WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
"Looney Tunes" Movie Gets Steve Carell and "X-Men: First Class" Writers
Aug 27th, 2014
Warner Bros Has a "No Jokes" Policy For Its Superhero Films?
Aug 27th, 2014
Henry Cavill Does the Ice Bucket Challenge in His Superman Costume
Aug 27th, 2014
"Da Vinci Code 3" to Begin Filming in April, Tom Hanks Set to Return
Aug 27th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Set Photo Honors Richard Attenborough
Aug 27th, 2014
First Look at Lucy Lawless in Marvel's "Agents of SHIELD" TV Series
Aug 27th, 2014
Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Unveils IMAX TV Spot
Aug 27th, 2014
Trailer for "The Pyramid" Thriller, From Alexandre Aja
Aug 27th, 2014
"Full House" Sequel Coming to TV, With Original Cast
Aug 26th, 2014
Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller Unveils Emmy Awards TV Spot
Aug 26th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Hawkeye May Appear in "Captain America 3"
Aug 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and Male

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Study Shows Oscar Voters are Overwhelmingly White and MaleSubmit Comment
A week before the Oscars, LA Times sat down with members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and found out the identities of about 5,100 academy members (roughly 89%) who vote in the Oscars categories.

The findings revealed that 94% of all members are white and 77% are men. Blacks and Hispanics account for only 2% each. The results are in line with industry employment overall, in which whites and males dominate.

Tom Sherak, the president of the academy, says that the group is trying to diversify its membership. But that will likely be difficult since members have to be part of the industry, and the industry is overwhelmingly white and male.

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

Source: LA Times, Moviefone


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:38:31 PM

La Times couldn't have figured that on their own?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:58:30 PM

you forgot to mention GAY
BoyScouts!BoyScouts! writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:02:10 PM

"Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?"

No way, they employed a gold-skinned eunuch to represent them.

Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:09:50 PM

Does it matter? I mean they still adhere to films with racial diversity to adhere to the minorities anyway. However, this results in films being nominated that don't deserve it. I heard the "Help" was good, but not close to Best Picture quality. Just saying, there is still the presence there. Unfortunately, like several white films so as to show there is no favoritism either way, films get picked that don't deserve the nomination to begin with but do it to appeal to certain masses. I read an article recently how most films that got nominations are thsoe that are nostalgic to the 1920's era of filmmaking.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:18:06 PM

Havent bothered to see any of the nominated movies yet.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:23:24 PM

I guess the white male has some function and purpose left to him, then: voting on sh*tty movies.

Kind of makes sense, when you consider how lazy we are.

I mean, what, we couldn't pick our own cotton?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:34:25 PM

it seems the industry it biased towards sh*tty movies
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:23 PM

Just think what the outcome would be if they were picked by black females-All Tyler Perry movies..or all asian males-anything they can insert the name "Lin" into...how about latino females-anything they show at the dollar theater..
dregstudios writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:51:15 PM

The Academy certainly went with much higher brow nominees this year which I think will lose them a large portion of their young audience. After doing better at being in touch with the public the past two years, these stiff nominees just fall flat. I usually have something in common with the choice but not this year- if the contenders seem stuffy to you, check out my own Top 10 Movie Picks of 2011 at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-movie-picks-of-2011.html where you won’t see a single of the Academy’s nominees for Best Picture but you will get some movie artwork I drew up as well as the reviews!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:02:42 PM

Because if the voters were black and female they'd either be straddling the gauze and/or stealing all the trophies to pawn or use them as weapons to hold up whitey.

(Oh please, you KNEW this post was coming).


minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:09:54 PM

lol@Ranger, and Dreg, nice site, some good picks and interesting art, but I really hate it when people use an established place to advertize their own. Not very classy, not that I would know anything about class, but hey...
vaodsi writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:46:44 PM

you mean male and JEWISH right?
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:47:42 PM

NAACP image Awards picked Jump Over the Broom and Mike Epps for the win so there's your answer
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:04:13 PM

Was there ever a time when the Oscars weren't biased?
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:07:34 PM

And thats the way it should be
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:20:42 PM

^^

Get a life. Who really cares what you think? Are you an Academy member? Do you have anything to do with making films? Or do you just watch them all day long and wonder why you don't have a girlfriend ?

minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:27:28 PM

lol@trailertrash!
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:54 PM

LOL.
birnam writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:47:03 PM

.....and jewish. They forgot that part.
Quidd writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

Hey I have a follower!!! Just like MINK!!!!!!! I am on my way to the TOP!!!!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:07:03 PM

^Because you're tired of being a bottom.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:28:57 PM

Question: Do you think the Oscars have been biased toward women and minorities?

No, I think the "Oscars" are biased towards the "almighty dollar" and "sh*te movies"
Man in Black writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:34:40 PM

Diversify ? never gonna happen , the MPAA will dissolve before the Oscars stops giving awards to sh*tty movies . ( Looking at you Shakespeare in love , winning over Saving Private Ryan ) .

And as to the question , what Dave said " Money talks " .
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:14 PM

So gay jewish men vote on movies? Yeah, I don't think black folks are going to care. Neither do I.
the eye writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 11:45:37 PM

I have a friend with his own production company... He told me hollywood is run by gays & Jews! If you want to get ahead, claim Judaism, be openly gay, or do a gay role. Look what happened to Fox when she referred to Bay as Hitler! She quite possibly has been blacklisted by Spielberg and/or her quality of roles have been diminished. i.e. NOTHING big like transformers
Sexual orientation & religion, in hollywood, trumps race but all are preceded by the color green!
Peace
Johnnyb writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 12:39:14 AM

Obviously, beside gays being portrait by straight guys, we haven't see them get the big one, latinos haven't make it and also Chinese that were suppose to take the big one this year with Zhang Zimou pic about the Nanking's massacre with Bale on it. Jews, as far I'm concern, they will and still dominate this business as long they can. that answer your absurd question pal....
pornfly writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 1:50:05 AM

'Overwhelmingly white'
HA
trailertrash writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 3:03:18 AM

Quidd

Haha you wish pal, The only followers you have are store detectives, i bet .....
Bullit writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 5:23:42 AM

@The eye: Interesting to know what you're saying and it doesn't surprise me one bit. Megan Fox is a blattant example. Not that I pitty the silly bitch but it just shows what's really going on.

Jim Caviezel is the perfect example since he played Jesus and he paid it with dire consequences as he had a very promising career.
beepboop writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 11:26:52 AM

skin colour or gender doesn't matter. the academy members will vote for boring movies like hugo, because they vote for things unrelated to their gender and ethnicity.
if the academy members were all diversified they would still vote for the certain movies. nothing would change.
elrei writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 6:40:21 PM

SHOCKING!

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Joss Whedon Discusses Iron Man's Hulkbuster Suit in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved