WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Steven Spielberg's Cinematographer Says "Indiana Jones 5" is His Next Film
Oct 2nd, 2014
Ethan Hawke Considered For Marvel's "Doctor Strange"
Oct 2nd, 2014
Adam Sandler to Make Four Movies Exclusively for Netflix
Oct 2nd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Teases Return For "Iron Man 4"
Oct 2nd, 2014
First Look at Bradley Cooper in Clint Eastwood's "American Sniper"
Oct 2nd, 2014
Michael Caine Says Daniel Radcliffe is His Son in "Now You See Me" Sequel
Oct 2nd, 2014
First Look at Sony's "Angry Birds" Animated Movie
Oct 2nd, 2014
Trailer for Hugo Weaving's "The Mule" Arrives Online
Oct 2nd, 2014
New Trailer for Christian Bale's "Exodus: Gods and Kings," Directed by Ridley Scott
Oct 2nd, 2014
Final Trailer for Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar" Sci-Fi Film
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3" Arrives Online
Oct 1st, 2014
"Tetris" Video Game to Become a Live-Action Sci-Fi Movie
Oct 1st, 2014
Restricted Trailer For "Home Sweet Hell," with Katherine Heigl and Patrick Wilson
Oct 1st, 2014
"Zombieland" Sequel is Moving Forward, Writer and Director Hired
Oct 1st, 2014
New Trailer for "Horrible Bosses 2"
Oct 1st, 2014
Trailer For Russell Crowe's "The Water Diviner," Directed by Crowe
Oct 1st, 2014
Jeremy Renner Says Marvel Wants a Hawkeye/Black Widow Film
Sep 30th, 2014
Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume
Sep 30th, 2014
Kevin Smith Says He Raised Money For "Clerks 3"
Sep 30th, 2014
"Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" Sequel to Premiere on Netflix
Sep 30th, 2014
Trailer for PT Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Sep 30th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Loft" Thriller, with Karl Urban and James Marsden
Sep 30th, 2014
"Black Widow" Movie Almost Happened Before "Iron Man"
Sep 29th, 2014
First Look at Kristen Stewart's "Equals" Sci-Fi Film
Sep 29th, 2014
Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Easily Wins at Box Office
Sep 29th, 2014
"Police Academy" Reboot Abandons Judd Apatow's Storyline
Sep 29th, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Attached to "Interstellar"?
Sep 28th, 2014
Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" to Begin Filming in December
Sep 28th, 2014
William Shatner Confirms Offer to Appear in "Star Trek 3"
Sep 28th, 2014
First Trailer for Lifetime's "Aaliyah" Biopic
Sep 28th, 2014
Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?
Sep 27th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Comments on Matt Damon Returning to "Jason Bourne" Franchise
Sep 27th, 2014
First Poster for Liam Neeson's "Taken 3," Plus New Title Revealed
Sep 27th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Two Characters to Return for "Insidious" Sequel

Posted: February 19th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Two Characters to Return for "Insidious" SequelSubmit Comment
It was recently announced that James Wan (Saw) will return to direct a second installment of "Insidious." Now in an interview with DreadCentral, Leigh Whannell revealed that he's back to write the script and will reprise his role from the first movie.

"I can say that yes, my character will be seen in 'Insidious 2,'" he explained. "It may probably bum a lot of people out, though, to hear this news. It's part of the reason I don't even read the internet message boards anymore; there was this hatred that spewed out from fans saying 'I hated those guys! They sucked! They ruined the movie!' so there will probably be a lot of people out there who will be disappointed to hear that the Specs and Tucker characters will be coming back."

There's still not solid plan regarding when "Insidious 2" will begin shooting, but it's already set to hit theaters in 2013. At this point, Wan is busy with pre-production on "The Warren Files," a supernatural film starring Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga.

Source: DreadCentral


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MovieFanAttic writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:05:58 AM

is Insidious worth my time...
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:06:14 AM

Haven't seen the first, so that's all good.

"At this point, Wan is busy with pre-production on "The Warren Files," a supernatural film starring Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga.

That doesn't sound anything like the X-Files...
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:14:47 AM

"A family encounters spirits living among them in their New England farmhouse."

Wow. Real departure Wan. You're the guy that made Saw and Death Sentence, right?
mcm317 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:47:00 AM

part one was decent. gd scares and different. slow at first tho. check it out. better then other crap that comes out these days that are considered horror like the devil inside or paranormal activity
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:49:13 AM

Will do.
mcm317 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:51:50 AM

and if u like tiny tim ull like insidious,lol
Venom1970 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 1:25:02 AM

Insidious was a great horror, as stated not like crap thats thrown out lately, was fresh and a real Creepy eery feel! Second should be great too!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 1:25:33 AM

this movie was cool and a hell of alot better than all 3 paranormal activities combined
pornfly writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 1:29:26 AM

Cool movie but dont even remember these guys
Malt liquor and weed is a winning combination
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:12:04 AM

Never watched the first...aint watching the second.
Sev writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 3:59:03 AM

First twenty minutes are ok, then it turns it complete garbage after that unfortunately. The ending is silly and not scary at all :/
TheFilmmaker writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 4:34:19 AM

How does this movie warrant a sequel? It was just as awful as Paranormal Activity.
Morbius writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 4:35:16 AM

'I hated those guys! They sucked! They ruined the movie!'

Umm, I think the whole last 30 minutes; the moronic opera, and Freddy Krueger's deranged half brother ruined an already poor movie, for me. .
AYT BALL writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 8:49:22 AM

Biggest pile of red lit, smoke machined, face painted sh*te I've ever seen!!
Robin writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 10:00:03 AM

I think it's worth checking out. See it alone at night then u might get a little creeped out.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 11:51:59 AM

"I don't even read the internet message boards anymore; there was this hatred that spewed from fans..."

Well, I never been so insulted in all my life! The insolence! The audacity! The unmitigated gall!

...F*cker!

synthetic1985 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 1:14:51 PM

come on guys this was a good movie, for a pg13 rating and better than paranormal activity, at least its scares and the eerie feels and what not, even the story was pretty good i thought...there's real effort put into this movie and speaking of those two returning i'm all for it, i thought they were hilarious and that lady from kingpin was on it too...people forget what being scared of scary movies is like, but when it's a decent film you haven't seen or better, i'd say give it a watch it's well worth the time than another paranormal activity or another devil inside as stated before, and since i thought it did good i'm looking forward to seeing what new scares they can come up with...and it's real simple, they can always ask around peoples' stories of sh*t that happened to them to get ideas for more scares
AYT BALL writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:22:00 PM

@ synthetic1985 - I don't usually hate on movies on here, but horror movies used to be my thing so it really bugs the hell out of me that people have just ran out of ideas for good ones. When i was a kid i had The Thing, Elm Street (first one) Halloween!.....name ONE horror movie in the last ten years that will still be talked about in 20 years time! The ONLY decent horror movies these days are coming from the foreign market, seems they haven't forgotten whats truly creepy. Insidious had about 2 good moments, the guy standing in the kids room and the voice on the intercom.....but saying that those scenes have been done before. The ORIGINAL content, if you can call it that, was a half assed freddy character that borrowed Darth Mauls makeup and a demon dimension that seemed to think red lighting and smoke machines are still scary! Im not saying i want to see CGI ghosts, to me the less you see the better most of the time (for example the original FOG) but when a so called ghost is just some dude in makeup standing in a room.....sorry, but try harder hollywood and look to Asian movies for a clue! rant over ;-)
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:28:43 PM

The first Saw was fresh, exciting and interesting...
AYT BALL writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:33:55 PM

@ Mink - i Liked the first Saw, but only for the ending, i thought the rest was just trying too hard to shock, and to be honest if it had stood alone it may have made more of an impression over time but the sequels pissed all over any credibility that it earned.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:37:41 PM

@ AYT BALL, true on ya mate, don't see this being talked about in decades to come but still, it was a better spur the moment film...but i hate how hollywood makes these spur the moment films that are just stupid and they cast the worst of people to play these parts that are insulting to those of higher intelligence that deserve better entertainment for their money's worth as well as the respect for the art itself
AYT BALL writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 2:42:49 PM

@ synthetic1985 - couldn't agree more, if a movie comes out that does any kind of business, they bring out another 10 based on the same idea, just throwing money at the same old crap. I think when an original scrip does land on their desks they haven't got the balls to make it because its not tried and tested, but as you say if they respected the art of film making and story telling then those movies would get made.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 3:25:54 PM

Guys, you do realize they've been doing this for years, right? I mean, how many of the Halloween sequels, save Halloween II, and how many of the Nightmare and Friday sequels were anything but moneymaking?

As for Saw, I'm not one of those people that think whatever comes after, a sequel, prequel, remake, whatever, somehow does damage to the original film, which imo stands alone.

I think the first Saw was fine, and though perhaps it tried hard to shock, so did the first Nightmare, and in fact, a long-standing staple of most modern horror is the shock factor.

Cannibal Holocaust? Salo? The Hills have Eyes and Texas Chainsaw? Yep. All of them.

Saw is a good film. I won't allow the terrible sequels to diminish what Wan did there because that's unfair to him and his film.

I don't think though he needs to do another Insidious unless he truly feels there's more story to tell. Perhaps he does. I don't know.
johnny_boy writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 3:57:29 PM

First one was cool. Wan did a master job on a $1.5 million budget. With that said, I'm excited that a sequel is coming however I don't think Wan was planing to make a sequel to this until now for whatever reason. What made Saw part 2 and 3 great was that he seemed to have those all planned out. With Insidious, it seems like he just wanted it to end right there
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 6:11:45 PM

Insidious is f*cking amazing, the style they went with was done very nicely, the movie got kinda dragged on around the end but picked it up for a very good finish.

Cant wait for the sequel :)
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 6:20:04 PM

@ Mink

Is Cannibal Holocaust and Salo any good?
They've been on my horror Watch list for awhile now.

Horror movie are y Favorite movies.
i own all the Halloweens, The Nightmares, the Friday the 13ths, The Leprechauns, the Childs plays and far too many more to name. I've always been a big fan of sequels, and when they make a horror movie sequel i kinda get excited, usually its crap, but sometimes, they're good, got lots of hopes for this one...

@ aytball

one of the best horror movies ive ever seen, definitely in my top 15 is session 9.

That movie scares the f*ck outta me. i recommend you watch it ;)
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 7:00:50 PM

I think it depends on HOW you want to be scared. If bogeymen are more your style, stick with what you know. If the horrific evil of rather ordinary men frightens you, and you have a STRONG stomach, watch them.

Still haven't decided if I want to even TRY to watch a Serbian film. Necrophiliac infant rape may be Ranger's Friday night drug of choice but old mink isn't quite that depraved.

Yet.
AYT BALL writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 7:25:13 PM

@ Tanman32123 - Totally agree with you on Session 9, but hardly anyone even heard of that movie, its a shame because they nailed it, creepy as hell with not a lot happening on screen, but again its all about the money, Session 9 probably didn't make them much so movies like that are few and far between. and Cannibal Holocaust is worth a watch, it looks like crap now but it was probably the first (maybe wrong) found footage horror movie to come out. Its a classic, but not very classy.

@ Mink - Honestly don't bother with a Serbian film, just another Hostel style movie, like some child of a director doing everything he can to make someone talk about his sh*tty movie, its not original, its just childish, i felt insulted that the director assumed it would shock me, i was just shocked some dumb ass producers funded it.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 7:42:08 PM

I mentioned Session 9 in a recent thread just yesterday. Saw it a long time ago. Good movie, but as I said then, I felt that I wasn't really all that surprised because I suspected one of the men was the killer early in the film.
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 7:43:11 PM

As for Serbian Film, yeah, not so sure, but then I feel I have to watch at least some of it just to know more about the controversy surrounding it.
DexterMorgan writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 7:55:24 PM

first was good
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 8:25:40 PM

@ mink, haha i know hollywood's been at effortless sequels for years but even then it was semi abused, in the 90s it was overly abused, and nowadays it's beyond overly abused, they've stolen every good idea that came out and now it's at the point where peoples' good ideas are kept secretive until they're in a position to make their idea a reality instead of hollywood stealing it
kBob writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 9:02:11 PM

I liked Insidious. Enjoyable little horror flick. What I admire about Wan is his ability to make extremely graphic films such as Saw and make bloodless films like Insidious and still manage to keep the same sinister tone throughout. Horror, IMO, is hardest genre to execute. Something only skilled filmmakers can accomplish.
kBob writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 9:09:35 PM

Salo is not a film for those with weak stomachs. It's an extremely brutal presentation of sexual depravity and fetishism to a certain extent (sh*t eating, scalping, etc.) It was so controversial at the time that the director of the film was assassinated prior to the release. But god damn, that score in the opening credits is so tranquil and chilling. Runs a chill through my spine haha.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 11:31:14 PM

Salo or 120 days of Sodom is a literary work of Marquis de Sade, and individual for which using "sickest, most sexually depraved motherf*cker on earth" to describe him doesn't do him justice; makes pedophiles, serial rapists, pornagraphers look like underachievers...32 years of his life in slammers and insane asylums mostly for his writings.

@kBoB: And you say the director of 120 got assassinated, huh? F*cker got off easy. The sh*tstorm he would get were he alive would have been legendary IMO.
That or he would've made a fortune in the adult movie industry..LOL
White Noise writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:08:09 AM

I love horror movies and went to this one hearing it was good. It was probably the worst horror movie i have ever seen. Some parts the entire theater was laughing.
mcm317 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 1:54:50 AM

kbob awesome avatar
kBob writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 3:12:30 AM

@CelluloidMan

According to wikipedia "[Pier Paolo]Pasolini was murdered by being run over several times with his own car, dying on 2 November 1975 on the beach at Ostia, near Rome."

Salo got banned in several countries. Despite the artistic aspect, the guy basically adapted child pornography and most people don't take to kindly to that lol.

@mcm317

Thanks. Its one of those "If you grew up in the 90s, you'll know exactly what I'm talkin' about" kind of avatars.
halostingray87 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 5:52:13 PM

I am sorry but I have to jump in with my 2 cents on this one... Session 9 was Horrible. I knew almost immediately that it was one of the actual crew as the killers... plus where was the actual "fear" factor? And the ending was a bit convoluted and lacking, almost like the writer and director understood the "truth" of everything but just didn't explain it well...

Insidious on the other hand I Loved and thought was, for me, the best horror movie I've seen in years. It didn't rely on gore, nudity (not that I mind such things) or unnecessary dialogue. I felt the story was an original twist to an old fable (ghost story). Granted I think the 3rd act could have been a little more fleshed out but it wasn't Bad.

It's just a good film altogether.
Orias writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:25:08 PM

Insidious was a good movie and it was more realistic than the usual Hollywood drivel. I read about the Occult and keep up on the ghost hunting books and mags and while the movie is not revolutionary it added some ‘realism’ to it that made it scarier for me. Whether you believe in ghosts or not one thing for sure is that “Hollywood” style ghosts do not exist. Ghosts can’t physically kill people, I think that we can all agree on that otherwise the newspapers would be full of deaths by ghosts every weekend in the obits. There is a principal of all people having three forms in one (like the holy trinity) the body, soul, and an astral body. This concept has been around since ancient times in various forms. The “Astral body” is like a spirit but on a higher plane than the soul which resides in the body during life. Practitioners of “high magic” think they can send them on errands to do their bidding (or so the grimoires of old state). So the concept of the boy’s soul walking in the land of the dead was interesting and something most other movies did not pick-up on. The Ancient Egyptians themselves believed each person had 5 parts of the soul suck as a Ka and a Ba, and that these types of the soul could be sent on errands by sorcerers through a dreaming state to gain secret knowledge in the land of the dead or far off away to spy on rivals etc.
mcm317 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 10:29:41 PM

has anyone seen grave encounters. just seen it on netflix. i enjoyed it
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 2:31:12 AM

@Mink,

as weird and f*cked as it sounds (no offense ranger) i'm kinda into that f*cked up genre of Horror films, the ones where; They will kill the character in a sadistic f*cked up way thats never been done before.

my stomach is very well fit for horror movies, when i heard people where passing out during movies like "The Devil Inside" and "The Women in Black" i was like, "Seriously, These movie are not scary" and if i so happen to jump during a scene in the movie, its only because they crank the noise to a ridiculous level and have something jump out at the screen. its annoying if anything.

@ayt ball

Man i loved that movie, i tried to get some friend to watch. got 3 people to watch it before i was "borrowed without being returned" f*ckers. Next time i see it in like an HMV or something ill pick it up again.

@ Kbob
I've honestly Searched high and f*cking low for Salo. i'm sure i could always watch it on the internet but i want some sort of dvd to add to my collection. Something to bring to a buddies to freak him out lol I can't wait to watch that, as f*cked as that sounds, i wanna compare these urban underground films to the apparent "scariest movies"

what really made insidious amazing to me was the feeling it gave me throughout the film, The style and the Tone mixed with the soundtrack and that awesome song fit so f*cking perfectly. Tip toe,Threw the tulips! ;P

and finally @orias

i actually believe in that type of stuff, I've heard those old tales of hauntings in the 60's and stuff that just really sound true, like the true story of The Exorcist or something, i heard there was a book and a doc*mentary or some sh*t, never got around to watching it, anyway.. i love the idea of ghosts, they're up there with the genre of horror that freaks me out.

Matt Damon to Return For "Jason Bourne 5"

"Guardians of the Galaxy" Wins Worst Box Office Weekend of the Year

Did Aquaman Save superman in "Man of Steel"? Aquaman's Look Possibly Revealed

"No Good Deed" Beats "Dolphin Tale 2" For First Place at Box Office

If You Downloaded "The Expendables 3" Illegally, Lionsgate is Coming For You

Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn Confirmed for Second Season of "True Detective"

David Fincher Regrets Making "The Game," Says Superhero Film are Dull

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Tom Hardy Says Making "This Means War" Was a Bad Experience

Lou Ferrigno Says "Hulk" Movie and TV Series are Coming
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved