WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Sacha Baron Cohen May Be Banned From Oscars

Posted: February 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Sacha Baron Cohen May Be Banned From OscarsSubmit Comment
Many believe that to promote his upcoming "The Dictator" comedy, Sacha Baron Cohen will show up at the Oscars in full dictator costume. The Academy Awards are not taking any chances of having the show become a circus and have threatened to take away Cohen's tickets unless they're assured that he won't make a mockery of the red carpet.

The Hollywood Reporter reached out to the Academy, which said: "We haven't banned him, we're just waiting to hear what he's going to do." Clearly, the Academy doesn't want to ban Cohen, since his "Hugo" movie is nominated for eleven Oscars.

Paramount, the studio behind "Hugo" and "The Dictator," and Cohen's publicist both refused to comment. Stay tuned for Sunday (February 26th) to see what Cohen will or won't do.

The actor has a history of using awards shows to promote his movies. In 2006, he showed up at the Toronto Film Festival dressed as Borat, riding a wagon pulled by Kazakhstani women. In 2009, he came as Bruno to the MTV Video Music Awards.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Avirex writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 5:16:18 AM

Someone should ban the Academy from the Oscars instead.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:10:59 AM

The red carpet makes a mockery of itself! Like anyone takes it seriously any way I think a guy dressed up as a dictator who gets his own way unfairly is a perfectly ironic symbol to have at this over-hyped sh*tfest.
Bullit writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:24:54 AM

"The Academy Awards are not taking any chances of having the show become a circus"

That just shows how constipated they are! I can predict that it will be very boring to watch since any joke, laugh will be analysed before being broadcast.

Sacha Baron's sense of humor is too corrosive for Hollywood. That Academy behave worse than any uptight Mormon politician!
Rambo writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:26:42 AM

good for him...one more night to f*ck his sexy wife instead of this crap palooza called oscars.
boogiel writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:37:07 AM

@Avirex

You mean the other way around?
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:40:06 AM

Like Sacha Baron Cohen gives a sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:41:29 AM

I hear Daniel von Bargen may soon be banned from life for life!
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:56:16 AM

BORAT
Doc Gonzo writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 8:09:56 AM

He's going to do it anyways and I'm looking forward to it.

The Academy doesn't want to become this show a circus? Well I think their nominations are joke enough for one night...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 8:18:30 AM

Ranger- You're on early, what time is it where you are mate?
trailertrash writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 8:25:43 AM

He should dress up as Sacheen Littlefeather !!
Bullit writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 8:55:40 AM

"Ranger- You're on early, what time is it where you are mate?

It's written under his username! on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:41:29 AM
Dre-EL writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:05:40 AM

I thought thats what all the award ceremonies were for; shmoozing and getting noticed. Who cares if he uses it to promote his next film.
darthraige writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:16:48 AM

At least he'll still be well dressed.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:49:23 AM

Give him carte blanche....will give th "Oscars" much neede publicity.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 10:11:44 AM

Well that mighta made it entertaining to watch but not now, f*ck off Oscars.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 10:22:08 AM

@bullit

Wouldn't trust the time on this one mate.

It got me as "9.42am" for my comment and it was actually "9.42pm" and now it is "11.21pm"
Bullit writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 10:30:16 AM

@Dave; It's interesting because I thought that the time appearing is the one based from New York. Therefore, I considered the Greenwich time with a 6 hours difference between the US and us in Europe. Obviously, the time set is wrong.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 10:50:12 AM

@bullit

I am in China and it is 23:47 now, so for me to know the time in the US I minus 12 hours from my time. If doing that it would make it around 11.47am in LA or maybe New York.
Bullit writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 11:10:27 AM

Ok DAVe, I've got it now; the time appearing on this site is based on the Eastern cost of the US, New York. It's 5:08 PM here as it is 11:08 AM in New York and you already on Friday, 8 min past midnight.

Cheers Dave.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 11:19:01 AM

By telling Cohen not to do something, you're just daring him.

By telling him he might have his tickets taken away, they're just double-dog daring him.

The Academy is really asking for it...
Bullit writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 11:25:43 AM

^ ^ I hope they do...
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 12:21:11 PM

They will let Cher show up with her entire *sshole hanging out in the past. But they won't let this happen?
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 12:35:16 PM

lol! The time that's stamped there is the SERVER time, not the time of Ranger's computer. The server is located on the Eastern coast.

As for the news, what a bunch of uptight *ssholes. They call themselves progressive? Liberal? Open-minded? But let some guy come dressed the way in wants and they go apesh*t, but it's ok when they come up to the stage with tits popping out, dressed like Vegas hookers.

They're as uptight and conservative as the conservatives they deride, they just pretend to be all that other bullsh*t as part of their real-life act.

Cohen should tell them he'll be a good boy and then arrive in the most preposterous outfit legally allowed. That'll show those elitist pricks!
Lulupendragon writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 12:38:27 PM

Hes an actor having fun and promoting his movie. Leave him be. jeez
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 1:13:23 PM

^^No sh*t. They act like they don't know how to have some fun. I bet if he came in with coke rings on his nostrils they wouldn't bat a fake lash.
film_crazed writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 2:02:59 PM

The academy is a f*cking joke, and not a funny one either. This year has to be the worst nominees of all time, I mean that saggy skin f*ck Jonah Hill get's nominated? It's just b to the f*cking anana's.
coldplayesence writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 2:20:34 PM

Nice try but I won't see it.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 2:31:22 PM

This just might be the ONLY reason to watch the oscars this year(Just the red carpet bullsh!t to see if he shows up).

In my mind,all award shows should be like this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yWUFeDk1gg


P.s. @Minkowski-I haven't been on this site for a while now so I know i'm a bit late in saying,good job on the article man.Really great stuff.
vincere01 writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 2:56:01 PM

The no talent unfunny hack should stay home. But alas he has the emotional wherewithal of a 14 year old girl menstruating so by telling him not to he will want to do it even more. Someone please shoot that man/girl
elrei writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 3:19:57 PM

Free publicity for both. 2 Stones 1 bird.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 3:57:14 PM

to quote Conan last night: "the academy has threatened to ban Sasha Baron Cohen from attending the Oscars...in fear that something INTERESTING might happen"

how true it is
Rambo writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 5:04:50 PM

^lol..
Rambo writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 5:34:41 PM

Lisa: What are you gonna do?
Creasy: What I do best. I'm gonna kill 'em. Anyone that was involved. Anybody who profited from it. Anybody who opens their eyes at me.
Lisa: [Whispering] You kill 'em all.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:03:44 PM

Ah, Man on Fire. The only thing I didn't like was him dying.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:18:38 PM

Damn right he was gonna die.nobody f*cks with la eme and gets away with it.especially some f*cking Mayate(blackie).right the eye?f*cking Uncle tom bitch keep bleaching Ur skin.you'll be white one day.

encoreyourface writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 6:52:34 PM

what exactly does a dictator look like? is there a site where they buy their clothes?
Ranger writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:04:46 PM

@Squirrel --- lol.
vaodsi writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:21:06 PM

He's a jew. He won't get banned.
minkowski writes:
on February 23rd, 2012 at 9:51:23 PM

"P.s. @Minkowski-I haven't been on this site for a while now so I know i'm a bit late in saying,good job on the article man.Really great stuff."

Ah, you're too kind!
Rambo writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 3:27:21 AM

@mink

yes,I didn't like it as well...and why didn't he wear a bullet proof vest during the whole movie?keep getting shot like a punk...
minkowski writes:
on February 24th, 2012 at 1:45:26 PM

No sh*t. It's like he wanted to die for the little girl or something. Maybe he did. He looked worn out the entire film like he was sick of living. Maybe he was, his character I mean.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved