WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Video: Sacha Baron Cohen Responds to Being Banned from the Oscars

Posted: February 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Video: Sacha Baron Cohen Responds to Being Banned from the OscarsSubmit Comment
We recently reported that the Academy Awards have threatened to ban Sacha Baron Cohen from the Oscars if he plans to show up in full costume to promote his upcoming "The Dictator" film.

Paramount Pictures emailed us yesterday to let us know that Cohen will be responding to the threat. And now, we have the official video of the actor dressed up as a dictator (Admiral General Aladeen), explaining that he applauds the academy for taking away his right to free speech. He goes on to call the academy "The Academy Of Motion Pictures Arts And Zionists."

Watch the video below and stay tuned for the Oscars this Sunday (February 26th) to see if Cohen shows up. "The Dictator" is set to hit theaters on May 11th.

Update: Cohen's threats have worked. The academy said that they have lifted the ban and are more than happy to have Cohen show up in full costume.

Video:


Click here to read more about "The Dictator."

Source: Paramount Pictures


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
dorkus1226 writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 7:51:42 PM

i feel like this is all a show being done by the academy..
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:14:00 PM

Actually, he's wrong. Unless he can claim some form of discrimination he has no case because the Academy Awards are private, not public, and thus they determine what attire he must wear, just as Wal-Mart supposedly can throw you out for no shoes or shirt.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:18:16 PM

"i feel like this is all a show being done by the academy.."

I would agree if I thought they possessed a sense of humor...

dregstudios writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:45:14 PM

The Academy should pull the stick out of their ass and lighten up. They are in desperate need of some added entertainment if they want anyone under the age of 60 to tune in. This is the shallowest and safest group of nominations they’ve ever presented. If the nominees seem as stuffy to you as they do to me, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:47:38 PM

^^f*ck off!
Damon242 writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 9:23:22 PM

It's interesting to watch as someone gets punished for a crime (by Academy's standard) they haven't committed yet.

Reminds me of Minority Report...
secondbest writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 9:50:40 PM

I thought they only talked about banning him and never actually pushed it through?
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 9:58:21 PM

Pfft! What a cheap publicity stunt.
snoop writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 10:07:51 PM

hehe... He called them Zionists.
venomex writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 10:24:32 PM

so...he pretty much has that backdrop around him so he can do quick promos like this
bandolero999 writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 11:38:28 PM

When I saw the beard all I can think was Durka Durka
Buckles44 writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 11:50:50 PM

@dregstudios

it's the academy awards, not the f*cking mtv movie awards. sorry ur teen heart throb robert pattison isn't nominated for anything
Rambo writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 11:55:23 PM

the sad thing will be that 'the dictator' will suck
Bouk writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 12:13:48 AM

Cohen's act is getting boring. Borat was funny, but enough of the character stunts. Just act in a movie without having this whole outside of the movie persona. He is in "Eddie Murphy fat suit" territory with his same old crap.
holtlt writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 12:48:54 AM

Its just publicity, they are highlighting what we might expect and they also want people to tune in just to see if he's going to do something stupid
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 3:56:04 AM

@dorkus

Me thinks you are right.
Doc Gonzo writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:03:10 AM

Haha..Planet of the Rapes...classical
rocketman writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:34:40 AM

How topical,now f*ck off and be funny like you used to be on the 11 o'clock show.
Ramrod writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:53:14 AM

Sweet!!! They lifted the ban...Now f*ck you Mink you f*cken loser
SergioFX writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 5:12:06 AM

pfft, what a f*cked up world we live in! I hate the academy awards! I hate this actor! I hate hollywood and all their movies!

Pfft, stupid news!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 9:44:31 AM

Ramrodupmyass- Get off the site c*nty!!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 10:02:28 AM

Rocket

You're not wrong there mate, Ali G on the 11 O'Clock was as funny as that character ever got IMO, Plus Gervais as the outside reporter was good too.
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 10:11:09 AM

Ramrod

He was never banned it's all been bull sh*t, Thought someone with your super intellect (based on your incisive post) would have known this.

But i guess if the window you lick doesn't face a TV how would you have ever known, silly me
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 12:42:56 PM

"He was never banned it's all been bull sh*t, Thought someone with your super intellect (based on your incisive post) would have known this"

Well, though he was never banned, the story was that he was asked to attend in normal attire, but now we surely know what some suspected: the entire thing was manufactured by Cohen as a way to garner attention.

Regardless, what I said about the elitist Hollywood pricks stands: they wouldn't know fun if it kicked them in their capped teeth, and they wouldn't know a good movie is it rammed both feet up their c*nts.
Ramrod writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:02:36 PM

@ badchad
Ramrodupmyass-
I bet u would love it if i rammed your ass. didnt peg u for the gay type. your bf must get jealous
"Get off the site c*nty!!!"
Oh okay..right away sir
minkowski writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:23:37 PM

^^I'd tell you to not the let door hit you in the ass, but you'd like that...
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:38:16 PM

((( Sn*ggers )))
trailertrash writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:49:13 PM

they wouldn't know a good movie is it rammed both feet up their c*nts

Ain't that the truth Mink

And aren't they getting Billy Crystal back out of moth balls for this years oscars, Maybe they have a sense of humor after all !!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved