex, the Vitruvian Man, Fibonacci sequence the Holy Grail...all great stuff. Way too complex for an Indiana Jones movie which is generally geared for a younger audience.

Although I find it funny to include a character named Teabag, I mean Teabing, see I get them confused.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:41:07 PM

^^Agreed. Funny thing is, the rather recent developments at the Talpiot apartments in Israel indicate Jesus, if the ossuary is in fact that of THE Jesus Christ, had a son named Judas.

How's that for f*cked up?

"And using interesting artifacts like the cryptex, the Vitruvian Man, Fibonacci sequence the Holy Grail...all great stuff. Way too complex for an Indiana Jones movie which is generally geared for a younger audience."

True, but I was thinking more along the lines of the Last Crusade, which had more of the puzzler-journey narrative than Raiders. Sure, Davinci is far more convoluted and complex, but it *is* a 600 page book, and not a 90 minute summer movie (approximations).
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:57:17 PM

As to Cinema, why do you think Dan Brown is a retard?

I was (partly) joking. I really enjoyed The Da Vinci Code as well, couldn't put it down when I read it. I think it's more of Dan Browns style of writing, he's a great story teller not the best author IMO. Some of the writing seemed as if he'd been searching the dictionary for words instead of them coming naturally to him. Wanting to know what happened was what kept me gripped but the way it was written especially the english characters in it, I doubt Brown's ever met an english person in his life.

So a retard? No. He's got imagination and he obviously put a lot of effort into it I just personally think he and that book are over rated.

minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:22:18 PM

Thanks for the reply, Cinema, I appreciate it, and if you didn't like the book, that's fine, I just don't think he's that bad of a writer, but then, as I said, I read the book more than six years ago...

"Some of the writing seemed as if he'd been searching the dictionary for words instead of them coming naturally to him."

That's true. Being a good storyteller is, I think, more about personality and not intellect, and I think Brown has more of the latter and less of the former. He's more about convincing you of a particular theory, like a teacher, and less about rendering a story that grips the reader, so I would agree, from what I recall of his book.

Anyway, I don't think anyone will watch this film, but then I don't know, nor do I care to look up, the numbers for Angels and Demons. Was it a hit? Dunno. Can't say I care.

And the first film? Not a fan. Ron Howard hasn't made a movie with life ever. He's technically good, but his films have no verve, no life, so spirit. They may tell the story competently and effectively, but something vital is always missing. Beautiful Mind is another example of Howard's competent but dry style.

I guess not everyone can be a Fincher or a Cameron.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:50:21 PM

Mink- No worries. Like I said, I enjoyed the story, just not the execution.

I remember watching the film at the cinema with all the action- scene editing and Tom Hanks playing his usual robotic self and being confused about why they even bothered making it in to a film. I like Beautiful Mind but Pi is the mathematical film to watch.
pornfly writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:56:45 PM

Da Vinci Code meets National Treasure

Book of the Black Hairlines
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:57:35 PM

"I like Beautiful Mind but Pi is the mathematical film to watch."

Agreed! Crazy stuff in that one.
paulewoggs writes:
on March 4th, 2012 at 7:13:52 AM

Tom Hanks cannot act anymore. He is a douche.
There is no need to make another film in this series, unless there is more nudity, which there is not in the book. People need to see boobies.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved