WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Artist" Dominates at BAFTA Awards

Posted: February 13th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Artist" Dominates at BAFTA AwardsSubmit Comment
The British Academy Film Awards (BAFTA) took place on Sunday night, with "The Artist" coming out the big winner by taking awards for Best Film, Best Director, Best Original Screenplay, Best Actor and three others.

Meryl Streep won best actress for "The Iron Lady." She lost a shoe on the stairs up to the stage, giving presenter Colin Firth the chance to play Prince Charming and kneel before her to replace it.

"Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy" won for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best British Film, but even though Gary Oldman was nominated for Best Actor, he lost the award to "The Artist" star Jean Dujardin.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (in red) below.

BEST FILM:
* The Artist
* The Descendants
* Drive
* The Help
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

BEST ACTOR:
* Jean Dujardin The Artist
* George Clooney The Descendants
* Michael Fassbender Shame
* Brad Pitt Moneyball
* Gary Oldman Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

BEST ACTRESS:
* Meryl Streep The Iron Lady
* Berenice Bejo - The Artist
* Viola Davis The Help
* Tilda Swinton We Need To Talk About Kevin
* Michelle Williams My Week With Marilyn

BEST DIRECTOR:
* Michel Hazanavicius The Artist
* Nicolas Winding Refn Drive
* Martin Scorsese Hugo
* Tomas Alfredson Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* Lynne Ramsay We Need To Talk About Kevin

BEST ANIMATED FILM:
* Rango
* The Adventures of Tintin
* Arthur Christmas

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY:
* Bridget O'Connor, Peter Straughan Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* Jim Rash, Nat Faxon, Alexander Payne The Descendants
* Tate Taylor The Help
* George Clooney, Grant Heslov, Beau Willimon The Ides of March
* Steve Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin Moneyball

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY:
* Michel Hazanavicius The Artist
* Kristin Wiig, Annie Mumolo Bridesmaids
* John Michael McDonagh The Guard
* Abi Morgan The Iron Lady
* Woody Allen Midnight In Paris

BEST DOCUMENTARY:
* Senna
* George Harrison: Living In A Material World
* Project Nim

RISING STAR AWARD:
* Adam Deacon
* Chris Hemsworth
* Tom Hiddleston
* Chris O'Dowd
* Eddie Redmayne

OUTSTANDING BRITISH CONTRIBUTION TO FILM:
John Hurt

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR:
* Christopher Plummer Beginners
* Kenneth Branagh My Week With Marilyn
* Jim Broadbent The Iron Lady
* Jonah Hill Moneyball
* Philip Seymour Hoffman The Ides of March

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS:
* Octavia Spencer The Help
* Carey Mulligan Drive
* Jessica Chastain The Help
* Judi Dench My Week With Marilyn
* Melissa McCarthy Bridesmaids

OUTSTANDING BRITISH FILM:
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* My Week With Marilyn
* Senna
* Shame
* We Need To Talk About Kevin

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN:
* Hugo
* The Artist
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* War Horse

BEST DEBUT BY A BRITISH DIRECTOR, WRITER OR PRODUCER:
* Paddy Considine, Diarmid Scrimshaw Tyrannosaur
* Richard Ayoade Submarine
* Joe Cornish Attack the Block
* Ralph Fiennes Coriolanus
* Will Sharpe, Tom Kingsley, Sarah Brocklehurst Black Pond

BEST FILM NOT IN THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE:
* The Skin I Live In
* Incendies
* Pina
* Potiche
* A Separation

BEST COSTUME DESIGN:
* The Artist
* Hugo
* Jane Eyre
* My Week With Marilyn
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIR:
* The Iron Lady
* The Artist
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
* Hugo
* My Week With Marilyn

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY:
* The Artist
* The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
* Hugo
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* War Horse

BEST FILM EDITING:
* Senna
* The Artist
* Drive
* Hugo
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

BEST SOUND:
* Hugo
* The Artist
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
* Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* War Horse

BEST ORIGINAL MUSIC:
* Ludovic Bource The Artist
* Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
* Howard Shore Hugo
* Alberto Iglesias Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
* John Williams War Horse

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS:
* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
* The Adventures of Tintin
* Hugo
* Rise of the Planet of the Apes
* War Horse

BEST SHORT ANIMATED FILM:
* A Morning Stroll
* Abuelas
* Bobby Yeah

BEST SHORT FILM:
* Pitch Black Heist
* Chalk
* Mwansa The Great
* Only Sound Remains
* Two And Two

Source: BAFTA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:47:03 AM

I still don't really fancy watching The Artist, It does seem to be the film to beat this year though.
secondbest writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:51:26 AM

The main awards for The Artist were a given. Can't say whether or not it deserved them since I haven't seen much of the other nominated movies, but it was damn good.
Rambo writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:16:01 AM

whatever..where the f*ck is nick nolte for supporting actor in 'warrior'???that was the best performance of the year.

p.s f*ck 'the artist' it was a cute movie but extremely overrated.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 4:35:55 AM

Some deserved, some not so deserved.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:23:52 AM

I gotta go with Rambo on this one. Nick Nolte was flat out snubbed...

But Jonah Hill got one for supporting on MONEYBALL? WTF? Really?

I swear, these things looked more fixed every year...

boogiel writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 6:27:26 AM

^What Dave said
NotAmerican writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 8:01:03 AM

" "The Artist" Dominates at BAFTA Awards "

Of course it does.

These things are getting more boring each year.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:23:40 AM

Gary Oldman is the best actor alive. If he doesn't get an oscar before he dies I'll kill every squirrel, hamster and gerbil on this rock! I'm not bluffing!
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:35:51 AM

I know how to win next year's awards.

No sound, no color, no picture. 90 minutes of a blank screen, bookended with credits to nobody.

I'll called it 'Being Hellen Keller'.

Ka-CHING baby!
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:58:51 AM

I'd watch it Mink. (Online for free but I'd watch it)
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:59:39 AM

Loki was robbed. So was Gary Oldman.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:33:33 PM

Gary oldman should of gotten an oscar for Drexl in true romance and in his role in Romeo is bleeding.

Haven't seen tinket that's the only film I have interest in.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:34:33 PM

Well kill opposums cause they're bad and have rabies.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:50:18 PM

I saw a dead tabby cat this morning. It was laying on a sidewalk, on it's stomach, little paws outstretched in supplication, face down as if in prayer.

Someone hit it with a car, apparently.

Saddest gooddamned thing I've seen in a while, besides Taylor Lautner's 'Abduction'.
Johnnyb writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 2:14:33 PM

Cool, movies from about 90 years old are coming back into fashion, what's next? Hollywood in porn.....
DexterMorgan writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 3:23:58 PM

Drive was robbed,should have won best film
Rambo writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 5:56:34 PM

@mink

lol,maybe the cat just watched 'abduction' and decided to end it's life.
minkowski writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 11:31:35 PM

lol, lucky damned cat, then.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved