WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
New Photo of Ben Affleck as Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 25th, 2014
Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" is Here!
Jul 25th, 2014
First Photos From "Hitman: Agent 47" Reboot
Jul 25th, 2014
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Posters, with Captain America and Black Widow
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for "50 Shades of Grey" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
First Two Posters for "Avengers: Age of Ultron" are Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
First Poster for Marvel's "Ant-Man" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2014
Photos: Batman's Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 24th, 2014
Marvel Takes Old "The Amazing Spider-Man 4" Date, Likely for "Avengers 3"
Jul 24th, 2014
"Hitman: Agent 47" Unveils Comic-Con Banner
Jul 24th, 2014
New Trailer for Pierce Brosnan's "The November Man" Thriller
Jul 24th, 2014
Sony Announces Release Plan for "The Amazing Spider-Man 3" and "Sinister Six"
Jul 24th, 2014
Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" Arrives Online
Jul 24th, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" and "Sinister 2" Unveil Release Dates
Jul 24th, 2014
Trailer for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Unveils First Poster
Jul 23rd, 2014
Marvel Says Real Mandarin and Red Skull May Soon Make an Appearance
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"
Jul 23rd, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Miss Julie," with Colin Farrell and Jessica Chastain
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Predators" Writer to Turn "Deus Ex" Video Game Into a Movie
Jul 23rd, 2014
New Banner for Brad Pitt's "Fury" War Film
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Space Station 76" Sci-Fi Spoof, with Patrick Wilson and Liv Tyler
Jul 23rd, 2014
"Insidious: Chapter 3" is Now Filming, First Photo Revealed
Jul 23rd, 2014
Trailer for "Cybernatural" Horror Film, From Timur Bekmambetov
Jul 23rd, 2014
Will Ferrell and Adam McKay Reteam for "Manimal" Action Comedy
Jul 22nd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Unveils 5 Minute Clip
Jul 22nd, 2014
Marvel Will Release One Sequel and One New Franchise Each Year
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Imitation Game," with Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley
Jul 22nd, 2014
Poster for "Toy Story" Special "Toy Story That Time Forgot"
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Rooney Mara's "Trash" Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Dwayne Johnson Hints He's Set to Play Shazam Superhero
Jul 22nd, 2014
Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Predestination" Time-Travel Thriller
Jul 22nd, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Almost Starred in "Dumb and Dumber" and "Batman and Robin" Sequel

Posted: February 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Almost Starred in "Dumb and Dumber" and "Batman and Robin" SequelSubmit Comment
Nicolas Cage is out there speaking to the press about "Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance" and is getting a lot of questions about his other movies and roles that he passed on, including the role of Harry in "Dumb and Dumber" that eventually went to Jeff Daniels.

Moviefone suggested that Cage and Jim Carrey do a movie together since they were so great together in "Peggy Sue Got Married." Cage replied: "You know, we don't really speak so much anymore. We used to be very close. Not that there's anything wrong. We just fell out of conversation -- who knows why? [Earlier in our careers] we talked at length about trying to do a movie together. In fact, he wanted me to be in 'Dumb and Dumber' with him. And then I wanted to do a much smaller movie instead called 'Leaving Las Vegas.'"

Speaking to MTV, Cage said that Joel Schumacher wanted him to play the Scarecrow in a Batman film after "Batman and Robin." "[Schumacher] came to visit me when I was on the set of 'Con Air,'" the actor explained. "I was in my camper and he said he was going to do another installment of 'Batman' and that he would like me to play The Scarecrow. Which would have been a lot of fun I must admit especially with Joel because he and I share a similar sense of humor. It was literally and hour lunch. That was as far as it went."

Source: Moviefone, MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 11:12:08 PM

Uh no that would of been too weird.
minkowski writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 11:25:24 PM

Scarecrow? Well, he has a strawman's hair, so I can see it working.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 11:31:45 PM

Weirdo Cage.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 11:46:16 PM

What I read about the fifth Batman movie "Batman: Triumphant" it would have been really good but as "Batman & Robin" killed the whole franchise with its extreme campness and not in a great 1960's "Batman" way.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 11:48:55 PM

Don`t see him fitting in a comedy, but he is unwillingly funny in many movies, so why not..
Daniels was right for the Harry role, though !
minkowski writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 12:23:16 AM

I wonder if his hair was ever endanger of catching fire like Michael Jackson's? You know, the whole Wicker Man thing. Because you know his hair isn't flame retardant.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 12:37:34 AM

that would have ruined Dumb and dumber.
Rambo writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 2:08:07 AM

yep,that was back at the days when actually turned down some roles...
Johnnyb writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 2:08:29 AM

Thanks god this never happened!!!!! Enough with the sh*t he is doing right now!!!!!
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 2:52:17 AM

They fell out after Nic kept borrowing cash off of Jim and not paying him back ...
Ranger writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 3:07:20 AM

How about Nicolas Cage starring in paying his f*cking taxes?
trailertrash writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 3:12:30 AM

There's no money in that though ...
Ranger writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 3:22:03 AM

Plus that would take food out of his pet cobra's mouth.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 4:56:10 AM

But he's still sort of my hero.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PJddmfesaA&ob=av3e
SeWerin writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 8:20:23 AM

This site should be renamed as:

"Nicolas Cage and movies"

Just sayin'.

@freud also this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNz0POlwQP0
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 11:30:30 AM

Despite all his rage, he is still Nicholas Cage.
vincere01 writes:
on February 15th, 2012 at 3:26:24 PM

I'm sorry but am I the only one that thinks the idea of cage playing a comic book vilan who is batsh*t crazy and uses fear gas to make people see crazy incarnations of him as scary creatures......AMAZINGLY PERFECT MATCH FOR CAGE????!!!
Bunny X writes:
on February 16th, 2012 at 11:57:26 AM

Jeff Goldblum would've been a much better Scarecrow.

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

Lindsay Lohan Sues "Grand Theft Auto V" for Using Her Likeness

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Mark Ruffalo Says New "Hulk" Film Will NOT Be "Planet Hulk"

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved