WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joel Kinnaman Offered "Robocop" Lead

Posted: February 24th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joel Kinnaman Offered "Robocop" LeadSubmit Comment
Back in September we heard of a rumor that Michael Fassbender was in talks to star in the upcoming "Robocop" remake. Apparently there was no truth to it, since now comes word that MGM has made an offer to Joel Kinnaman to play the title character.

Kinnaman recently appeared in "Safe House," opposite Denzel Washington and Ryan Reynolds, and starred in "The Darkest Hour" and "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo." His breakthrough role was on the AMC series "The Killing."

"Robocop" will be directed by Jose Padilha (Elite Squad) from a script by Josh Zetumer. The plan is to begin shooting next month for a 2013 release.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:16:39 PM

Uh, f*ck no.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:53:17 PM

Normally I would be against a remake, but just the sight of swedish taking on the role of Robocop is too awesome to resist.
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 8:57:46 PM

Yeah, but he's way too damned small. Might as well just put all that armor on a GI JOE action figure.
boogiel writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 9:26:31 PM

Joel who? Never seen this actor before. Also, Robocop in LA, well that's lame. That just as the same as moving batman from Gotham to NYC. Keep Robocop in Detroit, he belongs there.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 11:30:37 PM

Well since he's an unknown he'll be paid around Evans salary.he looks like a Mixture of K-fed,Sam c*nt Worthington,Taters.

minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 11:45:45 PM

I miss Peter Weller.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 3:35:49 AM

Jee...let me think.....NO!!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 3:39:44 AM

Paul Verhoeven should direct.people don't realize that it was because of him that the first one was so good.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 3:43:49 AM

Weller wasnt big either. Taller maybe, I don't know sh*t about this guy but Weller was still skin and bones, just broad shoulders or back (how ever you view it).
rocketman writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 4:40:01 AM

What is he,12?

Watched Robocop the other night,held up surprisingly well considering I thought it looked dated and cheap on release.
Džeko writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 6:29:16 AM

Who the hell is Joel Kinnaman!?!!?
SACdaddy writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 9:11:01 AM

Robocop remake with some no-name jabroni? I'D BUY THAT FOR A DOLLAR!!!
rocketman writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 11:57:23 AM

Is it a full on remake with the same story featuring d*ck Jones and Clarence Bodecker?
nawtnt writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 12:44:37 PM

I don't know who Joel Kinnaman is but if he accepts the role then I hope he does a great job as Robocop.

I think Michael Fassbender would had been a great Robocop, he was amazing in X-Men: First Class and made that movie watchable.

At least Russell Crowe wasn't picked to play Robocop, that would had been awful.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 5:36:43 PM

so many rumors about this movie and who is getting the lead role that it makes no sense to believe any of them
pornfly writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 5:52:15 PM

D I C K

J O N E S ! !
DeVries writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 8:51:49 PM

Who da f*ck is that guy, looks like a washed up thug. Don't f*cking do this to my Robocop, you Hollywood c*nts !!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 25th, 2012 at 11:18:48 PM

This guy? Robocop? Nah don't buy it...

Whatever happened to Peter Weller?

Last time I saw him, he was in a movie called RIVER STYX, I believe, co-starring Rufus Sewell. Decent B-movie fare.
Džeko writes:
on February 26th, 2012 at 5:06:58 AM

@CelluloidMan
Weller will(apparently)have a substantial role in Star Trek 2 according to http://collider.com/peter-weller-star-trek-2-character/131159/.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 26th, 2012 at 10:05:11 AM

Been watching the original Robocop a lot lately on tv and I see NO room for improvement. What the f*ck is Hwood doing? They'd be better off making a TJ Lazer spinoff then remaking this classic.
minkowski writes:
on February 26th, 2012 at 2:27:17 PM

Peter Well f*cking rocks, and this guy, I don't know him, maybe he can do the role, but I'm not buying into it.

Seems lately all the old school roles, which went to people like Arnie and Stallone and Weller, are being taken over by much younger, softer looking people.

Even Colin has that "I love cats, carousels and stuffed animals" look.
Mudders writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 2:53:31 AM

@ mink

peter weller is 6ft

this guy is 6ft 2"

but i get what ya mean....probably not so much size being the issue but how big an impact he makes on the screen

ive never seen him before so i can call judgement on him but he dont seem the kinda guy i would like to see in a robocop flick.

not sure who would be good...i thought clive owen or something....just an idea but i personally think it could work
minkowski writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 6:25:15 PM

When I said small, I didn't mean height. I have no idea how tall either of them are in life, but I do know this guy looks too young and too damned skinny, judging by the lack of meat on his face, to play Robocop, and I would prefer an older, heavier actor to do the role because I'm so damned sick of roles going to people based on youngish sex appeal.
Mudders writes:
on February 28th, 2012 at 3:53:01 AM

^
yeah i understand where ya coming from

im sick of his teen screen dreamboat sh*t that seems to be happening in cinema these days

someone gritty and durable as an actor needs to do this,cant think of anyone of hand though

but yeah this guy seems underdone for it
Darren85 writes:
on February 28th, 2012 at 9:52:28 PM

This Classic shouldn't even be MENTIONED to being re-made. the original was fantastic. seeing someone else portray Murphy other then Peter Weller will just turn me off to not see the remake.
Peter Weller will always be Murphy/Robocop to me.
Mudders writes:
on February 29th, 2012 at 5:47:20 AM

i think with the technology avaliable it will improve visually no end

but yeah...peter weller will always be robocop

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved