WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Director Says "Men in Black 3" is Either Genius or Really Stupid

Posted: March 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Director Says "Men in Black 3" is Either Genius or Really StupidSubmit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with "Men in Black 3" director Barry Sonnenfeld and make-up artist Rick Baker to talk about making the third installment, especially with such tight deadlines.

"We knew starting the movie that we didn't have a finished second or third act," said Sonnenfeld. "Was it responsible? The answer is, if this movie does as well as I think it will, it was genius. If it's a total failure, then it was a really stupid idea."

Baker added that he was taken aback by the way the movie was being handled. "It was a crazy production. We had a writer actually on the soundstage writing the words moments before the guys had to say them. I don't think that's any way to make a movie," he explained. "But I've seen a rough cut and I was actually shocked at how good it was."

Click here to read more about "Men in Black 3."

Source: Collider


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:18:43 PM

I'll door number two, please.
johnny_boy writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:25:55 PM

^(Ding ding ding) We have a winner here
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:32:36 PM

"We knew starting the movie that we didn't have a finished second or third act," said Sonnenfeld. "Was it responsible? The answer is, if this movie does as well as I think it will, it was genius. If it's a total failure, then it was a really stupid idea."

So, basically, not only are they not trying any more, they're not even trying to lie to us that they're trying any more.
pornfly writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:36:01 PM

I love it when people create something really halfass then pass it off as cinema
They figure big names,big budget and big FX will cover their tracks and shine up that turd so shiny;people wont see it for what it really is
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:37:43 PM

^^Ding ding ding, we have another winner here!
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:51:19 PM

Way to go dipsh*ts!!!
boogiel writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:52:14 PM

The answer is, if this movie does as well as I think it will, it was genius. If it's a total failure, then it was a really stupid idea."


Well, duh. Even a stupid person can give that answer.
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:02:05 PM

I'm gonna demonstrate my telepathic abilities here. This movie will suck balls and is gonna be retarded and Plastic Man's daughter will have the WP crew run a train on her at midnight tonight in her double wide trailer.
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:04:03 PM

Yeah, but we do that anyway. We call it "Men in Back".
Crazyhorse writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:09:13 PM

The karate kid will guest star in this and that will give it boost it needs;

Right everyone?
BadChadB33 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:17:13 PM

"The Men in Black who like have sex with Plastic man's daughter."
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:50:41 PM

New this would be a giant sh*tburger from the start.

I guess "MIB4" will be a prequel about Jay as a kid and guess who will play him?
bandolero999 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 10:47:14 PM

Well is gonna be hard for this sh*t to flop.Will Smith's movies make a ridiculously amount of money.and i think the biggest flop he had was Wild Wild West.He's America's favorite Uncle Tom.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 11:00:59 PM

@Bando - and Will gave up starring in The Matrix to do Wild, Wild, West. That's the biggest career joke of 1999.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 11:01:23 PM

... next to PlasticGoof feigning parenthood.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 11:20:20 PM

then Keanu would of killed himself
KillerCOck writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 11:35:56 PM

I think Matrix would've been a garbage action comedy if Will Smith took the role. Barry S. hasn't made a good movie since Addams Family.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 12:15:32 AM

translation: this movie will totally bomb!!!!! period.
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 12:35:26 AM

Let me save you some time, it's stupid. It's all the more risky. Millions of dollars risky. It's a risk even on a regular movie with significant pre-production...what makes them think that writing the script on set is better with part 2 being a dud and the audience being so fickle nowadays.

I mean, its not like Tommy Lee/ Will Smith cleared their schedules yesterday? It's not like they built the sets in one day.

Sonnefield is really half-assing it!! It's sloppy, unprofessional and simply put...stupid.

It'll probably break even on sheer star power. I'm suprised Tommy Lee Jones actually lent himself for this crap...contractual obligated, you say? Riiight, my bad.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 2:05:16 AM

f*ck it ill still watch lol
Rambo writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 3:51:36 AM

sounds like an uwe boll production
Džeko writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:49:22 AM

Good luck with that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:25:48 AM

@ Rambo

I don't think it will be THAT bad lol
Kurskij writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 1:39:22 PM

@celluloid

Tommy gave a pretty clear answer to that question in some interview about a year ago. It was smth like: "They paid me a sh*tload of money for a month work. I haven't seen the script and don' give a monkeyf*ck if there ever was one - sh*tload of money you know"
CelluloidMan writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 3:29:37 PM

@Kurskij

As a Jones fan, that's pretty badass for him gotten that big, he can actually pull that off...like D Hoffman in LITTLE FOCKERS.

As a paying movie audience, that blows.
Kurskij writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 4:36:18 PM

That's what I thought when I read that.

Can't find the interview...

But Jones is a living legend and can afford this kind of attitude when it comes to commercial projects, not passion ones like "The Three Burials..."

http://unbiasedwriter.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/Tommy-Lee-Jones-Marvels-The-First-Avenger.jpg
LastActionHero writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 7:17:29 PM

Still sounds better than pretty much every movie that was just up for best picture.
Dekead writes:
on March 3rd, 2012 at 1:02:16 PM

Why not take your time and make it right? Stupid studios
minkowski writes:
on March 3rd, 2012 at 7:25:17 PM

Better yet, why make it at all?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved