WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Dan Aykroyd Confirms Bill Murray Will NOT Return for "Ghostbusters 3"

Posted: February 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Dan Aykroyd Confirms Bill Murray Will NOT Return for "Ghostbusters 3"Submit Comment
We've been hearing that "Ghostbusters 3" is ready to begin filming, and the only person who's been keeping it from moving forward is Bill Murray, who hasn't been interested in reprising his role. Now, Dan Aykroyd has confirmed that Murray will return for "Ghostbusters 3."

"At this point [the movie] is in suspended animation," Aykroyd explained. "The studio, the director Ivan Reitman and Harold Ramis feel there must be a way to do it, but Bill Murray will not do the movie. He doesn't want to be involved. He's got six kids, houses all over America. He golfs in these tournaments where they pay him to turn up and have a laugh. He's into this life and living it. I know we'd have a lot of fun [but] I can't be mad at him. He's a friend first, a colleague second."

Aykroyd previously said that Murray's role may end up being recast, but now says that his character will completely be cut out of the movie. "It's a surety that Bill Murray will not do the movie, however there is still interest from the studio," he added.

Source: The Telegraph


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Akasha writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 6:59:20 PM

Maybe they should just kill this abomination already.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 7:00:03 PM

Then why even bother to make a 3rd Ghost Busters
otis writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 7:02:02 PM

I love ya Bill but you can be a real twat waffle. You held out [for how many months??], only to shut that door again.

Not having the entire original cast kills this for me. If it does end up shlepped together, I aint seein sh*t.
elrei writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 7:19:56 PM

That is like doing a 4th Bourne movie without Matt Damon
minkowski writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:07:25 PM

^^Yeah, and they would NEVER do that, right?
minkowski writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:08:52 PM

"Now, Dan Aykroyd has confirmed that Murray will return for "Ghostbusters 3.""

You mean will NOT return.

"At this point [the movie] is in suspended animation,"

It's *dead*. Standby for a reboot.
DavidsoMighty writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:12:06 PM

Well, considering the first one was one of the greatest triumphs in cinema history, yes, I will pay $15 to see this in 3DD.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:12:50 PM

This is like dressing Superman in a red tank top, blue jean shorts, and flip flops
DavidsoMighty writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:16:23 PM

Oops wrong article, I wanted Piranha 3DD...But to comment further upon this. Let Ghostbusters just be Ghostbusters, it's stupid to re-boot, or make sequels to Comedys. They never work, except for Alvin and the Chipmunks the Squeakuel.
minkowski writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:24:11 PM

I'll be honest. *I* would reboot this franchise. I'd do it right, but I'd reboot it anyway.

The original cast members are geriatric nightmares, so I doubt anyone relatively young wants to see some lame sequel decades after GB2. I don't, Murray or not.

New clean cast, same vehicle, fire house, all CG ghosts...it could work.

But they'll f*ck it up.
qwertyuiop22ful writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:53:31 PM

Bill, cut the crap. You don't make 5 movies a year. They offer you 1 movie offer, and you reject it? Talk about picky.
pornfly writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:04:51 PM

PORNFLY confirms that PORNFLY will NOT return for Ghostbusters 3
minkowski writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:10:26 PM

Bill doesn't care. He thinks he'll die, wake up and do it all over again.
boogiel writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:20:21 PM

Max certainly will NOT be happy about this.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 10:33:43 PM

"...friend first and colleague second", huh Akroyd?
Too bad Murray doesn't see it thay way...he wouldn't do this movie for his friends? He probably read the script. Oh, well...But is Murray taking himself too seriously? I mean, c'mon, even Tommy Lee Jones is in that train wreck of a movie MIB III, but he'll always be a badass to me...

I remember hearing about the Farrelly brothers bugging him to be in KINGPIN, but kept refusing until Randy Quaid, already signed up to play Ishmael, called Murray personally to ask him to be in the movie. Murray agreed & his role steals the show. I was crying out of laughter from that single mom commercial with the kid "sometimes I wake up and he's already here"...LMAO!

I think Murray could've negotiated a walkon cameo as a gag or pivotal role, but he doesn't want to be part of this mess...I would understand of why he would or wouldn't.
pornfly writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 11:03:40 PM

'Aykroyd previously said that Murray's role may end up being racist'

Ok,changed my mind
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 11:18:52 PM

I was indicisve about this...no I am not so sure.
Noncentz writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 11:20:34 PM

Yeah, I was also bothered that John Belushi turned down Blues Brothers 2000 but in retrospect, a good decision. Murray doesn't even have the excuse of being dead.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 11:23:26 PM

O well.
WoodyB writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:14:56 AM

Dan Aykroyd is a good friend to Bill Murray. He'll even lie for him. That's what a lot of this has been. A lie. Bill Murray is sick. FDR is his swan song. That's why he won't be in Ghostbusters 3. He won't be around, and his legal team has had tabloids too scared to talk about it.
bandolero999 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:41:20 AM

He wont do this movie but starred in a movie with Megan Fox and MIckey Rourke that sucked ballz.
venomex writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:55:31 AM

i still don't understand why he can do a voice over for a video game but not do a movie. from my understanding, it would only be for a few scenes...at least a week of production...a month tops....why is this so hard for him to do? it's not like he's going to do it for free...he'll get paid...god damnit
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 1:51:25 PM

I heard his ex-wife saying that he was smoking too much weed and ask for too much sex afterwards.

For once, that surely helped him to take the right decision. Thank you Bill for not being an overage ass!
Tanman32123 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 6:07:58 PM

f*ck.. i guess ill watch it without him there.. but still sad.. lol Loved these films as a kid lol then again who didn't
swoooop writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 11:19:38 AM

Damn, this is like doing James Bond without George Lazenby.
LastActionHero writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 7:22:35 PM

So Dan Ackroyd is in it and the funniest person in the original is not. Sounds like Blues Brothers 2000 another horrendous piece of sh*t.
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 4:05:59 AM

recreator9 writes:
on November 30th, 2017 at 12:18:42 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 2nd, 2017 at 2:56:06 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved