WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012

Posted: February 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012Submit Comment
Deadline has learned that Disney's upcoming "John Carter" film is tracking very poorly, with the majority still unaware that the movie even exists. In the end, "John Carter" may be the first big flop of 2012.

"It just came out. Women of all ages have flat out rejected the film," said a senior executive at a rival studio. "The tracking for 'John Carter' is shocking for a film that cost over $250 million. This could be the biggest write-off of all time."

This doesn't come as much of a surprise to Disney, which has been expecting lousy numbers for their massive film. The studio is nervous that it will lose a significant amount of money, but is hoping that everything will work out.

"We know that we have a long way to go," said Disney. "It's still four weeks out, and the bulk of the media hasn't hit yet. Our Super Bowl ad did what we intended it to do: have a pop of awareness. On Sunday we launch a full campaign with 90+% of all of our media ready to go."

Question: Do you plan to see "John Carter" in theaters?

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 60 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:11:13 PM

Do you plan to see "John Carter" in theaters?

NO WAY Looks bad ... Plus we've had adverts on TV since Christmas, I have had enough of John Carter already

pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:18:24 PM

They shouldv created a buzz a couple of years ago
All of the sudden go see John Carter go see John Carter
Flops usually happen that way and i dont see anybody goin around talkin it up on the talk show circuit not even on Disney owned channels maybe the kids channels i dont know
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:19:36 PM

I think this is essentially what I said some months ago.

Disney + Live Action = FAIL. Every damned time.

Only Rabid will pay to see this one.
pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:20:22 PM

Also makin the mistake of waitin till the last minute for publicity when there hasnt been a buzz created
pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:20:22 PM

Also makin the mistake of waitin till the last minute for publicity when there hasnt been a buzz created
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:27:10 PM

nice pic change porn

i mgiht see this, but only if I've really bored one random week and have a free movie saved up on my scene card :P
Rambo writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:30:02 PM

250 mil???I think it's going to be the biggest flop in the history of cinema.
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:32:21 PM

Doesn't this film have to earn $700 mil for Disney to even think about a sequel ....

uh-oh
pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:37:15 PM

Thx TAN, its a temp,i'll never leave my bigboobybeerbitch

If this movie has any redeeming qualities it might see some life on Bluray
Then a sequel might be petitioned
pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:37:15 PM

Thx TAN, its a temp,i'll never leave my bigboobybeerbitch

If this movie has any redeeming qualities it might see some life on Bluray
Then a sequel might be petitioned
pornfly writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:38:43 PM

Fukthisphone im dun
trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:39:04 PM

What is it double post party night at your place pornfly

trailertrash writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:39:05 PM

What is it double post party night at your place pornfly

minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:41:18 PM

Uh oh, this place is doing the Michael J. Fox thing again....
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 5:46:16 PM

Well duh. You give the lead role to a actor who is more or less unknown. In a film with a over sized nugget that has a story that's been told way to many times. Disney this is your fault. Your best bet is to stick to animation and if you want to make action films opt some of those comic book characters you bought up and make them in the same fashion as pixar films. I'm sure that would actually be awesome. Imo though
phetburton writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 6:05:35 PM

im definitely seeing this in IMAX 3D, F#?% what everybody else says
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 6:06:14 PM

they should of put an A lister instead.FACKING idiots,not that queer Gambit.I guess this is the Battlefield Earth of this generation.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 6:18:47 PM

As soon as I saw the first footage I called "flop," and nothing has changed my mind afterwards. Too bad, though. I really wished that Andrew Stanton would've fared better.
nawtnt writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 6:21:34 PM

I think John Carter might the biggest flop of the year because there hasn't been no adverts for the movie in the UK.

Maybe it's main lead isn't appealing.

Besides I haven't watched the trailer because the movie isn't appealing.

If this film flops badly which I hope not then Disney might be in big trouble.
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 6:31:42 PM

this is gonna be a rude awakening for Andrew Stanton. everything that guy did at Pixar was a critical and financial success, and he and everyone else at Disney was probably under the assumption that what works for Brad Bird will work for him. Here comes another Waterworld.... ouch
triggax writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 7:02:04 PM


Disney + Live Action = FAIL. Every damned time.

???????

60's Disney Live Action.

Swiss Family Robinson
The Parent Trap
Mary Poppins...
The Jungle Book..

70's
Escape to Witch Mountain
Bedknobs and Broomsticks
Apple dumpling gang rides again
return to witch mountain

80's
Popeye
Honey I shrunk the Kids
Who Framed Roger Rabbit
Tron

90's
the rocketeer
newsies
mighty ducks 1 2 and 3
cool runnings
angels in the outfield
the santa clause
flubber

2000's
remember the titans
KPAX
national treasure 1, 2
Pirates of the caribbean

Although Disney always puts more effort into story and character in the animated films. They've had quite a lot of success in live action. More than most film studios.

Most of these films were well received amongst a lot of other crap from disney. Most of them also more than doubled their budget back, even Popeye which was terrible.

Your statement is bullsh*t. Minky.
DexterMorgan writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 7:06:33 PM

probably not
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 7:07:30 PM

Looks like Conan in Space.
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 7:13:38 PM

"Your statement is bullsh*t. Minky"

So's your mom, trig, that's why you're so dark.

Name one film that was made within the last twenty years that's any good?

Yeah, I wasn't f*cking alive back when they made Cobwebs and d*cksticks or whatever you said, but virtually every film they've made since I've been watching them has SUCKED.

Tron 2? Garbage.

Escape from Witch Mountain? Garbage.

POTC? Trash times 4. Maybe the first one was watchable. Once. While stoned and getting my d*ck sucked.

Snow Dogs? The Rookie? The Haunted Mansion? Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen? Around the World in 80 Days?

Yeah, POTC rakes in the cash. So does Transformers and Twilight.

Thus, I meant fail for me. But fail at the BO works too.

Look here and tell me, by digging through what Disney has produced or co-produced, what was any good, starting with, say, 1995:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Disney_theatrical_feature_films

Can you find one? One?
minkowski writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 8:01:59 PM

Oh, and interesting news that refutes Rabid's version of events regarding the Ghost Rider snafu:

http://news.moviefone.com/eric-larnick/gary-friedrich-ghost-rider-lawsuit-marvel-disney_b_1282549.html
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 8:37:32 PM

What are you trying to say sufan?

I hate it when the Taliban use this site for their encrypted sh*t.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 8:54:01 PM

"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012"

I think 'May' in the headline made me laugh more than anything.

Really? Ripping off every other sci-fi movie shots, sequences and battles and people aren't flocking to the theater to watch such a movie made from a B-comic book?

I am shocked!

Short(er) response...
"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012"

No sh*t!
mustardayonnaise writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 8:57:41 PM

sufan just pm'd and told me i've got $18.6 million waiting for me in an account in Nigeria. cool!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:00:28 PM

"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012

And that's news to us how?

Do you plan to see "John Carter" in theaters?

Because it might be such a colossal f*ck up, I just might....and I said...might!!
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:02:36 PM

this is the 1st time hearing of this movie. it hasnt even come out yet and its already getting neg. responses lol.
vaodsi writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:07:48 PM

disney plus live action has created some of the most lucrative franchises ever even if they suck, Pirates being the most recent. Remember when Avatar wasn't tracking well?... according to RIVAL studios, that is. This will make money, it's got almost no competition. The Lorax comes out the week before, and that will make bank cause it's kid friendly. But teenagers aren't going to go see the Lorax twice, if at all. I doubt PLAYBACK is going to do good business, which comes out the same day as John Carter. The week after is 21 Jump street. SO yeah, John carter is set to be top dog, and if it's any good, word of mouth will give it even more momentum.
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:10:52 PM

Well if no one is going to see this, may I suggest you tune into the lactating Asians at the Hut.

vaodsi writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:17:43 PM

^ LOL
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 9:18:52 PM

"John Carter" May Become Biggest Flop of 2012"
You think?
Ranger writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 10:37:27 PM

@vaodsi... lol.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 11:26:28 PM

I could of sworn that Mars needs Moms was a disney movie as well.and boy did that sh*t bomb hard as f*ck.Saw it on netflix and it wasnt a bad movie,liked the animation and all.since everybody hates it,it'll probably be on sale for like 7 bucks on bluray.
mrstretch writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 12:20:21 AM

Well I think Battleship will be the biggest flop. But more importantly I hope sufan gets raped to death.
the wire writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 12:20:39 AM

john who?
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 12:21:24 AM

Agreed, this train wreck of a movie could've lost less money if the publicity would've been handled better.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 12:31:52 AM

TRIG you so CRAZY.is there such thing as Mexican/Canadians?

FLUBBER is amazing
bandolero999 writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 12:37:01 AM

"So's your mom, trig, that's why you're so dark."

you know with comments like this,black people are so upset and hurt by their skin color that they fell into the myth of skin bleaching.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skin_bleaching

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qZGWknrOjic
Freshman writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 1:14:44 AM

"John Carter May Become Biggest Flop of 2012"

Not f*cking sh*t sherlock.

In other related news: the sky's blue, the grass is green and Michael Jackson was a child molestor.
Ranger writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 1:41:46 AM

@mustard... lol.
Johnnyb writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 1:49:43 AM

Canīt wait for this to happen, after all is another awaited Tron film, years ago which also was a disaster in the B. O., so ok letīs move in with this piece of sh*t!!!!!
witwicky-potter writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 3:34:13 AM

I would.but i couldnt help but think of Avatar when i saw the trailer
Džeko writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 4:58:33 AM

I would rather watch another Adam Sandler comedie...I went to far I'm sorry.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 5:24:19 AM

I`m gonna watch the sh*t out of it because i like the comics and I`m not embarrased to say that Tron 2 was F*****g awsome !!
LastActionHero writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 6:39:21 AM

Looks better than the horrible Conan remake, but thats not saying much.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 7:58:55 AM

Respect TRON or you will be erase USER!, and carter from mars OMFG, that look like sh*t!
Dre-EL writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 8:45:09 AM

I'm gonna see it at the theatres.
triggax writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 8:53:12 AM

Mink, Remember the Titans. Good movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 1:43:11 PM

Define 'good'...
Aaronupsidsium writes:
on February 17th, 2012 at 8:10:45 PM

"Look here and tell me, by digging through what Disney has produced or co-produced, what was any good, starting with, say, 1995:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Disney_theatrical_feature_films

Can you find one? One?"



The Muppets, Enchanted, The Freaky Friday remake were all legitimately great movies.

not to mention they released David Lynch's The Straight Story
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:28:58 AM

@Trig

What Wrong with Flubber!?
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 1:29:35 AM

@Trig

What Wrong with Flubber!?
japaninmotion writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 10:03:57 AM

too bad they were great books
OneTime writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 12:25:11 PM

no
Dr Fate writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 4:45:35 PM

Minkowskis opinion is as reliable as D.o.D intel on Iraqs WMD program before the war
minkowski writes:
on February 18th, 2012 at 11:34:00 PM

...since when is comparing my opinion on Disney's long list of sh*tty films comparable to government intelligence data?

Just shut up now, idiot.

Oh, and The Black Hole and That Darned Cat....lol. Trash.
Orias writes:
on February 20th, 2012 at 6:49:06 PM

Yes I will see it; I can care less what others think and the woman with me and my friend that saw the trailer for it Saturday night said she was looking forward to seeing it as well.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved