WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Paradise Lost" is Officially Killed

Posted: February 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Paradise Lost" is Officially KilledSubmit Comment
After years of development, Legendary Pictures has decided to kill the big-budget adaptation of John Milton's 17th-century poem "Paradise Lost" due to budget issues. Alex Proyas (I, Robot) was on board to direct the story that was to focus on a war in heaven and the rivalry between the archangels Michael and Lucifer.

The project was around so long that Heath Ledger was once in talks to play Lucifer.

Bradley Cooper, Ben Walker, Casey Affleck, Djimon Hounsou, Rufus Sewell, Camilla Belle, Diego Boneta and Callan McAuliffe were slated to star in the film, which was originally set to begin filming in January and then pushed to June.

Insiders close to the production told Variety that while Proyas' vision of the movie was great, the technology wasn't quite there, and the filmmakers couldn't reduce the budget enough to satisfy Legendary.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 8:56:51 PM

good.Getting tired of seeing Bradley Cooper anyway.Mr Two hitwonder of Proyas with Dark City and tha Crow.
boogiel writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 9:00:53 PM

Lost paradise indeed.
Johnnyb writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 2:51:08 AM

If im not making this one..... Nobody has the right to do it. So f*ck this project!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 4:39:51 AM

Have mixed feelings about this. It actually sounds like it could be an awesome movie and the cast was great, except that Cooper was horrible miscast. But this is probably for the better.
Blank x25 writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 10:17:13 AM

Paradise Lost would make a killer film.
Hope at least somebody makes it one day and does it justice.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 11:32:30 AM

^^^ F*ck Yeah!
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 12:54:37 PM

How about you people just read the f*cking book? It's here now, and it's free. Too much work for ya, but you want them to spend a trillion dollars making the film adaptation we don't f*cking need.

"good.Getting tired of seeing Bradley Cooper anyway.Mr Two hitwonder of Proyas with Dark City and tha Crow."

f*ck Bradley Cooper. Hate that sneering long-nosed d*ckhead, and Proyas was going up with The Crow, hit his peak with Dark City and f*cking fell off the earth with I, Robot. He can go f*ck himself or Cooper, whoever comes first, pun intended.
Bullit writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 3:58:29 PM

"How about you people just read the f*cking book?"

Well, thank you Mink, I thoutght I was the only one reading something. It's a big shame that it won't hit the big screen. It's just one of the most thrilling story ever. Major disappointment here. I was really looking forward to pay for this. Never mind, the book & my imagination will do.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 5:12:05 PM

I can't tell if you're responding facetiously, or with seriousness, Bullit.

I would wager the former, because I think perhaps three people on here have ever read a book.

Me, my d*ck, and perhaps Freudian.

And Blank, but his one post a year really doesn't count.

Just read the book. They're so much better than the film adaptations. Even with a film like Shawshank, the short story, novella, wtfe, has as much texture as I give it, and not just what Darbont could squeeze into frame.

*crickets chirping*
Bullit writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 7:24:47 PM

^ ^
I am serious.

God created the Archangels (The highest rank among the 7 casts of Angels) before He created the human kind. God revealed to his 7 Archangels who stood before him the secret of the early morning: the birth of the son of God on Earth for the sake of human kind which Lucifer refused to bow as he believed he was greater of any human. Therefore Lucifer (the one who enlights you) refused to bow and declared he could be greater than God. Then Archangel St Michael stood up and said "who is claiming to take God's position". God never intervened and let St Michael to accomplish his duty by standing up before Him and fight Lucifer in Heaven and defeated him along other angels which were corrupted with Lucifer's lies that he could overtake God's position in Heaven and the Universe. St Michael won the battle and God punished Lucifer by being the Prince of this Earth in the invisible world as much he is the Prince of Darkness in the after life: Hell.

At the opposite of commun belief there is no fire and sticks, Hell is the place where there is no light or warmth and therefore very cold. It's the total opposite of God's presence: Light, love and peace. Hell has also 7 different levels composed by 7 sub-levels, which makes 49 levels. The deeper you go, the more you suffer indefinitely.

Now, why his original name Lucifer was converted to Satan is simply because the opposition of his meaning: from light to darkness.

I made the story shorter but this is the essence of it.
minkowski writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 7:31:23 PM

Better not let Cinemaisdead hear you talk like that, Bullit.
The First Rule writes:
on February 11th, 2012 at 3:08:02 PM

Anyone who goes on and on about how people "should just read the book" is a pompous twit. Movies aren't meant to replace the books they are based on, they are simply another medium that takes a work and presents it in another visual medium. As long as a movie doesn't butcher the point of the book, its acceptable. I Am Legend for example, not exactly terrible on its own (some really cool visuals of NYC)completely abandons the point of the book and opts for the cliche Hollywood simple ending.

If movies can get people interested enough in a story to pick up the book that is a good thing, if not, who cares.

Its too bad this fell through, because while I have my reservations about how it probably would have turned out, IRobot is one of my favorite book to film adaptations.
The First Rule writes:
on February 11th, 2012 at 3:21:28 PM

Just to add a quick note. I've read The Godfather, but still the most memorable part of that story is (SPOILERS *but seriously you should have seen it by now*) Sonny getting gunned down at toll booth. That's a visual only possible in film, and saying that because a book is good that it doesn't need a film is a pathetic opinion to have.

I've Read and watched The Road, No Country for Old Men, Game of Thrones, Generation Kill, Lord of the Rings, Minority Report, A Scanner Darkly, 1984, Do Android's Dream of Electric Sheep (Blade Runner), The Short Timers (Full Metal Jacket), and probably several dozen others....The point is, both the book and the film/show adaptation have something to offer. And while I'll be the first to say something when a good story is butchered in the process of bringing it to the screen, I'd rather narrative bankrupt movie industry keeps going to established and thought out stories in books for inspiration.
EarOne writes:
on February 12th, 2012 at 7:40:04 AM

they shoulda asked the REAL lucifer for the financial backings.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved