WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Town" Writer Hired for "Top Gun" Sequel

Posted: March 1st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Town" Writer Hired for "Top Gun" SequelSubmit Comment
We've been hearing that Paramount Pictures is planning a sequel to "Top Gun" and has both Tom Cruise and producer Jerry Bruckheimer returning. Now comes word that the studio has hired "The Town" writer Peter Craig to pen the script.

Tony Scott, who directed the original film, will produce the sequel and is considering directing it as well. "It's a whole different world now," he said a year ago. "These computer geeks -- these kids play war games in a trailer in Fallon, Nevada and if we ever went to war or were in the Middle East or the Far East or wherever it is, these guys can actually fly drones. They are unmanned aircraft. They operate them and then they party all night."

His idea at the time was to swap fighter pilots for computer geeks. "They operate these drones like it's war games, but it's for real," said Scott. "This world fascinated me, because it's so different from what it was originally."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 6:19:41 AM

Load of kids controlling planes or drones from 10,000 miles away, Not sounding great to me.

Not a fan of the original so i don't really care anyway
Cinemaisdead writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 6:22:04 AM

Sounds f*cking terrible. If they're operating the computers from the ground why would we, the audience care what happens to them. It's not like their lives are in danger the worst thing that's gonna happen is they get a sore thumb. Why why why why why?
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 7:05:43 AM

How exciting to watch 2 geeks controlling drones from a trailer in Nevada?

I might as well controlling Scarlett Johansson's p*ssy from my PC and doing some nasty sh*t!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 7:27:00 AM

Never cared for the first aint seeing the sequel.
pornfly writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 7:29:14 AM

TOP TROLL

a movie where viewers watch what goes on in the WorstPreviews comments section.

a volleyball scene turns into a rape scene of a lil girl building a sand castle
bandolero999 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:10:19 AM

The only one that still looks young and in shape is Cruise.
The female protagonist looks like Dirts cracked whore mammy
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:11:32 AM

^ ^
Let me guess: Plastic's girl perhaps?
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:12:22 AM

Meant at Pornfly!
pornfly writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 8:34:24 AM

BULLIT,perhaps
And perhaps Violated with a Plasticman action figure
OneTime writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:04:55 AM

"the plane"
zyban03 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 9:18:05 AM

He thought of using drones after realizing Val Kilmer won't be able to fit into a plane.

I won't care about this movie until they announce the return of Kenny Logins.

Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 10:09:11 AM

Ah, Val Kilmer! He's just such a sad story by himself. What far cry form the volley-ball scene. He became so fat that he won't fit in a hot-air balloon. Dumb bastard.
trailertrash writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 10:17:51 AM

Don't know if you've seen Felon with Val Kilmer and Stephen Dorff, Only a couple of years old he is a bit fat but the film is pretty good IMO
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:20:03 PM

Kilmer graduated from Julliard. He has the acting chops, but gave it up for pork chops.

I liked TopGun (locker room and volleyball scene for PlasticGoof). It had it's place in time - 80's. I think Kilmer got lost in the mix. Too many 80's 'stars' or he was picky about his roles, didn't get many offers, and was just one of many back then in movies.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:20:21 PM

Oh, and this 'sequel' is completely unnecessary.
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:41:23 PM

@Ranger:

I remember Val Kilmer since "Top Secret", "Kill Me Again" and all his successful movies from the '90's until he start behaving like a drama queen on the set of "The Ghost and The Darkness": as it was shot in Africa, he demanded that his toilet paper should be imported from the States because the local one was irritating his anus!!

Meanwhile, Michael Douglas never complained about his ass. Since then, his career went really down the hill.

Sad, really sad considering his potential & skills.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 1:15:50 PM

So the writer of "The Town", a well made gritty heist drama, will attempt to resurrect a popular 80's blockbuster, by bringing gravitas to a bunch of basement video nerds who enact virtual aerial combat with real life consequences. WTF?

This may be the way of future warfare, and might try to be a film in its own right. But relating this to Top Gun seems pretty farfetched. Why does Hollywood continue to bastardize the memories of our favorite past films? Top Gun was right for the 80s by immortalizing fighter pilots as aces in the skies, with c*cky call signs, swaggering behind cool shades, playing gay volleyball, rocking Kenny Loggins tunes, having the hero save the day and always banging the hot babe (you're right Bandolero999 just checked out McGillis IMDB pic - not GILF). Its a f*ckin joke to translate Top Gun's sense of camaraderie and competition to a bunch of computer geeks. And even if Cruise is in shape, the only possible role Maverick could play is Instructor.

Still I ask again, why the f*ck why?
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:00:15 PM

Ah, Mr. Blonde, thou hast returned! We. Missed. You.

As for this movie, maybe the drone pilots have to commit suicide if and when the drone gets destroyed, ala Star Trek, A Taste of Armageddon:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Taste_of_Armageddon
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:13:12 PM

"Its a f*ckin joke to translate Top Gun's sense of camaraderie and competition to a bunch of computer geeks. And even if Cruise is in shape, the only possible role Maverick could play is Instructor."

I haven't read the news, but I imagine that what's going to happen is Cruise's character is going to have to dust off the shades and helmet and fly off into the sky to show the computer boys that sometimes you have to do the job yourself, and like a cowboy and his horse, Cruise and his plane will take out the bad man in the black hat.

Or not. But that's how I would write the damned thing for it to have a chance in hell of being any good.
Johnnyb writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:29:07 PM

f*ck it with plot!!!!!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:37:30 PM

@Mink - thanks for the welcome buddy. Nice to be missed. I just came back from a long, long trip. Sadly to say, Krypton is no longer there.

Let's see what did I miss, you guest writing for WP on the future of CGI (extending my belated kudos), some dude named Plasticman getting butt f*cked on every other post (lol), and Lohan's vag still the blackhole of our time. I think Iíve captured most of the highlights.

Great reference to A Taste of Armageddon Ė original Trek remains unsurpassed. It is an interesting theme to explore how wars could be fought in the future without the need for bloody urban destruction. Societies submitting to mass voluntary execution as a result of computer simulation runs. How about randomly sending a class room to wage all out war down to the last survivor a la Battle Royale (and soon to be The Hunger Games). Simulation and surrogate warfare are definitely sci-fi and post apocalyptic future themes worth delving into which tries to rationalize the inhumanities of conventional warfare. Just donít f*cking do it with Top Gun 2.
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:41:25 PM

Yep, and agreed. Good to have you back, and thanks for the kind words.

Now you just have to stick around.

"Simulation and surrogate warfare are definitely sci-fi and post apocalyptic future themes worth delving into which tries to rationalize the inhumanities of conventional warfare"

Yep. A Taste of Armageddon would make a good sci-fi flick, but like The Island, if they do make something along those lines, they'll send it off to Michael Bay for explosions and tits.

Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 3:03:47 PM

Nobody does it better than Michael Bay for explosions. The industry's best director for the blockbuster let's blow sh*t up movies (and make everyone feel patriotic with kids running with a slow motion flag).

And nobody has better tits than Scarlett Johansson.

Maybe that's why I didn't mind The Island which at least tried to update Logan's Run with clone manufacturing.

Still, the one thing missing with The Island...

Just as Jenny Agutter treated us to her awesome 70's tits, Scarlett should have updated today's audience with her awesome rack. We were robbed.
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 3:11:31 PM

Scarlett's greatest asset isn't her body. In fact, she's only above average in that department. It's her face, which is just both cute and beautiful.

I'm happy to see her with clothes, and TBH, her in nude would really just ruin her beauty, because I don't want to throw her in with cinema career whores like Halle Berry. I'd like to think she's better than that. She probably isn't, but a man can dream.

As for The Island, yeah, it's ok, problem is, it's not enough Bay to be Baytastic, and it's not enough sci-fi to be thought-provoking so, it's caught between two functional extremums, and it just comes off as lackluster over all. Could have been better if it could have decided what it wanted to be for the audience.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 3:43:33 PM

speaking of "two functional extremes"

http://www.popoholic.com/2008/11/06/scarlett-johansson-is-back-and-so-is-her-magnificant-cleavage/

I stand in awe like a deer caught in the headlights.
minkowski writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 4:12:15 PM

Yes, please, run me down, turn me into sausage and eat me, Scarlett.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 6:19:31 PM

@Mr. B. - Welcome back.

Sorry to hear about Krypton, Bro.
pornfly writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 7:11:25 PM

Welcome back MRBLONDE
action packed threads today


i was thinkn more like Phoebe Cates in Fast times

elrei writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 12:56:44 AM

I'm guessing that Iran will control all the drones in the gulf so Maverick has to return to fire some missiles or some sh*t like that
Mr. Blonde writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 5:45:08 AM

@Ranger - thanks Bro. I guess I have to make Earth my home now. No sense bitching about it. Just blend myself in with the other mortals.

@Pornfly - thanks dude. Agreed. Phoebe's scene forever changed me (you and countless others of the 80s generation). In fact, I think I have to change my underwear again. Damn it!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved