WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Reed Richards Doesn't Stretch in "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Apr 26th, 2015
New Footage in Extended "Terminator Genisys" TV Spot
Apr 26th, 2015
"Green Lantern" Writer Hired for "Wolverine 3"
Apr 26th, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker from "Suicide Squad"!
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Area 51" Horror Film, From Director of "Paranormal Activity"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Jamie Dornan in "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 25th, 2015
Creepy Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Apr 25th, 2015
First Look at Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Apr 25th, 2015
Trailer for "Barely Lethal" Action Comedy, with Hailee Steinfeld and Jessica Alba
Apr 25th, 2015
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and Male

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and MaleSubmit Comment
A week before the Oscars, LA Times sat down with members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and found out the identities of about 5,100 academy members (roughly 89%) who vote in the Oscars categories.

The findings revealed that 94% of all members are white and 77% are men. Blacks and Hispanics account for only 2% each. The results are in line with industry employment overall, in which whites and males dominate.

Tom Sherak, the president of the academy, says that the group is trying to diversify its membership. But that will likely be difficult since members have to be part of the industry, and the industry is overwhelmingly white and male.

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

Source: LA Times, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:38:31 PM

La Times couldn't have figured that on their own?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:58:30 PM

you forgot to mention GAY
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:02:10 PM

"Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?"

No way, they employed a gold-skinned eunuch to represent them.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Does it matter? I mean they still adhere to films with racial diversity to adhere to the minorities anyway. However, this results in films being nominated that don't deserve it. I heard the "Help" was good, but not close to Best Picture quality. Just saying, there is still the presence there. Unfortunately, like several white films so as to show there is no favoritism either way, films get picked that don't deserve the nomination to begin with but do it to appeal to certain masses. I read an article recently how most films that got nominations are thsoe that are nostalgic to the 1920's era of filmmaking.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:18:06 PM

Havent bothered to see any of the nominated movies yet.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:23:24 PM

I guess the white male has some function and purpose left to him, then: voting on sh*tty movies.

Kind of makes sense, when you consider how lazy we are.

I mean, what, we couldn't pick our own cotton?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:34:25 PM

it seems the industry it biased towards sh*tty movies
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:23 PM

Just think what the outcome would be if they were picked by black females-All Tyler Perry movies..or all asian males-anything they can insert the name "Lin" into...how about latino females-anything they show at the dollar theater..
dregstudios writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:51:15 PM

The Academy certainly went with much higher brow nominees this year which I think will lose them a large portion of their young audience. After doing better at being in touch with the public the past two years, these stiff nominees just fall flat. I usually have something in common with the choice but not this year- if the contenders seem stuffy to you, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:02:42 PM

Because if the voters were black and female they'd either be straddling the gauze and/or stealing all the trophies to pawn or use them as weapons to hold up whitey.

(Oh please, you KNEW this post was coming).


minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:09:54 PM

lol@Ranger, and Dreg, nice site, some good picks and interesting art, but I really hate it when people use an established place to advertize their own. Not very classy, not that I would know anything about class, but hey...
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:46:44 PM

you mean male and JEWISH right?
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:47:42 PM

NAACP image Awards picked Jump Over the Broom and Mike Epps for the win so there's your answer
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:04:13 PM

Was there ever a time when the Oscars weren't biased?
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:07:34 PM

And thats the way it should be
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:20:42 PM

^^

Get a life. Who really cares what you think? Are you an Academy member? Do you have anything to do with making films? Or do you just watch them all day long and wonder why you don't have a girlfriend ?

minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:27:28 PM

lol@trailertrash!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM

LOL.
birnam writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:47:03 PM

.....and jewish. They forgot that part.
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

Hey I have a follower!!! Just like MINK!!!!!!! I am on my way to the TOP!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:07:03 PM

^Because you're tired of being a bottom.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:28:57 PM

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

No, I think the "Oscars" are biased towards the "almighty dollar" and "sh*te movies"
Man in Black writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:34:40 PM

Diversify ? never gonna happen , the MPAA will dissolve before the Oscars stops giving awards to sh*tty movies . ( Looking at you Shakespeare in love , winning over Saving Private Ryan ) .

And as to the question , what Dave said " Money talks " .
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:14 PM

So gay jewish men vote on movies? Yeah, I don't think black folks are going to care. Neither do I.
the eye writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:37 PM

I have a friend with his own production company... He told me hollywood is run by gays & Jews! If you want to get ahead, claim Judaism, be openly gay, or do a gay role. Look what happened to Fox when she referred to Bay as Hitler! She quite possibly has been blacklisted by Spielberg and/or her quality of roles have been diminished. i.e. NOTHING big like transformers
Sexual orientation & religion, in hollywood, trumps race but all are preceded by the color green!
Peace
Johnnyb writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 12:39:14 AM

Obviously, beside gays being portrait by straight guys, we haven't see them get the big one, latinos haven't make it and also Chinese that were suppose to take the big one this year with Zhang Zimou pic about the Nanking's massacre with Bale on it. Jews, as far I'm concern, they will and still dominate this business as long they can. that answer your absurd question pal....
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 1:50:05 AM

'Overwhelmingly white'
HA
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 3:03:18 AM

Quidd

Haha you wish pal, The only followers you have are store detectives, i bet .....
Bullit writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 5:23:42 AM

@The eye: Interesting to know what you're saying and it doesn't surprise me one bit. Megan Fox is a blattant example. Not that I pitty the silly bitch but it just shows what's really going on.

Jim Caviezel is the perfect example since he played Jesus and he paid it with dire consequences as he had a very promising career.
beepboop writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:26:52 AM

skin colour or gender doesn't matter. the academy members will vote for boring movies like hugo, because they vote for things unrelated to their gender and ethnicity.
if the academy members were all diversified they would still vote for the certain movies. nothing would change.
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 6:40:21 PM

SHOCKING!

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Footage Coming Tomorrow
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved