WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Antonio Banderas is Pablo Picasso in "33 Days"

Posted: February 21st, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Antonio Banderas is Pablo Picasso in "33 Days"Submit Comment
Antonio Banderas will play Pablo Picasso in Carlos Saura's upcoming "33 Dias (33 Days)," about the painter's emotional turmoil as he worked on masterpiece "Guernica."

"33 Dias" refers to the time Picasso spent on the mural, which captured his reaction to the destruction of Basque town of Guernica in 1937 by the Nazi Luftwaffe during the Spanish Civil War.

"[Picasso] is a character that has pursued me for a long time and I always rejected," said Banderas. "He deserves a lot of respect because I am from Malaga, and I was born four blocks from where he was born."

The French and Spanish language film will begin shooting next summer in Paris and Guernica. The budget is set around $8 million.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 7:52:34 PM

So who plays Van Gogh the day he cut off his ear? That guy Mike Tyson ate?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 7:57:39 PM

He needs the money.not even Robert Rodriguez will hire him.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 8:00:14 PM

Robert says "Antonio who? Don't know no Antonio".

Meanwhile Robert's picking the lettuce out of his ass while wondering how he can sell Spy Kids 5DDD.
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 8:29:41 PM

'Uhh No way, pick your own asso. Uhhhuhuh'
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 8:35:46 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_KdK3-5MKs&feature=youtube_gdata_player
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 9:25:39 PM

f*ck this f*cking movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 9:46:01 PM

They should advertise this film as being in 4D.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 10:01:11 PM

The movie is about a painting and the political/ war torn history that inspired it? Seems high brow...the question is, who will direct this?

Only a Spanish director would be able to do it justice. Almodovar? That's the only one that would be ballsy enough. Any others and it's a major gamble and could affect opening day in Spain; it lets down the "cred".

A lot of finesse would also be needed to pull this off needing to make it interesting, thought provoking, AND STILL put some butts on seats...good luck with that.

No wonder they're really pulling back on the budget...easier to make the money back; maybe concentrating more in Spain or Latin America? And even that's iffy...

If the movie breaks even, I'll be surprised.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 10:17:10 PM

Limited run in select markets, I bet, because not many Americans will want to see this, including me, not because it's too high brow but because nothing is more idiotic than watching some re-enactment of a man's life, when re-enactments in general very rarely ever even come close to what really happened, when instead I can read a good biography written by someone who took the time to investigate and doc*ment the person's life.

Getting Banderas tells me they're looking to sell a film, not do Picasso any justice per history, so they can go f*ck themselves.

Oh, and his Cubist works suck. They're ugly, pretentious and empty. His early sketches are beautiful though, and I saw some of once a long time ago. Too bad he had to go nuts with experimentation.
minkowski writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 10:18:10 PM

"If the movie breaks even, I'll be surprised."

It'll break even. One half ignored, the other half forgotten. Broken.
Rambo writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:52:02 PM

Lo there do I see my father. Lo there do I see my mother and my sisters and my brothers. Lo there do I see the line of my people, back to the beginning. Lo, they do call to me, they bid me take my place among them, in the Halls of Valhalla, where the brave may live...forever.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 12:01:45 AM

13th Warrior quotes, huh?

Solid movie, but didn't buy that Banderas "learned" the Viking language by just watching...F*ck. That. Sh*t!

Everything else...solid.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 12:30:53 AM

@Mink
I see your point, but book compared to film is a different medium which is unfair to compare.

The film will tackle (no small feat) how history affected the genius that produced this great "work of art"... I imagine. It'll be the story behind the art which I said is very ballsy to an audience built on whiz-bang action movies or smoochie, gay vampire movies. How to get someone out of that rut? Thought the same thing with Merly Streep's THE IRON LADY.

And yeah, it'll probably be sh*t-ish with Banderas, but its a cash business- same reason Picasso sold his art, paying for materialized feeling as art. Story will have to be key needing to be as accurate as possible. That's why the right filmmaker will make or break this film.

That's when this medium comes into play...not the book. Remember the massess...they need to reach the massess. Book potential of millions, movie potential of BILLIONS! That's where the business is.

Plus reading on paintworks or sculptures? Biography fine, but reading on art? Nah, it's like explaining what an orgasm feels to a virgin...much rather see it (or feel it) oneself.

But yeah, the art of Picasso doesn't put blood in my d*ck either. I know why people like it, but is not my bag, man.

But hey, don't knock experimentation. Worked pretty good in the college girl's dorm room. LOL.
Bullit writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 10:17:05 AM

I'm not fond of Picasso but I certainly respect the artist and wouldn't dare criticize him.

Although, if a movie had to depict the passionate life of a Spanish artist, it would have been much more exciting to make a film about Salvador DALI. His paintings of surrealism are just sublime (along with René MAGRITTE)!

In another "genre", here is the masterpiece of Gustave COURBET, "The Origin of The World" which is one of my favourite subject to debate:

http://www.musee-orsay.fr/en/collections/works-in-focus/search/commentaire_id/lorigine-du-monde-125.html?no_cache=1&cHash=3a0c164bed
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 1:30:00 PM

"Plus reading on paintworks or sculptures? Biography fine, but reading on art? Nah, it's like explaining what an orgasm feels to a virgin...much rather see it (or feel it) oneself."

Yeah, but nowadays, books have these things in them. I think they're called 'pictures'...

Naturally, I'm being a smart ass, but...besides, most people can't see his works in person, so...
Johnnyb writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 1:52:57 PM

Well it seems Banderas days in Hollywood are over. First Almodovar's The Skin I live and now this one. Well Tony you can say thanks to Rodriguez from ruined your career!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 3:18:07 PM

Would've been better if he played Pablo Escobar instead.
film_crazed writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 3:25:10 PM

@ Mink - Nah, this guy could not pull pff Escobar, his accent is way too strong. Escobar was Colombian and its a complete different dialect and sound.

I will always like him in Desperado flicks, the first Zorro. And most definitly the bad ass film that was the 13th Warrior.
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 3:31:32 PM

Was 13th Warrior that good? I heard it stunk. Agreed on the other films for sure, though. Second Desperado is hilariously beautiful.
film_crazed writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 3:47:03 PM

Yeah but it is one of those 90's gems that is bad, but good at the same time you know. Think Con-Air.
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 4:03:19 PM

Ah. Con Air. I thought that was just 'good'. Maybe you mean 'Gone in 60 Seconds'? That was bad-good, or perhaps Drive Angry, or maybe Faster?

Well, ok, the last one was just bad.
film_crazed writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 4:28:33 PM

lol I haven't seen Faster, been on my DVR forever though. Also lol on the tyson reference.
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 4:45:51 PM

What movies have you see lately that were good? Need some suggestions for something to watch.
minkowski writes:
on February 22nd, 2012 at 5:01:51 PM

"Also lol on the tyson reference"

Thank you.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved