WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Will Smith in Talks for "I Am Legend" Sequel

Posted: February 17th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Will Smith in Talks for "I Am Legend" SequelSubmit Comment
"I Am Legend" grossed $584 million worldwide, which is why Warner Bros is now developing a sequel. Not a prequel, as previously rumored, but a direct sequel. The studio has hired Arash Amel (The Expatriate) to write the script.

The intention is for Will Smith to reprise his role as scientist Robert Neville, who was the last man on Earth doing battle with a mutated mob in New York City after an apocalyptic man-made virus wiped out the population.

Smith won't sign on to star until he sees the script, but he's already on board to produce. And there's still no word on whether Francis Lawrence is interested in directing again. Akiva Goldsman, who co-wrote the first film, will also return to produce.

Source: THR, Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Champ1432 writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 8:28:42 PM

So he survived the huge explosion that no one could possibly survive?

I see............

Or are they going to do a little retconning and go with the alternate ending, where he lives, if I'm not mistaken.

Either way...... this is probably a pass for me.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 8:28:57 PM

f*ck this film. f*ck the first one.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:02:16 PM

Will Smith always keeping the slave masters happy.
Ranger writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:03:47 PM

Everyone watch Heston's 'The Omega Man' and forget about this stupid sequel whereby Will survived an explosion that was impossible to survive.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:12:18 PM

There can't be much joy in being black *and* the last man on earth.

No white women to f*ck, no one to steal from and no one to blame when you screw up.

Just kidding.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:14:20 PM

Well he can steal all he wants but no one is gonna Chase him.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:23:33 PM

Or ask him for ID when he's walking through the white neighborhoods.
boogiel writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:27:57 PM

Meh...not interested...I think he should stay dead.
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:30:36 PM

Mink


You sir better watch out

your communist buddy The Eye is watching this blog with his Watson IBM home super computer capable of holding 3000 teraflops of video, music, and written word

He might send you to clean the streets of Detroit
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:43:01 PM

Well, I'm in line to see Safe House despite all the bad reviews. Will also pay to see this IAL sequel (just to support Will's career). Now I just need to car jack some poor white person to complete the nigga triple play. Are you happy Mink, all your theories bout Black people are true :)
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:52:16 PM

Will Smith The Movie 2
OneTime writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 9:59:09 PM

sigh....
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 10:29:23 PM

lol@Crazy

"Now I just need to car jack some poor white person to complete the nigga triple play."

aka (not KKK) The Triggax Trifecta.
Ranger writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 10:36:25 PM

'Smith won't sign on to star until he sees the script,' --- bullsh*t. He won't sign on 'til he sees the cash offer and back-end percentage.

There isn't a (realistic) person ALIVE that saw I Am Legend and thought Will survived holding that grenade.

A sequel. Wow... what a load of sh*t.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:10:36 PM

If angelina Jolie can survive a bullet to the skull (Wanted sequel) I'm sure Will can survive being blown to pieces by a grenade :)

@mink: Trig's a Canadian. They moose jack up there.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:12:36 PM

Man Denzel sure loves making white peolpe look stupid.....before he kills them! I love this movie so far!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:13:56 PM

If Smith had wanted to do a sequel so badly then he should have gone with the alternative ending.

Nope, I won't be wasting good money to see this.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:22:59 PM

New trailer for Woody Harrelson's Rampart looks perfect for Alex and the WP following.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:24:19 PM

Never saw the first but I did hear that his character didn't survive...so will be funny to see how they work that one out.

Or....there is another lones surviver...a kid in Los Angeles...you can guess where I am going with this.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:25:17 PM

Weeeeeeell, the Wanted sequel has that Lazarus Pit thing going on so I think they're trying to say she was put into the regeneration chamber or something.

Whatever.

In all reality, I don't have too much trouble with Will, it's the invention of his kid as a forced superstar that's annoying, and it isn't just him either. Timberlake, Efron, Lautner and a *sshole load of *ssholes shouldn't be forced on us.

"@mink: Trig's a Canadian. They moose jack up there."

Damn. That means my snow isn't safe either.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:25:53 PM

Just let his kid do the sequel!
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:31:20 PM

THE ONLY REASON WHY ANYONE SAW THAT P.O.S WAS FOR THE DARK KNIGHT PREVIEW... f*ckIN MORONS
mrstretch writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:36:07 PM

Damn not even grenades can keep Will Smith down. Next time bring kryptonite or jusystick to the original story a d f*ck this sh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:36:31 PM

@ranger

Got "Omega Man" on dvd, havn't got round to seeing it yet but my brother raves about it.

He thinks it is superior to "I am Legend"
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:37:16 PM

It is.
mrstretch writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:37:48 PM

Just stick to the story and f*ck this sh*t and f*ck this keyboars on my ohone
mrstretch writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:38:25 PM

DDDDAAAMMMNNNIIITTT
Ranger writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:40:46 PM

@Dave - I agree with your brother.

Heston... what a resume.
Rambo writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:43:09 PM

I hated the first movie.it started quite nice and then it turned really stupid.I bet they'll find an excuse to bring Jaden Smith into the sequel as well.f*cking will smith.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 11:53:18 PM

Hated this film, really, not because of Smith, but because of the execution, but loved Contagion, which comes to mind.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 12:18:38 AM

I Am Failure.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 12:53:59 AM

I wasn't a fan of the 1st and it's sh*tty cgi mutants. f*ck off and die Will!!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 12:56:24 AM

"Wa choo tahkin' 'bout Willis?" Smith died exploded at the end!!

Smith to star again on part 2!? "Bitch, you crazy!!"
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:26:49 AM

oh mink, how did i not see you're hatred coming lol the first film was f*cking awesome lol I'll watch a sequel, but I've got no f*cking clue how he could come back lol
SergioFX writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:06:18 AM

f*ck this film! f*ck the first one! f*ck Hollywood. Will Smith? I hate him! WB? I f*cking hate them! f*ck everything related to movies!!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:43:15 AM

Agree Ranger

Omega man is a lot better than I am Legend, which is one of the most disappointing films i've ever seen.

Arnold should have made it back in the late 80's and turned it into a big action picture.

A part from a couple of wonderful empty NY scenes i thought it was pretty boring, And f*ck those CGI monster things they were truly terrible.

In fact Vincent Price's The Last Man On Earth is better than I am Legend.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:48:42 AM

The ending where Smith didn't die is worse than the one where he did, Just leave it alone.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:50:13 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kShrs7ghMe8
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 2:54:52 AM

He died at the end of the 1st one, so what?


He'll just play an identical twin.
Rambo writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:23:19 AM

in this case bring danny devito and make it a comedy
Bullit writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 3:33:42 AM

^ ^Ricky Gervais would be better.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:07:03 AM

Idk how Will Smith makes so much bank.he's like the black Tom cruise.

I heard he's a nice guy from people.

I will watch I am legend and omega man to find out.

He totally ruined shark tale for me.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 6:57:28 AM

Wait a minute, before somebody criticizes me. Don't you know that Richard Matheson was the one who wrote the novel, I am Legend, which is also the movie? He also wrote the book Bid Time Return, which was made into a movie, Somewhere in time?

Anyway, what i didn't understand in the 2007/2008 movie was, if Will Smith was in the building that exploded with the zombies, how can he walk nor live again? Kinda makes me wonder if he is stupid along with WB.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 9:56:46 AM

Uh....he died at the end. So let this stupid idea die with him.
DeVries writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:41:19 PM

I never wanted to see I am Legend a second time because I hated so much the CG zombies. Why the f*ck they didn't had real actors and make ups ? The CG looked like sh*t and I still hate that movie for it.
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 5:55:09 PM

I think the same people that did the CG for I Am Legend did the CG for The Thing 2011.

Looks about as bad.
trailertrash writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 6:03:13 PM

lol, ouch ...
mcm317 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 8:42:16 PM

thank you mink. a lot of people i know love the first one and i cant stand that sh*t
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 9:46:56 PM

You're quite welcome.
Lulupendragon writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:48:03 AM

Maybe he is playing his son all grown up? A sequel that takes place several years after the first?
Lulupendragon writes:
on February 19th, 2012 at 12:48:29 AM

nvm ignore the above post. lol
Orias writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:56:57 PM

LOL, I will NEVER look for the trailer online for this movie and suspect even THIS article here on WP IS A TRAP! For at least 2 years there is a running joke on Youtube where some A-hole has several clips purporting to be official I am Legend 2 trailers (and it looks legit) only when you click on them its actually some stupid 1980s music video whose song get's stuck in your head (the 'Never Going to Give You Up' one by Rick Asstley)!
Orias writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:00:41 PM

The Will Smith one sucked because it missed the twist to the premises too. The Omega man was supposed to be the bad-ass physically superior and stronger than the subhumans and the whole idea of him being the last human was the epiphany in the end that HE was the monster to the NEW Human species wiping them out left and right as they try to move on with their lives only to have him terrorizing the "monsters" by killing them one by one and THEY are the new humanity and he is the real monster from their point of view.
Ranger writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 7:54:25 PM

@Orias - I was unaware that how Nevel was to be portrayed. He becomes the antagonist. Nice. If they put that more into either Heston's or Smith's version, sure some may have lost feelings for the man being on his own, but I would have liked it more seeing that we had our chance and the new 'mutants' was the evolution of man.

Thx. for posting that.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 2:37:50 AM

@orias

hmm i was also unaware of that, i kinda wished they had added that into the film, sounds like it would have made it better. not that i'm saying it was bad lol
paulewoggs writes:
on February 21st, 2012 at 2:57:16 AM

How in the hell did that chick and kid live anyway? That grenade would have killed the roomfull, but there were dozens off those scary creepy fast running bastards breaking into that house, they would have just killed that bitch and kid after the fact. That dumb cow wouldn't have made it out of there alive.
minkowski writes:
on March 2nd, 2012 at 8:40:58 PM

"its actually some stupid 1980s music video whose song get's stuck in your head (the 'Never Going to Give You Up' one by Rick Asstley)!"

Yep. It's called rick-rolling. Common thing now-a-days...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved