WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

I Hated "Hugo" and "The Artist," What's Wrong With Me?

Posted: February 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
I Hated "Hugo" and "The Artist," WhatSubmit Comment
Every year the Academy Awards announces the nominees for the Best Picture Oscar, with most of the selections being independent films that the general public has yet to see. And more importantly, most of the films also fail to be the most important thing a film should be, which is entertaining. This year, it's no different.

"The Artist" is the favorite to clean up at the Oscars, but is the movie really that good? It's black and white, and silent, which makes it unique, but the story is plain and even boring at times. Industry insiders, however, love it - mostly because it's something unusual and is about the movie business.

Same thing goes for "Hugo," which in my option, is easily the most childish and boring film of the year. It got a wide release, but grossed only $64 million domestically on a $150 million budget. People are mostly not interested. But those who went likely heard all the positive reviews and that Martin Scorsese directed it.

I went to a press screening for "Hugo" and saw it with a bunch of critics. The people around me trashed the film, but then went on their websites and praised it. They want to love it because it's a beautiful film and it's a story about filmmaking by one of our greatest filmmakers. In reality, it's corny. Watch the trailer and then go see the movie. Spoilers: the robot doesn't fly and there's zero magic.

Moving on... "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" is so bad that even critics hate it. The film has a 45% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, but it has Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock, so there's your Oscar nomination.

"The Tree of Life"... Even Sean Penn doesn't get it, and he's in the movie. Theaters had to post signs to let movie-goers know that this film will likely not be enjoyable. But it's different, so Oscar nomination.

Now to films that I actually enjoyed. "Moneyball" was good, "Midnight in Paris" was good, and "The Descendants" was good. I can't get myself to watch "The Help" and "War Horse," so if I had to give the Oscar to some film, I would give it to "The Descendants." But in reality, there are so many other more enjoyable films out, like "Young Adult," "Source Code," "Horrible Bosses," "Drive," "Rise of the Planet of the Apes," and "Attack the Block." Too bad they didn't star Hanks and Bullock.

And congratulations Jonah Hill, Brad Pitt was so good in "Moneyball," that you ended up nominated for your performance that mostly consisted of just sitting quietly. Oh... And did I mention "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier Spy"? Wow, talk about being boring. It took me two tries to get through this stinker. I'm sorry that I'm not familiar with the source material, next time I'll read all the books and watch the TV series before going to the theaters.

Question: Am I alone on this? Are the Oscar nominees truly the best films of 2011?

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 98 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
LeSerge writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:31:12 AM

Thank you! Yes very very much defintly. Oscars is just two things. Marketing and political correct. The worst thing for me was two years ago when Avatar lost against The hurt locker. I mean das anybody remember that that movie actually won the oscar for best picture and best director. To be fair, i am glad that Kathirn Bigalow was the first woman to win a oscar, it also could have been Sofia Copola (look at me i am the doughter of a famous filmmaker, this means i can make movies too)
Its just bullsh*t, but on the other hand, who carse. Very rearly the best pictures win the oscars. Its just funny to watch them and get drunk. Is also a very nice drinking game by the way. Everybody tries to guess who will win in each category and if you fail you have to drink a shot.

Thanks again for this nice post.

LeSerge
Quidd writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:33:57 AM

Tinker Tailor was really really boring, but Gary was good. The Tree of life was probably one of the dumbest things I have ever seen. My favorite on the list is Midnight in Paris. Great movie.
lppinto writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:42:56 AM

I guess one of the users already got the chance to do a main article...
lppinto writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:43:34 AM

Tinker Taylor was awesome.. saw it twice, very good movie!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:49:25 AM

The "Oscars" haven't been good in years.
Džeko writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:51:42 AM

Yes!!Hugo is the most overrated movie from last year by far!As you said it was boring and childish
but Scorsese directed it so it must be good,wright?NO!!!
Avirex writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:53:20 AM

"What's Wrong With Me?"

A sh*t load of things I'm sure.


But what does that have to do with 'The Artist' or 'Hugo'?
Bullit writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:53:44 AM

The article actually reflects the truth. The Artist is good and sometimes boring but I'm not sure that it deserves an oscar. The descendants is an original story and it should have the merit to win and give an oscar to G. Clooney.

Tree of Life was poetic and visually stunning for half of the movie and then after I got lost & bored with it completely.

Moneyball shouldn't be a nominee. As it is well said, 80% of the film they're sitting and exchanging ideas but it certainly not a thrill to watch it.

Midnight in Paris deserves at least an original screnplay. Extremely Loud & Incredibly close is very boring. Period. Just because you've got 2 famous actors doesn't mean you gonna win! War Horse for best director. Tinker Tailor is like an old dust from the sixties, they made the storyline complicated but it's actually a very boring film.

Well done Alex.
JakeVermont writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:55:20 AM

@LeSerge: agree with you, the Oscars are fun to watch nothing more. But Hurt Locker? Best Movie? I was surprised and not surprised at the same time. I mean it was a lame war movie. BUT! it depicted american war heroes so it had to be the best movie muhaha.... I would have liked to see Avatar or Inglorious Basterds win. That was a masterpiece now compare Basterds to Hurt Locker.... Tarantino to Bigalow

@Alex:
I havent seen Hugo yet it just started last week here and I was going to watch it this week but now I'm not sure and I probably wont go.

The Artist:
yeah we all got the irony... *yawn* I said it a lot of times I dont understand what people like about it, as if it was never ever done before WOW a silent film thats new... it is not a bad movie but totally overhyped and it bored me to hell.

Tinker, Tailor...:
I fell asleep during that movie despite of Oldmans performance, I guess that says it all.

And I just cant watch War Horse. A friend of mine watched it and he said it was totally stupid, instead they should've made a WWI war-hero drama. But not its about a Horse and a boy...? eeehh piece of crap`? Spielberg you dont have to say YES to everything, man. f*ck what happend to you...

Tree of Life:
I haven't seen it yet, but I think I will just to try to understand why people think it's good.

The Help:
Seen that with my GF. I actually have to say that it is a good movie and not at all boring.

I'd give Best picture either to Descendants or Midnight in Paris. liked them the best.


So some of the nominees are among the best movies of 2011 and others(Artist) are on the list cuz Hollywood likes itself too much!!
numnut writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:00:15 AM

I have to agree (however I did enjoy Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) especially that i just saw The Decedents yesterday and really enjoyed it, but as with Payne's Sideways, it'll probably win f*ck all
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:04:35 AM

The Oscars have been failing for years.

Ever since Shakespeare in Love won over Saving Private Ryan for me it's become a fast.

But this also reflects on Hollywood that they would rather churn out umpteen sequels, Super Hero movies or just star driven movies that aren't worth a damn.

What has happened to the great films that had the big stars,the Good story and the very fine acting.
beepboop writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:04:43 AM

what? I thought it was already common knowledge, that the oscars don't reward the best movies.
they reward success, some sort of political correctness and in general movies about making movies.

it's hollywood's day to pat themselves on the shoulders and say: good work, you are so progressive and artistic!

and it's a tradition to reward one of their own. just stick around long enough and love the system! or be stanley kubrick and make amazing movies, but don't get an oscar(except for special effects. once.)
Rambo writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:05:26 AM

How dare you not like 'the artist' and 'hugo'???Everybody loves them!!!

shame on you,Alex,you are hereby banished forever from the union of nerds without life who like crappy movies without quality or content.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:06:35 AM

I really liked Tinker Tailor, Loved the TV series from way back.

Thought it was fine piece of cinema
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:11:18 AM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Academy_Award_for_Best_Picture

You can see the decline in nominations and winners.

Look how strong the 70's and 80's were in particular
Unsinkable writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:11:45 AM

I'm from Italy, I've seen all those movies. And You know what? I totally agree. First I said to myself "Is there anithing wrong with me?", while watching Hugo. I was bored before the half of it. It was not a press screening, but I usually attend those screenings. I know critics here, I know their comments about the movie, not so enthusiastics, but then they wrote terrific reviews.

I have to say that I enjoyed The Artist, but I also admit that it's boring sometimes. Despite all the prizes it's gonna get, I keep meeting audience people who say that they didn't like it. It's good and interesting, but it's clearly overestimated.

Same story for Tinker, Taylor... Wonderfully made, but I had hard times to keep myself hooked to the plot.

Thanks for the sharing your feelings and disappointment.
filmaddict24 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:23:27 AM

Yes there haven't been great best picture films for a while, but just wait till the end of this year 2012. We're all in for a surprise involving spielberg, luhrmann, forster, tarantino, hooper, jackson, and probably others. Look up imdb.
Bullit writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:31:43 AM

"Ever since Shakespeare in Love won over Saving Private Ryan for me it's become a fast."

Yes Trailer, Shakespeare had such a pathetic acting, it made me cringe. My girlfriend wanted it to see it so badly I couldn't refuse (but she made it up to me afterwards...).

I rarely see a movie twice while it's played in the theaters and I did with Ryan. Best war film ever.

I remember when Gwyneth came to receive her undeserved Oscar and crying like a 6 year old really felt disgusted.

"What has happened to the great films that had the big stars,the Good story and the very fine acting."

I ask myself the same question. Probably because they don't even have One proper, real writer/screenplay writer to begin with. No good story, no good movie.
pH0u57 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:46:06 AM

Wow, the first really good article in some time. But you're completely right.

What about J. Edgar and The Ides of March? Why didn't they get nominated? Too political? The Academy should rethink their concept..
Evil_Disco writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:54:19 AM

Like I said before: The Artist was good, but not Oscar-for-best-picture good.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:18:28 AM

@Alex

When you think the Decendants is good and find Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy boring yes there is something wrong. Tree of Life needed a warning because most filmgoers are too stupid to sit through anything that doesnt have explosions cheesey recycled plot and bimbos. Sean Penn said he didnt understand his charachters relevance to the film but saidd it was the best script he has ever read and understood the theme and message of the film.

I agree the artist is overated however still a decent film and hugo also was lackluster with little coherence and a dressed up retelling of a myriad of fairy tales. You couldnt pay me to see the tom hanks bullocks craft cheese block movie looks so f*cking bad.

I like paynes other films but I just felt the decendants was trying to be quirky for the sake of it, almost a wes anderson vibe none of the characters were likeable in my opinon thus deriving no emotional response from me in any of the scene because I did not care or have any fondness towwards the characters. I liek George Clooney but he was George Clooney in this film as he is in many of his movies. He was no betetr in this than any of his other roles. Personaly I think he was 100 times better in O brother where art thou.

Anyways I think its a bit sad that you run a movie site and get bored watching quality films like tinker taylor dont worry Im sure there will be another fast and the furious out soon.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:19:08 AM

Oh and the academy has been f*cked for around 50 years you may as well win a mars bar
mlodge87 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:19:21 AM

I just realized that Worst Previews staff don't actually do the movie reviews. You just post the reviews of other people. WTF? If you are going to post an article about how movies like Hugo sucked (and it did), then at least have enough initiative to do your own reviews on your on site. Why are you posting opinions of other people? I went to see Hugo, in part, after reading the review on this site. I was skeptical from the start and was not that interested. But some people I know said it was good (now I question their opinions) and the review posted on here was glowing. I guess maybe I should stop taking 'your' movie reviews into consideration.
Bullit writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:22:49 AM

"What about J. Edgar..."

I saw this on Saturday. Clint Eastwood has chosen the wrong story to put on film as the story was quite dull if not boring. Di Caprio is an excellent actor but the film was more about the subtle gay relation between J. Edgar Hoover and his lover. No big deal really. 5/10!
jpocunha writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:39:51 AM

Yep... Never a movie such as Drive (for example) would be nomitated because of all the lobbying, money and marketing in the backstage. It´s not that they are bad movies, but... there are way better ones!
SeWerin writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:46:59 AM

Still haven't seen Hugo, but i saw Artist.

Here is why i like it:

It's a very well made movie. Cinematography, costume design and especially sound are all top notch. The movie itself pays big homage to the silent movies of the 20's, and i think that's also the reason why the story is simple and why it works. The actor themselves also have enough magnetism which further pulls you in the world. And like i said before, it has just right amount of pretentious and creativity for winning Oscar. That being said, i enjoyed the movie a lot and it was a great reminder of the old movies. Is it the best movie? Certainly not, but it's the most complete of the bunch.

Extremely Loud and incredibly Close - is so manipulative that's insulting. Throwing scene of sadness and pathetic one after another in order to invoke emotions is just bad writing. And not the mention all that tie with 9/11 - wow, just wow. I like Hanks but he should know better. That being said that kid really did good job.

Three of Life i haven't seen, nor i probably will. Every time i see the length of that movie i am immediately bored.

Help doesn't interest me and neither Midnight in Paris (since i hate Woody Allen). Not even Moneyball. I will watch Descendants and War Horse soon.

That being said, you really what should really got nominated - "Take Shelter". It's a great movie (one could say it's a perfect Oscar material), staring fantastic Michael Shannon in his best role ever yet. And i can certainly say that his role in that movie beats any Oscar nom this year. Guy was amazing.
Film_Shark writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:55:38 AM

Hogwash and you know it. To say that 'The Artist' is not a quality film tells me you know nothing about movie making. I'm not into silent films and I found myself engrossed by the story. Why? Leave it to a French director to stylishly pay homage to the silent film era of Hollywood. It's the cinematography, the editing, the pacing, and the talented French actors who know how to dance that make this film endearing.

'The Descendants' is a good movie but not good enough for 'Best Picture.' It is one of those films, you can only see once. I will say Clooney deserves the Oscar for Best Actor but that's all this film deserves.

'Midnight in Paris' by Woody Allen deserves 'Best Original Screenplay' but in all actuality, it's not one of Woody Allen's best films. To see some of his master works, rent 'Annie Hall' or 'Manhattan.'
c-prime writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:57:57 AM

Eh, I loved "Tinker Tailor..." Brainy dialogue, some good camerawork, and some of the strongest British casting I've witnessed in years. Slow? Sure. But it's less mind-numbing than most flicks gracing the multiplex these days (here's looking at you, "Journey 2"), and for that, I tip my hat.

"Source Code" and "Drive", however, were quite lousy, in my opinion. The former actually made me fall asleep (first time that's ever happened).

And I can't tell you how many people won't get off my back for my hatred of the latter. The fanboy-like obsession with it perplexes and unsettles me. I implore viewers to suspend their infatuation with the graphic (yet miniscule amount of) violence the film contained and actually convince me why the film makes for such indispensable cinema?

"Drive" has got style in spades, truly, but not an iota of substance, if you ask me. You walk away feeling nothing for the characters. Not a damn thing. I can appreciate a decent action homage as much as the next guy, but I just can't get onboard with the incoherent narrative.

Or the bohemian extravagance of the Ryan Gosling's protagonist. Jesus. Hipsters make me f*cking puke.
c-prime writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:03:34 AM

@ trailertrash: I concur with your posts. Minus "Out of Africa", the seventies and eighties yielded some worthy picks.

Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:10:07 AM

Go on Alex don't hold back!! f*ck neutral journalism this here Worst Previews and we don't give a f*ck about yo' opinions!... round up the flaming torches and pitch forks let's burn down these mother f*ckers down!

But seriously I would never watch Hugo since it's set in France yet they have English accents, might as well keep there own accents like Valkyrie if you're not gonna bother making us realise what country it is. Of course the Artist will get noticed for being different that's what the Oscars is about right? Drive deserved so much more recognition it's one of my favourite films of last year, hypnotic and beautifully shot. Haven't even got a chance to watch a lot of those films so can't say much about the rest but Oscars have always sucked political balls. Like any people deciding what films get it have any idea of what reality is and what decent film making is.
JessieStJames writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:16:30 AM

I agree, I can and at the same time still can't believe that Melancholia wasn't nominated! Though if Lars hadn't have made those commits it could have been a possibility...though I think the Academy always turns down "dark" movies. Girl with the dragon tattoo is another example, we all know Rooney Mara deserves that win and if not I believe it should be Glenn Close or the very deserving Viola Davis. Does anyone agree with me about Melancholia though?
NotAmerican writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:47:53 AM

The day The Dark Knight (second best movie ever) was snubbed for a Best Picture nomination, was the day the Oscars lost the little draw it had for me. Not to mention the countless other snubs and losses to inferior work over the years.
Article is bang on.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:59:23 AM

Bullit

I Glad you got ample payment for seeing that movie in the end mate.

Tried to watch it on the BBC once gave up just not my cup of tea.

I watched All the President's Men again the other night.

I know it lost out to Rocky for best pic, But that was one hell of a movie with both stars on top form, brilliant screenplay from Goldman and defiantly Pakula best work.

That, Taxi Driver and Rocky (And I know Trig still not seen Network yet) all in the same year.

Awesome we would kill for 3 films as good as those in 3 years nower days.

trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:10:44 AM

Thanks c-prime

I agree there, Big fan of Redford and Streep but Witness should have had the nod there IMO

And what a British cast there is in Tinker Talior, Phew !!

Don't think there has been a film released over the past few years that has had people opinions spilt like it's been with Drive.

For me i really liked it, But i do understand why people don't.
monkeyboy1138 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:19:29 AM

The Oscars isn't about the public, never has been. They are the 'Academy Awards' voted for by the Academy. Put simply it's industry backslapping and doesn't reflect any form of public opinion. So if Tom Hanks likes a movie (he's part of the Academy by dint of having an Oscar) he votes for it and probably votes for himself or his chums.

If you want public opinion awards watch the MTV movie awards or Peoples Choice Awards.

FYI. really like Tinker Tailor and the Artist. But didn't like Hugo, Tree of Life or Moneyball. And think Rise of the Planet of the Apes should have been nommed.
the wire writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:28:05 AM

tinker tailor was one of the best movies for years.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:44:13 AM

Ultimately who gives a f*ck? Oscars have been fixed for years.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:06:37 AM

The day The Dark Knight (second best movie ever)

I suggest you watch more films!
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:39:27 AM

lol, A lot more films
secondbest writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:47:44 AM

I actually liked The Artist and thought the story flowed well. As for other Oscar nominated movies, I mean, if Transformers can get nominated for something, anything can. Hell, even Three 6 Mafia's got an Oscar.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:47:53 AM

Monkeynboy

MTV movie awards is fine if you're 10 to 17 love the Twilight films and the way they kiss each other, Otherwise i wouldn't give them the time of day either.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:53:50 AM

That's a mighty interesting article and something delightfully different for WP.

I'm a bit shor on time right now, so without elaborating:

Tinker, Taylor... I liked. I hoped it'll be better, but nonetheless it turned out to be a very enjoyable and different kind of spy movie. Yes, it's slow and talky, but that's what I was expecting and I love me this kind of movie every now and then.

Moneyball - a lot of credit must go to Benneth Miller and Sorkin/Zaillian writing team. This movie had all the bad signs coming with it - yet it turned out one of the most entertaining movies of the year. Pitt was great, totally agree on Jonah Hill - he was the quiet fat guy sitting on the chair, nothing unusual or worth a nom (unlike Albert Motherf*cking Brooks for instance).

The Tree of Life I loved. But I like Malick and I got exactly what I was expecting. I get why some people hate or don't like the movie - it's really far from being perfect and I won't say "you just don't get it, ye stupid coonts! And me gets it just right". I didn't get it either - though I do have ideas of what he was trying to say. But, as I've said, I got what I expected.

BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:54:13 AM

WHAT !?! No Oscars for Conan or Green Lantern ?? What is wrong with this world !! But seriously, Alex..Think You are right about these movies. Really enjoyed Rise of the planet..One of the best movies I have seen in a long time, it really moved me.But the Jury would never choose a movie like that unless it has Peter Jackson or Tim Burton behind the wheel. This year the Oscars seems quite uninteresting and I would rather watch hair grow :(
NotAmerican writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:07:49 AM

@ Cinemaisdead and trailertrash: it's not that I need to watch more films, it's that I need to be less geeky.
LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:10:38 AM

If this is the future of the site then seriously we don't have much longer left, I'd love to know who wrote this article as I personally stopped using the site for a while after mine and trailer trash' comments on the worlds worst film reviewer dustin the putz were deleted moments after being posted. I don't understand how two peoples comments about a film reviewer who is simply bad at his job are unacceptable yet you'll ok an article full of someone's personal opinions about Oscar nominated films??? Double standards me thinks and for the record dustin P is still a sh*t reviewer with my recent favourite being a 10/10 for chronicle!
mpiper821 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:19:49 AM

@LeeMaca I couldn't agree more about the Putz! I don't understand how he still has a job doing reviews.
rocketman writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:49:14 AM

Haven't had faith in the oscars since Annie Hall beat Star Wars back in 77,that and the Pulp Fiction snub.
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:56:39 AM

I did not write this article.
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 10:58:06 AM

I was more entertained watching (one and off) maybe the last hour (and a half-ish) of The Grammy's last night, than I have watching the Political sh*t-Fest of Favoritism that are The Oscars.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:07:26 AM

Yer DP is the worst film reviewer I have encountered, I remember about a year ago Alex defended the choice of Putman being an alterantive to the mainstream reviews aka sh*t reviews that noone agrees with. 10/10 for chronicle, perfect example of how inept he is at reviewing films.
LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:11:27 AM

Ranger due to the lack of Lohan slamming and the nice nature of the article I knew it wasn't you! LOL
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:14:07 AM

NotAmerican

Haha Touche ....
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:16:33 AM

@Lee - very kind... thank you.


lol.

LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:17:52 AM

It's not that I want to start another putz bashing thread but in the years I've been using this site I think this is the first time I've read a post based only on someone's opinion, and I don't understand why this is opinion is news yet my comments expressing my opinions were deleted!
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:24:38 AM

LeeMaca

I hear ya pal, Alex seems to have stopped the heavy handed deleting stance (for now at least)and nothing that we mentioned wasn't anything but opinion of DP and his reviewing opinions that seemed to differ from the rest of the WP community.

And the Chronicle not good then ?
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:29:23 AM

Good job, Alex, or whoever wrote the article. You gave some opinion, some meat, and the guys took to it full-jawed. More like old times and better days IMO.

I do think though that if you have to ask if the Oscars truly represent what's good, than I subsequently think you know the rather obvious answer.

The Oscars are what a handful, an elite, a minority, believe.

Notice I said 'believe' and not 'think'.

They may give the award to a film that really doesn't deserve it because most of the nominators are good friends, or have some personal attachment, to one of the actors.

And then all the psychological conditioning comes into play, and the peer-pressure, and before anyone's even aware of what's happening, the group is thinking more like one mind and less like a hundred separate brains, and that's how films like 'Shakespeare in Love' carry off awards they haven't truly earned.

As for Drive, it's a decent film. I enjoyed it, and I think the reason I did is, was, because of the music, which harkens back to the 80s and the more moody, but bright, music of those times, and sure, the characters are forgettable, and you compulsively feel little for them, but the film's meditative nature gives the film an almost steady, dream-like narrative, and I simply liked it.

It's one of those films that you either like, or you don't like, and neither camp is right, neither camp is wrong.

But it certainly isn't a poorly made film, and that can be objectively determined by comparing it to other films with better budgets that lack Drive's modest production values.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:32:58 AM

"It's not that I want to start another putz bashing thread but in the years I've been using this site I think this is the first time I've read a post based only on someone's opinion, and I don't understand why this is opinion is news yet my comments expressing my opinions were deleted!"

It's very, very simple, LeeMaca: this isn't your site. When you pay the bills and perform the upkeep, THEN you can call the shots, but until then, Alex runs and owns this berg, and if he wants to post opinion, he can, and if he wants to send your bitching about some person's god-given right to review films in an unpopular manner, he can and will.

No offense, but that's just how it is, and you, me and all the rest neither deserve, nor are we entitled to, anything more.
LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:36:09 AM

Trailer
Didn't watch it all the whole shaky cam and found footage thing for me is a major put off and I hope your right about Alex as I used to really dig the site and the guys here posting yup even minks rants are well put at times but like I said then if comments are being deleted then what's the
LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:37:47 AM

Point !
LeeMaca writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:40:26 AM

Mink I do kind of agree with you although there won't be much of a site when people stop coming back to it! But I do think my opinions are as valid as anyone else here staff or not
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:04:06 PM

You miss the point, Lee. It's not whether your opinions are valid. All opinions are valid or equally invalid because they're opinions, and not fact. There's no science to liking what you like, although objectivity has it's place, but I digress...

The thing is, it's not my place, not yours or Rangers, and Alex, because this is HIS home, can do what he wants. He pays the bills, he calls the shots. Simple as that.

Like Jamie Foxx said in Collateral to the guy from whom he stole a cellphone, "when did this become a negotiation?".

Confucius say man with big gun king.

Just be glad Alex isn't 'more of a d*ck', because there's virtually no place on the internet you can go, acting like we do, that wouldn't ban you in an instant.

Trust me on that one, if you don't know yourself.
Skywalker121289 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:05:55 PM

The Tree of Life was an amazing film.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:07:34 PM

Before I continue my "educated" opinion no one gives a f*ck about, I'd like to point that I'm with mink on this one - it's a good thing to have a meaty to the point article every once in a while so we'd actually have smth to discuss with minimum
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:18:04 PM

amounts of trolling and lohan's vayjayjay. Cause we do have some interesting opinions to share.

Back to the point:

Haven't seen The Descendants, the help or war horse yet.

Sad that Fassbender wasn't nominated cause he had an incredible year.

Drive is a cult movie period and it's single nom for sound is a shame - Brooks' scene drinking whiskey after killing Shannon alone is worth a nom. Branagh's performance IMHO was weaker.
The Artist is a solid movie and it's terrifically made, but every skilled craftsman could have accomplished that - so it isn't really worth all the hype in my opinion.

The only good thing is that Di Caprio wasn't nominated - mediocre performance in a sadly mediocre movie.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:20:23 PM

"The Tree of Life was an amazing film"

It's ok, I think, and has an understandable message that I think is rather belabored by the cinematography, but, the CGI sucked! Those dinosaurs, wow, looked worse than that History Channel show Jurassic Fight Club or something.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:25:31 PM

"Before I continue my "educated" opinion no one gives a f*ck about"

I give a f*ck, and I read what you wrote and I agree with your sentiments, which shouldn't mean sh*t to you of course.

"Drive is a cult movie period"

So, in reality, is Blade Runner, and perhaps twenty years hence, people will say the same about Drive, even people that now claim to hate the film.
Contagion writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:28:51 PM

''What's wrong with me?'' Nothing at all, there's something wrong with the academy that's what, the problem is that they are too many old f*cks running the show down there and as a result their taste is dilapidating like their minds. The Artist is in my opinion the most boring thing I watched this year, I don't mind it being silent, I love Fritz Lang's M. My problem was that it was made and starred french people, the Oscars love Europeans let's be honest here. If was made in the U.S it would have ended up picking up dust as a ''cult classic''.

Tree Of Life was beautiful, I don't care what anyone says. I think anyone who understands family and philosophy will love it.

f*ck that film with Hanks and Bullock, all it is is 9/11 angst coming out from the U.S and f*cking boring of course.

Now, Hugo. Oh my lord, what a childish film made by the man who gave us the best brain blots in film history. I don't get the hype surrounding that piece of sh*t, if Hugo wins best director I want to know why they didn't give Tim Burton best director for Charlie and The Chocolate Factory because that's what I thought I was watching when I saw Hugo.

Finally, Tinkor Tailor, I think you have to be British to love this simple as that. It dates all the way back to Le Caree's book. I loved it, Alfredson the director knows how to move the camera and tell a visual pleasing story capturing the cold war feel. He's also Scandinavian and I have to say they make the best films today. P.S The Oscars love anything British, that's how it works.

So f*ck Hugo and The Artist. In my opinion where the hell is Drive's nomination for best supporting actor and best director. Refn made a film that looked fantastic but the Oscars go and nominate the f*ck that made Moneyball for best director instead, Moneyball looked like it was shot off a cellphone.

At the end of the day, you can't argue against the Oscars, why? Because they're the Oscars and they can do whatever they want, the bastards.

Best films of last year: Drive, Rise Of The Apes and Tyrannosaur.

Shame for Vin Diesel and Paul Walker they really had their hopes up this year for best leading and supporting actor.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:38:16 PM

"Shame for Vin Diesel and Paul Walker they really had their hopes up this year for best leading and supporting actor."

There's still hope for them. The Adult Video Awards, I believe, has best new-c*mmer category for gay pornography.
Contagion writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:38:32 PM

''It's ok, I think, and has an understandable message that I think is rather belabored by the cinematography, but, the CGI sucked! Those dinosaurs, wow, looked worse than that History Channel show Jurassic Fight Club or something.''

I don't really think Malick's intentions were to make a CGI extravaganza like Transformers. The message of the film and it's main purpose is seen in those little scenes with them at the dinner table and the kids in the forest etc. It's about humans really.

''The Artist is a solid movie and it's terrifically made, but every skilled craftsman could have accomplished that - so it isn't really worth all the hype in my opinion.''

Let me just get a camera, make it black and white in post and remove the sound. Add insert cards every now and then BOOM, give me my best director and best picture award motherf*ckers.
Contagion writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:40:19 PM

''There's still hope for them. The Adult Video Awards, I believe, has best new-c*mmer category for gay pornography.''

Best c*m-Dump of the year, Fast Five.

agentofcha0s writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:45:56 PM

These critics are full of sh*t. it was the hardest thing for mre to stay awake during tree of life. Hugo really wasnt interesting and im yet to see the artist. Its some bull that not even warrior was nominated
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:48:50 PM

"I don't really think Malick's intentions were to make a CGI extravaganza like Transformers. The message of the film and it's main purpose is seen in those little scenes with them at the dinner table and the kids in the forest etc. It's about humans really."

Agreed, but I just couldn't take the terrible dino' scenes. More money for CGI would have cleared that up, but, as you stated, the message mattered far more than visuals.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:50:57 PM

"Let me just get a camera, make it black and white in post and remove the sound. Add insert cards every now and then BOOM, give me my best director and best picture award motherf*ckers."

No sh*t. Since when is less more, and since when is aping films, films that debuted back when sound and color were futuristic technological marvels, considered cinematic advancement?
tib20011 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:54:19 PM

WorstPreviews became a blog for people who wanna complain about dumb things and wanna spoil big movies. This is the last article I will ever read from this website. Thanks.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:12:02 PM

@mink

You got it just right, mate. - considering educated opinion.

As for Drive - maybe it won't have a fate similar to Blade Runner, but Mann's "Thief" or to a lesser degree, Frankenheimer's "Ronin" seems very likely.

As for "Tree of life" - I remember rumors about $130 mil. budget that surfaced a couple of years ago when no one knew what it will be like. Now upcoming "Voyage of Time" was supposed to play in IMAX along with the Tree and eat a huge chunk of that budget (due to tons of CGI of creation of Universe, life etc.), but we're yet to see it. Tree of Life had marvelous cinematography with natural light and I do hope that Emmanuel Lubezki wins this year (he should've won for Children of Men), but dinosaurs CGI was pretty terrible and distracting. Creation scenes were marvelous though - Douglas Trumbull is a genius.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:19:16 PM

tib20011

That's a shame you and your contribution of 5 comments will be sorely missed !!

Take care now bye bye
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:23:47 PM

Having read the comments now:

agree with @tt, @bullit, @contagion, @mink considering pretty much everything though I'm yet to watch Hugo

with @bateman considering Clooney's performance in The Descendants

with @sewerin considering Extremely Loud - manipulative tear-fest. And Shannon came up with a true tour-de-force perfromance in Take Shelter, yet it went compeletely unnoticed.

oh, and @tib

On behalf of all people complaining about dumb things and spoiling big movies. - your welcome and all the best.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:24:05 PM

LMFAO!
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:26:53 PM

I see why you don't post much, Kurskji. You like to talk film, and we don't do that much here.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:30:13 PM

Don't see much point in waisting time with trolls (cheers, TIB), so yeah, this article was a breath of fresh air.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:30:35 PM

And thanks for pointing me to Mann's Thief. I'll have to catch that one now, should have already, being a Mann fan, but the damned thing is hard to find.

And I agree with you on Drive, though I tend to favor it over Ronin, even though they're both good films, of course, it's just that Drive has a moody, silent dreamy quality that sets it more in a place that barely exists, whereas Ronin is quite clearly set in the world in which we inhabit.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:35:53 PM

My pleasure.

"...it's just that Drive has a moody, silent dreamy quality that sets it more in a place that barely exists"

Then you'll love "Thief" with its Tangerine Dream score and moody atmosphere and cinematography it's the closest thing to "Drive" (or voce versa) I can think of.

This poster sums up the feel of this movie pretty good:

http://www.impawards.com/1981/posters/thief.jpg

See you all later guys, Kurskij off for today.
Kurskij writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:36:46 PM

vice versa

Now 100% out.
hottentott writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:42:23 PM

I have this personal guidelind since a couple of years back. If a movie gets Oscar nominated DON'T SEE IT, it will possibly be extremly boring. I watch movies to be entertained.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:42:28 PM

I loved Drive thought it was a rare treat at the cinema in 2011.

You're spot on Mink the soundtrack kicks major ass.

Kurskij It's a cult film in the same vain as say something like Easy Rider.

There were people who loved and hated it back then. But it always seems to find fans with each new generation. But people that didn't like it then still don't today (i bet).

Bladerunner is one of those movies like Mink was saying people hated it when it 1st came out but they love it now for what ever reason that is, peer pressure or maybe they understand now it wasn't a Han Solo film, lol
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:49:07 PM

Theif nice call there ....

After The Gofather that has to be James Caan best film.

Don't even know if you can buy that film anymore
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:09:54 PM

Excuse who said George Clooney deserved an ACTING award?! That guy has never acted. Watch "Tears of a Clooney" from American Dad. The wife describes his so called "acting" very well. And I haven't seen Hugo yet, but I'll tell you right now I'll enjoy that film a hell of a lot more than Descendants. Why?! Because it's directed by Martin Scorcese? No, because I like the concept because I want to get into filmmaking in some form or another. It's too-which-his-own. So a majority of you didn't like "The Artist". Big deal. A majority of people thought Brokeback Mountain was offensive and boring but yet everyone was surprised it DIDN'T win best picture over "Crash", a brilliant film in my mind. You like films for different reasons and you need to accept that jsut because you didn't like it doesn't mean others didn't. Now I think it's unanimous that everyone thinks "Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close" sucked and the people nominating it were probably smoking something at the time they picked it, but that's a rare occasion. So the majority here despised "The Artist" and "Hugo". It's a fact people who think alike tend to be around other people like them for the most part. That's why all of you are on THIS site. You have similiar opinions. It might be different somewhere else. Just saying, this article was written by one of you. Might be different somewhere else. Just saying...a lot but you get it. LOL
Johnnyb writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:37:51 PM

I saw the nominees and all I can say is that none of the movies in list attract me. Sometimes they incline itself too much on the artistic, a period of time or senseless situation that in some way you can't explain yourself how in the hell they could make it to the top of creme..... it is possible the judges were too high on buzz and coke for making there right decision of who deserve to be on the best or they were randomly just saying " ok they deserve because it remembers me about a situation or a movie I saw the other day which was amazing, blah blah blah. In the end it was just bullsh*t.

This year I will just pass along the oscars, wouldn't even consider on watching it. Just checking out the results of make or who didn't make it. I hope it would get better at the end of this year. Of course, I we could make it, since the world ended this year. It was a nice life after all. And I hope in the other life we don't have this sh*tty problem with the oscars. Thanks.
drewsmit24 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:36:16 PM

agreed
pornfly writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:49:18 PM

John Goodman says in the commercial for The ARTIST that 'you cant take your eyes off it'
No f*ckin sh*t! Its a silent movie
You cant take your eyes off Inglourious Bastards either cuz most of the movies is in subtitles
ProfMovies writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:16:22 PM

If you haven't seen WAR HORSE, then how can you even talk about this? THE HELP is another one you SHOULD see before making inane statements like this.

I do agree with you on many of your points, but see the aforementioned two and get back to me.
triggax writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 7:26:29 PM

Did someone say Michael Mann?

Thief was excellent as f*ck. James Caan was just wonderful.

As far as the oscar nods this year. A handful of movies went unnoticed just like every f*cking year, what's the point in even giving a sh*t anymore..

Take Shelter should have owned as far as Im concerned, awesome movie.

The descendants. Did not f*cking like this movie. I've said it once I'll say it again. I dont f*cking get Alexander Payne.. Sideways had to have been just the stupidest f*cking series of events I've ever seen on film.

Hugo. Fun, slightly entertaining... Boring and over rated for the most part, yah.. Deserve the oscars? Absolutely not.. If anyone should get any recognition, it should be Cohen, the best part of the entire movie was when he got his leg stuck in the train. I laughed for 20 seconds.

The Artist. Doubtful. Why is this award worthy? I watched it twice just to try and figure out wtf everyone loved so much. Nothing.. I mean other than John Goodman.

What about the handful of films that came out this year that were actually decent? Certified Copy.. Drive... Take Shelter.. I liked Moneyball, I did not however feel fat sh*ts character portrayal deserved any kind of recognition. Its like somewhere in some office somewhere some rich ass group of old white people read on you tube how fresh and f*cking cool it would be if Jonah f*cking Hill got an oscar nod.. So they rolled with it.. Good for numbers... Problem is you brought back Billy Crystal, so my grandmother and her sister will be undoubtedly tuning in. I however, will not.

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.. Decent.. Oscar worthy if only for the intro. I was actually more impressed with this adaptation than the actual swedish adaptation. Then I read some interviews with Rooney Mara and now I f*cking hate that bitch so I could honestly care less.

I think We Bought a Zoo should have been nominated for some sh*t. Cameron Crowe holds a soft spot in my heart and that was just a plain good f*cking movie.

f*ck it.. Alex I don't think you're crazy. Hollywood is crazy. Actors are crazy. Bloated whores of human beings sucking each other off for whatever reason constantly. Like the jubacks.

Ill leave you with this.

What is 6 inches long and is NOT getting sucked on valentines day?












Whitney Houstons Crack Pipe!!

Bazinnnnggggg
Ranger writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:23:00 PM

@Kursk - 'Before I continue my "educated" opinion no one gives a f*ck about,' --- lol.
baxattax writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 3:03:27 AM

They should call it 'Snoozefest'
telur writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 3:39:16 AM

damn this article is soooooooooo trueeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!
Dre-EL writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 9:51:15 AM

"Whats wrong with me?"

Absolutely nothing, those movies sucked donkey balls.
vaodsi writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 2:25:05 PM

Extremely loud and incredibly close is SHOULD NOT BE NOMINATED. PERIOD. I have not seen the artist so I will not comment on it. I did see Hugo. I have my degree in film history. SO form a nerdy film history perspective I LOVED IT. It was an innocent film, which I don't think makes it childish. Childish would mean it was immature and lacked emotional depth. Think, the Expendables. ZERO emotional depth. ZERO maturity. And i'm talking mental maturity. Hacking people up and blowing them to smithereens is for mature viewers but is not a mature thing to watch. I liked the Expendables, btw. Hugo was very satisfying. It was a solid family film. Not sure I would have nominated it for the BEST FILM OF THE YEAR, but for what it aspired to be, it was brilliant. I really enjoyed Tree of Life. Midnight in paris rocked and so did moneyball. But if EXTREMELY OBNOXIOUS AND INCREDIBLY SAPPY got a nomination then harry potter, who has better reviews then MOST of these nominees, should have at least had a nod.
vaodsi writes:
on February 14th, 2012 at 2:25:30 PM

OH! and DRIVE! that movie was AWESOME! THAT should have gotten a nomination.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved