WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Will Smith's "Focus" Takes Top Spot at Box Office
Mar 2nd, 2015
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and Male

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and MaleSubmit Comment
A week before the Oscars, LA Times sat down with members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and found out the identities of about 5,100 academy members (roughly 89%) who vote in the Oscars categories.

The findings revealed that 94% of all members are white and 77% are men. Blacks and Hispanics account for only 2% each. The results are in line with industry employment overall, in which whites and males dominate.

Tom Sherak, the president of the academy, says that the group is trying to diversify its membership. But that will likely be difficult since members have to be part of the industry, and the industry is overwhelmingly white and male.

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

Source: LA Times, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:38:31 PM

La Times couldn't have figured that on their own?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:58:30 PM

you forgot to mention GAY
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:02:10 PM

"Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?"

No way, they employed a gold-skinned eunuch to represent them.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Does it matter? I mean they still adhere to films with racial diversity to adhere to the minorities anyway. However, this results in films being nominated that don't deserve it. I heard the "Help" was good, but not close to Best Picture quality. Just saying, there is still the presence there. Unfortunately, like several white films so as to show there is no favoritism either way, films get picked that don't deserve the nomination to begin with but do it to appeal to certain masses. I read an article recently how most films that got nominations are thsoe that are nostalgic to the 1920's era of filmmaking.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:18:06 PM

Havent bothered to see any of the nominated movies yet.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:23:24 PM

I guess the white male has some function and purpose left to him, then: voting on sh*tty movies.

Kind of makes sense, when you consider how lazy we are.

I mean, what, we couldn't pick our own cotton?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:34:25 PM

it seems the industry it biased towards sh*tty movies
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:23 PM

Just think what the outcome would be if they were picked by black females-All Tyler Perry movies..or all asian males-anything they can insert the name "Lin" into...how about latino females-anything they show at the dollar theater..
dregstudios writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:51:15 PM

The Academy certainly went with much higher brow nominees this year which I think will lose them a large portion of their young audience. After doing better at being in touch with the public the past two years, these stiff nominees just fall flat. I usually have something in common with the choice but not this year- if the contenders seem stuffy to you, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:02:42 PM

Because if the voters were black and female they'd either be straddling the gauze and/or stealing all the trophies to pawn or use them as weapons to hold up whitey.

(Oh please, you KNEW this post was coming).


minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:09:54 PM

lol@Ranger, and Dreg, nice site, some good picks and interesting art, but I really hate it when people use an established place to advertize their own. Not very classy, not that I would know anything about class, but hey...
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:46:44 PM

you mean male and JEWISH right?
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:47:42 PM

NAACP image Awards picked Jump Over the Broom and Mike Epps for the win so there's your answer
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:04:13 PM

Was there ever a time when the Oscars weren't biased?
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:07:34 PM

And thats the way it should be
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:20:42 PM

^^

Get a life. Who really cares what you think? Are you an Academy member? Do you have anything to do with making films? Or do you just watch them all day long and wonder why you don't have a girlfriend ?

minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:27:28 PM

lol@trailertrash!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM

LOL.
birnam writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:47:03 PM

.....and jewish. They forgot that part.
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

Hey I have a follower!!! Just like MINK!!!!!!! I am on my way to the TOP!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:07:03 PM

^Because you're tired of being a bottom.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:28:57 PM

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

No, I think the "Oscars" are biased towards the "almighty dollar" and "sh*te movies"
Man in Black writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:34:40 PM

Diversify ? never gonna happen , the MPAA will dissolve before the Oscars stops giving awards to sh*tty movies . ( Looking at you Shakespeare in love , winning over Saving Private Ryan ) .

And as to the question , what Dave said " Money talks " .
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:14 PM

So gay jewish men vote on movies? Yeah, I don't think black folks are going to care. Neither do I.
the eye writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:37 PM

I have a friend with his own production company... He told me hollywood is run by gays & Jews! If you want to get ahead, claim Judaism, be openly gay, or do a gay role. Look what happened to Fox when she referred to Bay as Hitler! She quite possibly has been blacklisted by Spielberg and/or her quality of roles have been diminished. i.e. NOTHING big like transformers
Sexual orientation & religion, in hollywood, trumps race but all are preceded by the color green!
Peace
Johnnyb writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 12:39:14 AM

Obviously, beside gays being portrait by straight guys, we haven't see them get the big one, latinos haven't make it and also Chinese that were suppose to take the big one this year with Zhang Zimou pic about the Nanking's massacre with Bale on it. Jews, as far I'm concern, they will and still dominate this business as long they can. that answer your absurd question pal....
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 1:50:05 AM

'Overwhelmingly white'
HA
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 3:03:18 AM

Quidd

Haha you wish pal, The only followers you have are store detectives, i bet .....
Bullit writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 5:23:42 AM

@The eye: Interesting to know what you're saying and it doesn't surprise me one bit. Megan Fox is a blattant example. Not that I pitty the silly bitch but it just shows what's really going on.

Jim Caviezel is the perfect example since he played Jesus and he paid it with dire consequences as he had a very promising career.
beepboop writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:26:52 AM

skin colour or gender doesn't matter. the academy members will vote for boring movies like hugo, because they vote for things unrelated to their gender and ethnicity.
if the academy members were all diversified they would still vote for the certain movies. nothing would change.
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 6:40:21 PM

SHOCKING!

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved