WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Ghost Rider 2" Lost to "Safe House" and "The Vow" This Weekend

Posted: February 20th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Ghost Rider 2" Lost to "Safe House" and "The Vow" This WeekendSubmit Comment
"Safe House," starring Denzel Washington and Ryan Reynolds, was able to beat "The Vow" this weekend, despite losing to the film last weekend. "Safe House" grossed $24 million for a domestic total of $78 million. The movie will easily earn back its $85 million budget. "The Vow" settled for second place with $23.6 million, bringing its domestic total to $85 million. It cost only $30 million to make.

"Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance," which was a new release of the weekend, ended up in third place with $22 million. Even though tracking numbers showed that it would open closer to $32 million, the sequel is on its way to becoming profitable, since it cost only $57 million to develop. It has a terrible 15% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"This Means War" landed in fifth place with $17.6 million. It grossed an additional $11 million overseas and another $1.6 million from Valentine's Day previews. The $65 million comedy will struggle to become profitable, especially since it has a lousy 24% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "Safe House" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
mcm317 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:52:24 AM

not surprised. the vow came out during valentines day so of course its gonna make money and safe house has denzel. anddddddddddddd nick cage is delusional
realgirl76 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:54:42 AM

sh*tty choice of new releases this week.
kBob writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:16:07 AM

Ghost Rider 2 lost waaaay before the battle even began...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:20:30 AM

Good that "Safe House" held on..pity that "The Vow" is making money.

Looks like Nic Cage is losing his touch.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:28:01 AM

yay, maybe at some point in the near future studios will figure out what the rest of us have known all along- that McG is a f*ckin terrible hack director- and decide to save their pennies financing his dogsh*t movies...
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:28:07 AM

I always thought the sequel/ reboot of GR was gonna be better, but same problem as the first one: all style, no substance... "The more things change, the more they stay the same." I'm really losing my faith in the CRANK boys. JONAH HEX & now this...

THE VOW (or as I call it, THE NOTEBOOK lite) still going strong this February due to Valentine's as expected.

THIS MEANS WAR is also struggling, possibly by the reviews with words such as "mean spirited", "shallow", and "underdeveloped plot". Starpower was there, but not the plot to use them. Rave reviews of Hardy, despite the movie, though.
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:28:31 AM

Losing dave ?!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:48:08 AM

I know trailer...what was I thinking...lol.
secondbest writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:14:13 AM

Aw, man. Who would've thought that a movie where a skeletal demonic humanoid pisses fire in the trailer would do so bad?
Rambo writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:27:06 AM

'this means war' would have made more money if it had a stronger female lead..
telur writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:44:20 AM

This Means War is good movie. They should released one week earlier
telur writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:45:15 AM

This Means War is valentine movie and they release feb 17th?
LastActionHero writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:37:13 AM

Its what they deserve for casting that moron Cage.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:58:09 AM

Ghost Rider has a 15% fresh rating.........you don't say
trailertrash writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:50:00 AM

Was kind of interested in Ghost Rider to see how Neveldine and Taylor did outside of the brilliant Crank films, I wasn't much of a fan of Gamer.

Plus Idris is in it to.

People i know that watched it this weekend said it was bad, Really bad infact, So i will wait for the Blu Ray.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 8:57:34 AM

I'm with you TT, Netflix rental all the way.
pornfly writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 9:22:41 AM

This is gonna drive Nic Cage crazy
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:15:28 PM

This film will still be bearable for 2 reasons Nicholas and Cage (despite all his rage) the man is a genre in himself so judging him by the standards of normal films is unfair. If you have 4 minutes of life watch this video and see why he's the craziest mother f*cker in the business http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP1-oquwoL8
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:46:10 PM

Stiff competition, then.

Safe House is action, a standard fare for guys who pay for the tickets, and it has veteran Denzel, and girl favorite Reynolds.

The Vow is cynically and specifically targeted for the Valentine crowd.

Ghost Rider simply entered theaters at the WRONG time, and lacks an audience.

Cage didn't have a chance.
Taco writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:47:29 PM

Well I did see Ghost rider and let me tell you all the FX shot were in the trailer! Nothing new to see, and it's actually boring. The entire middle, nothing happens! They made GR boring.
SeWerin writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:01:13 PM

How was Nick Cage's cobra performance?
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:02:20 PM

Well, it rattled me.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:12:02 PM

GHost rider sequel sucked ballz.I rather watch Drive Angry,Prophecy,Legion again.

Idris Elba is a horrible actor.OVERRATED as f*ck and he DIES HAHAHAHAHAH f*cking HAITIAN.

The only good thing was the Christopher Lambert cameo which i'm happy for cause he got paid.and that Ciaran Hinds guy kicked ass as the Devil. Not even Nic Cages crazy behavior can save this piece of sh*t movie.Should of watched Safe House instead.NOw for watching this turd I have no choice to give Spiderman a chance.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:14:29 PM

also saw Horrible Bosses in the weekend and its a geat comedy.its so great that my favorite character was Colin Failure's.and I hate that f*cker.but due to good writing even he can be good in roles.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:52:35 PM

They should have put a fighting robot or a gay vampire in Ghost Rider. Would have done much better.
Džeko writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 2:21:48 PM

I almost feel sorry for poor Nic...almost.
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 2:22:20 PM

So... I don't see any of the lurkers on this thread contributing.

BIG surprise. Nope... they just sit back, hating their lives, jealous of the attention top-posters get on here.

Internet lurkers... how pathetic.

As for the topic at hand.

This is no surprise. I wouldn't pay to see Ghost Rider in the theater.

Safehouse won on star power alone (duh). Denzel brings in the movie fans and ladies. Reynolds brings in the ladies and internet lurkers.

The Vow wasn't even on my radar.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 2:29:20 PM

"The Vow wasn't even on my radar."

Nope. With Channing, it's on our Gaydar.
SeWerin writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 4:29:38 PM

"Well, it rattled me. "

Well played sir. Well played.
minkowski writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:31:51 PM

Thanks. lol.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:15:30 PM

Man was ghost rider 2 bad... Really bad. It was soo bad it makes the first one brilliant... Nic cage was kinda funny to watch as always...
carmen writes:
on February 27th, 2012 at 10:52:36 PM

the first one was boring. I hope the coming one is better .
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 4:44:57 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 2nd, 2017 at 4:04:45 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved