WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Billy Crystal's Opening Oscars Segment

Posted: February 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Billy CrystalSubmit Comment
Billy Crystal hosted the Oscars for the ninth time and opened with a video montage in which he injects himself into the main plot lines of the some of the movies from 2011.

In the video, actors like George Clooney and Tom Cruise act out scenes from their films, "The Descendants" and "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol." But it's the part with Justin Bieber that's being talked about the most.

In the segment, meant to be from Woody Allen's "Midnight in Paris," Bieber is show sitting in a car alongside Crystal who's in blackface as Sammy Davis Jr. This created quite a stir on Twitter, with many questioning the appropriateness of such a move. Check out the full opening below.

Video:


Source: Academy Awards


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 21 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 5:32:26 AM

Wutta bunch of retwards Billys been doin Sammy for decades,i'm sure the people that are complaining dont even know who Sammy Davis Jr. and theyre just bitchin cuz they ran outta KY

Thx WP for the highlights, I dont have to watch the strokefest
Kurskij writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 6:34:35 AM

When will they shut up for good?

I'd be questioning the fact that Sammy was in the same room with Bieber and it didn't involve him shooting the f*cker in the face (literally. with a gun, not the way he is used to)
Raider writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 8:19:13 AM

Billy Crystal is not funny.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 8:26:16 AM

i only saw that part of the show and was stupid as sh*t on a wall, them i played BTF3 until 3:00 am, so f*ck the oscar and Billy Cristal, and justin GAYBER can suck my blackhole, what was he doing in that crapfest maybe is the begining of a movie carreer? if this the case them SAm the c*nt worthington! have a replacement on my list!
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 10:09:10 AM

Well... more creative than most of the intro's to the show.

As for people offended Billy played Sammy... they know Sammy is DEAD right? Or are they just pissed a black actor was left out of an acting gig? People piss n' moan about nothing.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 10:17:15 AM

Billy was lame. The blackface Sammy stuff was nothing compared to the constant pandering to reconnect the audience to their first experience at the movies. Everything from Billy's stupid bankrupt theater jokes to ushers passing out popcorn in the aisles was some blantantly pitiful cry for help for audiences to get back to a fading box office. 2011 returns sucked balls so they obviously think people are choosing alternative viewing methods like Ipads and and dvds over the traditional theater experience. When in reality it was just a sh*tty year for the overall quality of the movies that lead to low BO numbers. Make better movies Hwood and you wouldn't have to worry about low returns. Remember, 2009 and 2010 were the most profitable years the film industry ever had. 2011 just stank.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 10:24:02 AM

@SAC - you're right. I don't think I saw one movie in a theater in 2011 (wait... when did The Expendables come out... ahh 2010, so yeah, I didn't pay to see one movie in the theater in 2011).
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 11:47:31 AM

And as Chris Rock came out, I spoke aloud saying he was going to make a white vs. black issue, and the predictable, unfunny man didn't disappoint.

Let's talk 'inappropriate' about that.
Dre-EL writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 11:50:08 AM

I thought it was funny and Bieber looked like a little girl, those who claim to be offended are just making noise about nothin.

Overall Billy's performance at the oscars was just average. His song this year was only slightly funny.

The oscars for me ran exactly as I expected. I was not surprised by any of the winners.

I'm happy Meryl won for best actress, would have been happier for Olivia though, but thats OK.

Best actor going to that french guy, not surprised, although I was rooting for Oldman, or rather anybody but George and Brad.

I sorry the warhorse was completly shut out.

I thought with two nominations in the same chategory John Williams would at least get one. He's overdue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:00:46 PM

Justin Bieber is the biggest lesbian on this planet. What was going on with his ear ring. Please don't let him get in to acting I will literally eat my own head if he does this!
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:02:08 PM

John Williams is amazing.

I believe he did the theme for 1978's Superman... IMO, still the definitive recording for The Man of Steel.

The sound was crappy for Billy's voice during his opening number (intentional I'm sure).

And I don't think Warhorse had been in theaters long enough to garner the Hollywood buzz required to win an award (although the movie looks good).

And Meryl is always overdue. What a humble woman. Truly one of the best out there.

I was floored with Morgan Freeman mentioned 'The Outlaw Josey Wales' (my favorite western) considering he was in 'Unforgiven' (I still like Josey Wales more).
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:03:05 PM

I'm just glad the cut out the part of Billy trying to jam his d*ck into Bieber's mouth. That would have been too much.
pornfly writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:09:47 PM

^ not for Just-in
Dre-EL writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:14:36 PM

Did anyone see the segment with Billy and Melisa McCarthy. She is so Fat, Funny, and Flexible. A definate winner in my book.
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 12:14:54 PM

This Just-in...

Billy Crystal's d*ck!
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 4:45:44 PM

"Justin Bieber is the biggest lesbian on this planet"

That's not much of an insult if he, she, it, whatever still gets p*ssy, right? I mean, would you rather be a c*ck-craving man, or a p*ssy-hungry woman?


_________________________________________


"Remember, 2009 and 2010 were the most profitable years the film industry ever had. 2011 just stank."

BO receipts doesn't equal quality, quite obviously.


Just because 2011 produced less film revenue than the two years previous doesn't mean that last year's movie manifest stinks, it only means there wasn't enough summer tent-pole flicks and the sort of films to which mainstream audiences flock in droves.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/top/bestofrt/?year=2011

Don't worry, though. Avengers and TDKR are coming this year, and that means all the young horny dateless males with their loose cash will be back in line.

Ka-CHING!
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 5:57:46 PM

Anyone else get the vibe that Bieber wanted to kiss Billy Crystal? Awkward....
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 6:13:13 PM

"This created quite a stir on Twitter, with many questioning the appropriateness of such a move."

Probably a bunch of dumbass white people that didn't think two black guys in drag and white face wasn't at all inappropriate.

And who else thinks Bieber is starting to resemble Jennifer Carpenter?
venomex writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 7:10:35 PM

bad parodies makes baby jesus cry
Ranger writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 9:09:07 PM

The Cirque de Soleil segment was pretty amazing.
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 9:48:57 PM

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/27/oscars-2012-cirque-du-soleil_n_1303698.html

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved