WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Vow" Wins Box Office Weekend

Posted: February 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Vow" Wins Box Office WeekendSubmit Comment
"The Vow" romantic drama, starring Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams, opened to almost $42 million this weekend, and taking first place at the domestic box office. The film has a lousy 27% fresh rating, but cost only $30 million to make. This means that the movie is already a huge success.

Coming in second place was "Safe House," starring Denzel Washington and Ryan Reynolds, with $39.3 million. The new movie has a 53% fresh rating and had a budget of $85 million. It also will easily make its money back.

The sequel to "Journey to the Center of the Earth," called "Journey 2: The Mysterious Island," settled for third place with $27.6 million. The $79 million film has a 42% fresh rating and has already grossed $102.3 million worldwide.

Finally, the other wide release of the weekend was the 3D re-release of "Star Wars: Episode 1 — The Phantom Menace," which took in $23 million for a worldwide debut of $43.5 million. That's a great start for George Lucas, who is already planning to re-release "Episode 2" soon.

Click here to read our "The Vow" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:33:29 AM

Glad to see episode 1" the phantom plot" didn't get first. I guess more people are realizing theres more to a film than fx. IMO
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:01:28 AM

Dodged getting tickets for the Vow tomorrow night (looks really bad) ended up with This Means War (which just looks bad) instead.

Took the kids to see Journey 2, It wasn't as bad as i feared it would be.

But there was no good Hudgens ass shot which was a shame.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:02:33 AM

Anyone see Safe House yet ?
Taco writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:34:28 AM

I saw Chronical, at the end it got better but felt less like found footage and more like excuses for reasons the final events were caught on tape. 6/10 for me.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:39:17 AM

Yeah i wanna see that movie too, Looks ok.

Not been a bad start to 2012 film wise.
secondbest writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:52:39 AM

This goes to show us that one should never underestimate Channing Tatum's abs.
Rambo writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:12:39 AM

I guess RR needs a big star next to him or else his movies flop.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:43:44 AM

"The Vow" f*ck me!!! It's just a more comedic version of "5O First Dates"

Saw "Journey 2" few weeks agao, it is a fun enjoyable family movie...and yes...no VH ass shot.

"SW:TPM" can go suck a big one, Lucas has already taken too much money off me and ruined some good memories.

"Safe House" Good old Denzel does it again.
Bullit writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:59:49 AM

This means we're gonna see more & more sh*t from Tatum? f*ck!

Good or bad, I'll pay to watch Denzel anytime.

And f*ck You G. Lucas!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:37:37 AM

The only reason THE VOW won the boxoffice was due to being the weekend before Valentine's...

The movie will be hanging in there for the rest of the month...

As for Phantom Menace 3D...Motherf*ck Lucas' arrogance and greed.
SeWerin writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:20:24 AM

"Finally, the other wide release of the weekend was the 3D re-release of "Star Wars: Episode 1 — The Phantom Menace," which took in $23 million for a worldwide debut of $43.5 million. That's a great start for George Lucas, who is already planning to re-release "Episode 2" soon."

Never underestimate power of stupid people in large groups.

bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:30:49 AM

Wow another Channing Tatum movie being successful.

America grew a vagina this weekend.

But if safehouse made almost 40 million,might just be Damn good.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:47:07 AM

Wouldn't mind seeing Safehouse.

TT- You definitely got the lesser of 2 evils there my friend. At least Tom Hardy and a hot Witherspoon is in it.
TRUEMAN writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:55:11 AM

GaYnning Tatum, f*ck this sh*t, how this fagg still maing movies OMFG, Tatum is the f*cking shadow of "THE c*nt WORHTHINGTON" f*ck f*ck! America grew a vagina this weekend.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 9:42:02 AM

Bad - lol, Think you're right mate ...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:21:46 AM

I think it's time to say it...

CINEMA IS DEAD!
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:38:07 AM

"Never underestimate power of stupid people in large groups."

That's why I have no faith in politics, Hollywood award ceremonies or Eastern European orgies.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:39:03 AM

"America grew a vagina this weekend."

It grew one September 11th 2001.

That was the day we got f*cked.
cress writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:05:19 PM

WorstPreviews commenters- You'll never find a more wretched hive of sc*m and villiany.
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:20:04 PM

^ Sweet talker you ...
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:23:08 PM

If mark wahlberg would have been on that hijacked plane the world would of been at peace.


bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:25:18 PM

Double feature this week.watching safehouse and ghost rider.

Have a feeling ghost rider is gonna bomb hard.but nic cage entertains me.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:30:03 PM

"WorstPreviews commenters- You'll never find a more wretched hive of sc*m and villiany."

Sc*m and villainy? Really? Because of an opinion, some words that are actually true, just formulated in an unpalatable format?

I bet if I was on television before a live studio audience, getting paid a hundred grand an episode to make the comments I've made, I'd be your hero, and if I overdosed and killed myself, you'd cry for me.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:31:17 PM

"If mark wahlberg would have been on that hijacked plane the world would of been at peace."

Instead of in pieces.




Right, cress?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:49:37 PM

Cress is pissed off at the people that watched Rum Diary and didn't enjoy it.biggest waste of money and 2 hours of my life wasted.
Džeko writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:53:08 PM

@cress
So!?
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 12:55:02 PM

Never saw it, but then I'm no fan of Hunter S. Thomson. Tried reading some of his written works, including the Rum Diary, about his days in Haiti or somewhere, and I was just blown away by the sh*tty writing.

The guy obviously got 'famous' by endlessly badmouthing Nixon and talking about drugs and alcohol, and he didn't have sh*t to say in between either.

I bet the film sucks ass too.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:02:13 PM

Is a flaming turd
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:22:31 PM

What, Rum Diaries? Well, I won't watch it.

What did you think of Fear and Loathing?
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:28:12 PM

Fear and loathing is a crazy film.loved benicios character.

Rum diary is the serious version of fear loathing with out the crazy scenes.that's what people were pretty much expecting then they were dissapointed.

Johnnyb writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:16:32 PM

I my case I will never give her a second chance. What is gone is gone and past. Next p*ssy ass bitch on the list, please.....
pornfly writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:14:46 PM

Cant wait to see how much the numbers skyrocket when the original Star Wars Trilogy in 3D gets released
Maybe Revenge of the Sith will get a little more attention but not like the original trilogy
That'll be a huge message for Lucas

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved