WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jason Statham in "Heat" Remake, Brian De Palma Directing

Posted: February 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jason Statham in "Heat" Remake, Brian De Palma DirectingSubmit Comment
Jason Statham is set to star in the remake of "Heat." Not the Michael Mann film that starred Robert De Niro and Al Pacino but the 1986 movie that starred Burt Reynolds. William Goldman, who wrote the original, is on board to also pen the remake. Brian de Palma (Scarface) is set to direct.

Story follows a recovering gambling addict who makes his living providing protection in the rough edges of the gambling world, refusing to resort to gunplay and using only hand and edged weapon combat. When a friend is brutally beaten by a mobster, he endeavors to help the victim seek out revenge.

"We look forward to bringing this elevated action-thriller from Brian De Palma to distributors around the world," said Sierra, the company behind the remake. "We feel this project has it all-a first rate piece of material, a legendary director and a global action star."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:15:30 PM

Hope this is a good film

Statham is a great actor
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:27:43 PM

I take great offense anyone would dare title a film Heat, regardless of whether or not it's a remake of the Mann film.

Give it another title. Statham, as great as he is for what he does, which isn't much, hasn't earned a right to star in a film similarly titled to Mann's urban western crime drama.

And yes, I'm very much aware Statham cameo'ed in Collateral.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:28:34 PM

Had me going there for a second until I read the thread.

Dont remember the original that well but as it will have the Statham then I am sold..
Damon242 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:03:58 PM

Millions of writers there are in Hollywood; millions.

If remakes are all they can think of then they should get a new dayjob.
boogiel writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:17:15 PM

@damon

Spot on, mate. I couldn't agree more.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:18:35 PM

"If remakes are all they can think of then they should get a new dayjob."

They could get a job working for Obama, recycling communism into economic policy.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:33:29 PM

http://everydayglimpse.blogspot.com/2010/12/cultural-icons-recreated-in-trash.html

Got this from down below. Notice the title. I clicked on it because I mistakenly thought it was a statement on modern Hollywood film-making.

Boy, was I wrong. But you can see how I came to that impression.
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:44:57 PM

I just want more Chev Chelios.
trailertrash writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 3:06:29 AM

Guess i'm the only one here that has seen the original.

It was typical Reynolds from the late 70's and 80's like Stick, Sharkys Machine, Mallone etc perfect for a Statham.

Nice and easy for him.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 4:59:46 AM

Sounds like Statham's usual stuff. It's been years since DePalma was relevant, which is a shame. But he needs something more exciting than a Burt Reynolds-remake to get back to his game.
Kurskij writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 5:23:01 AM

For a moment there I thought it was Michael Mann's Heat.

That was not the best moment of the day.
Kurskij writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 5:23:02 AM

For a moment there I thought it was Michael Mann's Heat.

That was not the best moment of the day.
Bullit writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 5:27:38 AM

I have more faith in De Palma than in Statham. He's getting worse film after film.
Phil writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 5:45:18 AM

Weeyoooo, what's up with the misleading titles WP. You almost ruined my day.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 12:25:24 PM

a remake of heat... How did i not see this coming..
LastActionHero writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 2:31:16 PM

Time for a Smokey and the Bandit remake. LOL I hate to say that, cuz they probably would but update it with some crappy Japanese car.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved