WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Karate Kid" Sequel is Moving Forward

Posted: February 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Karate Kid" Sequel is Moving ForwardSubmit Comment
Columbia Pictures is moving forward with a sequel to "The Karate Kid" and has hired Zak Penn (The Incredible Hulk, X-Men 3, Electra) to write the script. Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan are expected to return, but no deals are in place.

The studio was hoping to put the sequel into development immediately after the 2010 film became a hit. Cyrus Voris and Ethan Reiff were brought on to write the script, but then the project stalled. Penn will likely re-write the screenplay from the scratch.

"The Karate Kid" cost only $40 million to make, but went on to gross $360 million worldwide.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 40 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:41:50 AM

Jackie Chan you sell out Chank.Completely unnecessary.
technoreaper writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:48:07 AM

What? When the first one was so horrible? Hollywood is one big freaking nepotistic joke these days.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:04:34 AM

Agree this is not really needed but money talks.

Bando i would never say Jackie was a total sell out it more need must.

The guy has never forgotten where he's come from and what has made him the star he is today.

But he can't keep doing those movies,Plus Hollywood has never given him the freedom on a US film set to perform all his stunts and fights the way he wanted to.

So it's these kinds of movies he seems to make in the US now keeps his profile high and goes back home to make the good stuff.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:18:34 AM

Seen a few clips of The Chinese Zodiac which is looking pretty good, Not sure about Oliver Platt's involvement though.
Bullit writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:22:11 AM

"The Karate Kid" cost only $40 million to make, but went on to gross $360 million worldwide"

There are a lot of children around the world I guess.

I agree with you Trailer but it's still a damn shame that Chan can't do what he do best: fighting. And there are very few outhere who are true martial arts experts like him or Jet Li.
nawtnt writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:40:09 AM

A Karate Kid sequel? I don't like the idea.

I like the remake because it didn't copy the original, instead have some kind of connections from the original.

Jackie Chan and Jaden Smith did great jobs.

The movie had action, a great story and emitions in it and that's why I loved the remake but a sequel might ruin the remake.
boogiel writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:40:22 AM

"The Karate Kid" cost only $40 million to make, but went on to gross $360 million worldwide. "


So now we know the formula to make a sequel.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:56:00 AM

I don't know of a single person that has seen this and thought it did not sux
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 7:25:19 AM

@ Bogiel
Was it not obvious ?

i know ill end up watching it lol Hey jackie! go make rush hour 4! :P

Ted Mosby writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 7:34:06 AM

I'm backing what Powdered Toast Man said. (Feels going to say that haha.) I haven't the slightest clue who actually enjoyed this movie... and if anyone said they loved it over the previous installments, a smooth crane kick to the chops they will receive.

PS...

Jayden Smith is about as intimidating as that girl they call Justin Bieber.
NotAmerican writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 7:40:22 AM

@ Powdered Toast Man, the fact that you know people who have seen this at all is the actual problem.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:05:04 AM

Just keep that bitch of a mom out of this movie, I wanted to commit mass hate crimes against her in the 1st movie.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:55:34 AM

Bullit

Jackie Chan from the early 80's to the late 90's was truly Awesome in his Hong Kong movies.

Said it before Project A pt2 final 25 minutes is mind blowing from Chan and you have to bare in mind this was nearly 25/30 years ago way before guys like Tony Jaa and Free Running were around.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:57:04 AM

Tanman -

Rush hour 4, God i hope he doesn't do that buddy.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:58:51 AM

trailer I dont know if you saw the spy next door. with a cast of George Lopez and Billy Ray Cyrus.what a turd that was but in a weird way.

dont know if you heard of Jimmy Wang Yu,Ti Lung, Chen Kuan Tai,David Chiang those guys are way before Jackie and they made awesome movies.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:00:54 AM

and I wrote a review of the first movie on my profile.It has nothing to do with the Ralph Macchio movie.but a sequel to this is completely pointless.All I know Jackie is gonna get a HUGE check.
OneTime writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:08:40 AM

wheres my rifle.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:22:00 AM

bando

Yeah i've seen that movie and it's crap your right.

But like i was saying his US films are more intented for kids.

Tuxedo, Spy Next Door, Rush Hour's, The Karate Kid remake my boys liked all of them and thats what he's aiming for with those types of movies.

Inbetween those films he's made New Police Story, Myth, Shinjuku Incident , Little Big Soldier (which i own but haven't seen yet)all of those were very good movies and so far and away from films like Spy Next Door it's untrue.

Those guys you listed there Bando i don't know i have to be honest, But i trust your knowledge of this genre for sure.
LastActionHero writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:24:35 AM

Will Smith was actually a likeable guy until he started pushing his talentless brats down our throats. His mannish bitch of a wife was never likeable.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:26:50 AM

you should check out A better tomorrow 1 and 2 for starters with Chow Yun Fat and Ti Lung.Dont know if you heard of Bey Logan he's a british journalist and producer and he's had Hong Kong Legends in the UK with about 40 titles.Now is called Cine Asia.
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:38:10 AM

Funny I bet Bey Logan back in the early 90's when he involved with Impact magazine (it was like an action film mag here) in London, nice guy.

I've seen A better tomorrow on chan 4 here a long time ago not seen part 2.

Have seen Killer, Hard Boiled and City on Fire all 3 i really enjoyed.

bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:09:56 AM

yea check out Bullet to the Head by John Woo and Bey cares about his fans.he's currently in the works in directing his first movie dont know the name yet.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:21:27 AM

Bullit- And there are very few outhere who are true martial arts experts like him or Jet Li.

Do you mean in a film context or in the whole world because I'm pretty sure there's thousands of better fighters than those two guys. Even in films there's gonna be loads of better fighters than them.

bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:29:44 AM

britain has 3 awesome fighters that can easily beat the f*ck outta Statham anyday.Darren Shalavi ,Gary Daniels,Scott Adkins.

but Statham does a good job in pretending he's hard.and he's turning into Steven Seagal and Van Damme so cant wait to see him in B movie world.
Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:33:58 AM

OK... even some (good) people on here griped about Jurassic Shark. Yet we see other people are willing to shell out $360 mil for a movie I wouldn't cross the room to take a sh*t on.

Where's the justice?


Ranger writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:36:21 AM

Oh, as for:

"The Karate Kid" Sequel is Moving Forward"

f*ck-off!
Bullit writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:41:02 AM

@Trailer: I'll check on this one too. I'ts very interesting what you & Bando wrote. Thanks mate.

@Cinema: well, according to Jacky Chan, there are very few who made it in Hollywood Or who are known to the main public worldwide with a genuine knowledge & practice of the martial arts. I'm sure they're countless in China but so far, they're only known to their countries and not beyond.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 12:06:01 PM

Ahh I was gonna say...
johnny_boy writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 2:44:45 PM

I really don't want this to come out, I despise all in the Smith family, and one good thing about this is that they have waste of air Zak Penn writing this. He sucks jaydens ass. Glad they didn't waste any talented writer on this.
minicooperz writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 3:12:04 PM

script will be written by the same guy who did elektra. that about sums it all up for the sequel
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 3:40:09 PM

Bando -

Cheers man i will check that movie out for sure.

I think this is Bey's film it's called Snowblade , Only a teaser trailer it's still in production

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=IGikitk4ysE
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 3:41:54 PM

Bullit

Cheers pal, if you watch Project A pt2 let us know what you think.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:41:31 PM

@ JOHNNY BOY, wtf is wrong with the smith family ? other then the fact that willow looks retarded and makes sh*tty music.

@Trailer

i Actually wouldn't much mind RH4, i heard they were going to awhile back, and this sequel is just stupid, i reaallyy enjoyed this remake, which is unusual, Don't spoil it with a crappy sequel...
Rambo writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:44:48 PM

f*ck jaden smith.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 7:09:14 PM

The first made good money, and made politically-correct critics happy, and the latter led to the former; well, that and a lack of competition.

I hope this time the producers overplay their hand and put the film up against something with major mojo, then, so we don't have to endure a third.

"Hollywood is one big freaking nepotistic joke these days."

Well, it was always a bit nepotistic, the problem is that it's traded sensibility and art for outright, baldfaced greed, and we only have the ticket-buying, BluRay purchasing, DVD hoarding public to blame for that, right?

I mean, they don't mug you, or place a gun to your head and say "buy fifty 30-dollar DVDs this week, and in five years, you'll do the same for Bluray, and in anather two, you'll do the same for BluRay3D, and in another year, you'll do it again for something else, right, or I'm going to plaster you're squirrel-nut brains all over the couch", do they?
johnny_boy writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:20:47 PM

@Tanman- I'm glad you asked. Lets see, where to start. Will Smiths movies have been awful, only decent in recent memory was I Am Legend. All of the movies that his production company produces all conveniently star his untalented son but of course since its Will Smiths son, we're all supposed to think he's talented, Will keeps making remakes that aren't necessary and if any of that isn't reason enough for me to despise that family, need I remind you of Willow Smiths song "Whip My Hair?" For singing that I curse her and her parents who conceived her and the parents who conceived them.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 12:27:41 PM

Thats such a sh*tty reason to hate someone...

Will smith is an incredibly talented actor, from his Fresh prince days to Independence day and pursuit of happiness! how could anyone say he's not a good actor, your entitled to not like him, but there's no denying his acting skills.
Ranger writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 4:40:05 PM

@Rambo - only if you hold him down.
thisisntme writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 9:14:26 PM

X-men 3? Electra? Sounds like doom.
vellarod writes:
on February 10th, 2012 at 7:36:50 AM

Rape on the first sequel

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved