WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Galaxy Quest" Director to Helm "Red" Sequel

Posted: February 18th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Galaxy Quest" Director to Helm "Red" SequelSubmit Comment
Robert Schwentke, who directed "Red" for Summit Entertainment in 2010, will not return for the sequel. As a result, the studio (now owned by Lionsgate) has hired Dean Parisot (Fun with Dick and Jane, Galaxy Quest) to replace him.

Bruce Willis, Helen Mirren, John Malkovich and Morgan Freeman are all expected to reprise their roles as special ops agents forced out of retirement. No deals are signed.

The plan is to begin shooting later this year, most likely after Willis completes work on "Die Hard 5."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:06:13 AM

I kind of liked RED, If everyone returns i would watch another one.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:20:41 AM

Guess that's the call Willis is getting to tell hime there will be a sequel to "RED".

Havn't seen it yet meself, hear good things on it though.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:21:00 AM

'galaxy quest' is one of the most underrated comedies of all time.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:25:17 AM

Nah dave thats the call saying Ashton is f*cking some younger girl now....
bandolero999 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:59:21 AM

I could of sworn Morgan Freeman died.Malkovich's character should get his own movie and kill everything in sight.

Fun with d*ck and Jane was sh*te

T
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:03:23 AM

Someone dying in a film bando when does ever stop Hollywood bringing them back.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:10:15 AM

Get a new token black guy to play Morgan freemans character.

Red is a good movie though,and its rated pg13
Bullit writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 5:20:50 AM

So, this has become the new bucket list from the old fart's club!

I'll still watch it for Malkovich sake.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 5:31:20 AM

Malkovich made this movie. Would also prefer a spin-off on his character.
boogiel writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 6:53:30 AM

@freud

Agreed. Malkovich really steals the show.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 8:33:19 AM

@ Rambo

Agreed. Galaxy quest is a guilty pleasure. Red was a decent film too, not sure why it was not a box office hit. Bad marketing?
mrstretch writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 9:30:33 AM

@ Rambo Galaxy Quest was the sh*t
Ranger writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 11:28:44 AM

What Freudian said. Malkovich stole every scene he was in.

Freeman is back? So he was wearing a vest. I can believe his return a lot easier than Will Smith in I Am Legend.

And WP, despite what your source THR wrote. RED is all supposed to be in CAPS. It's an acronym (Google it).
Džeko writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 11:32:45 AM

Can't wait for Die Hard 5!
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 12:54:32 PM

"Agreed. Malkovich really steals the show."

Doesn't he always? lol.

As for REd, I liked it. Helen Mirren with a big gun, not bad, and Galaxy Quest wasn't bad either.

I'll see this, and yeah, they killed Freeman's character, but it's Freeman, so even though he's a racist f*ck, I love him as an actor.

Stallone out to have the balls, call Denzel in for Expendables 3.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:08:11 PM

"Can't wait for Die Hard 5!"

...because Die Hard 4 was just that awesome, huh?
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:31:46 PM

Greatest movie ending ever:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=heQEZHooAqE
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:34:17 PM

What's YOUR greatest movie ending of all time?
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:46:15 PM

first one the pops into my mind is Arlington Road's ending...
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:52:34 PM

Oooh, that was good. Great film.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:05:36 PM

:-) yes.I also liked 'the mist'(2007)ending but I guess I'm on a minority from reading others thoughts...
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:18:45 PM

The Mist. Great ending there, better than the short story's ending. Great music with Jane on his knees, a broken man. Awesomely dark ending.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:27:52 PM

yes,the music by 'dead can dance' was perfect.very dark ending.very few directors would had the balls to end it like that.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:35:21 PM

Best endings? Hatchet 2, Total Recall, Inception, Sixth Sense, Predator, The A-team (nothing beats death by bodyslam), Fast Five (never seen so much destruction in so little time), Glory (best battle scene of a great film ends with the stars staring into the wrong end of a cannon), In the Mouth of Madness (freakiest ending EVER). Just a few to keep the conversation going. Actually not a bad topic for a guest writer.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:40:51 PM

Yeah, that's what I was thinking, the guest writer thing.

The ending to Commando was boss, too.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:45:07 PM

As for a Red sequel, why? How do all these sh*tty films with even sh*ttier profit margins keep getting sequels? Red bored the living sh*t out of me and was completely pointless. f*ck that film, where's the Galaxy Quest sequel dammit?!?! GQ is a cult classic IMO. Great film with tons of heart, it deserved a sequel a long time ago.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:48:08 PM

The Mist had the best ending of all time. Its my favorite horror movie simply because of how it ended. f*cking brutal!!! Good call Mink.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:50:36 PM

My bad Rambo, good call on the Mist.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:54:39 PM

Many people complained about it but I thought The Grey had a perfect ending too. That serioulsy is one of the best films I've seen in a long time. Do yourself and the rest of the film loving community a favor and go see it while its still in the theaters. We need more films like it to get produced.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:55:34 PM

no worries sac...another bad ass moment in this movie was when the little guy shot the annoying bible lady...I f*cking stood up in the middle of the cinema and started clapping.that never happened to me before or after in a movie.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:09:11 PM

My whole theater clapped when that happened. That movie seriously pulled NO punches.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:22:30 PM

The Descent, original British cut.

f*cked. Up.

And Session 9 was pretty messed up but the execution was lacking I thought.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:06:16 PM

What's different in the British cut of the Descent?
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:42:58 PM

The ending.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jf_-vwIrsQ
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 5:41:17 PM

Loved The Mist and it's ending plus having 2 sons myself to do what he did makes that the most shocking and truly terrifying ending ever.

Always seem to think of good endings of films of the ones i watched more as a youngster. A few i can think of;

The Italian Job (the British one), Wild Geese, Planet of the Apes, Too Late The Hero, Godfather 2, Rocky films, Dr Strangelove, Butch Cassidy.


trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 5:48:44 PM

Monster Club with Vincent Price the 3rd story with Stuart Whitman as the film dirctor that goes to hidden village in the English countryside to scout locations, Is then hunted by ghouls that want to eat him.

He escapes and thinks he is safe when he's picked up by a police car but they then take him back to the village again, Man that was one scary story.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 7:07:03 PM

The sixth sense is a given,shocking ending,the only thing is that movie bored the sh*t out of me until the ending.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 7:32:06 PM

Yeah, I didn't see it coming. I should have, but I didn't. And the ending to Unbreakable was good, and so was the ending to The Others, sort of, but none of them are really epic imo...
kBob writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 8:01:13 PM

I wasn't a huge fan of the movie, but Hot Rod has an epic ending. Him kicking the sh*t out of his step-father was worth the price of the rental lol. Personal favorite though: Shawshank Redemption. Beautiful ending, very bromantic. Yes I said bromantic...so shoot me.
kBob writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 8:03:18 PM

Shocking ending: Usual Suspect. Spacey is one of the greatest actors of our time.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 8:09:56 PM

The original Shawshank ending was Red on the bus, but the studio felt that the test audiences wanted something more conclusive and less ambiguous, so they shot the beach scene.
mrstretch writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 9:09:36 PM

A Serbian Film has the most jacked up ending ever . Watch it at your own risk.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 9:47:43 PM

Oh, that film. I already heard about it from Ranger. He wrote the script.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 10:12:02 PM

I do love The Mist ending. Darabont did a great job with that film. Wonder how many sandwich's Jane had on the set?
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:15:42 AM

You should ask the 'meat'.
La Grinta Belga writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 9:44:47 AM

Haven't seen "Red" should I? or is this just an impressive cast bu a very poor film?

I agree with the ending of "the Mist"...also liked the ending of "saw (1)"
Džeko writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:29:19 PM

@minkowski
It's not the best action flick ever but it certainly had it's charm.
Džeko writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 1:07:04 PM

Btw,The Machinist ending was pretty awesome.
Rambo writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 3:45:58 PM

I liked the ending of this movie also:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIxGbar9pVI
minkowski writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 8:55:40 PM

Yep. Just downloaded it from Youtube. Plan on converting it to AVI and stitching it back together.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 2:09:18 AM

Good topic. My favorites off the top of my head:

Mike Newell's DONNIE BRASCO starring Johnny Depp & Al Pacino...forgetaboutit! Great acting and the ending fits well to the idea, "no one really won" at the end.

Terry Gilliam's 12 MONKEYS. It makes you think about the ending after the movie is finished. BTW I never say this, but Brad Pitt rocks in this. He's virtually unrecognizable as his pretty boy self; with this one I knew the f*cker could act...lazy roles for him nowadays.

Surprisingly, SPIDER-MAN 2. **SPOILER ALERT** When PP turns around without the mask and sees MJ staring at him...my jaw dropped with that one, I wasn't expecting it at all- at just the sequel! Then she messes up the moment saying she kinda knew it was him. That ruined the moment for me...but very cool up to that point.

Wouldn't be bad if WP posts a couple of these type of questions now and again...not bad at all.
mcm317 writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:17:21 PM

i thought SEVEN had a great ending. some endings are dark though. for example has anyone seen that film where i think chow yun fat is a race car driver and theres a kid in it and chow dies at the end. i cant remember the title
rabid writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 12:50:14 PM

The last film was total sh*t and ruined the chance of a great comic book seeing the screen. So these cats can f*ck off with their geriatric comedy. I'll save this one for when its on hbo at the nursing home someday.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved