WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Watch Guy Pearce in "Prometheus" Viral Video

Posted: February 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Watch Guy Pearce in "Prometheus" Viral VideoSubmit Comment
Ridley Scott's "Alien" prequel, called "Prometheus," is set to hit theaters on June 8th, and today we have a viral video featuring Guy Pearce as Peter Weyland giving a speech at the 2023 TED Conference. Fans of the "Alien" franchise know of Weyland and his company, but here is a quick description of him courtesy of the TED website.

Description: Peter Weyland has been a magnet for controversy since he announced his intent to build the first convincingly humanoid robotic system by the end of the decade.

Whether challenging the ethical boundaries of medicine with nanotechnology or going toe to toe with the Vatican itself on the issue of gene-therapy sterilization, Sir Peter prides himself on his motto, "If we can, we must." After a three year media blackout, Weyland has finally emerged to reveal where he's heading next. Wherever that may be, we will most certainly want to follow.

Video:


Click here to read more about "Prometheus."

Source: TED


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Johnnyb writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 2:15:54 AM

The impossible is about to come..... I can´t wait for this one to come out. Looks amazing and spectacular!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 2:16:12 AM

m'kay
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 2:17:29 AM

Solid viral video -- this just got me slightly more excited than I was for this.
Ranger writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 2:35:03 AM

After seeing the last trailer for this movie... it's a 'must see!'
vaodsi writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:22:15 AM

DAMN! if the film is half that good I'm IN! Great acting, great script, great direction. Can't wait.
Gates writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:26:48 AM

Guy Pearce is the man!
Džeko writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:29:34 AM

Guy Pearce is a very good actor,thank you Mr.Scott for including him as well.
trailertrash writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:36:31 AM

Peter Weyland

Charles Bishop Weyland

Whats the connection peeps ........ ???
Sev writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:53:33 AM

@trailertrash

It's Ridley Scott's retcon (middle finger) to the AvP franchise :)
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 5:15:43 AM

Great, just great. That speech really gave a good summarization of the plot and the things we can expect from it.

Can't f*cking wait.
SeWerin writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 5:31:49 AM

Awwww and i was expecting Lance Henriksen. They need to get him!

Also i only watched first 30 seconds of video - don't want to be much spoiled.
Bullit writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 5:35:05 AM

I like Guy Pearce since Memento, he's an outstanding, versatile actor. Although, in Promotheus, he's not part of the leading roles but it's still a pleasure to watch him.

Indeed, A Must See.
boogiel writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 6:36:31 AM

That's a good piece of acting. Ok, I'm sold!
pornfly writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 6:48:21 AM

THIS is how you create a friggin buzz

I want what Weylands inhalin
pornfly writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 6:48:54 AM

THIS is how you create a friggin buzz

I want what Weylands inhalin
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:01:04 AM

Yes Guy Pearce is finally getting the amount of roles he deserves. I'm loving the style of this film from what I've seen so far, really dark and cool. The speech was interesting as well, I wonder if 2023 is gonna be an accurate prediction for some of the things he's mentioning. I know nanotechnology is nearly there and everything else is possible.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:17:33 AM

Have to say that looked solid
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:25:46 AM

That was.....awesome!
trailertrash writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:33:19 AM

Sev

Hahaha Good call there !!

He should have those f*ckin Strause Brothers wiping his ass and dab drying the end of his c*ck for the rest of his life after AvP2
bandolero999 writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:34:17 AM

kool
trailertrash writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:38:32 AM

Bullit

Loved Memento mate Great movie

I know everyone loves Batman Begins, DK, Inception, I bet people even love DKR and they haven't even seen it yet.

But that movie is the best film he's made so far IMO
SACdaddy writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 8:39:01 AM

The only thing that bothered me about the clip was the choice of 2023 as the setting. Cyborgs in 11 years, really? They might as well drive flying cars and ride hover boards in that fake ass future. Unless this was already established by the original movies (which I don't recall), this seems like a bit of a stretch for that technology. Add another century to that and you might be on to something. Of course that's not gonna stop me from seeing this.
Sev writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:04:31 AM

@trailertrash

I doubt they'd get that right to be honest XD

@SACdaddy

Think the original Alien film is set in 2122, so 2023 seems about right for all this to start kicking off, plus I'm not sure if the weylandindustries site is celebrating the 2023 event 50 years after that fake TEDTalk, or if the company has been around since the 60s or something. If not, then Prometheus is set in 2073, 49 years before Alien :)
pornfly writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:05:01 AM

Did he say Sexbots in 11years??
Put me down for 4
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 9:28:03 AM

One of the few prequels I actaully want to see.
Bullit writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 12:21:24 PM

@Trailer: Memento had 2 major ingredients for a great film: true talent in acting from Pearce and a great screenplay.

Of all the films that are made on a yearly basis in Hollywood, only a very few will show this level of originality & acting skills. That's why Hollywood is looking for more talents all over the world but mainly comes from Europe: UK, France, Spain, Sweden and...friggin Belgium!
OneTime writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 1:01:15 PM

cant wait for dis won
minkowski writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 2:31:06 PM

This will be the movie of the year, for movie geeks anyway.

"The only thing that bothered me about the clip was the choice of 2023 as the setting. Cyborgs in 11 years, really?"

I didn't care for that either.

I kept asking myself if I heard him right. 2023 or 2123? Because I don't see AI *or* bio-mechanical manufacturing getting us anywhere near a true cyborg in *ten* years.

And he talks about M-Theory as if it's anything more than a massive lost-in-the-forest kludge for unifying General Relativity and Quantum Mechanics.

Oh, and him mentioning nano-tech and fusion? OK.
Peter Parker writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 4:01:11 PM

New "The Avengers" trailer on IMBD. Looks better that what I've seen so far from the movie.
Gave me a nerdgasm.
And so did this "viral video".

Also, I like little girls.

The First Rule writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 6:29:19 PM

The year 2023 was probably chosen in order to keep it in line with the other movies...which I've seen described as being in like 2087...but also sometimes 2122. Not sure which is correct though I've seen 2087 more.
AngryAngel writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 11:51:52 PM

So at the end of AVP:R (second worst movie of any alien or predator movie, the first being AVP of course) weyland yutani co. Found predator hardware, of we're going with alien tech being found then certain advancements make sense. If not its a stretch. However, I'm sure it will be addressed in the first five minutes in one of those: in the year 2055 we . . . Then in 2070 we . . . Kind of things.
zyban03 writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 12:12:08 AM

Nice Pitch! I'm interested.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:30:44 AM

'Also, I like little girls.' --- lol.
Ranger writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 2:32:09 AM

Movies should RARELY post a (futuristic) 'year' the movie is in.

Why not stick with: '50 years from now'... and leave it at that. Then we never catch up to the time and it's good forever.

Hollywood... duh!
Bullit writes:
on March 1st, 2012 at 1:25:11 PM

^ ^ Agreed !!
citysims writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 7:32:20 AM

This movie will be far beyond Epic if Ridley sticks to things that play into the original masterpiece like this. All "real" sci fi fans are in for a monumental treat indeed!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved