WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and Male

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and MaleSubmit Comment
A week before the Oscars, LA Times sat down with members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and found out the identities of about 5,100 academy members (roughly 89%) who vote in the Oscars categories.

The findings revealed that 94% of all members are white and 77% are men. Blacks and Hispanics account for only 2% each. The results are in line with industry employment overall, in which whites and males dominate.

Tom Sherak, the president of the academy, says that the group is trying to diversify its membership. But that will likely be difficult since members have to be part of the industry, and the industry is overwhelmingly white and male.

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

Source: LA Times, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:38:31 PM

La Times couldn't have figured that on their own?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:58:30 PM

you forgot to mention GAY
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:02:10 PM

"Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?"

No way, they employed a gold-skinned eunuch to represent them.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Does it matter? I mean they still adhere to films with racial diversity to adhere to the minorities anyway. However, this results in films being nominated that don't deserve it. I heard the "Help" was good, but not close to Best Picture quality. Just saying, there is still the presence there. Unfortunately, like several white films so as to show there is no favoritism either way, films get picked that don't deserve the nomination to begin with but do it to appeal to certain masses. I read an article recently how most films that got nominations are thsoe that are nostalgic to the 1920's era of filmmaking.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:18:06 PM

Havent bothered to see any of the nominated movies yet.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:23:24 PM

I guess the white male has some function and purpose left to him, then: voting on sh*tty movies.

Kind of makes sense, when you consider how lazy we are.

I mean, what, we couldn't pick our own cotton?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:34:25 PM

it seems the industry it biased towards sh*tty movies
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:23 PM

Just think what the outcome would be if they were picked by black females-All Tyler Perry movies..or all asian males-anything they can insert the name "Lin" into...how about latino females-anything they show at the dollar theater..
dregstudios writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:51:15 PM

The Academy certainly went with much higher brow nominees this year which I think will lose them a large portion of their young audience. After doing better at being in touch with the public the past two years, these stiff nominees just fall flat. I usually have something in common with the choice but not this year- if the contenders seem stuffy to you, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:02:42 PM

Because if the voters were black and female they'd either be straddling the gauze and/or stealing all the trophies to pawn or use them as weapons to hold up whitey.

(Oh please, you KNEW this post was coming).


minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:09:54 PM

lol@Ranger, and Dreg, nice site, some good picks and interesting art, but I really hate it when people use an established place to advertize their own. Not very classy, not that I would know anything about class, but hey...
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:46:44 PM

you mean male and JEWISH right?
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:47:42 PM

NAACP image Awards picked Jump Over the Broom and Mike Epps for the win so there's your answer
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:04:13 PM

Was there ever a time when the Oscars weren't biased?
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:07:34 PM

And thats the way it should be
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:20:42 PM

^^

Get a life. Who really cares what you think? Are you an Academy member? Do you have anything to do with making films? Or do you just watch them all day long and wonder why you don't have a girlfriend ?

minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:27:28 PM

lol@trailertrash!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM

LOL.
birnam writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:47:03 PM

.....and jewish. They forgot that part.
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

Hey I have a follower!!! Just like MINK!!!!!!! I am on my way to the TOP!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:07:03 PM

^Because you're tired of being a bottom.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:28:57 PM

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

No, I think the "Oscars" are biased towards the "almighty dollar" and "sh*te movies"
Man in Black writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:34:40 PM

Diversify ? never gonna happen , the MPAA will dissolve before the Oscars stops giving awards to sh*tty movies . ( Looking at you Shakespeare in love , winning over Saving Private Ryan ) .

And as to the question , what Dave said " Money talks " .
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:14 PM

So gay jewish men vote on movies? Yeah, I don't think black folks are going to care. Neither do I.
the eye writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:37 PM

I have a friend with his own production company... He told me hollywood is run by gays & Jews! If you want to get ahead, claim Judaism, be openly gay, or do a gay role. Look what happened to Fox when she referred to Bay as Hitler! She quite possibly has been blacklisted by Spielberg and/or her quality of roles have been diminished. i.e. NOTHING big like transformers
Sexual orientation & religion, in hollywood, trumps race but all are preceded by the color green!
Peace
Johnnyb writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 12:39:14 AM

Obviously, beside gays being portrait by straight guys, we haven't see them get the big one, latinos haven't make it and also Chinese that were suppose to take the big one this year with Zhang Zimou pic about the Nanking's massacre with Bale on it. Jews, as far I'm concern, they will and still dominate this business as long they can. that answer your absurd question pal....
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 1:50:05 AM

'Overwhelmingly white'
HA
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 3:03:18 AM

Quidd

Haha you wish pal, The only followers you have are store detectives, i bet .....
Bullit writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 5:23:42 AM

@The eye: Interesting to know what you're saying and it doesn't surprise me one bit. Megan Fox is a blattant example. Not that I pitty the silly bitch but it just shows what's really going on.

Jim Caviezel is the perfect example since he played Jesus and he paid it with dire consequences as he had a very promising career.
beepboop writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:26:52 AM

skin colour or gender doesn't matter. the academy members will vote for boring movies like hugo, because they vote for things unrelated to their gender and ethnicity.
if the academy members were all diversified they would still vote for the certain movies. nothing would change.
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 6:40:21 PM

SHOCKING!

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved