WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Spin-Off "Deadpool" is Finally Happening, Release Date Announced
Sep 18th, 2014
Trailer For "A Most Violent Year," From "Margin Call" Director
Sep 18th, 2014
Sony Unveils Animation Test For "Popeye" Movie
Sep 18th, 2014
See Batmobile in Action on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 18th, 2014
"Jason Borne" Producer Says Both Matt Damon's and Jeremy Renner's Films are in the Works
Sep 18th, 2014
"Paranormal Activity 5" Gets New Title and Release Date
Sep 18th, 2014
New Posters For Matthew McConaughey's "Interstellar" and Brad Pitt's "Fury"
Sep 18th, 2014
New Trailer for Robert Downey Jr's "The Judge"
Sep 18th, 2014
David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience
Sep 17th, 2014
Jack Huston to Star in "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 17th, 2014
Poster for Disney's "Into the Woods," with Meryl Streep and Johnny Depp
Sep 17th, 2014
Tom Hiddleston to Star in "King Kong" Prequel, "Skull Island"
Sep 16th, 2014
Poster for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 16th, 2014
"I Know What You Did Last Summer" is Being Rebooted
Sep 16th, 2014
Leslie Mann in Talks for "Vacation" Sequel as Audrey Griswold
Sep 16th, 2014
"You're Next" Director to Remake "I Saw the Devil" Thriller
Sep 16th, 2014
Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"
Sep 16th, 2014
First Look at "By the Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Sep 16th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Arrives Online
Sep 16th, 2014
Massive Banner For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Sep 15th, 2014
First Look: Adam Driver on "Star Wars: Episode VII" Set
Sep 15th, 2014
"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office
Sep 14th, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Sep 14th, 2014
Photos: "Gotham" Star Ben McKenzie Injured on Set
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look at "Transporter" Reboot, Plot Synopsis Revealed
Sep 14th, 2014
First Look: Mark Wahlberg on "Ted 2" Set
Sep 14th, 2014
Batmobile Stolen From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set, Zack Snyder Knows Who Did It
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Matthew McConaughey in "The Sea of Trees"
Sep 13th, 2014
First Look at Seth Rogen's "BOO: Bureau of Otherworldly Operations" Animated Film
Sep 13th, 2014
Morgan Freeman Joins "Ben-Hur" Remake
Sep 13th, 2014
Trailer For Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Action Thriller
Sep 13th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and Male

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and MaleSubmit Comment
A week before the Oscars, LA Times sat down with members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and found out the identities of about 5,100 academy members (roughly 89%) who vote in the Oscars categories.

The findings revealed that 94% of all members are white and 77% are men. Blacks and Hispanics account for only 2% each. The results are in line with industry employment overall, in which whites and males dominate.

Tom Sherak, the president of the academy, says that the group is trying to diversify its membership. But that will likely be difficult since members have to be part of the industry, and the industry is overwhelmingly white and male.

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

Source: LA Times, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:38:31 PM

La Times couldn't have figured that on their own?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:58:30 PM

you forgot to mention GAY
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:02:10 PM

"Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?"

No way, they employed a gold-skinned eunuch to represent them.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Does it matter? I mean they still adhere to films with racial diversity to adhere to the minorities anyway. However, this results in films being nominated that don't deserve it. I heard the "Help" was good, but not close to Best Picture quality. Just saying, there is still the presence there. Unfortunately, like several white films so as to show there is no favoritism either way, films get picked that don't deserve the nomination to begin with but do it to appeal to certain masses. I read an article recently how most films that got nominations are thsoe that are nostalgic to the 1920's era of filmmaking.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:18:06 PM

Havent bothered to see any of the nominated movies yet.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:23:24 PM

I guess the white male has some function and purpose left to him, then: voting on sh*tty movies.

Kind of makes sense, when you consider how lazy we are.

I mean, what, we couldn't pick our own cotton?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:34:25 PM

it seems the industry it biased towards sh*tty movies
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:23 PM

Just think what the outcome would be if they were picked by black females-All Tyler Perry movies..or all asian males-anything they can insert the name "Lin" into...how about latino females-anything they show at the dollar theater..
dregstudios writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:51:15 PM

The Academy certainly went with much higher brow nominees this year which I think will lose them a large portion of their young audience. After doing better at being in touch with the public the past two years, these stiff nominees just fall flat. I usually have something in common with the choice but not this year- if the contenders seem stuffy to you, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:02:42 PM

Because if the voters were black and female they'd either be straddling the gauze and/or stealing all the trophies to pawn or use them as weapons to hold up whitey.

(Oh please, you KNEW this post was coming).


minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:09:54 PM

lol@Ranger, and Dreg, nice site, some good picks and interesting art, but I really hate it when people use an established place to advertize their own. Not very classy, not that I would know anything about class, but hey...
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:46:44 PM

you mean male and JEWISH right?
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:47:42 PM

NAACP image Awards picked Jump Over the Broom and Mike Epps for the win so there's your answer
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:04:13 PM

Was there ever a time when the Oscars weren't biased?
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:07:34 PM

And thats the way it should be
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:20:42 PM

^^

Get a life. Who really cares what you think? Are you an Academy member? Do you have anything to do with making films? Or do you just watch them all day long and wonder why you don't have a girlfriend ?

minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:27:28 PM

lol@trailertrash!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM

LOL.
birnam writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:47:03 PM

.....and jewish. They forgot that part.
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

Hey I have a follower!!! Just like MINK!!!!!!! I am on my way to the TOP!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:07:03 PM

^Because you're tired of being a bottom.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:28:57 PM

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

No, I think the "Oscars" are biased towards the "almighty dollar" and "sh*te movies"
Man in Black writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:34:40 PM

Diversify ? never gonna happen , the MPAA will dissolve before the Oscars stops giving awards to sh*tty movies . ( Looking at you Shakespeare in love , winning over Saving Private Ryan ) .

And as to the question , what Dave said " Money talks " .
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:14 PM

So gay jewish men vote on movies? Yeah, I don't think black folks are going to care. Neither do I.
the eye writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:37 PM

I have a friend with his own production company... He told me hollywood is run by gays & Jews! If you want to get ahead, claim Judaism, be openly gay, or do a gay role. Look what happened to Fox when she referred to Bay as Hitler! She quite possibly has been blacklisted by Spielberg and/or her quality of roles have been diminished. i.e. NOTHING big like transformers
Sexual orientation & religion, in hollywood, trumps race but all are preceded by the color green!
Peace
Johnnyb writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 12:39:14 AM

Obviously, beside gays being portrait by straight guys, we haven't see them get the big one, latinos haven't make it and also Chinese that were suppose to take the big one this year with Zhang Zimou pic about the Nanking's massacre with Bale on it. Jews, as far I'm concern, they will and still dominate this business as long they can. that answer your absurd question pal....
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 1:50:05 AM

'Overwhelmingly white'
HA
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 3:03:18 AM

Quidd

Haha you wish pal, The only followers you have are store detectives, i bet .....
Bullit writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 5:23:42 AM

@The eye: Interesting to know what you're saying and it doesn't surprise me one bit. Megan Fox is a blattant example. Not that I pitty the silly bitch but it just shows what's really going on.

Jim Caviezel is the perfect example since he played Jesus and he paid it with dire consequences as he had a very promising career.
beepboop writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:26:52 AM

skin colour or gender doesn't matter. the academy members will vote for boring movies like hugo, because they vote for things unrelated to their gender and ethnicity.
if the academy members were all diversified they would still vote for the certain movies. nothing would change.
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 6:40:21 PM

SHOCKING!

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved