WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Tom Cruise on "Mission: Impossible 5" Set
Aug 22nd, 2014
"Harry Potter" Director David Yates to Return For "Fantastic Beasts" Spin-Off
Aug 22nd, 2014
Trailer For "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Aug 22nd, 2014
Photos: Chris Pratt Dressed as Star-Lord Visits Sick Children at Hospital
Aug 22nd, 2014
First Look at Keanu Reeves in "John Wick" Action Thriller
Aug 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg to Turn "Minority Report" Into a TV Series
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Conjuring" Spin-Off "Annabelle"
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer for "Young Ones" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Nicholas Hoult
Aug 22nd, 2014
New Trailer For Jake Gyllenhaal's "Nightcrawler" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Shailene Woodley's "White Bird in a Blizzard" Thriller
Aug 21st, 2014
Photo: Better Look at Henry Cavill in His Superman Costume on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 21st, 2014
Teaser Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Leaked Online
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's Insane "Outcast" Film
Aug 21st, 2014
Christian Bale and Cate Blanchett Join "Jungle Book: Origins"
Aug 21st, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes is a Vigilante in "Miss Meadows"
Aug 21st, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Was Offered Lead in Tim Burton's "Batman," Thought It Was a Joke
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lestat is Back in Anne Rice's "Tale of the Body Thief" Film

Posted: February 8th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lestat is Back in Anne RiceSubmit Comment
Ron Howard and producer Brian Grazer has optioned the rights to Anne Rice's "The Tale of the Body Thief," the fourth book in Rice's best-selling series "The Vampire Chronicles," focusing on vampire Lestat. Lee Patterson is writing the script.

Lestat was first portrayed by Tom Cruise in 1994's "Interview With the Vampire," which was made by Warner Bros. In 2002, the studio released "Queen of the Damned," a big-screen adaptation of the third book in the series that starred singer Aaliyah.

Plot: Lestat, depressed and lonely after centuries as a vampire, decides to transfer souls for a day with a psychic, who after the transfer reveals that he has no intention of switching back. Lestat, now in a human body and with the help of some friends, must track down the man and get his body back.

Rice has previously said that she would like to see Robert Downey Jr playing the role of Lestat.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:49:09 AM

Tom Cruise or no one for this role.
Bullit writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:03:49 AM

So, Lestat has no intention of switching back but he's tracking down his own body. What for?
boogiel writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:33:55 AM

@aytball

Agreed. When Townsend portrays lestat it was a big let down.
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:40:50 AM

Why use Cruise when Pattinson is so much cheaper :)
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:58:38 AM

uh..FYI Bullit - perhaps you read that wrong?
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 7:40:50 AM

Agreed. Make this happen with Cruise.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:01:58 AM

Cruise or f*ck off!
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:10:14 AM

give it to Iliketofassbendover





kidding cruise
Bullit writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 8:32:11 AM

@Powedered; yes i did but never mind.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:12:23 AM

thought they tried another lestat movie in queen of the damned with Aliyah.

and yes Cruise had a good performance on Lestat
captnhowdy writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 10:44:52 AM

it will be pretty cool if cruise reprised his role as lestat, i mean why the f*ck not this movie with cruise will probably draw a good sized audience and turn a profit.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 11:27:09 AM

Thought Anne Rice was all religous now. I'm surprised she is letting H-wood make this movie.
zyban03 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 2:29:25 PM

@Bando

Yes, Lestat was in Queen of the Damned with Aaliyah, but it was f*cking awful and made God angry.
KillerCOck writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 3:19:53 PM

Im cool wit this dis if howard doesnt direct it
Damon242 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 5:04:45 PM

Only Tom Cruise for Lestat, but I'm afraid this film doesn't sound as if it would compliment the original 'Interview with the Vampire' and would only serve to hurt it.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 6:53:25 PM

I had no issue when somone quite different played Hannibal in Silence of the Lambs after Mann's Manhunter film, both of which are good films, though I lean towards Manhunter.

RDJ, imo, is a good choice, and I love his personality, as per Sherlock and MI and even U.S. Marshals. I hope they cast him, but if they choose Cruise, that's fine too. Either one works. Haven't even seen the first one.
Damon242 writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:08:34 PM

@Minkowski

Your logic is a little confusing. You say that you haven't seen the first film (and consequently the character, as he should be portrayed) yet you believe that RDJ would be "a good choice".

I'm not challenging your opinion so much as just highlight its curious nature.

minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:24:01 PM

I don't have to see the film to know it has Tom Cruise playing a f*cking vampire, and I've seen film stills.

I also know RDJ is a fine performer, at least when he lends his charisma and energy to whatever talent to which he he is currently attached.

And it's an Anne Rice book turned into a f*cking film, not Fyodor Dostoyevsky's 'Brothers Karamazov', featuring cinema's most easily portrayed and dullest stock character, the vampire, so yeah, I like RDJ and his latter-year on-screen abilities and I think he could at least match Cruise for the role, which is what the article concerns.

Satisfied? Or do I have to be play Xbox and eat Cheetos to appreciate the pop-cultural appeal of the so-called vampire/zombie craze?
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:24:53 PM

"Your logic is a little confusing."

That's because it isn't logic, it's subjective appeal. Look it up, right next to the word 'art'.
minkowski writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 9:25:26 PM

to=in.
Damon242 writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 12:55:19 AM

@Minkowski

When you are weighing which actor would be better suited to a particular role, things to add credibility to the argument is both familiarity with the actors abilities and the character in question.

Your opinion was curious because, while you were familiar with the actors, you admitted to not being all too familiar with the character (a consequence of having not seen the film). Very curious because you simultaneously presented your argument and then quashed it.

You can watch snippets if you want, but context is important.

And please. Art and subjective appeal? Are you trying to connote that your opinion is a beautiful thing? If you wanted to describe your opinion and your behaviour towards it, 'self righteous' would be more appropriate.

Logic has everything to do with subjectivity. You of course just gave me a synonymous phrase and expected it to suddenly mean something.
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 4:43:20 AM

WTF with the plot? Really?
Sounds like a toss between the Change Up and Twilight...
Hope they can make it work with starpower, but I'm not impressed with the story...
minkowski writes:
on February 9th, 2012 at 2:18:15 PM

I really don't have time for the pretentious children on here, but I'll give it a go just once today.

And I know Damon needs both the attention and the high school creds.

"When you are weighing which actor would be better suited to a particular role"

A vampire role, I might add.

"things to add credibility to the argument is"

Are. The word you mean to use is 'are', not is, because 'things' is plural, followed by a preposition, so yeah, you should use are, not is. But

I wouldn't use is regardless because passive verbs suck, and so do you.

Thanks.

"both familiarity with the actors abilities and the character in question."

Yep, and I am, which is wherein your stupidity arrives, all coat aflutter.

I'm familiar with both Cruise and RDJ, which had I not been familiar with them, therein would lie an actual issue with my rather initial simple statement, but then you go on to labor what I've said here:

"Your opinion was curious because, while you were familiar with the actors, you admitted to not being all too familiar with the character"

A vampire? Yeah, I've seen plenty of them. They have fangs, they're pale, and this one is played by Tom Cruise.

I don't need to see the film in its entirety when I have what you obviously lack: a imagination.

And not much of one is needed for me to throw Cruise into the idiotic role of an Anne Rice vampire and know, f*cking know, RDJ, who's quite an accomplished actor, is more than capable of doing the role well, perhaps even far better than Cruise.

And I actually like RDJ.

"(a consequence of having not seen the film)"

No sh*t, Sherlock Holmes, precisely what I said twice above, and the third or fourth time you've mentioned the fact, yet you felt childishly compelled to repeat the fact so as to provide filler to your meaningless ramble.

"Very curious because you simultaneously presented your argument and then quashed it."

..because the fact I haven't seen the entire f*cking film means that my 'argument', which was essentially
that RDJ can do a vampire role because he's done far more difficult roles, and because I like him, is a real mind-teaser for those on the right-hand side of the Bell Curve, huh?

Only to idiots such as yourself, freshly awash in newborn college stupidity, is a simple opinion an 'argument', and the subsequent revelation that I haven't seen the entire film a self-rebuttal.

"You can watch snippets if you want, but context is important."

I said stills, not snippets. And you know context only because I've been on here for four years bellowing about context.

But what's the context? The entire film? That too is a subjective matter, and one that isn't set in stone, to use a cliche.

One man might need an entire movie for the proper context, another man none. I'm that 'another man'.

Thanks for playing, *sshole.

"And please. Art and subjective appeal? Are you trying to connote that your opinion is a beautiful thing?"

You cannot be this f*cking stupid.

See, this is what happens when idiots such as yourself learn how to ape the language of truly intelligent people without possessing the actual intelligence behind it.

No, I said art and subjective appeal have much in common and are often 'connotationally synonymous'.

Try using a dictionary next time, Einstein.

"If you wanted to describe your opinion and your behaviour"

Ah, -iour, so you're a Brit. That explains the extra-annoying c*ntitude.

"towards it, 'self righteous' would be more appropriate."

The word would be 'arrogant', not 'self-righteous', because I'm promoting my cinematic opinion, a simple one in fact, and not a social or moral construct or consideration.

Generally, when one is sure of their opinion, they don't qualify it with the word 'self-righteous'. Unless you're a dipsh*t.

"Logic has everything to do with subjectivity."

No, idiot, logic is the anathema of subjectivity. I don't need to spell out why I think RDJ can do Lestat, even though I haven't seen the entire Interview with a Vampire film because I've already explained why my mere subjective opinion suffices.

Read Alfred North Whitehead. That's logic. When I say A|BC /=> A/B-C, that's logic. When I say I like RDJ for the sequel because I like RDJ and what top-tier can't play a f*cking vampire, that's subjectivity, i.e., opinion, so please take your vacuous, sophomoric college-level pretentious ramblings elsewhere.

"You of course just gave me a synonymous phrase and expected it to suddenly mean something."

First, what was this 'synonymous phrase' I'm accused of using (if such a thing even exists in the singular, considering I'd have to have a first phrase to provide the synonymous relation)?

Secondly, it would surely mean something to you if you were genuinely intelligent, instead of merely chock full of pretentious empty irritant.

Go read a book, think, and try to use your imagination, if you miraculously possess one, instead of boring me with your insipid trolling.

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"

Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved